Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
34 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
36 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,294 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Toyota Corolla seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 14 of 14)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #11

Jan 042013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 188,540 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bags light swiched on the dashboard. Never turns off.

- Napa, CA, USA

problem #10

May 212012

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 48,105 miles
When stopped at a traffic signal, both the driver and passenger seat belts and air bags deployed with no warning. There was no accident; the car had been completely stopped at the light. Vehicle was maintained in excellent condition before this event. No injury was sustained. A certified Toyota service center determined that it was a malfunction in the airbag sensors and a short in the pre-tensioner assemblies. Alerted Toyota manufacturing of the issue....updated 06/18/12 updated IVOQ 06/21/12

- Folsom, CA, USA

problem #9

Jul 212008

Corolla

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact was at a traffic light on July 21, 2008 when a vehicle traveling approximately 45 to 50 mph crashed into the rear of his vehicle. The contacts vehicle also crashed into a vehicle in front of him and was destroyed. The air bags did not deploy and the contact sustained back, neck and other injuries. A police report was filed. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was approximately 55,000. Updated 07/26/10.

- Columbia Heights , MN, USA

problem #8

Feb 172010

Corolla

  • 104,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My daughter was driving our 2003 Toyota Corolla this morning when she reported that the cars brakes didn't appear to work properly. This resulted in a property damage crash into a guardrail. It was a frontal crash into a guardrail at low to moderate speed, the airbags didn't deploy.

- Troy, NY, USA

problem #7

Jan 122010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,800 miles
2003 Toyota Corolla ce sedan L-4-1.8L air bag light went on dashboard, mechanic says it is a short in P/T squib (LH) circuit and that this should not happen since the car was not in an accident. Warranty is expired but would like to know if this is occurring on same models- this is safety issue-Toyota will not take care of. Updated 3/17/10 updated 05/10/10

- Hamilton, NJ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #6

Aug 102007

Corolla

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. In August of 2007, the air bag light illuminated weeks after a minor crash occurred. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and repaired. In June of 2008, while driving 10 mph or less over a speed bump, the air bag light illuminated again and has remained lit. The failure mileage was 65,000. Updated 09/11/08

- Blacksburg, VA, USA

problem #5

May 062006

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am an owner of a 2003 Toyota Corolla, which was involved in a really bad frontal wreck. My vehicle had collided with the rear of an SUV at approximately 70 mph and braked about 200 ft away from the vehicle in front when it collided. Neither of the air bags deployed, nor the driver or passenger. The passenger hit their head against the windshield and shattered the front windshield. This could have been prevented if the air bags would have deployed properly. I have contacted the Toyota dealership on numerous occasions via email and phone so they may inspect the vehicle, but I never heard anything back from them.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #4

Jan 072006

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles
On January 7, 2006 at about 2:30 a.M. my daughter, [xxx] drove back home to san mateo from santa cruz in a Toyota Corolla le of 2003 with a[xxx] and [xxx]. as she drove on highway 17 near san jose she tried to step on the foot brake to maintain safety control at the speed limit of 35 miles per hour while going down the winding slope. However the car seemed to have no brake and started spinning with the left side of the front first hit the central concrete divider then the tail also hit the divider and the car finally stopped. No third party was injured and no property was damaged with the exception that my daughter got some bruises on her left thigh and the car ended up with a total loss. My daughter then unbuckled herself from the car seat and called the police with her cell phone through which she was advised to call a tow truck. When the tow truck arrived at the scene the driver said to my daughter that the car got no brake and he had to put additional chains and stoppers to secure the car while towing. Surprisingly none of the airbags in the car was deployed in the accident. According to my records, the car was fully serviced by the dealer, Toyota 101 in redwood city just a couple of months ago and as recent as a week ago that I had the car's engine belt changed also by Toyota 101 before the accident occurred. In view of the foregoing I suspect that there must be some defect in the car safety system including the airbags and foot brake. I and my insurance adjuster tried to contact the manager of Toyota 101 by phone for numerous times but to no avail. I sincerely hope that your department can help and bring this matter to the attention of Toyota 101 who should be responsible for such an incident due to the defect. Updated 07/17/2012 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- San Mateo, CA, USA

problem #3

Jun 212005

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,600 miles
Consumer was involved in a crash at 45 mph and the airbags did not deploy. The adjuster told consumer that he saw this all the time, that the airbags did not deploy in crashes or they deployed for no reason. There was a police report. Consumer's vehicle was involved in a T-bone crash. The other vehicle pulled in front of consumer's vehicle and it T-boned the other vehicle. There were no injuries. Consumer was fearful that the manufacturer had an unsafe vehicle. Consumer was hesitant to drive the vehicle again fearing that the airbags would fail again after the vehicle was repaired. Toyota has been very uncooperative and hung up on the consumer. The manufacturer concluded that the air bags operated as designed.

- Ocala, FL, USA

problem #2

Nov 252003

Corolla

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My air bags did not deploy when I was in a serious accident.. my vehicle is undrivable! the police at the scene was surprised it did not deploy.

- Antelope, CA, USA

problem #1

Oct 222002

Corolla

  • Manual transmission
  • 600 miles
Consumer called complaining about being in a frontal collision at 25 mph and the air bags did not deploy. Also stated that dealer were contacted and has declined to give any service to the consumer because there is no recalls on the vehicle. Also stated that has spoken to the manufacture and they are giving him the run around.

- Miami, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?