Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
31 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
15 / 0
Average Mileage:
37,587 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #35

Jul 222013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 17,000 miles


The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving 25 mph, the vehicle accelerated without manual force. The contact was able to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis but they were unable to duplicate the problem. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 17,000. Updated 10/22/13

- Mission Viejo, CA, USA

problem #34

Jun 072013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 10,905 miles
I was in a line of cars in the take-out line at burger king waiting to place my order. The transmission was in drive and my right foot was on the brake pedal. The engine suddenly accelerated. I put my left foot also on the brake, but with both feet and all my strength felt the car going forward. So as not to strike the car in front of me, I turned sharply to the left and plowed into the curb, went over the curb, hit a large bush trunk, through the bust, mulch and another bust. The engine raced out of control and could not be held by the brake.

- Rockland, MA, USA

problem #33

Jan 012013


  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the passenger's side front air bag light remained illuminated. The check engine and the traction control warning lights also illuminated. In addition, the vehicle suddenly accelerated while the brake pedal was being depressed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to have a diagnostic performed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 53,000 and the current mileage was 61,000.

- Pikesville, MD, USA

problem #32

Jun 302012


  • miles


2011 Toyota Camry. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle sudden acceleration. The consumer stated her foot was on the brake, when the vehicle suddenly bucked forward and crashed into the rear of her son's vehicle. The local Toyota dealer, informed the consumer, most of the accidents, were caused my the floor mats. The consumer stated she had thick mats, that did not get caught under the gas pedal.

- Malverne, NY, USA

problem #31

Jan 152013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 26,000 miles
Vehicle was being driven on a dirt road, going around a corner, the vehicle did not slow down and went off the road and skidded alongside the road for about 30 ft. The vehicle then hit a few small stumps, still without slowing down, and finally slammed into a large tree. The impact in which the car hit the tree was so strong that the back end of the car rose up into the air and stayed in that vertical position. Only the tail lights were still visible from the road after the car slammed into the tree and stopped. If the tree hadn't been hit, the car would have continued down the hillside into the bottom of a ravine, about another 40 ft. The entire front drivers side was shoved almost to the windshield and not one of the airbags deployed. The entire drivers side of the motor and hood were destroyed, the battery was crushed and leaking acid everywhere and was sitting behind the front tire and the hood was "V" shaped and pushed into the windshield. There were no skid marks so clearly the brakes weren't functioning properly either, also the speed in which the vehicle went into the tree shows that the acceleration was faulty because the vehicle wouldn't slow down. The drivers face slammed into the steering wheel and broke her nose and received a possible concussion because the airbags failed to deploy, along with numerous bruises and scratches. The damage is so severe that the car is a total loss but still we are left wondering why the airbags didn't go off. If the driver hadn't been wearing her seatbelt, it is very likely that she would have been thrown straight through the windshield and it would have been a fatality. We have pictures of the vehicle and the scene of the accident to show just how serious and dangerous this is. We would like to have answers as to why a vehicle with such high crash test ratings would fail to provide adequate safety to the driver.

- Bella Vista, AR, USA

problem #30

Dec 242012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 17,200 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving in reverse with the brakes depressed, the vehicle rapidly accelerated without warning. The contact applied extreme pressure to the brakes and shifted the vehicle into park. The contact later restarted the vehicle and it acted as normal. The vehicle was later taken to the dealer where they advised him that they were unable to generate any failure codes. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and offered no assistance. The failure and current mileages were approximately 17,200.... updated 02/27/13

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #29

Dec 062012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles


This has happened several times in virtually identical scenarios but the most recent was as follows: I was driving in moderately heavy traffic on a three lane divided street with traffic signals. Traffic was fluctuating between "stop & go" and approximately 30 mph. After a traffic light turned green, I began accelerating at a relatively rapid pace when a vehicle cut directly in front of me and braked. I immediately stepped on the brake but felt a tremendous amount of resistance from the pedal and the car was barely able to stop in time to avoid hitting the vehicle in front of me. I noticed that as I was attempting to brake, the engine was still revving at a high rate from the acceleration attempt. It seems that there is some type of problem with the braking system whereby if the engine is revving the brake will fail even if the accelerator pedal is no longer being pressed. A very important detail is that each time this has happened it has been within the first few seconds of a quick acceleration from a complete stop or a crawl. I have never had this problem when trying to stop from a normal speed.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #28

Sep 302012

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,400 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while entering a parking lot, the vehicle suddenly accelerated and crashed into another vehicle. The contact sustained chest and head injuries in the crash. The vehicle was not destroyed, but the front suspension was damaged. The contact called the manufacturer regarding the sudden acceleration issue. The manufacturer stated that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. The failure mileage was 53,400...updated 12/03/12 updated 12/05/2012 updated 4/26/13 status update 05/01/13

- Lancaster, CA, USA

problem #27

Oct 012012


  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while attempting to park, the vehicle accelerated independently and crash into a wall. The contact sustained multiple contusions and was unable to walk at the time. The manufacturer was notified and she was awaiting a return call from a case manager. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 18,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Annapolis, MD, USA

problem #26

Aug 012012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 1,400 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while traveling 5 mph and making a right turn, the accelerator pedal seized after being depressed and the vehicle crashed into a wall. The crash caused chest injuries to the driver. The police were contacted and report was filed. The vehicle was towed to a dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 1,400 and the current mileage was 1,480. Updated 11/16/12 updated 11/20/2012

- Luray, VA, USA

problem #25

May 302012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 10,000 miles


The contact owned a 2011 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving 15 mph, the vehicle accelerated on its own. The contact was turning when the failure occurred and crashed into a tree as a result. The contact suffered minor injuries and the vehicle was destroyed. A police report was filed. The vehicle was then towed to a local garage before being towed to a junk yard. The cause of the failure was unknown. The manufacturer was notified and they stated that the would send an independent engineer to inspect the vehicle. The failure mileage was 10,000. Updated 8/23/12 updated 09/06/2012

- West Long Branch, NJ, USA

problem #24

Mar 112012


  • 7,500 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Camry le. The contact stated that the driver was traveling 1 mph when the brakes were applied but the vehicle abnormally accelerated. The tachometer displayed an unusual increase in engine rpms of 5,000. The contact was unable to control the vehicle and crashed into a store front. The contact did not sustain any injuries. The police were called and a police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to a repair shop where unknown repairs were made to correct the acceleration failure. The current and failure mileage was 7,500.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #23

Apr 282012


  • 14,700 miles
The contact owned a 2011 Toyota Camry. The contact was driving 2 mph with the brake pedal engaged when the vehicle accelerated abnormally. The contact crashed into two vehicles. The contact and a passenger sustained minor injuries but were not transported to the hospital. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed from the scene and declared as destroyed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileages were 14,700. Updated 05/24/12

- Hull , MA, USA

problem #22

Apr 062011


  • 6 miles
Ever since I bought the car (4 cyl., xle) a year ago: Automatic transmission shifts sometimes slowly after a pause or unexpectedly and abruptly as it searches for gears, and it races intermittently, especially at start-up; it coasts a few inches after I put it into park, even on level ground. Power steering requires constant correction, even on level road surfaces. Cruise control is slow to respond to adjustments from lever on stem. Dealer's service dept. Claims, after 4 attempts to diagnose, that the car performs as designed, so my complaint will need to be with the design.

- Lake Bluff, IL, USA

problem #21

Mar 272012


  • 20,000 miles
Pulling in to ballgame last night on the grassy area to park car. Foot on the brake not on the gas, car accelerated so hard it threw my head back against the head rest, thank god there were no children in front of me. Taking car in to be checked. Very upset by this. Toyota dealership said I would have to pay them if they could not find out what the problem is even though my car is under warranty and there are numberous complaints all over the United States of the same problem with the same model and year.

- Morris, AL, USA

problem #20

Nov 162011

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,900 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Camry. The contact was attempting to park in a parking garage at approximately 5 mph when the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The front end of the vehicle jumped as the contact attempted to brake but the vehicle would not respond. The contact was unable to stop the abnormal acceleration and crashed into a concrete wall. The contact shifted into park and turned the vehicle off, yet the engine rpms continued to idle extremely high. The contact sustained injuries to the shoulder and neck. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to a paint & auto body shop and the manufacturer sent an engineer to inspect the black box. The engineer advised that the vehicle was traveling at 45 mph when it crashed into the concrete wall. The engineer determined that the brake was not applied when the failure occurred and that the incident was caused by driver error and not a manufacturing defect. The auto body shop replaced the front end bumper, steering cable and the radiator. The failure mileage was 8,000 and the current mileage was 9,900. Updated 03/27/12 updated 06/25/12

- Blythe , GA, USA

problem #19

Feb 112012

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
I was returning home from the mall in pottsville, pa. I drove down the roadway next to the mall to the stop sign. I was able to stop the car at that time. I proceeded to turn to the left out the driveway of the mall. The driveway of the mall is pretty long and on a steep hill. I attempted to apply my brakes at the top of the hill. There was pressure on the brake but nothing happened. The car continued to accelerate forward. I didn't want to continue down the steep hill knowing the brakes weren't working and crash into the van at the bottom of the hill so I decided to turn to the right sharply on a drive that curved around to a neighboring store next to the mall (going almost back uphill at this time). Still no brakes so I decided to hit the curb to stop the vehicle and prevent hitting any other vehicle. What is extremely odd is that even though my foot was not on the accelerator and was on the brake pedal and I turned sharply and going slightly uphill there was no change in the acceleration of the car. I had no choice but to hit the curb to stop the car. I put the car in reverse and back off of the curb. I proceeded down the hill again. Still no brakes. I could feel the pressure on the brake pedal but the brakes just didn't work. I had to turn the car to the right and hit the curb again next to the lane I was in. So when there was no traffic and the light at the bottom of the hill turned green I proceeded down the hill and turned right onto rt 61 S. I immediately tried the brake again and nothing. So in order to stop the car I applied the emergency brake. This of course caused the car to spin but at least the car stopped. I put the car in neutral and then used the clutch less shifting to control the speed of the car and returned home. Toyota has retained an inspector to inspect the car today at the dealership today 2/27/12.

- Auburn, PA, USA

problem #18

Jan 172012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 3,000 miles
The driver was in parking lot of rehab center picking up patient and says the car lost control going 6 miles per hour ran into the rehab center incurring over $10,000 in damages to the car not including damages to the rehab center front glass door. The 2011 Toyota Camry purchased in septermber of 2011 new from the lot at mechanicsville va Toyota dealership. We called the Toyota main office and they sent out a representitive for inspection of the car on January 26th or 27th 2012 prior to any work being done to repair the car. We have not heard back from Toyota as it takes up to 30 days. The car is currently under full repair from the collision.

- Huddleston, VA, USA

problem #17

Dec 032011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 36,382 miles
The speedometer is inaccurate by almost 10%, when driving by radars or with another vehicle at 35 mph the radar reads 32. Driving next to another vehicle to check the speedometer, it reads 70 mph but the other vehicle's speedometer reads 64 mph. The dealership has verified the inaccuracy but claims the variance is within the spec of 10%. per the dealer and it's experts the speedometer cannot be calibrated or fixed since it is in spec.

- Galt, CA, USA

problem #16

Sep 062011


  • 60 miles
At low speed (15-39 mph), the transmission shift roughly. The car was either pulled back (1) by the engine or jumped (2, while my foot on the break pedal) during the down shift. The pulling back (1) gives the same effect as using engine breaking in the manual transmission. Based on the signs that I have seen on interstate, state laws (in some states) prohibit driver to use engine breaking. The jumping (2) was very bad. The car needed approximately 3-10 feet more to stop due to the unpredictable jumping behavior. Well 3-10 feet does not seem to be a lot but let say if you are 1 foot away from running over a living thing.......... this problem have happened since I bought the car new and they still be a serious problem. I have been driven about 10-20 cars (including rentals) but I have never experienced the jumping (2, while my foot on the break pedal) until I bought this Camry. After reading the reviews online, this seems to be a common problem for this model. This problem needs immediate attentions.

- Fort Myers, FL, USA

Read the next 15 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?