Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,847 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Camry brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Camry Owner Comments

problem #19

Apr 052015

Camry 4-cyl

  • 17,000 miles


I'm not sure exactly when the problems with unexpected acceleration began with this car, but they are fairly recent. All occurred when the car was stopped or moving very slowly. I do not have very good recollections of the earliest of these occurrences, but I can remember the last three clearly. The first of these was in March 2015. I was driving in an area where the speed limit was 35 mph and had stopped for a traffic signal. I remember clearly that I had my foot solidly on the brake pedal; I had been making a special point of that as a result of the earlier occurrences. I felt the engine speed up, but the car did not move. The second occasion was on March 29th when I was driving in a residential area and had stopped at a four-way stop. I was waiting for a pedestrian (walking a dog) who was crossing the road on the opposite side from where I was stopped. I do not have a firm recollection of exactly where my right foot was positioned, but it certainly was not on the accelerator. Suddenly the car accelerated, heading toward the pedestrian. I was able to avoid hitting her by making a sharp right turn into the cross street and then bringing the car to a stop. The third occasion was on April 5th. In attempting to park the car in a lot near a grocery store, I turned the car into an empty parking space. I was pressing the brake pedal gently to bring the car to a stop at the curb on a median strip that separated my parking area from a similar one on the other side of the median. The car was just a few feet from where it should have stopped when it suddenly accelerated, jumped over the curb, and crossed the median, striking an unoccupied car parked on the other side. I was able to stop my car only after the crash caused some minor damage to the front bumpers of both cars.

- Northbrook, IL, USA

problem #18

Oct 232012


  • miles
Cpsc: I1440194A. 2010 Toyota Camry. Consumer stated at 23,000 miles the brake rotors warped causing the steering wheel to shake violently. The consumer stated 8000 miles later, the rotors warped again. Toyota offered a partial credit to replace the rotors, with the same type as a goodwill gesture.

- Thousand Oaks, CA, USA

problem #17

Mar 032014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 88,000 miles
My car was consuming oil. After each oil change for the past year the oil in my engine would disappear. I took the car back three times complaining about the oil disappearing. Each time, they would top it off with oil and tell me to drive it for 1000 miles and bring it back. Finally, they told me that I would have to leave my car and an inspector would come out from Toyota to make a determination if my engine could be repaired or if it would have to be replaced. The decision was made to replace the engine. Toyota told me that if my car had not been certified, the cost would be mine. They paid for it. This marked the third major repair on a 2010 Camry after driving it for 40,000. The rear brakes were sticking and the bearings in the front wheels had to be replaced prior to the engine blowing out. Ridiculous! absolutely ridiculous.

- Westland, MI, USA

problem #16

Nov 092013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 51,000 miles


I purchased this car from team Toyota/auto nation Mar. 14, 2013. It had 38940 miles. On Nov. 9, 2013, I rear ended a car that had stop on the freeway. I attempt to stop, and my brakes did not work. I always had to brake down to get my car to stop, and thinking now my brakes did not work properly. My seatbelt never locked me in and my air bag did not deploy. I suffer a broken nose, 7 stitches and bruise my head hit the steering wheel.I was told by a mechanic that if a person take their car to a mechanic and pay cash for their damage you will never know its been wreck before. Go to my youtube, because I did not died or paralyzed, and my blog. [xxx]. no attorney will help me cause I did not died or paralyzed. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)....updated 09-03-14 updated 09/10/2014

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #15

Jul 202011


  • 28,130 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the rear passenger side brake wore out at a low mileage. While driving 45 mph, the contact heard a squeaking sound coming from the brakes. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, where the dealer stated that the brake pad suffered from corrosion due to heavy salt use on the roads. The brake pads and rotors were all replaced. After the repairs were made, the same failure occurred on the rear drivers side brake pad. The brake pad on the rear driver's side was then replaced. The failure mileage was 28,130. The VIN was unavailable.

- Kirkville , NY, USA

problem #14

Apr 292011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
I owned 2010 Camry le and when it reached approx. 30,000 miles warranty the front brake started vibrating and I felt L like the wheel was going to come off when I stepped on the brakes from high speed and going downhill. I'm not a professional mechanic but I knew it was a warp brake rotor. I had the rotor turned and that's all it takes.I think it is very premature for a brake rotor to fail at 30,000 miles and most especially for a Camry. I was bit surprise when the dealer told me that my brake was no longer covered under warranty due to my mileage. All along I thought that it was 36mos/36000 miles bumper to bumper warranty but I was wrong, so no more Toyota next time and not recommending Toyota to family members and friends.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #13

Jun 062011

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles


The contact owned a 2010 Toyota Camry. The contact stated while driving approximately 25 mph she applied the brakes but the vehicle would not stop until it crashed into a tree. The contact did not know if a police report was filed. The contact sustained injuries and was taken to the hospital via helicopter. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to an insurance lot. The vehicle was not examined for the cause of failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 18,000. Updated 07/20/11

- Ocean City, MD, USA

problem #12

May 082011


  • 4,000 miles
1. the car had a failure in the brake system according to: the repair shop, the insurance adjustor and Toyota independent inspection. Basically a bolt that secures the hose to the caliper was loose which caused the oil to leak and the brakes to fail. It is important to note that there was no negligence of maintaining the car since the car is new - only about 4,000 miles -and serviced only at the dealer according to service schedule.

- Denver , CO, USA

problem #11

Mar 232010


  • miles
I work in the maintenance department at curtis-maruyasu in lebanon, ky. We make fuel and brake lines for Toyota. When the Toyota plant in Indiana(Subaru plant) complained of brake lines leaking, our boss told us to deny knowing about any problem if asked by Toyota representatives that would visit to investigate, even though we knew of problems for several months prior to being informed by Toyota about problems with 2 benders that shape the brake lines. There have also been follow up visits because the problem was not resolved. I am just now reporting this because I do not want to lose my job, but my conscience tells me that I need to report this. I hope this is the right place to do it.

- Lebanon, KY, USA

problem #10

Mar 012010


  • miles
I have a 2010 Toyota Camry that when you put it in drive and hit about 10 miles an hour there is a clunk. I have taken it to the local dealership multiple times and am being told that it is the ABS actuator and that there is no fix to it at this time and I was just going to have to live with it.

- Tavares, FL, USA

problem #9

Aug 052010


  • miles


My Toyota Camry failed to stop at an intersection when brakes were applied. Did not experience this problem before this particular incident. The car has been at the dealer ship. The dealership says, there is nothing wrong with the braking system.

- Rainbow City, AL, USA

problem #8

Mar 162010


  • miles
Ltr fwd (NY) owner of a 2010 Toyota Camry that has been service for multiple defects since purchased including braking system and gas pedal recall, reply to massapequa, NY ofc. The back seat foam was defective and had to be replaced, the passenger exterior mirror was loose, the brakes had to be pumped so they wouldn't feel mushy, the steering was loose and the dashboard lights would dim while driving and when applying the brake. The consumer contacted the dealer and informed them the lights were not working. They stated it sounded as though it was an electrical problem and she would have to leave the vehicle. The consumer also stated when she applied the brake, the vehicle would lunge forward.

- Massapequa Park, NY, USA

problem #7

Dec 102009


  • miles
Purchased 2010 Toyota Camry in 12/10/09. Car/tire was wobbling, felt that alignment was out. I took vehicle to dealer on 12/21/09. I was told that one of the tires was off. Dealer service just rebalanced rear passenger tire and inflated well beyond required psi's. car continued to wobble, and drive with a distortion in ride and have to hold steering wheel to the left to keep the car straight. Went back for service on 1/23/10. Again, service admitted radial pull. They rebalance the wheels, and realigned the car and that didn't correct the problem. Dealer put 4 new tires and realigned. Problem continued. Car is not sitting on the frame properly but service will not admit it. Took car to service again on 2/13/10. Again a 4 wheel alignment was performed and didn't fix the problem. Took to service again 3/8/10 complained that car isn't driving properly, I have to hold my steering wheel a certain way to keep the car driving straight. Went for a test drive due to the distortion, wobbling of car and was told that Toyota tires roll from left to right. Incredible! the car accelerates when coming to a stop and steering wheel is turned to the left to go straight. One side of the car is higher than the other. When I asked what was done to the car, I was told that they made some adjustments and was dismissed. People driving behind me flash their lights at me and I've been stopped and told that my car is crooked. I can feel it and see the same thing. Service inflated my tires to over 42psi's. that's too much air. This car is still drifting to the right or left depending upon which way the tires are moving from "left to right", in which I was told this is a Toyota thing. Insulting! I feel this was done in order to mask whatever the real problem is. I traded a 2004 Camry that had the same issues. I had over 30 alignments, 4 brake jobs, a steering shaft replaced and 4 sets of tires in 4 yrs. I have documentation on that car. This car is doing the same thing. Feel unsafe.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #6

Sep 102009


  • 4,900 miles
The contact has a 2010 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that they are having problems with the brakes on the vehicle. The brakes release and the vehicle moves forward instead of stopping on uneven pavement regardless of the weather conditions. The failure mileage was 4900 and the current mileage was 11000.

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #5

Feb 102010


  • miles
I have a 2010 Camry approx 11,000+ mileage. I had my car checked for the brakes due to the popping sound when release brake pedal and clicking after putting car in reverse and then drive. Toyota responded: The sound you are hearing is normal operation of the brake system. When you shift from reverse into drive, the brake calipers mechanically adjust to the vehicle's forward motion. When this adjustment happens, a clicking sound can sometimes be heard. This is a normal characteristic of the vehicle and will not cause any issues to the brake system. I just dropped my car off again this morning to have repairs done for the recall after the first time telling me that it wasn't sticking; but I heard that it should still be repaired. I asked them to check the brakes again and the service rep said the sound doesn't sound normal. I'm extremely nervous driving the car and worried about the unknown of what can happen. I have been driving cars for many years and never had the brakes sound this way.

- La Porte, TX, USA

problem #4

Dec 252009


  • 1,370 miles
The brake pedal was soft. The brake pedal would contact the floor mat in an emergency stop.

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #3

Feb 162010


  • 3,399 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while trying to brake at approx 10 mph, the vehicle began to slide. The contact stated he felt and heard a grinding sound and the transmission shifted into reverse on its own. He was able to get the vehicle to a complete stop. He was able to duplicate the same problem by attempting to brake again and he heard and felt the grinding sound. However the vehicle did not shift into reverse again. He also stated that he could not get the vehicle up the small hill leading to his driveway without removing the snow out of the way first; he believed that the vehicle should have been able to get up the hill as it had front wheel drive. He had not called the manufacturer or the dealer to-date. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The current and failure mileages were 3,399.

- Epsom, NH, USA

problem #2

Aug 102009

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 300 miles
The contact has a 2010 Toyota Camry. The contact states that the vehicle is stopping to quickly. The vehicle jerks and comes to a quick stop when the contact tries to stop. When the contact is driving at high speeds the vehicle slows down normally. When the contact is driving at lower speeds under 30 mph the vehicle comes to a jerking, short and sudden stop causing a safety hazard. The failure mileage was 300 and the current mileage is 4600. Updated 04/16/10. Updated 07/14/0

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #1

Feb 062010


  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 5 to 10 mph a vehicle in front of him braked and he slammed on the brakes.the brakes did not engage and he crashed into the vehicle. The police was contacted and there is a report. Prior to the crash the contact received a recall notice for the accelerator petal where he took the vehicle in and they repaired a metal shim in the accelerator petal. They advised him the new pedal for the vehicle will not be available until April. The damage to the vehicle's the front bumper was repaired.the failure mileage was 17000 and current mileage was 18000.

- Sharon, MA, USA

Not what you are looking for?