Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Camry Hybrid's first year is a mixed bag of brake actuators failing and power issues. The hybrid version even shares the same excessive oil consumption as its non-hybrid counterpart. And it hardly gets enough fuel efficiency gains to warrant the extra costs up-front or during repairs.

Toyota seemed to get their act together with later model years, so if you're looking for a used Camry Hybrid I suggest looking there.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
109,729 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry Hybrid brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry Hybrid:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Hybrid Owner Comments (Page 4 of 16)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #245

Dec 262014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 205,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My daughter was driving and all of a sudden the brake pedal started to have difficulty braking. There was a thump of some sort in the feel of the brake pedal when being depressed. The next morning when starting the car, there was an error message displayed saying "check vsc system with check hybrid system alternating. These messages along with the check engine, traction control and several other lights lit up and remained on. This is the second time this has happened to this car and after searching the internet I have found out that this is a very common, dangerous and expensive problem with the Toyota Camry hybrids. From many similar stories I have read, Toyota and Toyota dealers respond to this issue as a known problem and if they are so aware there should be a suitable resolution offered along with a recall for all Toyota Camry hybrid owners so our lives will not be in danger. Delaying fixing this issue will eventually cost someone their life.

- Chino, CA, USA

problem #244

Nov 012014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 118,000 miles
As I was traveling on a highway the ABS went out and almost all brake and stability control lights came on and I lost almost all braking and stability control of the car. I was later told by the dealer that the ABS actuator had gone out and needed to be changed ($1500). It turns out that Toyota is aware of this very dangerous issue and are not issuing a recall. I was told that theyre offering an warranty extension if you know what to ask for since they don't volunteer the information. I can't stress how dangerous of a situation this has left me while driving at high speeds. It seems like everyone is aware of this issue but nobody is doing anything about it. Here's also a report by consumer reports magazine from July 2014 that outlines the issue: www.consumerreports.org/cro/news/2014/07/why-Toyota-should-recall-the-Camry-hybrid/index.htm.

- Littleton, CO, USA

problem #243

Jan 082014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • miles
Approx mid January 2014 while going down the hwy about 40 miles from home my vsc light came on and I lost almost all the use of my brakes, which really frighten me. I am single and have no family around to help. I got off the hwy and went very slow. The light went off before I got home and I didn't have another problem with it until Dec 2014 while going to work. The light came on and off twice before I got to work and I lost brakes use. Then it happen again first week Jan. 2015. It has happen twice recently and I'm getting worried about driving the car. You never know when it might happen and it is very dangerous. I looked it up on the internet and saw quite a few other people were having the same problem. I can't afford to have it fixed. I hope your investigation can help correct this problem before someone get hurt or worse killed. I has to be a defect in the vehicle if this many people are having this problem. Thank you for your time.

- Chickamauga, GA, USA

problem #242

Sep 052013

Camry Hybrid

  • 108,486 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

As I was on a 2-hour drive to meet my brothers for the appointment to enter my elderly mother into assisted living all the warning lights on my dash lit up. I was afraid to continue so I stopped at the dealership to see if it was safe to keep going. They said it was the brake filter reservoir assembly and that I should not continue on the trip until it was replaced. They did replace it at no cost. I was unable to make it to my mother's assisted living appointment, leaving my brothers "holding the bag." One month later, on October 9, 2014, I was again traveling at 55 mph when all of the brake warning lights lit up again. Since I was not far from home I turned around and parked my car in the driveway until I could make an appointment with the dealership. Upon examination at the dealership, I was told that it was the brake actuator assembly. They said that the diagnostic codes that came up were not even something they had seen before and they had to get them interpreted by Toyota. Their explanation was that the "brains" of the braking system had gone bad and it would be a very costly expense. They did work with me, accepted a coupon that I had, copped a loaner vehicle, and replaced the actuator at a cost of $1755.27. Now I get a letter in the mail saying that there is a "warranty enhancement program." When I called the dealership to ask about reimbursement for these charges I was told I would need to take my vehicle in again for an inspection. Since it's an hour drive to the dealership and it seems it's becoming an almost monthly trip for something or other, I'm not a happy camper. Toyota needs to get it together!!!

- Washington, GA, USA

problem #241

Dec 282014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 84,255 miles
Started the car and the "brake" warning light immediately came on. Also, in the multi-information display at the center of the speedometer, the message "check vsc system" appeared. I thought maybe my parking brake was causing a problem, so I engaged and disengaged that. Then I tried to drive the car. The brake pedal behaves as if there is no brake-assist. I jam it to the floor to get minimal braking. I drove slowly and carefully home in this condition. In subsequent trips (over the last two days) I have only seen this again one more time. When the system does not report the problem, the brakes work fine. And in that one case where the problem re-appeared, I was able to turn the car off and back on again a few times, until the problem disappeared. I have not seen the problem begin while I am driving -- only when I am starting the car. However, I've now seen others describe the problem as beginning during driving, so I will be extremely careful and get the car to the dealer asap.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #240

Nov 272013

Camry Hybrid

  • miles
We were on a trip from NY to atlanta, ga last thanksgiving and somewhere in North Carolina, the car emitted a warning ping, and a number of lights on the dash, including brakes, check engine, vcs and a yellow triangle, illuminated. A message on the display read "check ABS". at the same time the brakes became extremely difficult to actuate and I felt as though I had to put all my effort into activating the car's brakes. We pulled into a rest stop and as we began to slow, the lights went out. Just before we got to a parking spot however, the same thing occurred. We let the car sit for a while before attempting to move to turn it on again, at which point, things seemed normal. It happened once or twice again on the trip there, but didn't occur at all on the way back nor throughout 2014... until now. Recently the same thing has begun happening with more regularity. We took the car in for a diagnosis today. While researching the issue, I noticed that this has been reported previously, so I decided to add my voice to the masses.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #239

Dec 162014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was getting off of the highway. I started to decelerate and I lost a majority of my brake power. All of the lights on my dash came on, and my display said check vsc system. I pulled onto the shoulder was slamming on my brake since I had very little brake power at this point. I turned off my car and turned it back on several times. The lights stayed illuminated. I was 1/2 a mile from work at this point. I drove with my hazard lights on and took it slow to work. When I got to work and pulled into the parking lot, the lights went off.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #238

Aug 042012

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
At higher speed brakes vibrate horribly when brake pedal is pushed and car is almost uncontrollable. Now it happens all the time at any speeds over 40-50mph.

- Granite Bay, CA, USA

problem #237

Dec 132014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • miles
Toyota hybrids have a braking device in the transmission. This device can be applied at any time. When using the transmission brake the vehicles speed is reduced at a considerable rate. When braking using this method the brake lights do not come on. There is no indication that the vehicle is braking. I use this method on a routine basis and was informed of no brake lights by another driver. I use this system of braking while going downhills in the city and driving in the mountains.

- Arvada, CO, USA

problem #236

Sep 162014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 155,000 miles
I was driving about 35 mph when all of my brake, slip indicator and ABS warning lights came on. I immediately pulled over and looked it up in my owner's manual. There, it told me to take the car to the Toyota dealer. I was 40 miles from home so I proceeded to go back to the hospital to pick up my boyfriend. I got less than a mile down the road when the master warning light and an alarm came on. Again I pulled over and turned off the car. The manual told me that I needed to have it towed to the dealer immediately. At the dealership I found that there was a "limited service campaign" on a filter that connects the chambers in the brake reservoir. It was replaced and I didn't have another issue until 11/26/14. Again, all the warning lights and alarm came on and I had to have it towed to the dealer. There, I was told that the brake actuator had failed and it would be over $1500 to replace. Luckily, I did some research and found this is also being covered by Toyota under a "warranty enhancement" program.

- Mechanicsburg, PA, USA

problem #235

Aug 012014

Camry Hybrid

  • 135,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry hybrid. The contact stated that while attempting to start the vehicle, several unknown warning lights illuminated. The contact also mentioned that when depressing the brake pedal, the vehicle swerved from left to right. In addition, there was an abnormal noise coming from the brakes. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 135,000.

- Clinton, NC, USA

problem #234

Nov 202014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
I was driving at ~35 mph toward an intersection of stopped cars. I pushed the brake pedal to begin to stop. The brake pedal went soft and pushed to the floor, with little or no slowing of the vehicle. At the same time the dashboard lit up a lot of warning lights, I did not have time to check the warning lights. I swerved into the turn lane where there were no cars and began to make a wide left. I again began to apply the brakes, this time the brakes worked. I pulled into a parking lot and parked. The warning screen said something like "check vcs system". "brakes" warning light and "ABS" warning light was illuminated with others which I did not take note of. I turned the vehicle off and called for a tow to the Toyota dealer. Turning the vehicle on again showed no warnings.

- Oviedo, FL, USA

problem #233

Nov 222014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • miles
ABS actuator pump assembly problem. 89000 miles on car 2007 Camry hybrid vsc control warning comes on. The dealer said I needed new brakes. Got new brakes and still having the same problem with the brakes. When backing up the brakes lock and the car jerks as if the brakes were hit hard. The new brakes also are making the same noise as the original brakes. I no longer feel safe for myself and my grandchildren who are with me in this car.

- Harvey, LA, USA

problem #232

Nov 012011

Camry Hybrid

  • 80,000 miles
Driving on the road, everything was normal, then my entire dashboard lights up with all the warning signs. The internal car displays vsc maintenance required, and I'm thinking I didn't do anything. I just got the car this year. There shouldn't be a problem like this. The brakes were very hard to press down on to even brake. I fee like the brakes just stopped working or the brake itself would let me brake as normal. Little shocked because I'd had crash into the driver in front of me. I started to drive very slow. Then the lights and warning signs went away, and my brakes were back to normal. I felt like it was just a computer glitch and started to drive normally again. After I did, the car again went off with the warning signs on the dashboard and the vsc display was on again stating maintenance was required one again. So I started to drive slow once again. Went to a repair shop they said my brakes were good, and that the car probably needed to get it check because of the hybrid system. This only happen during the summer. During the winter it goes off, to which I still felt like it was a computer glitch. Went to the dealer recently and they said that my accumulator needs to be replace. I asked how does something like this occur. The mechanic stated somewhere in the lines of it's a man made part so it's can happen from time to time. But in my opinion, if I did everything like I was suppose to do, this should not happen. The total repair for the part is $1892! that's with labor included! seriously, why does a part that is so important to the car that expensive"! and why doesn't Toyota report on this technical issue for their cars"

- Shreveport, LA, USA

problem #231

Nov 132014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 151,000 miles
While driving all brake lights lit up on dash, "vsc check system" message showed. But the car seemed to brake fine, until I went to park. The brake went completely soft and the car continued forward motion until running into the curb. Upon restarting the car all the lights were back to normal. It happened again later in the day, lights come on, brakes fail. Luckily I was going very slowly and able to stop the car by pumping the brakes.

- Brandon, MS, USA

problem #230

Nov 032014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 122,000 miles
While driving to the market at 40mph a series of warnings came on. The "check vsc system", the brake light, ABS, skid, parking light, and general warning light came on the dashboard and the car lost its braking power. I had to push down very hard on the brake and use the emergency brake to stop the car. So far it has happened twice. According to the Toyota dealership, there is no record of the errors or lack of brake power in the computer and they say they can't duplicate it. I am not driving it now because I am concerned about crashing.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #229

Nov 112014

Camry Hybrid

  • 88,000 miles
This has happened several times. The vcs system warning indicators go off on the car, including the brake light the ABS light and then the brakes fail. I took it into the dealership on Thursday, Nov. 6, and they couldn't find anything wrong with it since the computer didn't register a code. The brake light went on again on Saturday, Nov, 8. and then the vcs system warning indicators went off when I started my car on Tuesday, Nov. 11. and the brakes failed. I cannot drive this car around like this not knowing when the brakes are going to fail. It's not safe, and I can't get any help from the dealership. I don't have the option of not driving into work. I need a car. This car is supposed to be safe.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #228

Nov 072014

Camry Hybrid

  • 137,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry hybrid. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the brake sensor light illuminated and the brakes malfunctioned within minutes. As a result, the vehicle failed to stop while the contact was engaging the brake pedal. The contact was able to merge into a parking area and the vehicle was towed to a dealer. The failure had not been diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 137,000.

- Murfreesboro, TN, USA

problem #227

Oct 252014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 138,000 miles
On 10/14/2014 I took the car to dealer for brake reservoir recall. The dealer replaced the brake fluid reservoir and reset the brake vehicle stability control unit. On 10/25/2014 while approaching a stop light I depressed the brake pedal at which time the brake warning, ABS warning, slip indicator and master caution warning lights illuminated and the brakes grabbed (or more accurately: Locked random wheels in a random sequence) causing the vehicle to careen and swerve out of control. Wheels apparently locked up completely because there was smoke and screeching. Vehicle stopped sideways in the intersection out of control. Had other vehicles been present in adjacent lanes or ahead of me there would have certainly been an accident. This vehicle has had ongoing brake problems including a brake ECU replacement. After brake ECU replacement no trouble has occurred until this event. The hybrid battery has been replaced twice. When the hybrid battery failed the first time the braking system also became unstable and the vehicle lurched forward. This incident also nearly caused an accident and was reported to ntsb. My experience is when there is a system fault related to the hybrid battery or vehicle stability control while driving the brake system becomes unstable.

- Loveland, CO, USA

problem #226

Nov 272013

Camry Hybrid

  • 75,200 miles
Under wet conditions, my brake warning light appeared just as I was approaching a red light, I found I had no power brakes, and barely managed to avoid entering the intersection. I took my car in for repair, they told me there was a problem with my ABS system, and the only way to fix it was to just replace the actuator assembly for ~$3,000.

- Austin, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?