CarComplaints.com Notes: The Camry Hybrid's first year is a mixed bag of brake actuators failing and power issues. The hybrid version even shares the same excessive oil consumption as its non-hybrid counterpart. And it hardly gets enough fuel efficiency gains to warrant the extra costs up-front or during repairs.

Toyota seemed to get their act together with later model years, so if you're looking for a used Camry Hybrid I suggest looking there.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
110,242 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry Hybrid brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry Hybrid:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Hybrid Owner Comments (Page 15 of 16)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #29

Sep 042013

Camry Hybrid

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was shock to take my car in to fix my brake actuator. I almost got into an accident and killed someone on the road. When I took my car in they charge me $2900. Wth! please recall this part Toyota so you can pay me back. Theirs too much people paying to fix this! we will get you guys!

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #28

Oct 042013

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
Braking while driving or when in park mode a knocking sound is heard; braking uneven but (pulsating) however currently there are no issues with coming to a stop. No warning lights on; had it seen by Toyota dealer - no problems identified with diagnostics; recommended changing brake pads, which did not resolve the problem, 2 additional visits to dealership - and after a cost of over $500 today they mentioned that it was the actuator and would take an additional $3244.50 to replace. Sooner or later the brakes were likely to fail making it unsafe, called Toyota but was told there was no recall or problems with the 2007 Camry hybrid models - but the NHTSA website has multiple similar posts. Hope to get some meaningful response from Toyota. Will come back and update as I have some feedback from the company.

- Macon, GA, USA

problem #27

May 022013

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
While driving on a busy highway at 70mph, the vsc check system, ABS, hazards, and warning lights came on. I had to pull over to the median to avoid hitting the car in front of me. The car gradually came to a stop, and I had it towed to a dealer. It was diagnosed as the ABS actuator, and their estimate to replace it was $3400. This is a serious safety concern. I called Toyota corporate and they would not help pay for the repair.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #26

Dec 202011

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 61,188 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At multiple regular service appointments at the Toyota dealer, I reported unusual noises and a pulsing sensation that appeared to come from the brakes. The service people were not able to identify any issues. At 77000 miles, the dealer charged $400 for replacement of the master cylinder. After replacing the master cylinder, they determined that the ABS actuator was failing and needed to be replaced -- at approximately $2400. Of course, they also wanted to replace the front brake pads and water pump for another $700. I took the car to an independent (non-dealer) mechanic who confirmed the need to replace the ABS actuator. The mechanic also advised that the part costs so much because it is specific to the hybrid vehicles (as opposed to non-hybrid Camry) -- used parts are not much cheaper as they are harder to find. A major failure in the braking system is of great concern. The brakes feel like they are becoming increasingly less responsive. It is absolutely absurd that so many people are experiencing issues with the same component of the braking system for the same model and year vehicle, yet Toyota is not accepting responsibility for correcting this. Toyota should be held accountable for this serious safety issue, or at least concede that it is an issue specific to hybrids and would be covered under

- Riverview, FL, USA

problem #25

Dec 202011

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 61,188 miles
At multiple regular service appointments at the Toyota dealer, I reported unusual noises and a pulsing sensation that appeared to come from the brakes. The service people were not able to identify any issues. At 77000 miles, the dealer charged $400 for replacement of the master cylinder. After replacing the master cylinder, they determined that the ABS actuator was failing and needed to be replaced -- at approximately $2400. Of course, they also wanted to replace the front brake pads and water pump for another $700. I took the car to an independent (non-dealer) mechanic who confirmed the need to replace the ABS actuator. The mechanic also advised that the part costs so much because it is specific to the hybrid vehicles (as opposed to non-hybrid Camry) -- used parts are not much cheaper as they are harder to find. A major failure in the braking system is of great concern. The brakes feel like they are becoming increasingly less responsive. It is absolutely absurd that so many people are experiencing issues with the same component of the braking system for the same model and year vehicle, yet Toyota is not accepting responsibility for correcting this. Toyota should be held accountable for this serious safety issue, or at least concede that it is an issue specific to hybrids and would be covered under the warranty period that covers the hybrid system.

- Riverview, FL, USA

problem #24

Jul 052013

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
Check vsc system error message caused by a bad ABS actuator. Now the brakes are not working. You push on the brakes and the car will not stop. You have to push hard on the brakes and hope the car will eventually stop. I did some research and it seems that this is a common issue. Toyota needs to recall and pay to have this fixed.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #23

Aug 162013

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 101,236 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My brake actuator has failed costing me $3000 to repair. When I was turning the corner the brake failed almost causing a huge accident. I called Toyota for help. No one is helping me. Im stuck with teh cost and very shocked with the lives I put in danger.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #22

Nov 122012

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 80,737 miles
When brakes are applied (at a stop or coming to a stop) there is a pulsation that can be felt by the driver and passengers. Since the first occurrence this happens 100% of the time. While this pulsation of the brakes has continued to occur, starting in July, 2013, occasionally, when starting the car the following occurs: 1. with the brake depressed to start car, when the car is put in gear (with brake still depressed) the brakes do not engage and the car slowly rolls backwards (this happens whether the car is in drive or reverse). 2. at the same time the brake pedal feels "soft" as it is not engaging the brakes. 3. at this time the following lights on the dashboard are lighted: Red brake light (and the emergency brake is not engaged), yellow (!) lit, ABS lit, ready light is also lit. 4. all of this while the brakes are "soft" and not functioning correctly. After 5-8 seconds the gas engine engages, the lights go off, and the brake jerks into action. To date, our dealership has no idea how to fix this problem. Considering the number of incidents reported on safercar.gov and the number of internet reportings of this and related problems, it would seem that a service bulletin or a recall would be appropriate. Not all dealerships are familiar with or know how to deal with the problem.

- Chico, CA, USA

problem #21

Jul 282013

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 82,600 miles
While driving home, four lights lit up on my dashboard and the check vsc system warning appeared as well. There was nothing noticeable that happened so I drove on to the house. Only thing I noticed the next morning was that the brake pedal kicked back towards me when I started the car. Brakes appeared to work fine. Took the car into my Toyota dealer (where I purchased it new in November of 2006). They checked it and found out that the ABS actuator needed to be replaced. Price for the part was $2500. Labor was $118. Car was fixed in two days. Fortunately I had an extended warranty that covered all but $100 so I felt very lucky. My main intention on submitting this is to find out why Toyota hasn't issued a recall on this part. I've read (in the toyotanation forum online) about many drivers who have had this problem at less than 65,000 miles; mine occurred at 82,600 miles. And the price of the part is astonishing. So my personal experience was fine. I didn't notice any braking issues but would like to submit this as another owner who experienced this same issue. Expensive for many, but I was lucky to have the warranty....updated 08/16/13

- Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #20

Jun 192013

Camry Hybrid

  • 108,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry hybrid. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle would make a loud thumping sound. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the ABS module actuator assembly was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not repaired. The failure mileage was 108,000 and the current mileage was 108,952.

- Middleburg, FL, USA

problem #19

May 202013

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 97,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After hearing lots of noises from the brake accumulator for months, the brakes failed while driving. Check vsc warning, brake lights, ABS warning, and other brake related warning lights came on. During braking the brakes released, and quite excessive pressure was required to stop the car and avoid a crash. Testing the system showed fault code C1391 (abnormal leak of accumulator pressure). I cleared the fault, but the next day the problem reappeared. We had the system bled, but once again the problem reappeared. Braking action intermittent with brakes releasing at times, and at other times locking up. A very unsafe proposition. The entire system had to be replaced at a cost in excess of $3,000. This is 10% of the cost of the car for a problem that is obviously a widespread safety issue for this vehicle based on the number of complaints filed. I cannot imagine that this has not or will not lead to fatal accidents.

- Vacaville, CA, USA

problem #18

Jun 062013

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
While driving, the vsc light, check engine light, brake light, and another light all came on. No apparent problems at operating speed, but at lower speeds I can feel pulsating in the brakes and on low speed turns the steering wheel pulsates a little. I am concerned that the brakes will fail. Repair estimate from the dealer is far more than we can afford. My research indicates that this is a common problem with the Camry hybrid. I believe this deserves a recall.

- New Port Richey, FL, USA

problem #17

May 312013

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 84,119 miles
While driving on the highway, the vsc check system, ABS, hazards, and warning lights came on. Basically, my dashboard lit up. The car also started to lose braking power, so I pulled over. I tried to turn off and restart the engine 3 times, but all the lights were still there. I had an event to attend, and drove my car in fear. After finally able to take the car to run diagnostics at the dealer, I was quoted $3000 to replace a faulty brake accumulator. I am also aware that this issue is more common, especially on Toyota Camry hybrids around 5 years old. It is ridiculous to have to pay 10% of my car's original price, since it is a widespread safety hazard. It is beyond coincidence that Toyota Camry hybrids are experiencing this problem.

- San Marcos, TX, USA

problem #16

Jun 062013

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 86,121 miles
We owned this Toyota Camry hybrid since 10/20/2012. This morning about 6:10am, my wife was driving to a speed of 40mph on university drive North bound. She was passing a pothole which had stand water. She slightly press the brakes, but when she came out of the pothole, the car instead of slow down, went "crazy" to a speed of 60 mph. My wife keep the brakes pressed but the car was out of control; car went across from East to West, jumping two lines. When the car was close to hit the median, she steer it, to cross in the middle then went crazy South bond, where she was coming from.the Camry final stopped after about 50 seconds, she was against the incoming traffic.the point is that this car instead of stop when the brakes are applied, takes more speed. Thank you.

- Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

problem #15

Jan 142013

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 109,000 miles
There is a leak in the ABS accumulator that causes my brakes to pulse and a alarm to sound, which is a loud whining noise. I have had my rotors and brake pads replaces but that did not resolve the issue, my mechanic thinks is it the accumulator, which cost 1800 dollars just for the part. I have researched and seen hundreds of complaints about this part online. I can't afford to pay 2K for a repair at this time and I am afraid to drive my car but I have no choice due to my work and need to commute. Update 6/27/2013: The problem is persistent now and the brake pedal pulses as if it is pushing back when step down on it, it definitely affects my breaking distance. I have to start breaking much sooner than normal. Vehicle has not been repaired as the cost actually has been quoted by dch Toyota of oxnard service department on 6/8/13 for $3,250 to replace ABS actuator system. Part was $2399 alone. Updated 7/31/13

- Santa Clarita, CA, USA

problem #14

Apr 102013

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 64,242 miles
About 2 months ago I noticed a notice when I depressed my brakes, even what the car was stopped, that there was a squeaking or thumping noise coming from the front of the car. I took to the Toyota service center last month for a 5000 mile service and they couldn't get it to happen. It became more frequent and so I took it in last week and they were able to recreate the problem. They bled the brake lines which did not fix it and so they told me there is an internal leak in the ABS actuator and the part was $2700 and total with labor would be $3100. I was looking at other options and today when driving the car would hesitate when starting to accelerate from a stop and then the vsc system check and hybrid system check warnings came on and I heard a loud hissing/fan-like noise from behind the rear seat where the hybrid battery is located. After looking online I found that this issue is very common and many complaints have been filed by owners of the 2007 model year and later Camry hybrid with mileage levels in the 50K to 80K range. In addition, there is a squishiness in the brakes and at one point when I applied the brakes the car continued to move forward. I have read online about others with this problem where their brakes failed while driving and had to pull over to the side of the road to prevent having an accident. This needs to be looked into.

- Clearwater, FL, USA

problem #13

Feb 062013

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 67,145 miles
I was driving down the freeway when all of the warning lights on the dash lit up on my 2007 Toyota Camry hybrid with 67K miles and the brake pedal felt strange. I pulled over and turned off the car. Restarted it, just to find the that the warning lights were still on, and that the brake pedal still felt strange/different. I then drove home very slowly and called the dealer. This is the same dealer that has done all the scheduled maintenance. The dealer diagnosed it as an ABS brake accumulator hydraulic part that cost over $2500.

- Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

problem #12

Aug 082012

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
'check vsc system' along with brake light warning, ABS warning, and pretty much every other warning light possible came on my 2007 Camry hybrid around June of 2012. I hear pulsating under the hood constantly & when I turn on my car while in park with my foot on brake my car will begin to roll backwards by itself, I attempt to pump the breaks but it never works. I have to wait about 5-10 sec like there is a delay with my brake system when I first turn on my car. Once the brakes finally kick in my car will either jolt in very drastic way like I slammed on my brakes even though my foot has been on the brakes the whole time or it will throttle back on its own like I'm pushing on the gas. I will never park on a hill in fear of my car just taking off on its own with no brakes to stop it. I have to literally turn on my car and wait for my breaks to kick in before I can reverse. It is very scary! it has happened to me once as well when I was driving and I coming to a stop, my brakes just went out and kicked back in on its own. I brought my car to a Toyota dealership to have them check it out. They brought back a quote of $5,900! instead of trying one thing at a time they just wanted to replace everything at once. My car was right at the 5 year warranty mark but because I bought my car in guam they couldn't tell if my car was still under warranty and I would have to pay out of pocket. 2007 only 45000 miles with a 6 thousand dollar repair! that is insane let alone it is a hybrid feature & a safety issue! to me this should be covered under warranty no matter what! look online you can see hundreds of people complaining about this exact issue! people have even made websites for it! I'm very disappointed in Toyota. I'm stuck with this car that I cant afford to fix! so I drive every day in what seems to me like a death trap! it's just not right.

- Clearwater, FL, USA

problem #11

Feb 152013

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 87,225 miles
The vehicle had been for the past weeks with a pulsating noise under the hood, specially at stops waiting for a red light. You can feel the pulsation on the pedal when you depress the brake pedal. The noise gets louder the harder you press the pedal and the car seems like its trying to move forward on its own. No problem lights were on the control panel until it reached 87,225. After that I had the ABS, brake, warning, vst lights all on with the message of check vst on the lcd of the control panel. Took the car to the dealer and after inspection they determined that the ABS actuator module had to be replaced. The quote was for $2,600!!!!! I started searching online and found out several other Camry owners had the same problem. I'm filing the complaint because this is a very critical component in terms of safety and it is failing at a very low mileage (under 100K) and sometimes even under 60K. Also the cost of repair is so high you have no choice but to increase the financial burden because it is a part that it is critical for the car's safety operation. I would never drive a car with brake problems. Please investigate this issue. Updated 08/15/13

- San Juan, PR, USA

problem #10

Nov 012012

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
The"check vsc system" sensor came on while I was driving. I was doing approximately 45 mph on the road. The road conditions were good and I keep up with maintenance. The ABS failure light, brake and warning icons. I have it checked out and I'm told by Toyota car's ABS accumulator system and water pump must be replaced and that they hadn't have such issues before. After much research, this is a common complaint among Toyota Camry hybrid owners. This seems to be a design flaw and worse, my break pads and tires are brand new. This shouldn't be an issue but breaks pulsate and makes the vehicle unsafe as you can't control breaks when needed, especially, while parked on a inclined position. I am very concerned for my safety and the safety of others if my breaks were to fail because Toyota has failed to recognize this as a vital recall repair. Without brakes you can kill or injure someone and that bad water pump can cause your engine to overheat. Please look into this and have Toyota take responsibility for this situation!

- Orlando, FL, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?