Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The Camry Hybrid's first year is a mixed bag of brake actuators failing and power issues. The hybrid version even shares the same excessive oil consumption as its non-hybrid counterpart. And it hardly gets enough fuel efficiency gains to warrant the extra costs up-front or during repairs.

Toyota seemed to get their act together with later model years, so if you're looking for a used Camry Hybrid I suggest looking there.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
97,142 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry Hybrid brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry Hybrid:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Hybrid Owner Comments

problem #10

Dec 132012

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 81,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry hybrid. Whenever the vehicle would decelerate or reach a complete stop, the contact would feel the brake pedal vibrate. There was also a chirping noise coming from the front driver side brakes. The dealer stated that the ABS actuator was faulty. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 81,000. Updated 09/16/14 updated 1/16/15

- Goodyear, AZ, USA

problem #9

Feb 012014

Camry Hybrid

  • 189,000 miles
I was driving my car when a "check vsc system" flashed across my dashboard. I suddenly had a very hard time getting the car to brake. The dealership stated it was the ABS actuator, and it cost roughly $2975 to replace. I was alarmed that anything involving the ABS system would need replacement during the lifetime of the vehicle. I was deeply concerned to see that there were about 30,000 other complaints for my same make and model. I believe this part should be inspected for a possible recall.

- Charleston, SC, USA

problem #8

Jan 242014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 79,631 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry hybrid. The contact stated that he depressed the brake pedal while traveling at unknown speeds but the stopping distance increased. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be diagnosed. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 79,631. Updated 03/11/14 Toyota recommended the ABS actuator be replaced. Updated 03/13/14

- Indio, CA, USA

problem #7

Jul 282013

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 82,600 miles


While driving home, four lights lit up on my dashboard and the check vsc system warning appeared as well. There was nothing noticeable that happened so I drove on to the house. Only thing I noticed the next morning was that the brake pedal kicked back towards me when I started the car. Brakes appeared to work fine. Took the car into my Toyota dealer (where I purchased it new in November of 2006). They checked it and found out that the ABS actuator needed to be replaced. Price for the part was $2500. Labor was $118. Car was fixed in two days. Fortunately I had an extended warranty that covered all but $100 so I felt very lucky. My main intention on submitting this is to find out why Toyota hasn't issued a recall on this part. I've read (in the toyotanation forum online) about many drivers who have had this problem at less than 65,000 miles; mine occurred at 82,600 miles. And the price of the part is astonishing. So my personal experience was fine. I didn't notice any braking issues but would like to submit this as another owner who experienced this same issue. Expensive for many, but I was lucky to have the warranty....updated 08/16/13

- Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #6

May 262013

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 68,057 miles
All of the warning lights came on, then up came check vsc system. Looked it up in the auto manual. Sunday, holiday weekend. On the way home, stopped into auto zone, plugged in a computer diagnostic, code C1391 comes up. Went home investigated online, found that this is common with many Camry hybrids, . not being recalled. Big money and big safety issue here. Costing consumers thousands of dollars, my first day out with this as this just happened with me at 9 am today. 07-29-13.... updated 08/01/13

- Englewood, FL, USA

problem #5

Jan 142013

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 109,000 miles
There is a leak in the ABS accumulator that causes my brakes to pulse and a alarm to sound, which is a loud whining noise. I have had my rotors and brake pads replaces but that did not resolve the issue, my mechanic thinks is it the accumulator, which cost 1800 dollars just for the part. I have researched and seen hundreds of complaints about this part online. I can't afford to pay 2K for a repair at this time and I am afraid to drive my car but I have no choice due to my work and need to commute. Update 6/27/2013: The problem is persistent now and the brake pedal pulses as if it is pushing back when step down on it, it definitely affects my breaking distance. I have to start breaking much sooner than normal. Vehicle has not been repaired as the cost actually has been quoted by dch Toyota of oxnard service department on 6/8/13 for $3,250 to replace ABS actuator system. Part was $2399 alone. Updated 7/31/13

- Santa Clarita, CA, USA

problem #4

Apr 172013

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 94,385 miles


Vehicle was brought to dealer for strange noises coming from the engine compartment. Dealer diagnosed a part failure in the anti-lock braking system actuator assembly, which could have lead to a complete loss of brakes. No warning lights on the dash ever indicated a problem with this critical safety component. Updated 07/30/13 the consumer stated the repair did not fix the problem and it soon returned a few hours after driving. The next day, all the braking issues and warning lights appeared on the dash again. The ABS brake accumulator had an internal leak. The brake accumulator was upgraded and the new unit is a different part number.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #3

Feb 152013

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 87,225 miles
The vehicle had been for the past weeks with a pulsating noise under the hood, specially at stops waiting for a red light. You can feel the pulsation on the pedal when you depress the brake pedal. The noise gets louder the harder you press the pedal and the car seems like its trying to move forward on its own. No problem lights were on the control panel until it reached 87,225. After that I had the ABS, brake, warning, vst lights all on with the message of check vst on the lcd of the control panel. Took the car to the dealer and after inspection they determined that the ABS actuator module had to be replaced. The quote was for $2,600!!!!! I started searching online and found out several other Camry owners had the same problem. I'm filing the complaint because this is a very critical component in terms of safety and it is failing at a very low mileage (under 100K) and sometimes even under 60K. Also the cost of repair is so high you have no choice but to increase the financial burden because it is a part that it is critical for the car's safety operation. I would never drive a car with brake problems. Please investigate this issue. Updated 08/15/13

- San Juan, PR, USA

problem #2

Dec 122012

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 71,000 miles
ABS warning lights appear on dash, intermittent loss of braking. System reset and car was fine for couple of weeks then it happened again. System reset again - fine for another couple of weeks now the lights are on and stay on. Toyota dealer wants $2500-3,000 to repair system and tells me it is rare and haven't seen it in other vehicles of my type. Yet I find several people with the same year, make and model of my vehicle on the internet with the same problem. Coincidence?? updated 07/30/13

- Lutz, FL, USA

problem #1

Mar 092012

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 109,520 miles
My '07 Camry hybrid(ch) has started to experience brake failure while driving. The first documented incident: 03/09/12. W/O warning, the ch will shut down and the "check vsc" light appears on the dash. All of the dash lights light up as well. When this happened, there were no brakes, no warning, etc. When I put the car in "park", turned off the vehicle and restarted it, I was able to resume driving. I took it to dealer to have the car diagnosed. The diagnosis: Nothing wrong with the car, brakes, etc(inv.#227594). Over the past 9 months, it has occurred a few more times, usually when the vehicle is pulling out of the garage. When it happens, I turn off the vehicle, restart and go on. On 10/30/12 while my wife was driving 35mph, the car shut down, the "check vsc" light came on and the brakes completely failed. She caught a left turn signal and coasted into a parking lot. Obviously this was horrifying for her and our kids. I called aaa and had the car towed to Toyota. My service advisor(sa) told me they have begun to see this happening a lot and he predicted the ABS brake actuator (ba) failed. I told him about the incident in March, which he acknowledged knowing of. 2 hours later he called to confirm that it was the ba. We spoke about it being a defective part, he agreed and would call and speak to Toyota national(tn)to see if they could help out with the $2200 repair. The next day he told me that tn wouldn't help, and neither would the dealership. My online research discovered many ch have had this problem. I discussed with the sa that if the part is defective and they are seeing more and more of this, what guarantee is there a new ba wouldn't react the same way. He couldn't guarantee that it wouldn't. I declined to have the repair done, aaa towed vehicle to my home. The sa seemed certain that a recall was coming. The car is garaged, I have the repair est/document. Updated 07/30/13

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?