Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,693 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Camry steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

May 112015


  • 103,000 miles


While driving on highway the vehicle suddenly lost steering with no ability for the driver to control direction of the car. Car departed from its lane and then crossed two lanes involuntarily but lanes were free of traffic so an accident was avoided. At the same time the car shook and vibrated. The driver immediately braked and the brakes did reduce the speed of the car. The ability to steer was recovered after approximately 1 minute. The car was towed to a service station. A review of the computer data (trouble codes) indicated a failure of the ABS actuator and steering angle sensor. Maurice at the Toyota customer experience center aid the Toyota company will not take any responsibility for the failure and he also said that, "no assistance would be given" as the car was out of warranty.we have a case number filed with Toyota. Toyota says this hazardous and terrifying incident is not the result of a design flaw or a manufacturing defect. We have lost confidence in the safety of this Toyota vehicle.

- Severna Park, MD, USA

problem #20

Mar 202013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
When turning right either in motion or not there is a knocking sound you can hear and feel. The knocking sound has gotten worst and louder.

- Sacramento , CA, USA

problem #19

Jun 022014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
Power steering hose/pipe leaking despite no collision or damage to the front.

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #18

Aug 202014

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles


The dashboard of my 2010 Camry is melting, is so sticky.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #17

Apr 202014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the steering wheel became extremely rough and abnormal force had to be used to turn the steering wheel in any direction. The vehicle also had an intermittent acceleration and brake failure that continued to occur each time that the vehicle was driven. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, who was unable to diagnose the failure. No repairs were made to the vehicle. The contact was later driving and applied the brakes while approaching a traffic stop. The vehicle abnormally accelerated and crashed into the rear of another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained injuries to the ankle and back, which required medical attention. A police report was filed of the incident. The manufacturer was notified of the incident. The approximate failure mileage was unknown.

- North Braddock, PA, USA

problem #16

Feb 152010

Camry 4-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
I bought a brand new 2010 Camry le (4 cylinder), and it has already been through the set of factory-installed tires, another set of four Michelin tires, a third set of four, and 2 more tires as of 10/27/2013, although the vehicle only now has approximately 74,000 miles on it. The tires curiously go uniformly bald on the front in less than 1/3rd of the life of the tire. Each company from which I have purchased new Michelin or bfgoodrich tires for this Camry said this is highly unusual. They stated that the tires should not ordinarily be uniformly bald or be worn out so quickly. They have also stated that the vehicle must have come out of the factory aligned this way, since the first pair was useless after so few miles and the new tires are wearing out so quickly. Moreover, there are electrical problems with the ac system controls and the sensor on the driver's side power window. The ac mysteriously turns its recycled air switch from recycled to vent (without being pressed to make the switch) while driving. Also, the driver's side power window will go nearly all the way up (when pressed), but it stops short of the top and then rolls itself back down. The service manager at robbin's Toyota said his mechanics could not get these problems to re-occur when driven, and therefore, he could not and would not fix the two issues, although the vehicle was under warranty at the time. Finally, I cannot remove the oil filter canister for a home-oil change. I've used the oem filter cap wrench, but I am unable to get the canister housing to turn, which makes it impossible to change the oil filter at home. This was the first Toyota I've owned, and it will be the last.

- Texarkana, TX, USA

problem #15

May 072012


  • 55,000 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the steering shaft was making a clicking sound. The failure made it very hard to turn the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician stated that the intermediate steering shaft that connected to the rack and pinion needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 55,000 and the current mileage was 70,000. The VIN was not available.

- Las Ciescenta, CA, USA

problem #14

Oct 222011


  • 17,050 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the vehicle would pull to the left while driving at various speeds over 25 mph. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times who inspected and realigned the front of the vehicle, but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was notified who advised the contact that a representative would give him a return call but the contact had yet to hear from the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 17,050.

- Bristol, PA, USA

problem #13

Nov 182011

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
Bought 2010 Toyota Camry new. With less than 5000 miles on odometer took back to local dealer complaining about vibration in steering wheel at highway speeds. Car now has 20,000 miles, and after third visit to local dealer service department all they say is bad tires and Toyota does not warrant tires. Filed complaint with Toyota and company says same thing.

- Washington, MO, USA

problem #12

Mar 102011


  • 10,445 miles
Power steering belt broke after stopping at a traffic light and beginning to pick up speed. Continued to drive home (4 miles) with limited steering control. Next day, had car towed in to Toyota dealer.

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #11

Dec 082009


  • 6,500 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. The contact stated when attempting a turn in either direction, the steering wheel would wobble abnormally and the vehicle would pull abruptly to either side. In addition, when braking in wet road conditions, the wheels would slide before the vehicle would come to a stop. The rear wheel would wobble excessively and would cause the vehicle to pull to the right, making the drive bumpy. The vehicle was taken to the dealer numerous times and has been test driven and received a diagnostic test, yet the dealer was never able to diagnose the failure. The dealer advised that the vehicle conformed to all specifications. The manufacturer would not provide any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 6,500.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #10

Jul 152010


  • miles
My new 2010 Toyota corolla's eps (electronic power steering) is erratic and unresponsive. Starting at speeds around 55-60mph, the steering wheel wobbles half an inch to an inch, although I've only drove it off the dealer's lot within the last month. This wobble causes the vehicle to sway back and forth within my lane, which could cause a serious accident if another vehicle was close enough to mine. Needless to say, this could result in a major collision if an accident occurred. The dealer failed to acknowledge a problem and Toyota usa didn't contact me about a fix either.

- Ithaca, NY, USA

problem #9

May 172010


  • 11,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. While driving at 30 mph, the vehicle suddenly pulled to the right and crashed into a traffic light. The air bags did not deploy. There were no injuries but a police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealership and was awaiting inspection by the insurance company and the dealer. The contact believed the power steering to be the cause of the failure but the dealer refused to check it. The contact called the manufacturer and filed a complaint. The current and failure mileages were approximately 11,000.

- Foxboro, MA, USA

problem #8

May 042010


  • 3,400 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. The contact was driving 55 mph with a representative from the dealership when the vehicle began to shake excessively. The rear windows were opened and the vehicle also began to move from side to side. The representative stated that the failure was normal and that the contact should open the front windows to release pressure from within the vehicle. The contact stated that the failure was a safety issue since the vehicle was difficult to control. The current and failure mileages were approximately 3,400.

- Davenport, FL, USA

problem #7

Mar 162010


  • miles
Ltr fwd (NY) owner of a 2010 Toyota Camry that has been service for multiple defects since purchased including braking system and gas pedal recall, reply to massapequa, NY ofc. The back seat foam was defective and had to be replaced, the passenger exterior mirror was loose, the brakes had to be pumped so they wouldn't feel mushy, the steering was loose and the dashboard lights would dim while driving and when applying the brake. The consumer contacted the dealer and informed them the lights were not working. They stated it sounded as though it was an electrical problem and she would have to leave the vehicle. The consumer also stated when she applied the brake, the vehicle would lunge forward.

- Massapequa Park, NY, USA

problem #6

Dec 102009


  • miles
Purchased 2010 Toyota Camry in 12/10/09. Car/tire was wobbling, felt that alignment was out. I took vehicle to dealer on 12/21/09. I was told that one of the tires was off. Dealer service just rebalanced rear passenger tire and inflated well beyond required psi's. car continued to wobble, and drive with a distortion in ride and have to hold steering wheel to the left to keep the car straight. Went back for service on 1/23/10. Again, service admitted radial pull. They rebalance the wheels, and realigned the car and that didn't correct the problem. Dealer put 4 new tires and realigned. Problem continued. Car is not sitting on the frame properly but service will not admit it. Took car to service again on 2/13/10. Again a 4 wheel alignment was performed and didn't fix the problem. Took to service again 3/8/10 complained that car isn't driving properly, I have to hold my steering wheel a certain way to keep the car driving straight. Went for a test drive due to the distortion, wobbling of car and was told that Toyota tires roll from left to right. Incredible! the car accelerates when coming to a stop and steering wheel is turned to the left to go straight. One side of the car is higher than the other. When I asked what was done to the car, I was told that they made some adjustments and was dismissed. People driving behind me flash their lights at me and I've been stopped and told that my car is crooked. I can feel it and see the same thing. Service inflated my tires to over 42psi's. that's too much air. This car is still drifting to the right or left depending upon which way the tires are moving from "left to right", in which I was told this is a Toyota thing. Insulting! I feel this was done in order to mask whatever the real problem is. I traded a 2004 Camry that had the same issues. I had over 30 alignments, 4 brake jobs, a steering shaft replaced and 4 sets of tires in 4 yrs. I have documentation on that car. This car is doing the same thing. Feel unsafe.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #5

Mar 012010


  • 4,000 miles
Opening the hood to add windshield wiper fluid, the hood release did not work, had to reconnect it. The power steering fluid was extremely low, have only owned car for 6 months, only 4000 miles on it. Sometimes when you let off the gas pedal, feels like the brakes engage, really slows the car down when "coasting".

- Johnstown, OH, USA

problem #4

Aug 172009


  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that when he turned the steering wheel to the left or the right it doesn't respond immediately. While driving approximately 25 mph, the vehicle would travel from lane to lane and became difficult to drive straight. The vehicle also accelerated and increased in speed while the brakes were depressed which made it impossible for the vehicle to stop. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but they were unable to duplicate or diagnose the failure. The Toyota manufacturer was called and stated that he should take the vehicle back to the dealer to be diagnosed. The failure mileage was 5,000.

- Bentleyville, PA, USA

problem #3

Oct 122009


  • 2,000 miles
At speeds exceeding 60 - 65 mph the car sways.

- West Bloomfield, MI, USA

problem #2

Jan 122010


  • 5 miles
Drifting in 2010 Toyota Camry. Vehicle would drift left and right but not go straight. After several alignments and replacement of tires and wheels a new wrack was installed and that eliminated the problem. I am aware of 3 other 2010 Camry at the same dealership experiencing the same problem.

- Naples, FL, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?