Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
3,562 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Camry transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

Jun 232011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 25,555 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car jerks at low speeds during stop and go traffic during my daily commute from work. The movement is very noticeable and you can feel that something is wrong with the transmission. This is a brand new car (2010) with 25, 584 miles but it drives very rough as if its an older car. Transition from low speeds is not smooth at all. Typically, this surge occurs only between the speed range of 0-45/50 mph. RPM gauge drastically jumps or increases, then falls back down momentarily. And it only occurs when driving in city or stop and go traffic before coming to a stop but while driving on speed limit on highway it is fine. The car shift/jumps sporadically causing vehicle to jump forward a little bit and causing delay before coming to a complete stop. I do not know what to do at this point, I have taken the car to the dealer twice already and they keep insisting that there is nothing wrong with the vehicle. I have been on two separate test drives with different technicians who have been unable to recreate the event. But obviously it is not something I can recreate while in the passengers seat. This is something that the tech has to be able to feel the harsh shifting transition him/her self. A shifting re-calibration has been performed once on the car but the jerking has continued to occur following the test. This is the first brand new car that I have bought and I completely frustrated with the dealer and Toyota. The reason I bought a Toyota is because I wanted a reliable and smooth car to drive to work everyday and I did not expect to be having these kinds of issues with a brand new car. I have been insulted by the dealership service dept and their list of cause factors ranging from possibly because I drive in heels, to having A/C turned on, to the car only providing maximum performance. It is all a bunch of excuses, I wish they would actually do something about this problem. However, I will continue to go in and be a nuisance until this issue is resolved.

- St. Louis , MO, USA

problem #21

Oct 152010

Camry

  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. While the vehicle was stopped in drive, the vehicle rolled backward and stalled. The failure occurred everytime the vehicle was idling in drive. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 12,000 and the current mileage was approximately 15,000.

- White House , TN, USA

problem #20

Jun 012010

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that on June 1, 2010 while the vehicle was in the parked position, she heard a loud noise and saw the vehicle moving. The vehicle crashed into the side of a garage. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who was unable to duplicate or diagnose the failure. The contact filed a complaint with the manufacturer who also stated that the vehicle should be inspected again by an authorized dealer. The current and failure mileages were approximately 10,000. Updated 07/26/10. Updated 08/03/10

- Traverse City, MI, USA

problem #19

Apr 272010

Camry

  • 4,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Tuesday April 27 I was driving my 2010 Camry in the great smoky mountains descending a mountain road. I tested downshifting at several speeds into various gears to determine if it was possible to slow down the car under runaway accelerator conditions. I had wrongly assumed that bad drivers had failed to use the controls of the car to slow down and stop such vehicles. The computer refused to accept my command to downshift into 1st gear at speeds above 25 mph. I did not try higher speeds into 2nd. Clearly the product manager and program engineers at Toyota do not understand that saving the transmission or engine from stress could lead to destruction of that same car and it's occupants in their foolish decision to limit driver command and control. A fault in the computer could lead to entire failure of the transmission shift commands and engine control system ECU. This same flawed thinking has led to many airbus aircraft fatal crashes. The flight control computer feels it is more intelligent that the stupid captain at the controls so it will not allow a flight control input it does not agree with. When the sensors are defective, or the flight envelope requires emergency actions, etc., tough luck. Now, I realize that Toyota has followed the same flawed thinking. I am an instrument rated Pilot and I believe the operator should have total control of the vehicle. No command interlocks to prevent emergency operations should be tolerated. How can I trust this vehicle now that I know it will kill due to programming errors even if I try to regain control in a normal manner?

- Umatilla, FL, USA

problem #18

Mar 232010

Camry

  • 10,000 miles
I have a Toyota Camry xle 2010 that I purchased late last year. The vehicle was working normally during the recall period lately. However, after receiving the recall notice from Toyota, I brought it to the dealer to have it fixed on the protential problems. That was done about 2 weeks ago. The service manager to me that they would update the computer system so that if the gas pedal and the break are applied at the same time, the system will cut off or reduce its power for safety. During the last 2 weeks the vehicle seemed to be working fine. Then last week I brought it back to the same dealer (team Toyota, pa) to have an oil change. This morning (Tuesday 03/23/2010) I've noticed a problem on my vehicle while driving: When I step on the gas pedal to move forward I can feel that the vehicle tried a bit harder than normal, but as soon as I lift up my foot off the gas pedal, the vehicle seems to slow down or lost its power so fast that it lost its momentum quickly and feeling like someone is stepping on the break. This seems to be a reverse affect of the recalled problem. I'm feeling nervous. I'm going to call the dealer today, but I'm pretty sure they couldn't do anything about it until the problem is recognized by Toyota themselves.

- Trevose, PA, USA

problem #17

Aug 032009

Camry

  • 10 miles
My 2010 Camry has been to the dealer a few times. Know one seems to be able to duplicate the acceleration surge I'm experiencing. I contacted Toyota directly. They sent me to different dealer. Dealer had it for a day and said the same thing "can't duplicate" I think they have all been schooled to say this. I had the service manager ride with me and told him to watch the RPM dial when I go to stop. He saw the RPM dial move up to almost 2000 when I hit the brake. He had me drive another 2010 Camry and it did the same thing. I had a 98 avalon and a 03 Camry that did not do this. He explained to me that this is the way these new cars down sift and it's different than the older Toyota's. he assured me that my car is safe and I have nothing to worry about. After reading all of the other complaints here I'm not 100% sold that this is normal down sifting. I think I'm going to take this to arbitration. I hate to do this because I love my new car...I'm just really nervous driving it.

- Dublin, OH, USA

problem #16

Mar 142010

Camry

  • 100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My cars transmission shifting is very rough and "clunky" when coming to a stop sign or traffic light. Many times the car will seem to downshift resulting in a strong pulling (almost a braking sensation) preventing a normal coasting to a stop since, you need to keep pressing the accelerator to counteract the downshifting during a slow down. This has almost caused an accident several times. Also, conversely, the transmission seems to push the car forward in the final breaking moments due to the transmission shifting patterns. I have almost bumped the car in front of me a few times because of this. I have taken the car to the dealership and the transmission has been recalibrated several times resulting in a temporary fix but, the problem returns, sometimes in less than 24 hours of the recalibrating. I believe this is a safety concern due to my experiences of near accidents with my car.

- West Jefferson, NC, USA

problem #15

Jul 012009

Camry

  • miles
The car didn't stop because the gas pedal got stock and the brakes wouldn't work, it occurred once, which caused the accident. Parts was repaired, I don't have the old parts or the car because it was a rental car ( 2010 Toyota Camry ).

- Flushing, MI, USA

problem #14

Feb 222010

Camry

  • miles
Two weeks before, I had two recall fixes done for my 2010 Camry (sticky pedal, floor mat entrapment). Although for the initial two days, it looked like maybe it worked, since then the same old problems with the car are persisting. In the past, leading to the recall fix, I had lodged several complaints (including one before the gas pedal recall announcement) with Toyota and their dealer. My car has a weird transmission at speeds 0-45mph. The braking is also not smooth and it does feel like the car is for a second not accelerating when it should or brake when it should. At this time, I have given up on this as it seems to be a waste of time trying to explain my position and get it fixed. A second attempt to reach out to Toyota through their website (since their 1800 support number keeps you waiting forever) - [incident: 100130-000604] on 1/30. There was no response from Toyota on this.

- Fremont, CA, USA

problem #13

Oct 012009

Camry

  • 2,000 miles
My 2010 Toyota Camry was purchased in Sept '09. In Oct. 09, my car was on about a 10 degree incline, foot on the break, when I took my foot off the brake it began to roll back. This has since happened about a dozen times. I took it to metro Toyota in January and was told nothing was wrong. I complained to the service mgr. Who test drove the car with me & replicated the problem. I was told this was normal for the '10 Camry's because of the new 6-speed transmission. I said I did not think this was normal & asked him to refer the problem to Toyota & call me back. Nothing ever happened - so in Feb. I called the service mgr again who called me back a week later & said there is nothing else that could be done.

- Westlake, OH, USA

problem #12

Dec 032009

Camry

  • 200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased new 2010 Toyota Camry le, in first week acknowledged to dealership that it was shifting itself slowly like a stick shift. Also quickly accelerating when braking on turns. Told normal let the car break in. Few weeks trouble still continue. Took to dealership, told yes there is recall but need to wait for letter. At 1600 miles accelerator was changed, however vehicle still driving unsafely hard to come to complete stop, takes to long like it is downshifting. Vehicle jumps as driving and is riding rough. Now at 2000 miles and first payment dur not comfortable in car. Single mother that decided it was time to invest in a new car and stop dealing with used car problems has found in two months new car has millions of more issues. Not satisfied and very disappointed. Need another car but not in position to do so. Scared for family safety as many reports show people are being ignored by complaints and are dying.

- Victorville, CA, USA

problem #11

Dec 082009

Camry

  • 200 miles
Vehicle purchase Nov 2009. 2010 Toyota le Camry. Noticed within first 200 miles that vehicle accelerated and down shifted during turns. Voiced compliant. No action. Recall announced, told had to wait for letter for repair. Brought vehicle back same problem. Then fixed. Vehicle at 1700 miles driving like stick shift car jumps as changing gears. May jump as breaking causing an incomplete timely stop. Currently at 2200 miles driving rough on road and shifting self as driving so power will immediately increase then decrease. Scared to drive new vehicle. Dealership treating me as crazy and that should wait for additional recalls before bringing vehicle in. This has all taken place before initial payment was even made. Very disappointed in quality.

- Apple Valley, CA, USA

problem #10

Aug 012009

Camry

  • miles
Have 2010 Camry next day after purchase car started making a popping noise took to dealership service dept. They didn't know what was making noise, would check with outside tech had to call them after waiting for over a week. Service dept. Mgr tells me it is normal that all Camry make the noise that it is the ABS actuator. New cars should not be making a loud noise. If this is normal why didn't they know what is was the first time I took car in? service mgr. Told me to turn the radio on and I wouldn't hear the noise. Car automatically slowed down while driving at nighttime, had foot on accelerator, if a car had been behind me they would have hit me, put more pressure on acc. But engine just revived was able to quickly turn engine off and restart car would not change into gear as it should seemed as if hung in low. Have had brake pedal go to floor as if no brakes. Have taken car to dealership serv. Dept but kept being told nothing showed up on computer. I told them I couldn't help what was or wasn't on computer but those things did happen and were happening. Serv. Mgr. Told me that it must be that I just decided I didn't like the car. As of this date Feb.22 I still have not received a recall letter regarding floor mats or accelerator. E-mailed Toyota over a week ago received confirm that E-mail had been received but have not received a response from them. These instances started August 1, 2009.

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #9

Feb 162010

Camry

  • 3,399 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while trying to brake at approx 10 mph, the vehicle began to slide. The contact stated he felt and heard a grinding sound and the transmission shifted into reverse on its own. He was able to get the vehicle to a complete stop. He was able to duplicate the same problem by attempting to brake again and he heard and felt the grinding sound. However the vehicle did not shift into reverse again. He also stated that he could not get the vehicle up the small hill leading to his driveway without removing the snow out of the way first; he believed that the vehicle should have been able to get up the hill as it had front wheel drive. He had not called the manufacturer or the dealer to-date. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The current and failure mileages were 3,399.

- Epsom, NH, USA

problem #8

Aug 102009

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 300 miles
The contact has a 2010 Toyota Camry. The contact states that the vehicle is stopping to quickly. The vehicle jerks and comes to a quick stop when the contact tries to stop. When the contact is driving at high speeds the vehicle slows down normally. When the contact is driving at lower speeds under 30 mph the vehicle comes to a jerking, short and sudden stop causing a safety hazard. The failure mileage was 300 and the current mileage is 4600. Updated 04/16/10. Updated 07/14/0

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #7

Dec 152009

Camry

  • 400 miles
My 2010 Toyota Camry rolls back while in drive on a less than 10% incline. It behaves like a stick shift except you can not control the roll with a clutch other than putting your left foot on the brake to keep it from rolling back. I complained to Toyota national and no one responded. The dealership tells me it's normal. Clearly it is not.

- Bothell, WA, USA

problem #6

Nov 222009

Camry

  • 2,000 miles
My 2010 Camry was purchased in Sept. 09. in November I noticed a problem when the car is on a slight incline, foot on the break and you take your foot off the break the car rolls backwards. This has happened about a dozen times, when in January I finally took it to the dealer & was told all 10 Camry's do this because of the new 6 speed transmission. The service mgr. & I took the car for a test drive, and we replicated the problem. I told him I didn't think this was normal, that I thought it was a safety issue if someone was behind me in another vehicle and wanted it reported to Toyota - he said he would and would call me back. To date I have heard nothing.

- Westlake, OH, USA

problem #5

Oct 232009

Camry

  • 6,000 miles
I have a 2010 Toyota Camry with automatic transmission, driving in a ramp, the car will slide back down to the bottom if I release my foot from the brake. Many times, in a stop and go situation, I almost hit the car behind me.

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #4

May 192009

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,505 miles
I bought a 2010 Toyota Camry that has the new six speed automatic transmission. When I was coasting to slow down the transmission seemed to disengage and did not hold back anymore. I came within a foot of running into the rear of the car in front of me which was stopped at a red light. This had happened many times before but never this close to an accident. When the car reaches around 20mph the transmission doesn't hold back any longer and you have to put your foot on the brake hard. It is not a good feeling. On May 22, 2009 I called the salesman and he told me to come in and drive another 2010 Camry to see if that transmission acted the same since this was the first year for the new six speed automatic. I took it in on the 22nd and the salesman and I took a new 2010 Camry out for a drive and it acted the same way. So the conclusion was that all the 2010 Camry were the same and I would have to live with it. My wife is very leary about driving this car and afraid she will run into someone. We haven't had a problem with the accelerator, but the transmission seems to be a problem.we are very concerned now that the other problems have arisen about the Camry.

- Summerville, SC, USA

problem #3

Oct 302009

Camry

  • 30 miles
Since the time I bought my new 2010 Toyota Camry, I saw issues with the way the car transmission worked at speeds from 0-50mph. Starting from the first week of my using the car, I went to the dealership a total of 4 times, only to be sent back after a "test drive" saying nothing is wrong. In my own language, I had been explaining the issue which now looks exactly similar to the 'sticking gas pedal" recall recently informed by Toyota. My car was still accelerating while braking, or would start braking when my foot is off the accelerator. I also used to feel a jerk when the car moved between speeds of 0-50mph. I commute 70 miles daily to work and I have noticed this daily to the point that I have started ignoring out of deep frustration. The dealer test drives and causes embarrassment saying they cannot recreate my issue. I logged an incident with Toyota (091214-000053). It led to my fourth visit to the dealer with the same answer. Toyota's response from a case manager was that if they cannot recreate they will not do anything. I almost feel this is a hopeless case as I don't think neither Toyota nor the dealership were truly serious about assisting me. They could have at least informed me that there are some potential issues with their vehicles that they are working on. I reopened a new case (100130-000604). So far I have received no recall notice from Toyota. I don't think they are handling this the right way. I haven't had any major incidents, but I don't think I can wait for that to happen to get the attention of Toyota or its dealer. This is not a smart way of solving an issue. I feel disappointed, angry and helpless.

- Fremont, CA, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?