Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2009 Camry used to be adorned with our “Seal of Pretty Good” but that was before an alarming number of complaints started rolling in for excessive oil consumption.

Owners are being caught off-guard with how quickly their cars are running out of oil. No leaks, no spills, just 1 quart of vanishing oil in as little as 1,200 miles. Toyota maintains this is “normal” for the 2AZ-FE engine, even though they issued a TSB for the problem in August of 2011.

The issue may be the result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
11,902 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Toyota Camry transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Toyota Camry Owner Comments

problem #19

Mar 222012

Camry

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When attempting to park, the vehicle suddenly accelerated and I was forced to stop it by running into a palm tree in order to avoid hitting people and other cars or causing more serious damage.

- La Quinta, CA, USA

problem #18

Jul 012011

Camry

  • miles
I have Camry 2009. It currently has 34400 miles. According to Toyota dealer - after a technician tests drive the vehicle - the issue is described "downshift issue under heavy brake". below is details of the problem. After I apply brake at stop sign or traffic light, the vehicle is stopped but then vehicle is still jumping up - moving up just right after it stops. Below is how Toyota responds on the issue. On August 5th, 2011, I bring the car to Toyota dealer. The technician is able to duplicate the issue and open a case number reporting to gst (gulf state Toyota). I have to wait for an appointment with gst and Toyota dealer until 8/30/2011. On August 31st, I brought the car in 2nd time so that the dealer can collect more information and send to gst (according to the dealer). The dealer told me they could not duplicate the issue last time. But they will need to re-program (software) on the computer system so that the computer system can re-learn the shifting pattern of the transmission. Here is my opinions. I am not convinced at all this will re-solve the issue. The issue might appear again any time. Here are some more facts. During the waiting time - 3 weeks - I do not drive the vehicle at all. The dealer certainly does not drive the vehicle long enough before they can see the issue again. When I drive the vehicle to the dealer on the 2nd time, I see it happens twice. This kind of issue absolutely makes me very nervous when I have to apply braking. I hope Toyota can root cause this issue as soon as possible. Who knows this issue can be worst and totally out of controls one day.

- Tomball, TX, USA

problem #17

Feb 162011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 42,600 miles
On Wednesday, 2/16/11, at 4:50 P.M. I was traveling down sudbury street in boston, MA to make a right hand turn onto congress street in boston. I came down the hill and stopped at a red traffic light. My car, for no apparent reason, began to race and would not stop. I applied more pressure to the brake and shifted the car into park. It continued to race for 5-10 seconds after I did this. This was a very frightening incident, given there was a stopped vehicle in front of me, a vehicle behind me and many pedestrians at that hour. I no longer feel secure with the car and am anticipating that this may re-occur at any time. Updated 1/13/2012

- East Walpole , MA, USA

problem #16

Dec 222010

Camry

  • 11,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving various speeds the vehicle would hesitate when trying to accelerate to higher speeds. Approximately one week later the vehicle just completely stalled. No warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer who informed the contact that she needed to replace the transmission. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were approximately 11,400.

- Flushing , NY, USA

problem #15

Dec 182008

Camry

  • miles
Vehicle hesitate during acceleration. Vehicle surges/accelerates slightly when not pressing pedal to accelerate. Tire pressure light always comes on even when tires are properly inflated. Vehicle runs "hard" when cruising at 40mph. There is a hard engine running sound.

- Covington, GA, USA

problem #14

Aug 262010

Camry

  • 16,050 miles
I own a 2009 Camry...one that has been recalled and will be addressed through my local Toyota dealer. However, on three or four separate occasions, as I was backing out from a parking space and/or my garage, as I applied my brakes, there would be a simultaneous acceleration. I do not believe it is related to the current acceleration/floor mat issue nor my stepping on the brake and accelerator at the same time but I just wanted to bring this to your attention in the event that others have experienced the same concern. Thanks.

- Granger, IN, USA

problem #13

Jul 212010

Camry

  • 18,590 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Several weeks ago, I had a couple of incidences, where my 2009 Toyota Camry gear lever would not shift from park to drive. After several attempts of turning on/off ignition, depressing brakes, and tugging lever, the gear would then shift from park to drive. On 08-01-2010, I went to the mall and spent several hours there. When I turned on the ignition, feet on the brakes, the shift lever would not budge. After 30-45 minutes of trying to shift the lever, I decided to call mall security to call for a tow. The security guard suggested that he should give it a try, "the lever shifted from park to drive". I was very concerned. In the previous incidences, it never took so long for the lever to shift. The incidences have occurred first thing in the morning; after work or after the car has been sitting for a number of hours. On 08-02-2010, I took the car to the dealership, first thing in the morning; I was there at 6:35am. After I explained the above, they inspected and test drove the car. The service person came back to me and informed me that something must have spilled on/in the gear box. I absolutely denied that assumption. He then stated that they would take apart the gear box. Again, he came back and stated that something sticky was found "on top" and gave me an estimate for replacing gear shaft. Again, I absolutely denied that anything fell on or in the gear box. And, why was I not summoned to look and this sticky residue. He then called the service manager, who attempted to explain that he could not justify replacing gear shaft under warranty because the problem is not being detected at the present time. And, there is about 7 or 8 reasons why the gear lever would not shift. However, they gave me a quote to replace gear shaft. I was able to speak to one of the technicians, without the manager being present, who stated that there was something definitely wrong with the gear shaft.

- Hollywood, FL, USA

problem #12

Mar 012010

Camry

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that after the vehicle had stopped and the accelerator pedal was engaged, the vehicle hesitated to move forward. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the computer was reset. The failure continued to occur; therefore, the vehicle was taken back to the dealer and the computer was reset again. The failure continued to occur. The failure mileage was approximately 30,000. The current mileage was approximately 36,000.

- Dallas, GA, USA

problem #11

Feb 202010

Camry

  • 20,000 miles
On December 31, 2008, I purchased a new 2009 Toyota Camry SE from marietta Toyota. The car has a persistent hesitation problem which makes the car unsafe in many situations. I had an incident around February 20, 2010 where the hesitation problem almost caused an accident. I was pulling into traffic on South cobb drive from a grocery store parking lot. Traffic flow demanded that I merge into traffic briskly without delay - something I expect to be able to do with a $30,000 V6 Toyota Camry. I gave the car gas and it hesitated horribly. The engine died down then finally went with such force that the car vibrated violently as the front wheels spun out. The car would not go. As traffic approached I was scared and really appreciative of the drivers who slowed down. I have brought the car to the dealership and reported the problem three times. The first time I was told that this is the way the car works and that I would get used to it. After driving the car for over a year and just over 20,000 miles, I am absolutely not used to it. The second time I brought the car to the service department at marietta Toyota they did something to the computer software. This did nothing to improve the car's performance. On my third visit I spoke with a representative in the service department. He was very polite and honest. Representative told me that in his opinion (he stated many times making sure that I understood that this was his opinion) Toyota made a mistake in how they designed the transmission and computer software. Representative explained to me that Toyota tried to make the transmission stay in the highest gear possible at all times to save gas and that when the accelerator was pressed the computer took a few moments to determine which gear it should downshift to. He said that he had many people (40 to 50 per week) complain about the same thing I was complaining about. He said he thought it was a definite problem with the car and that there was nothing that could be done.

- Smyrna, GA, USA

problem #10

Feb 082010

Camry

  • 6,000 miles
This is 2009 Toyota Camry. I was getting out of parking garage. As soon as I put my gear to "D" and pressed the gas pedal a little bit, it started to speed up and the gas pad got stuck. I didn't have much room to stop the car and the car hit the pillar in front of me.

- Redmond, WA, USA

problem #9

May 202009

Camry

  • 3,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

With the media coverage of Toyota problems, I saw a woman interviewed who complained of "sudden acceleration" with her Toyota while braking. I recognized that it is something I have experienced frequently with our 2009 Camry xle V6 w. 6 speed auto trans. It is not a "sudden acceleration" problem, but a sudden free-wheeling problem, most noticeable when driving on level or downhill roads. As you brake to come to a stop, the auto trans. Downshifts into a lower gear, but it doesn't do it fast enough, so it momentarily goes through neutral creating a momentary free-wheeling situation that does accelerate the car just as you are wanting to come to a stop. It is particularly disconcerting when braking into an intersection while going down hill. I called the Toyota customer care number on 5/21/09 to report it, hoping there might have been a software upgrade. They said it was not normal and created case # 0905126552 and told me to take the car to my dealer, which I did on 06/01/09. The dealer reset the automatic transmission computer, but that did not correct the problem. I later reported it again to Toyota on a 07/22/09 customer survey. We have been living with it, but are careful when braking into an intersection.

- Holly Springs, NC, USA

problem #8

Sep 292008

Camry

  • 1,005 miles
Toyota Camry 2009 is downshifting when brake is tapped, holding gear after acceleration and experiencing harsh shifting. Shift cellenoid replaced but did not alter malfunction of vehicle. Problem reported at 1005 miles on odometer September 20, 2008. After repeated trips to dealer the problem has not been resolved.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #7

Jan 152010

Camry

  • 10,000 miles
Bought an 2009 Toyota Camry in April, 2009. The engine would run rough and the it felt like the transmission would jerk and did downshift at random. I bought it in for service several times and was told that because my wife and I both drive the car the computer on board was adjusting back and forth to our driving habits. I didn't think it was a safety problem until the recall was announced. Now I look back on my complaints and feel their is something wrong with the electronic or software associated with controlling engine or transmission performance. I have related this to venice Camry in venice Florida who have told me their is nothing wrong with my car.

- Venice, FL, USA

problem #6

Jan 252010

Camry

  • 35,700 miles
I have a 2009 Toyota Camry. On my way home from work around 10:00 pm on 1/25/10. My car shut off while I was driving. I was driving on a two lane road. While pressing on the accelerator and passing a semi truck. As I pulled back into my lane my car just shut off. The check engine and battery light came on. I pulled the car over to the side of the road.and would not start. When I would start the car and put into drive the car would turn off. Then I waited for about 20 minutes. And tired again and it worked just fine and the check engine light turned off. Next day I took it to the dealer and they advised my there might have been some debris in my gas. I always fill up super. I am filling this complaint because I found out today that they are investigating the electrical throttle control on some Toyota's and thought this might be helpful. Thank you

- Burlington, KY, USA

problem #5

Jan 012009

Camry

  • 2,000 miles
(2009 Toyota Camry) my vehicle lurched forward causing near collision with other vehicle during normal stop and go. Problem occurs periodically, according to local Toyota dealer's not enough to cause concern. Vehicle remains in same condition. This issue is not related to the sticking acceleration pedal issue.

- Winnetka , CA, USA

problem #4

Sep 292008

Camry

  • 1,000 miles
Vehicle holding gear after acceleration, downshifting when brake is touched, rough shifting, general unpredictability of transmission performance.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #3

Jan 192010

Camry

  • 12,024 miles
Sticking gas pedal on my 2009 Toyota Camry hybrid. Caused un-intended acceleration an almost an accident as I was crossing a divided highway near my home. This situation has happened to me at least 6 times in the last 2-3 months. The problem appears to be happening more frequently, where the gas pedal suddenly sticks and the car races out of control. I feel the cars is unsafe to drive.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #2

Mar 142009

Camry

  • 8,000 miles
In san diego earlier this year, at night, to enter heavy ast moving traffic from on ramp floored gas pedal in 2009 Toyota Camry with new heavy duty floor mats, and had max runaway acceleration. Was able to stop with heavy brake pressure, hitting stop engine button didn't work. Checked everything I could and tried again, same response, called 911 and got tow truck on the way. Finally figured out floor mat had caught gas pedal and was holding it down. Pulled floor mat back into place, and then no problem. Told 911 as I recall to forget the tow truck. Got up to 40- 50 or so mph. Haven't reported this to Toyota yet.

- Westminster, CA, USA

problem #1

May 192009

Camry

  • 8,765 miles
While passing a truck, step on gas to go into passing gear and the car went to full throttle. After the pass and letting off gas the car stayed at full throttle. Turned off key and then restarted and car was still at full throttle. Coasted to a stop, w/O steering or brakes, (no engine power). Put car into park and then restarted. At that time it returned to normal operation. Called dealer and was told they had not heard of this happening on a 2009 Toyota Camry(4 cyl).

- Jordan, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?