Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
2,882 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Toyota Camry brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Toyota Camry Owner Comments

problem #9

Oct 072010

Camry 4-cyl

  • 13 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vibration @ various speeds: 10/7/10 (mge 16): Purchased (misconstrued vibration for road conditions). 10/8/10 (mge 49) all speeds, brought to dealer. Per dealer: Flat spots on tires due to car sitting to long. Solution: Over-inflate & instructed to drive. Also, disc were out of round. 10/11 (mge 89) discs serviced, vibration still present. Dealer denies presence. 11/15 (mge 975) dealer acknowledges vibration, tires replaced, vibration still present @ highway speeds. 2/19/11 (mge 5160) 5K maint., vibration still present, car pulling left when braking/accelerating. Service rep claims to have driven the car in addition to mechanic. Denied presence of vibration, exact quote "it drives like a Camry". 2/21/11: Car hit in rear driver tire, wheel assembly replaced, new rim, new bumper needed. No change in vibration, still present at highway speeds. 7/12 (mge 10127) 10K maint., vibration still present. Again dealer denies presence of vibration. 11/4 (mge 15355) 15K maint. Advised vibration still present. Again dealer denies presence of vibration. 3/22/12 (mge 19973) 20K maint., vibration still present, now severe pulse when braking. Pulse acknowledged, rotors resurfaced. Again dealer denies presence of initial vibration. 06/8 (mge 24949) vibration now felt at lower speeds ds 50+ w/ increases intensity with speeds & @ 19-25 mph. Per dealer unable to validate low speed, but noted slight pulse at highway speeds. Dealer called factory rep. 6/10: Dealer advised they went over car's hx with rep, no further action, tires too warn to evaluate. (lf uneven wear; other 3 ok). Instructed to buy tires for eval. 6/12 (mge 25087): Called Toyota; case # 1206120145. 6/13/12 Toyota rep advised do not warranty tires, factory rep can't assess w/defective equipment. But, call dealer to see if temp tires could be used for eval since complaint was noted upon taking ownership. Immediate options: Wait for dealer response, buy tires to see if the vibration is present or contact Bridgestone.

- Warwick, RI, USA

problem #8

Feb 112012

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
I was returning home from the mall in pottsville, pa. I drove down the roadway next to the mall to the stop sign. I was able to stop the car at that time. I proceeded to turn to the left out the driveway of the mall. The driveway of the mall is pretty long and on a steep hill. I attempted to apply my brakes at the top of the hill. There was pressure on the brake but nothing happened. The car continued to accelerate forward. I didn't want to continue down the steep hill knowing the brakes weren't working and crash into the van at the bottom of the hill so I decided to turn to the right sharply on a drive that curved around to a neighboring store next to the mall (going almost back uphill at this time). Still no brakes so I decided to hit the curb to stop the vehicle and prevent hitting any other vehicle. What is extremely odd is that even though my foot was not on the accelerator and was on the brake pedal and I turned sharply and going slightly uphill there was no change in the acceleration of the car. I had no choice but to hit the curb to stop the car. I put the car in reverse and back off of the curb. I proceeded down the hill again. Still no brakes. I could feel the pressure on the brake pedal but the brakes just didn't work. I had to turn the car to the right and hit the curb again next to the lane I was in. So when there was no traffic and the light at the bottom of the hill turned green I proceeded down the hill and turned right onto rt 61 S. I immediately tried the brake again and nothing. So in order to stop the car I applied the emergency brake. This of course caused the car to spin but at least the car stopped. I put the car in neutral and then used the clutch less shifting to control the speed of the car and returned home. Toyota has retained an inspector to inspect the car today at the dealership today 2/27/12.

- Auburn, PA, USA

problem #7

Jan 172012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 3,000 miles
The driver was in parking lot of rehab center picking up patient and says the car lost control going 6 miles per hour ran into the rehab center incurring over $10,000 in damages to the car not including damages to the rehab center front glass door. The 2011 Toyota Camry purchased in septermber of 2011 new from the lot at mechanicsville va Toyota dealership. We called the Toyota main office and they sent out a representitive for inspection of the car on January 26th or 27th 2012 prior to any work being done to repair the car. We have not heard back from Toyota as it takes up to 30 days. The car is currently under full repair from the collision.

- Huddleston, VA, USA

problem #6

Sep 062011

Camry

  • 60 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At low speed (15-39 mph), the transmission shift roughly. The car was either pulled back (1) by the engine or jumped (2, while my foot on the break pedal) during the down shift. The pulling back (1) gives the same effect as using engine breaking in the manual transmission. Based on the signs that I have seen on interstate, state laws (in some states) prohibit driver to use engine breaking. The jumping (2) was very bad. The car needed approximately 3-10 feet more to stop due to the unpredictable jumping behavior. Well 3-10 feet does not seem to be a lot but let say if you are 1 foot away from running over a living thing.......... this problem have happened since I bought the car new and they still be a serious problem. I have been driven about 10-20 cars (including rentals) but I have never experienced the jumping (2, while my foot on the break pedal) until I bought this Camry. After reading the reviews online, this seems to be a common problem for this model. This problem needs immediate attentions.

- Fort Myers, FL, USA

problem #5

Nov 142011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 9,710 miles
This vehicle was involved in a previous accident in the home driveway of the owners of the vehicle. As the owner was turning into his driveway, a tire blew out on the vehicle's right front passenger side. As the driver/owner hit the brake the car accelerated into the side rock barrier of the driveway. According to Toyota who investigated the incident, there was no issue with vehicle. But another incident has recently happened involving the car this year on the incident date listed on this form. The wife of the owner of the vehicle was in the driveway operating the Toyota Camry 2011 to park the vehicle. As the car was turning to park in the driveway the operator pressed on the brake to back the vehicle back when all of a sudden without warning the vehicle leaped forward hitting the an exterior door to their basement which is surrounded by the rock that covers their home. The car was severely damaged, air bags were deployed and the operator sustained some injuries which caused her to visit the hospital and have medication prescribed to her. The impact on this second accident was so severe that is shown pictures of the incident you have to wonder how such an impact could happen unless their was fault in the vehicle. This time we are awaiting response from Toyota to investigate this problem. We also wanted to contact the government to make known of this recurring issue with the braking or unintended acceleration of the vehicle.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #4

Nov 192010

Camry 4-cyl

  • 460 miles
This vehicle was involved in an accident in the home driveway of the owners of the vehicle. As the owner was turning into his driveway, a tire blew out on the vehicle's right front passenger side. As the driver/owner hit the brake the car accelerated into the side rock barrier of the driveway. According to Toyota who investigated the incident, there was no issue with vehicle. But another incident has recently happened involving the car this year which will be reported on a separate form which shows us their is an unsafe issue with the vehicle that requires Toyota to be investigated.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #3

Jul 102011

Camry

  • 2,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Camry hybrid. The contact was driving 55 mph and attempted to engage the brakes but the vehicle did not stop and exhibited an abnormal noise. As a result, she crashed into the rear of another vehicle. A police report was not filed and no injuries were reported. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who diagnosed that the failure was due to her depressing the accelerator and brake pedals simultaneously. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who sent an engineer to further inspect the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 2,600.

- Elmsford , NY, USA

problem #2

Feb 112011

Camry

  • 6,500 miles
In Aug. Of `10 I purchased a 2011 Toyota Camry. It has about 6500 miles on it and after driving it home from niagara falls yesterday, about 100 miles, I ran it through a car wash. I drove it home about a mile and made two stops on the way. Parked in the garage I went out to get the car around noon today (19 hours after the wash). The car would not move as the wheels were all tightly locked. I could not get it to go forward or backward. Finally one of the front wheels moved slightly and in so doing the back end of the car went sideways into the garage wall doing minor damage. I did not try it any more until around 24 hours after the car wash and it still is tightly locked and will not move. The temperature last night was about zero and 20 degrees today. I fear if I really force it may do damage to the brakes if it hasn't already. I have driven cars for 60 years, washed many in as cold weather and never had this happen. I have been told it is a design flaw. If I was not retired and had to go to work I would not have been able to move the car. Thank you for the opportunity to report this problem. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Palmyra, NY, USA

problem #1

Dec 092010

Camry 4-cyl

  • 3,595 miles
On 9 Dec 2010, I drove a rental car, 2011 Toyota Camry (blue) from Virginia back to New Jersey (NJ). The car had 3316 miles when I rent on 8 Dec 2010 in NJ. At approximately 6:35 pm edt on 9 Dec 2010, I was driving in the most left express lane at 60 mph in prince george's county in Maryland. The driver from my right hand passenger side tended to pass me from the right, and that car was also very close to me. I could not even see the rear light of that vehicle. I was forced to slow down the 2011 Toyota Camry to avoid collision, but the car could not simply slow down. In order to avoid the collision, I shift part of my car to the shoulder in my left hand side. Then I discovered a car parked on the shoulder with no signals/lights. I put on brakes the 2011 Toyota Camry really hard to the floor, but the car could not slow down and could not stop completely. The brake system in the 2011 Toyota Camry was obviously failed and it was even accelerated during the last few seconds prior to the collision. The 2011 Toyota Camry was finally hit right onto back of the parked car (on the shoulder). After the severe collision at the front driver side, none of the airbags in the 2011 Toyota Camry was deployed from this sever front driver side collision. Most of all, I was not able to stop the 2011 Toyota Camry due to its braking system failure! the mileage after the collision was 3595 and the total number of miles driving during this trip was 279 miles (8-9 Dec 2010). I was hurt severely in the lower back/lumbar spine area. I was very lucky that I was survived from this severe car accident.

- Freehold, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?