Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
25 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
29 / 0
Average Mileage:
19,695 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Toyota Camry seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #27

Mar 132014

Camry

  • 14,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while accelerating from a complete stop, the vehicle erroneously accelerated. The contact also mentioned that the vehicle failed to respond deceleration attempts. The contact crashed into a nearby tree. Upon impact, the air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained injuries to the face and chest area. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 14,000.

- Florissant, MO, USA

problem #26

Jan 312014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 30,400 miles
Front collision with a Ford Focus at approximately 35 mph while driving a 2012 Toyota Camry le. Airbags did not deploy resulting in injuries to five passengers. Will file a formal complaint with Toyota corporation. A police report was recorded of accident.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #25

Jan 202014

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
We received the recall notice in early December, 2013 regarding NHTSA campaign number: 13V442000 dealing with the air bag control module. At that time, we called our Toyota dealer for the related service and were told the replacement parts were in limited supply and the earliest we could have this safety issue fixed was in February, 2014. We made the appointment. We received a phone call today, 1/20/2014, that the appointment was being cancelled as Toyota could not meet the current demand for the replacement part. We were told to check back in a couple of weeks to see if the situation has changed. We asked what to do if a problem occurs in the meantime and we were told to then call the service department and they would fix the problem. When we asked how they would fix the problem since they are saying replacement parts aren't available, the question was left unanswered.

- South San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #24

Jan 022014

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a recall notice for the HVAC assembly. I called my dealer and verified my VIN and scheduled an appointment to have the assembly replaced on 1/2/2014. When I arrived at the dealership I was told that they did not have the part and the asst svc mgr [xxx] told me he would get the part and call me. I have not heard from him and when I call he is on vacation. I called the service mgr and left my info and have not received a call back. I need to have this replaced as it is an extreme safety issue and I need this car for school. The dealership is Toyota of hollywood, 1841 N state rd 7, hollywood, fl 33021. Phone 954-893-4667. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Miramar, FL, USA

problem #23

Jan 062014

Camry

  • 14,900 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the air bag warning lamp illuminated. The contact mentioned that the vehicle had been previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V442000 (air bags, electrical system, equipment) but the air bag warning lamp continue to illuminate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was 14,900.

- College Park, GA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #22

Dec 182013

Camry

  • miles
As soon I got the safety recall for the Toyota Camry, I immediately called up bingham Toyota. The guy whom I spoke with said, "he asked for then name of the car and phone number, next give me a sec to look it up and then told me that the part is a special one which required a special order, " I asked how long will that take he said, "one week." Now its 2014 and I still haven't heard a call yet, as I was told that once the parts came in I would be notify by the number I gave him.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #21

Dec 092013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 38,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When I am driving the car, airbag light turns on and remains on all the time while I am driving the car. I took car to local Toyota dealer and they have no clue on how to fix airbag on warning. They reset the error message.... but after driving for 10 miles, airbag on light again comes up and stays on all the time while I am driving the car.

- Longmont, CO, USA

problem #20

Jan 042014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 24,416 miles
I received a recall notification for my 2012 Toyota Camry, that involves the HVAC housing and the airbag control module. I made an appointment at my regular service dealership (bronx Toyota) and took the car in for inspection. I was informed by the service consultant, that the inspection and possible repair could take three to five days.when I asked, how will I be compensated for this inconvenience, I was told that I will have to take that up with the manufacturer. I called the Toyota customer experience center ( 888 270 9371) and was told that I should take the vehicle to another dealer for a second opinion. I drive twenty miles one way to work, mondays to fridays. I leave home about 8 am and return about 7 pm. I depend on my vehicle for my livelihood, that is why I drive a Toyota. It is not fair to be going around in circles, just to get transportation to go to work while they repair my vehicle from a recall. Who else do I need to contact? please advise. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #19

Dec 202013

Camry

  • 16,000 miles
My Camry was one of the Camry effected by the evacuator hose dysfunction which left my car drenched in water and the air bag sensor was damaged. There was mildew growth in my car and my car extensively damaged and connectors corroded. There needed to be massive repair of my car which left is flawed and value greatly depreciated I am again having problems as my car trunk does not close. It seems to be due to the trunk opening switch which is damaged. It happened first time around 20 December and it happened again today with the trunk not closing my car has suffered extensive damage due to the manufacturing fault and it is my right to a new car which is undamaged and Toyota is not cooperating with the repairs not alone changing the car.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #18

Sep 032013

Camry

  • 24,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Toyota Camry. The contact was driving approximately 20 mph when a second vehicle crashed into the front passenger's side of the contact's vehicle. The impact also caused a third vehicle to crash into the driver's side door of the contact's vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy and the contact sustained an injury to the left knee, back and neck. The driver of the third vehicle sustained a leg laceration. No further information was available. A police report was not field of the incident. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 24,000. Updated 3/5/14

- Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA

problem #17

Dec 172013

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased a 2012 Camry from wilson motors in bellingham, Washington. Received a recall notice that due to the possibility that air conditioning water could leak into the air bag control we needed to have a repair done. Recall indicated that airbag could deploy inadvertently and cause injury or a car crash. Wilson motors could not give us an appointment for one month because Toyota motors usa will only allow them to fix one car per day. This is a serious issue that could cause injury or even death. It should be fixed as soon as possible, not at a rate that satisfies Toyota motors usa.

- Burlington, WA, USA

problem #16

Nov 132013

Camry

  • 16,000 miles
I was in the left lane on the highway, and the driver swerved and slammed on brakes in front of me therefore, forced me to swerve and slam on brakes. My car did not stop in time and I rearended the car. The airbag light came on but none of the airbags deployed.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #15

Nov 182013

Camry

  • 12,264 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while at a complete stop, another vehicle crashed into the rear end of the contact's vehicle. Upon impact, the air bags failed to deploy. There were no injuries and a police report was not filed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 12,264.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #14

Jul 262013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 37,400 miles
Wife was driving on 4 lane street in dry conditions at approximately 5:45 pm ct in a 2012 Toyota Camry at air temperature approximately 80 degrees when drivers side curtain airbags deployed and drivers side back seat air bag. 8 year old daughter in front seat and 4 year old son in back seat. Son hit in face by airbag but otherwise uninjured. Luckily, wife able to safely pull over in church parking lot. Incident reported to Toyota in torrance ca at 9 am ct on sat July 27. Car purchased 5-4-13 at 31602 miles. As of Sept. 5 2013 Toyota has not agreed to fix car or reimburse rental car expenses to get children to day care. Toyota engineer flown in Aug 6 2013 to inspect vehicle. Sent 63 photos of car and undercarriage to Toyota as requested on 7-30-13 to show no impact caused airbag deployment. Asking Toyota to replace vehicle or fix vehicle plus reimburse for rental car fees. Six weeks later 9-5-13 still no response from Toyota claims dept. Restraint system including airbags under warranty up to 60000 miles. Only my son's booster seat saved him from direct body airbag impact and serious injury. Have photos to prove it.

- Purcell, OK, USA

problem #13

Jul 262013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 37,400 miles
While driving my 2012 Toyota Camry on a sunny day the airbags deployed. There was no accident, no objects that the car came into contact with.

- Purcell, OK, USA

problem #12

Aug 172013

Camry

  • 7,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Toyota Camry. The contact was driving 30 mph and lost control of the vehicle, crashing into a guard rail. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained chest and shoulder injuries. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was towed to a body shop but was not repaired or inspected to determine the cause of the air bag failure. The manufacturer was notified. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 7,000.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #11

Jul 102013

Camry 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
Passenger side air bag not working took to dealership for re=calibration did not repair have to schedule again no air bag light working so the passenger seat has no dash board air bag or knee air bags. Please investigate before someone is a accident and the safety air bags don't work.

- Stanfield, NC, USA

problem #10

Jul 052013

Camry 6-cyl

  • miles
Passenger side air bag light turns off and on with no one sitting seat. Front end suspension has popping sound and tire wire on the inside of tears is very unusual., feels like the front end is flexing down and causes the front end to feel light and un controllable and causing the vehicle pull left. If give the look of the bottom of wheels are bowed outward.

- Sranfield, NC, USA

problem #9

May 212013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 7,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, he maneuvered the vehicle to avoid crashing into a deer. The front passenger's side tire went off the road and in an attempt to regain control of the vehicle, the contact steered the vehicle back onto the road. As a result, the vehicle rose with only two tires still in contact with the roadway and eventually the entire vehicle became airborne. The vehicle then flipped end over end four times until coming to a rest on its roof. The contact's arm was pulled outside the window and the vehicle landed on his hand. The contact's ring finger was severed and he also suffered from extreme whiplash injuries. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The air bags had failed to deploy. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 7,000. Updated 8/2/13 according to the police report, the consumer lost control of the vehicle while he negotiating a left curve in the roadway.

- Greentown, PA, USA

problem #8

May 012013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 8,100 miles
Noticed that the air bag light is on constantly, the seat belt light keeps flashing and the passenger air bag light is always off even if a heavy adult is sitting in it. The seat belt light keeps flashing always. Noticed this but thought as most times drive alone thought that as there is no passenger in the passenger seat most of the times and attributed the cause of the flashing seat belt light for that.but now know that this is definitely a safety issue.

- Norwalk, CT, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?