Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
34 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
36 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,294 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Toyota Corolla seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 11 of 14)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #71

Oct 252014

Corolla

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is about the current urgent airbag recall. I was told by my local Toyota service department that they cannot do anything about the airbags because Toyota has not authorized a fix. According to the news, options include disabling the airbag or replacing it. We live in a humid climate ( columbia, SC). Our son is about to start driving in December. Most likely, some of his driving will happen in this vehicle. Sitting in the back seat is not an option. Shame on Toyota!! please help the concerned consumer, now.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #70

Oct 222014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 115,240 miles
On October 22, 2014, I contacted 2-of-the-3 Toyota dealerships in northern Nevada (I.e., reno Toyota and carson city Toyota). I contacted these dealerships regarding the air bags malfunctioning and causing several deaths and numerous injuries, as reported on 10/20/2014--10/23/2014 by the 3 national news channels in reno, Nevada (I know that this is not the typical safety issue envisioned on this website, but this represents a severe and looming safety issue as it pertains to my wife and I). When I contacted these Toyota dealerships, they did not seem too concerned about the air bag issues for my 2003 Toyota Corolla, ce sedan. They said that the "earliest date that Toyota could compile a list of vehicles that would, or could, be recalled was around December 15, 2014." Further, the dealerships stated that "they could not help me until this list had been compiled." As I stated previously, the dealerships did not seem too concerned about my airbag issues. They said to "check back at around that time (I.e., 12/15/2014). I asked them if they had a recommendation until that time, and they said "no!!!" I found these answers to be unacceptable, and I told them so; however, that was all that they could tell me!!. I thought it prudent to contact the NHTSA website asap to let you know how concerned the Toyota dealers are as it pertains to these safety issues.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #69

Oct 022014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
Our Toyota Corolla has 2 safety recalls for the air bag system. One recall has been done, but the other one we have to wait for the parts. After one recall was done the dealership found the airbag light on showing a code B1811 for spiral cable. I was told that part is not covered in the recall. They also told me that means the driver airbag is deactivated. I have found that there is a recall for this spiral cable with other Corolla's but not for 2003. Obviously there are problems with the airbag systems so can NHTSA please look into this. This vehicle is my 17 year olds car and I am very concerned about his safety. Thank you

- Lancaster, CA, USA

problem #68

Feb 142014

Corolla

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla le. The contact stated that she was informed by a technician that the driver side air bag would not deploy if involved in a crash. The details pertaining to why the air bags potentially would not deploy were not disclosed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 45,000.

- Edison, NJ, USA

problem #67

Jul 012014

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V350000 (air bags). The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded the reasonable amount of time for the repairs. The dealer stated the part would not be available until December 2014. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact was not experienced the failure.

- Mililani, HI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #66

Sep 192014

Corolla

  • 190,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. While driving approximately 25 mph, the seat belt suddenly tightened, the air bag sensor illuminated, and sparks appeared from the driver and front passenger side air bags. The contact indicated that the front driver and passenger side air bags emitted a substance from the injectors that filled the vehicle, but the air bags did not deploy. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V312000 (air bags); however, the dealer indicated that the part would not become available for months. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 190,000.

- Aiea, HI, USA

problem #65

Sep 122014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 170,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle was slowing to make a turn into a driveway and was struck from the rear by a truck, sustaining heavy disabling damage to the rear bumper and trunk. Vehicle was forced off the side of the roadway by the initial collision, crossed the driveway, hit a stop sign, and finally hit a brick and plastic city service center sign, toppling it completely. Driver airbag did not deploy during the front end collision with the stop sign or the brick structure. Driver was wearing her seat belt.

- Solon, OH, USA

problem #64

Sep 012014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
Air bag lamp always on.

- Carmel, IN, USA

problem #63

Sep 122014

Corolla

  • 145,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. While driving various speeds, the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V312000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 145,000.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #62

Nov 012013

Corolla

  • 20,034 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number 14V350000 (air bags) was performed however, the air bag warning light began to illuminate after the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 20,034.

- Davenport, FL, USA

problem #61

Sep 042014

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Is your Agency aware that through spring warnings of forthcoming recall notices were sent, as of now Toyota still claims "... there is not a remedy available at this time..."" local dealership advised us replacement parts arrived in late spring/early summer but were unsatisfactory. Is any pressure being put on Toyota to get on with it, lest it further imperil owners"\ writing on behalf of owner [xxx] caver trust, my wife. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Nashville , TN, USA

problem #60

Aug 292014

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 1435000 (air bags); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Hartford, CT, USA

problem #59

Aug 162014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
Airbag light still on after Toyota dealer replace the airbag inflator module and they refused to repair. Report receipt date: Jun 20, 2014 NHTSA campaign number: 14V350000 component(s): Air bags

- Caguas, PR, USA

problem #58

Aug 182014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 221,000 miles
On August 18, 2014 my wife and son was involved in an accident in charlotte nc. She was traveling at approximately 40 mph and rear ended another vehicle. Neither her driver nor passenger side airbag deployed. As a result her head struck the steering wheel and she suffered a fractured sternum, which I assume was caused by the seat belt. My son suffered no injuries as a result of the accident. I know that some crashes do not cause an airbag to deploy but that should not have been the case in this accident. Thankfully the seat belt did its job.

- Concord, NC, USA

problem #57

Mar 282014

Corolla

  • 127,800 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving approximately 10 mph, the airbag warning light illuminated. The failure recurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the spiral cable needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 127,800.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #56

Jul 292014

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V350000 (air bags); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mount Pleasant , WI, USA

problem #55

Jan 132014

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign id number 13V133000 (air bag). The dealer and the manufacturer were contacted numerous times and they were not able to specify when the parts would be available for the repairs. The repair was not taken care of in a reasonable amount of time. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #54

Jun 202014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 153,000 miles
Toyota is not acting timely to fix the problem with air bag inflator module. It indicates now that it may be 18 months or longer from first notification, which was April 2013 where vehicles were to be inspected and fixed if equipped with affected module. Takata gave wrong serial numbers on the faulty module so vehicles fixed and/or not fixed or inspected need to be recalled as of June 11, 2014. I attempted to have mine fixed August 2014, however Toyota service still didn't have the replacement parts. My daughter took car to college but no service dealer was available there. I just learned of this 2nd recall when my local Toyota dealership cancelled the appointment I had for today (6/20/14) to have the first recall fixed. I am told that they need to redesign the part and will be replacing it in all vehicles affected, including those who received a replacement part under first recall. No redesign has been done, nor to they know when it will be done, likely more months! in interim I have a ticking time bomb being driven be a teen driver more prone to accidents. I do not want an safety device in car to cause serious injury! Toyota has had 15 months to fix this. It now halts the repair of affected vehicles indefinitely without any solution or remedy"! yet are willing to fix vehicle where a airbag light is on? how" I was told by Toyota corporate I could receive a loaner vehicle in the interim of this remedy and to contact my local Toyota dealer. I did. They refuse to comply with this request since no light is on my dashboard. Your reports do not indicate that a light on the dashboard (10537899, 10568848, 10585224) occurred prior to incident. I live in a humid climate several months of the year another concern for owners. Toyota continues to ask about miles on vehicle, is that because they are older models and they secretly want them to die first!!!

- Wyoming, MN, USA

problem #53

Apr 012013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V133000 (air bags). The contact stated that the parts were not available to complete the recall repair. The manufacturer was contacted who stated that they were not aware of when the parts would become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 03/04/15

- Wyoming, MN, USA

problem #52

Jan 152003

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving 60 mph, the contact attempted to decelerate but the vehicle erroneously accelerated and crashed into an embankment. Upon impact, the air bags failed to deploy. The contact as well as the four passengers was injured. The injury details were not available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was unknown.

- Richton, MS, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?