Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
34 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
36 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,324 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Toyota Corolla seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 13 of 14)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #27

May 212013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 60,832 miles


June 22, 2013 supplemental restraint system (SRS) electronic control module (ECM) safety recall. On May 21, 2013, I took the car in to the Toyota dealership to have the safety issue addressed. The assistant manager said they needed to order the part and that it would take 2 weeks. It is now near 5 weeks. I have been in contact with the dealership at least 3 times. At the 13 day mark, I inquired about the availability of the part and they said the part had not arrived. A few days later, they sent me a customer response survey by E-mail. The following week I called inquiring about the part, and the dealership said they would call back. As of today, I have not heard from them regarding anything related to the safety recall notice. The dealership's only attempt to contact me was for a customer survey, and that had nothing to do with the recall. All my inquiries to address the safety issue have been met with indifference by the dealership.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #26

Oct 232010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the driver crashed into a tree. The air bags failed to deploy. The driver sustained neck, back, arm and facial injuries, and was transported to the hospital for medical treatment. A police report was filed of the incident. The vehicle was destroyed from the impact and towed from the scene. The manufacturer was contacted notified of the failure. The approximate failure and current mileage was 100,000.

- Amberson , PA, USA

problem #25

Jun 202013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 100,065 miles
I received a notice from Toyota several months ago about an urgent safety recall regarding my airbags running the risk of not deploying during impact. They said that another letter would follow that would instruct me when and where to fix the problem. Today, June 20th, I received the "second" notice they promised which now says they will send "a second owner notification letter when the remedy is available." I feel that my safety is at risk and they have had ample time to rectify the problem while I am at risk of my bags not deploying should I be involved in an accident. I purchased this vehicle brand new and I take very good care of it but I am scared. Please advise and look into this matter.

- Upland, CA, USA

problem #24

Jun 122013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles


This is the third recall noticed I have received from Toyota. The first one, which was approximately 2 yrs ago for the windows, the second approximately 3 months ago for brake peddle, and the most recent (safety recall notice - interim notice, June 2013. This is very disturbing in that I purchased the car new in late 2002. How many times is this vehicle going to be recalled" at what point will Toyota make some sort of accommodation for the inconvenience and worry" please note, I have not had an incident with these issues. However, I could not submit form without entering a date.

- Montclair, NJ, USA

problem #23

Apr 262013


  • 140,000 miles
I was issued a recall on this vehicle. I made an appointment to have the safety issue resolved. My vehicle was dropped off at the dealer approximately six weeks ago and I am being told that the dealer has no idea when the part will be available. This is unacceptable. When will Toyota have the parts needed to address this safety issue? a recall should not be issued if the replacement parts are not available.

- Putnam Valley, NY, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #22

Jun 032013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
2003 Toyota Corolla. Consumer writes in regards to unsatisfactory service at dealership service department for recall notice. The consumer made an appointment to have the recall done. However, after waiting over an hour, she was informed the part had to be ordered. Eight weeks later, the part still had not arrived. The consumer was informed the part was on back order. The consumer also stated the seat belt light has been on for years, and the dealer told her not to worry about it.

- Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #21

Apr 132013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 135,161 miles


Toyota recalled the vehicle to replace a defective harness on air bag system. We brought the vehicle in to a Toyota dealership to have this work done. Less than four weeks later, the air bag light starting staying on all the time indicating that the air bag is disabled; this condition makes the car dangerous to drive. We brought the vehicle back to the dealership. We were told that we would have to pay approximately $550 to replace the spiral cable. Prior to having the recall work done, there was never any problem with the airbag or the airbag lights. The spiral cable issue is a safety issue and should be dealt with by Toyota at least under circumstances when it is related to the other airbag recalls.

- Glenview, IL, USA

problem #20

Feb 192013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact was driving 70 mph and attempted to avoid debris from another vehicle when he crashed into a median barrier. The vehicle was destroyed. The air bags did not deploy and there were no injuries. A police report was filed. The manufacturer was not notified of the crash. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Tallahasse, FL, USA

problem #19

Apr 052013


  • miles
I received a recall on airbags problem the first week ok April 2013. I went with the car to West kendall Toyota 13800 sw 136th St, miami, fl 33186 that first Saturday and they told me that the car had problems on the airbags computer and system. I have called since April 6 2013 five times (April 13, April 16, April 23, May 3, May 13) and they always say that the replacement part has not arrived and they have 180 recalls on list. That means.. how many months do I have to wait to be attended? if I have a car accident (god bless me and my family) what about the airbags" how can Toyota send "urgent" recalls and they dont have the replacement parts in stock" I thought Toyota and their dealers were more serious on their job.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #18

Apr 012013


  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that she attempted to have her vehicle serviced via NHTSA campaign id number: 13V133000 (air bags) but the part needed to complete the repair was on backorder. The contact also stated that it had been 6 weeks since the vehicle was initially taken in for service per the recall. The manufacturer was contacted about the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The current mileage was 235,000. The VIN was not available. Returned by usps on 6/3/2013. 2nd attempt on 6/11/2013 failed.

- Austell, GA, USA

problem #17

May 032013


  • 119,000 miles


Wrecked my 2003 Toyota Corolla into a light pole. The speed was about 35 mph. Front end of the vehicle was smashed in and the car was totaled, the air bags did not deploy. With the amount of front end damage done to the vehicle the airbags should have opened, my 9 year old son has marks on his neck and is very sore from the impact of the seatbelts.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #16

Mar 232013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
I received the recall notice and took the car to 355 Toyota in gaithersburg, md on March 23, 2013. Up to now, they still don't have parts and don't know when it will be available. How can one issue recall without having the necessary material?

- Rockville, MD, USA

problem #15

Apr 112013


  • 67,311 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, he fell unconscious and crashed into a guard rail. The air bags failed to deploy and the vehicle was destroyed. The contact sustained four fractured ribs and a fractured sternum. The vehicle was not inspected for the cause of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 67,311.

- Oakland Garden, NY, USA

problem #14

Apr 012013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
2003 Toyota Corolla. Consumer writes in regards to electronic control module for the supplemental restraint system recall notice. The consumer stated there were no dealers on the island where she lived. The consumer stated the last time she received a recall notice, she paid out of pocket for the repairs, but when she submitted the paperwork for reimbursement, she was denied. Toyota would not honor the work performed by the establishment. The consumer was informed, the part was not available to complete the air bag recall. Updated 03/25/15.

- Ketchikan, AK, USA

problem #13

Apr 042013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Took my car into Toyota dealer jim coleman Toyota - because of the 2003 supplemental restraint system (SRS) electronic control module (ECM) safety recall notice that I received 2 weeks ago, made an appointment 2 days ago with the dealer for this recall - said to come in today at 2:00 pm for the repair. One hour and 45 minutes later - fix was not completed because they said that Toyota corporation only allows for 12 sub-wire harness (filters) to be installed each day at each dealer through out the United States of America. They did not that the part and told me at the beginning of the service that they didn't have the part - but still needed to check my car to see if it needed to be repaired. They will have the part tomorrow and will fix tomorrow - hopefully. So my complaint is why does Toyota not send the parts to the dealers to fix this safety recall and what will the NHTSA do about this problem with no parts from Toyota to fix the problem - only 12 per day per dealer" also I don't no if this is related but the passenger door lock doesn't work - when it rains it might or not work - problem occurred in 2005 and until this day - right after warranty ended on the car? like an electrical short in the right passenger door - not sure if it is related"

- Kensington, MD, USA

problem #12

Mar 282013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
No incident.........just complaint......received notice from Toyota on recall for electronic control module & supplemental restraint system.told me contact dealer to fix free, do immediately, important safety, dorchel Toyota, rochester, NY, says no parts, not for over a month, maybe longer. Air bags& seat belt pretenioners can many cars driving like this with no parts?

- Webster, NY, USA

problem #11

Jan 042013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 188,540 miles
Air bags light swiched on the dashboard. Never turns off.

- Napa, CA, USA

problem #10

May 212012

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 48,105 miles
When stopped at a traffic signal, both the driver and passenger seat belts and air bags deployed with no warning. There was no accident; the car had been completely stopped at the light. Vehicle was maintained in excellent condition before this event. No injury was sustained. A certified Toyota service center determined that it was a malfunction in the airbag sensors and a short in the pre-tensioner assemblies. Alerted Toyota manufacturing of the issue....updated 06/18/12 updated IVOQ 06/21/12

- Folsom, CA, USA

problem #9

Jul 212008


  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact was at a traffic light on July 21, 2008 when a vehicle traveling approximately 45 to 50 mph crashed into the rear of his vehicle. The contacts vehicle also crashed into a vehicle in front of him and was destroyed. The air bags did not deploy and the contact sustained back, neck and other injuries. A police report was filed. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was approximately 55,000. Updated 07/26/10.

- Columbia Heights , MN, USA

problem #8

Feb 172010


  • 104,000 miles
My daughter was driving our 2003 Toyota Corolla this morning when she reported that the cars brakes didn't appear to work properly. This resulted in a property damage crash into a guardrail. It was a frontal crash into a guardrail at low to moderate speed, the airbags didn't deploy.

- Troy, NY, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?