Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
13 / 0
Average Mileage:
12,499 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Toyota Camry seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Toyota Camry Owner Comments

problem #16

Oct 262016

Camry

  • 36,120 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was involved in a 3 car collision on the freeway fast lane. Car is in pretty bad shape, fluid leaking, hood looks like an upside down taco shell, lights smashed in-broken, and none of the airbags deployed. The vehicle is not drive-able, driver door is stuck from the impact-again not a single airbag deployed.

- Hacienda Heights, CA, USA

problem #15

May 032015

Camry

  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while at a traffic light, the vehicle was rear ended by another vehicle and the air bags failed to deploy. As a result of the crash, two other vehicles were impacted. The driver sustained spine injuries, a fractured skull and fractured ribs that required medical attention. In addition, the contact stated that an unknown amount of occupants from the other vehicles sustained unknown injuries and one occupant had to be airlifted. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 17,000.

- La Quinta, CA, USA

problem #14

Oct 092015

Camry

  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Toyota Camry. While driving 35 mph, the contact's vehicle was struck by another vehicle causing it to veer off the road. Once the vehicle was back on the road, the brakes were applied, but the vehicle would not stop. The air bags failed to deploy during the crash. The contact was injured and received medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer to be repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 25,000. Updated 1/14/16

- Forsyth, MO, USA

problem #13

Sep 292015

Camry

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is a test complaint. Please disregard.

- Washington Dc, DC, USA

problem #12

Jun 212015

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,900 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Toyota Camry. While driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle accelerated independently. The contact depressed the brake pedal, but the brakes failed. As a result, the contact crashed into trees and shrubbery. The air bags failed to deploy. The vehicle sustained extensive front end and driver side damage. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. There were no injuries and a police report was filed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 4,900. Updated 11/04/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was not totaled and repaired. Updated 2/1/2016

- Islip Terrace, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #11

May 062015

Camry

  • 16,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Toyota Camry. While driving 15 mph, the vehicle accelerated and crashed into the rear of another vehicle, causing a three-vehicle crash. The air bags failed to deploy. The contract sustained a back injury that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed by the insurance company and repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 16,000. MA 10/8

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #10

Apr 102015

Camry

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

6 car crash on I-85 near charlotte airport. 5 stopped cars were shoved into each other in the left lane because the 6th car hit a van going apprx 40 mph which was shoved into the car in front of it, etc, etc, etc., etc....airbag did not go off in my car. Everyone else's did go off. I hit the dashboard with both knees/legs injuring the right knee. Sought medical assistance after returning home.....updated 10/15/15

- Novi, MI, USA

problem #9

Feb 062015

Camry 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
My car was T-bone in an intersection, other driver ran a red light, there was extensive damage to the front of the car and passenger side of car, the SRS airbags did not deploy and I sustained injury.(classic whip flash) this model car isn't safe, I could have been killed, the SRS airbags should have deployed according to the owners manual. Toyota representative was of no help at all !!!!!

- Dexter, NY, USA

problem #8

Feb 062015

Camry

  • 24,963 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle crashed into a deer and the air bags failed to deploy. As a result of the crash, the contact sustained whiplash, neck and back injuries which required medical attention. A police report was filed. The state of the vehicle was not assessed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 24,963... updated 02/19/15 updated 10/28/2015

- Bonifay, FL, USA

problem #7

Dec 092014

Camry

  • 11,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Toyota Camry. The contact stated while driving approximately 45 mph, another vehicle crashed into the front end of the vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy with the massive impact to the vehicle. The driver sustained a severe neck injury and medical attention was required. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The failure mileage was 11,000. Updated 8/21/15

- New Wilmington, PA, USA

problem #6

Jan 162015

Camry

  • 13,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving down highway at 60mph. Vehicle down the road slowed to enter merchant lot. Applied brake. Something snapped, steering locked, wheels locked, tires kicked out. Total loss of control of the vehicle. Skidded down the road until impacting the other vehicle on the side, pushing it back into traffic and continuing several feet until coming to rest in the ditch about 30 feet from several vehicles in the merchant lot. Tie rod broke. No airbags deployed, though I was told it was because of where my vehicle was hit was why they didn't deploy.

- Cassville, MO, USA

problem #5

Dec 212014

Camry

  • 8,900 miles
I lost control of this Camry when it went over a patch of ice and skidded into a rock face. The driver's side airbag failed to deploy. My head and face hit the steering wheel and the nasal bone is fractured...updated 02/18/15

- Cambridge, MA, USA

problem #4

Dec 082014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
I was driving from shopping center onto hwy 111, as I saw the red truck in front at the intersection. I began to brake, and notice the vehicle was not slowing down after several attempts to the brakes. Me, and my wife sustain whiplash from hitting a truck from the rear. My wife went to the doctor clinic. Police officer checked the brakes, and confirm that the brakes had gone out.

- Palm Desert, CA, USA

problem #3

Oct 232014

Camry

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Toyota Camry. The contact stated while driving in a roundabout, a vehicle traveling 45 mph crashed into the front passenger's side door and all passenger air bags exploded. The contact was taken to a nearby emergency room. The contact sustained injuries to the neck, hip, right ear and moderate bruising. The contact's ear was still ringing due to the explosion. A police report was filed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer and dealer were not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 20,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Manor, TX, USA

problem #2

Apr 232014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 2,100 miles
I bought this car Toyota Camry on Jan.13,2014 brand new from koon Toyota lees burg pike, va..to day April.23,2014 at $10.21 am morning. I was trying to park my car lot of senior center, I did not accelerate the car.the car accelerated un intended car become out off control, speed become very high and crush into curb with high speed and hit the lamp post and another park car, I have passenger my wife her face hit desh board and her knee. I concern about that un intended accelerated, and no air bags deployed? and passenger side safety belt does not work as she have belts on. Toyota company should check safety concern. This brand new car.car is not safe. Completely.

- Potomac, MD, USA

problem #1

Apr 232014

Camry

  • miles
My father was trying to pull into parking space at very slow speed when car suddenly accelerated with force that it jumped the curb and hit the light pole. My father's feet were not on the gas paddle. He recently bought this brand new car. The air bags did not deploy either. This is a sudden acceleration problem and it's very dangerous. Looks like Toyota has not fixed this safety problem.

- Rockville, MD, USA

Not what you are looking for?