Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,621 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #35

Mar 292016

Camry Hybrid

  • 25 miles


Warning buzzer, brake, check engine, no cruise control, hard brake pedal to stop. I paid to the dealer to diagnostic, and the ABS actuator assembly with labor is almost us$1,700. Only something the sound of the buzzer and the lights turn off, and brake perfect. But must of the time, permanent noise and lights are on. To use the car is dangerous and noise no good for passengers. The problem start with vehicle in motion, in the city.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #34

Feb 172016

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Camry hybrid. The contact stated that the vehicle revved abnormally and accelerated independently even when the brake pedal was depressed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it could not be diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 125,000. Updated 04/21/2016

- Wylie, TX, USA

problem #33

Dec 032014

Camry Hybrid

  • 165,000 miles
While driving home from work my dash brake light went on. At the next stoplight I checked to see if the E brake had been depressed, it had not. One blck later while going about 35mph my dash lit up like a christmas tree, the ABS, slippery conditions light, red warning light and check engine light all came on as well as a warning to "check vsc" also my breaks went down to the floor and I was unable to stop right away luckily I was able to quickly pull into a, parking lot and coast to a stop. Had I needed to stop soon or been going faster there is no doubt in my mind this would have resulted in a crash.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #32

Nov 222014

Camry Hybrid 4WD 4-cyl

  • 170,000 miles


As the vehicle was being driven on 11/20/2014, "check vsc system" showed up on the multi-information display, and the master warning light, ABS light, slip indicator light, and brake system warning light (yellow indicator) came on. Vehicle braking performance seemed slightly diminished but still safe to drive. On 11/22/2014 I had to make a trip to town, and not knowing the severity of the warnings, used the Camry. While driving northbound at approximately 50 miles per hour, I indicated a right hand turn, and a westbound vehicle at a stop sign started turning from the road I was turning onto to drive North on the road I was turning off of. While attempting to slow down to make my turn, the brake performance was extremely poor. I was unable to slow down to a reasonable speed to make the turn and had to make my turn at a much higher than normal rate of speed to avoid colliding with the driver that was turning out in front of me. I finished my trip to town, allowing far more braking distance than normal, and returned home and left the vehicle in the garage. I checked the brake fluid level and it was within the normal range between min and max. This morning I contacted a local Toyota dealer for a service appointment.

- Topeka, KS, USA

problem #31

Nov 112014

Camry Hybrid 4WD 4-cyl

  • 145,000 miles
Check vsc system displayed and ABS, traction control, emergency brake and caution lights are on and the brakes are very slow to respond.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #30

Nov 032014

Camry Hybrid

  • 94,500 miles
While driving in city traffic, a number of indicator lights within the dashboard instrument cluster illuminated including the "brake" indicator, the yellow brake system warning indicator, the ABS indicator, and one other (master warning light?). at the same time a message displayed in the status screen within the instrument cluster showed "check vsc system." I immediately tried to pull off the road and slow down, and had to apply significantly more pressure to the brake pedal then typical. I could not slow as quickly as I expected. To avoid running into the car in front of me I pressed extremely hard on the brake pedal and was finally able to stop. I parked the car and turned it off, then restarted it. The same indicator lights and message displayed. I was able to drive the car home very slowly, but continued to experience difficulty braking during that drive home. Later that day when I restarted the car, the indicator lights and warning message did not display, and the brakes operated normally. I will contact the local dealership this week.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #29

Nov 252013

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • miles


On Nov 25th, 2013 around 9:30pm I was driving home from work. A couple of minutes in to my driving my brake stopped functioning. I tried to slam the brake, but the car didn't stop. Thankfully, there weren't lots of car on the road. I drove on the side grass for few hundred yards and finally managed to stopped the vehicle. The next day, I took it to the near by shop and they suggested that I should replace the brake since the car wasn't able to stop. After spending $650 to replace the brakes and brake pads, I left the shop. After 6 months the check vsc system light came on. I took it to Toyota dealership and they told me that I've to replace ABS brake actuator and quoted me around $3700. I didn't have that much money to spend, so I started searching for alternative on the internet. That is when, I ran in to this site where people are reporting the issues that their 2007-2008 Toyota Camry hybrid are having. I would like Toyota to resolve this issue and fix my car. I need a way to get around and go to work. This is my only source of transportation and I need it on the road again as soon as possible. Thank you!

- Beltsville, MD, USA

problem #28

Apr 112014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
I have really good driving record with no accident & not even 1 ticket in the past 20 years before these 2 accidents & we've had the car for 6.5 years. 1st accident happened on 4/11/14 at 9:14am. Traffic was bad during the morning rush hour so all cars were travelling slowly. I was on fwy 5 heading S to the fwy 55 S ramp in ca. Matrix (1st car) suddenly stopped while all other cars were still moving forward. Equinox (2nd car) stopped & I immediately slammed my foot on the brake pedal. However, I didn't feel the car stopping at all & I thought I heard the engine roaring, but then thought it was only my illusion. Since the damage was only bumpers & headlights we just let insurance handled it & moved on with our life. However, I did start driving extra carefully after this incident. 2nd accident happened on 6/23/14 at 8:40am. Again, traffic was bad during morning rush hour. I was on jamboree in irvine, ca heading towards newport beach. I was waiting for the red light on jamboree at the 405 N bound exit intersection in the 2nd lane from left (total 4 lanes). There were already 2 accidents around there & light had just turned green. All cars were moving very slowly due to accidents nearby. Yukon had already pulled into the intersection & suddenly stopped. I was still behind the line with some distance & slammed on brake immediately but didn't feel the car stopping until hitting Yukon. I heard brake sound and engine roaring again while my foot was on the brake pedal. This time the roaring sound was clear compare to April accident. It was at over-path of fwy 405 so the road was a bit going uphill. Hybrid does not start fast at all so I am sure my speed was very slow. Car is determined as totaled because engine went under Yukon's spare tire hanging in the back. Toyota said hybrid has a black box that records data. Want to get access to the encrypted data if possible.

- Irvine, CA, USA

problem #27

Jul 022014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 85,088 miles
I purchased a 2008 Toyota Camry hybrid with 85,000 miles in July 2nd of 2014. Since I got this car from dealer in a auction first I went closes Toyota service center to change the oil and do the 85000 mile service so I can keep the car protected. And they tall me perform the maintain on it but they is waning light for ABS and another waning check vsc system they assume may be fault in computer system witch repair cost around $3000 and the advice me to return the cart dealer. I spend all my money in the buying the car so can't spend any more money. Then I contact the dealer but to return the car but they don't accept the car back. Since I didn't have any choice I start driving the car back to home. Suddenly nonstop buzzer sound came up along with the "check vsc system" /brake, hazard, warning, and ABS lights its middle of the freeway and I noticed that the brakes did not function properly. I try to push the brake pedal; it was just like a rock not moving a bit I thought I gone die. Luckily I able bring it to safe place. Now car is sitting in my home donżżT know what to expect next. I research the problem in the internet, notice so many-many 07- 08 Toyota Camry hybrid customers have the experience the same problem. Since many 07- 08 Toyota Camry hybrid customers experience this problem so I hope Toyota recall the ABS accumulator and fix before anybody get die or be critically injured. Thank you

- Burbank, CA, USA

problem #26

Mar 052012

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
I have a 2008 tch with 53K miles and the vsc warning light, brake light and several others first appeared on a cold morning during a cross country trip from ca to nc. A complete loss of breaking at 40 mph is a scary thing!!! brought it to dealer. Cleared the code. Well, about a week later in raleigh the vsc warning light was on when we arrived and the dealer recorded code C1391, abnormal pressure inside the accumulator. The fix, a new ABS accumulator- with parts labor and tax just under $2700- because the part is not under warranty- only up to 3/36000! seems like it should be since this is a common issue with tch's. now I don't know what to do or who to believe!!! because I had no choice, I shelled out and had Toyota of apex, nc replace the part. Man was I mad! Toyota didn't step up and own this clearly defective part. Smartly, K I also purchased an extended warranty from a vendor. Well wouldn't you know about 14 months later my wife is driving with the kids and almost wrecked when the brakes went out, this time with no warning! diagnosis? C1931 again!!!! I couldn't believe. The same dealer Toyota of apex, nc told me the part was now $3200. I had them pull the history. They seemed genuinely shocked. Even put me in a loaner for several days and promised Toyota would take care of this one. Ha! shame on Toyota again- they said sorry. Part out of 12 month warranty... here's your bill for 3200. At this point, I knew it was time to get rid of this defective car before someone got seriously injured or even worse, killed. Two times Toyota refused to accept any responsibility, I'm sure it will catch up to them eventually.

- Garner, NC, USA

problem #25

Jul 192013

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 97,000 miles


I was on the highway and all of the warning lights came on "check vsc system" was displayed on the dashboard. I had to push very hard on the breaks to make the car stop and luckily I did not crash into anyone. It's happened in the middle of driving in the neighborhood, on the freeway, even when I was parked in the garage! I turned the engine on and before I put it in drive or reverse, all the warning lights would display and the breaks would fail. Now the new problem is every time I step on the breaks, my car 'barks' or 'chirps' repeatedly at me. I can push lightly and get less of a bark but for the most part, it takes a great deal of effort to stop the vehicle. My father is a mechanic and he's hooked up the computer to the car but since the 'check vsc system" is not displayed when it's hooked up, he can't tell what the problem is. In an unrelated complaint, when the weather gets hot, around 80 degrees, the stereo system goes blank and spits out all of my cds and will not turn on. Then it will have lines across the screen and display "scan" on the upper right hand corner. It will not turn off or on unless I use the controls on the steering wheel. After it cools, it will work again.

- Centennial, CO, USA

problem #24

May 262014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Vsc and ABS warning lights and buzzer came on upon just starting car. Front drivers side brake caliper locker up. Drivers side brake locked up. Dealer wants 2800 for repair. In searching the internet, it appears that this has happened to lots of other 07 -11 Camry hybrid owners.this should be covered by warranty. How do I file a formal complaint with Toyota"?"

- Waldport, OR, USA

problem #23

Jan 292014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 96,000 miles
My brakes failed the first time on 1/29/14 on my way to work. Luckily, I wasn't going too fast, which allowed me to safely pull over onto one of the side streets. My car displayed the error message: "check vsc system." I called aaa, and one of their tow truck drivers suggested that rather than taking my car to the dealership, I use a different place (which he claimed was aaa approved; it wasn't). Nearly $500 later ($472.94 to be exact), my car seemed fine for about a month. Then on 2/26/14, this time while driving on the interstate, my brakes failed again. I got the same message as before: "check vsc system." This time, I asked to be towed to the dealership. Supposedly, nobody at the dealership was aware of a recall for this systematic problem. However, I have since found out that 59 other complaints have been reported for this very issue. That's only through January; I can imagine how many other times this happened that were not reported. I ate the cost (this time upwards of $3,800) to have the entire vehicle suspension control (vsc) unit completely replaced. This morning, 4/21/14, I turned on my car & was greeted with that old familiar message: "check vsc system." I'm afraid to try driving my car to work in this condition, and meanwhile I've sunk over $4,000 into "repairs" that do not seem to last. I always thought Toyota were such good, reliable cars. However, I'm not sure if I would buy another one at this rate. My car has less than 100K miles and I'm extremely disappointed with this headache. Does someone have to die before Toyota actually steps up & issues a recall??

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #22

Jan 022014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Camry hybrid. The contact stated while driving approximately 5 mph, the vehicle accelerated forward causing the vehicle to crash into the wall in his garage. The vehicle did not stall. The failure occurred twice within one week. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and advised to take vehicle to the dealer. The approximate failure mileage was 28,000.

- Marlboro, NJ, USA

problem #21

Feb 282014

Camry Hybrid

  • 134,560 miles
While driving, the "check vsc system" warning came on, an immediate power reduction occurred and some brake pressure loss. Dealership said the skid control ECU ($1800) and ABS actuator ($2900) were both bad. After replacing both, warning lights are still on. Problem not resolved yet.

- Hendersonville, TN, USA

problem #20

Feb 282014

Camry Hybrid

  • 135,000 miles
Was in park in parking lot, switched to drive and immediately the brake light illuminated. Then the "check vsc" message came up on the computer. Proceeded to busy road and turn left, only to find out I had no braking power; other than the parking brake. With some luck and the parking brake I was able to bring the vehicle to a controlled stop. Fortunately it was 5am on my way to work at the hospital, if there was people or other vehicles there would be no way to stop the vehicle safely.

- Bloomfield Hills, MI, USA

problem #19

Feb 112014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 86,200 miles
I was driving on the 405 freeway North from long beach to West los angeles, when the vsc system lights came on. I took the car to santa monica Toyota, where I had originally purchased it, and was told that the brake actuator system was leaking and the repair cost was $3800, no one there informed me that this particular part was being investigated for possible defects. After the car was looked at santa monica Toyota, the brakes started clucking and grabbing. After much heated discussion, corporate Toyota agreed to pay $1000 toward the repair which was done at marina del rey Toyota. I believe that the system is defective. No system should fail in so many cars of the same model and year. Toyota should recall the system and compensate myself and other Toyota owners.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #18

Jan 312014

Camry Hybrid

  • miles
About to leave from a parking lot at night, turned vehicle on. Released emergency brake. Put car in reverse to back out. While backing out, noticed car not operating correctly. Stopped backing out and reparked. Noticed engine dash lights were on:"check vsc system", ABS, emergency parking light nonresponsive, triangular warning light and check engine light. Looked into manual to read and said to take car in. Drove car around parking lot to see how car handled. Car braked but pumped on own after brake tapped each time. Braking ability and flexibility compromised. Being serviced now.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #17

Jan 312014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 64,547 miles
My car was just repaired 6 months ago for this same issue at a cost of over $3,000!!!! today my husband and son were in the car when the brakes failed and the check vsc warning light came on again!! luckily they were not in an accident as a result of the failed brakes.

- Brookeville, MD, USA

problem #16

Jan 222014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 148,000 miles
I was driving down the highway when I felt a noticeable difference in the steering and breaking of my car. At the same time a lot of the dashboard lights came on including: Brake, ABS, vsc warning, check engine, TPMS. After I felt this change, it was very hard to brake. It took me longer to stop and I had to use more physical force to do so. This was extremely scary considering how fast I was going and the fact that I had my child in the car with me. I took my car straight to a mechanic who cleared the code.

- Watkinsville, GA, USA

Read the next 15 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?