Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
34 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
36 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,294 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Toyota Corolla seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 5 of 14)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #191

Jul 192015

Corolla

  • 145,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving about 55 mph and a car was cutting into my lane and I swerved and blew my horn and then my airbag light came on, stayed on and is still on. Went to the dealer today and they said the "technician found diagnostic trouble code B1181 open circuit in driver's side squib and recommend replacing the spiral cable" (a part associated with the airbags) and as long as the airbag light was on, I had no airbag protection. The estimate to fix is very expensive.

- Ellicott City, MD, USA

problem #190

Jul 212015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags) however, the parts needed were unavailable for the repairs. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Marlborough, MA, USA

problem #189

Jul 162015

Corolla

  • miles
After 6 second check period, airbag warnig light stayed illuminated while driving. The system is not operating as designed

- Caguas, PR, USA

problem #188

May 152015

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Leviittown, NY, USA

problem #187

Jan 282015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Chicago, IL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #186

Nov 152014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 13V029000 (air bags), 15V285000 (air bags), and 15V043000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.....updated 01/04/2016 updated 01/11/16.

- Ukiah, CA, USA

problem #185

Oct 312014

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags); however, the part for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Farmington Hills, MI, USA

problem #184

Jul 022015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V043000 (air bags) and 15V285000 (air bags); however, the parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Tuscon, AZ, USA

problem #183

Jun 012014

Corolla

  • miles
One year ago, in June of 2014 according to the letter, I received a safety recall notice on my car. This would be the second safety recall noticed I received concerning my car's airbags. The letter states that the recall is still in interim status, so there is nothing I am able to do as of yet. Over the past two years I have called my local dealership checking the status of not only this recall, but another I received a year earlier. There has yet to be a change in the status of either safety recall. I feel that I have been extremely patient in waiting for solutions to the potential equipment malfunctions in my vehicle, however this problem still had yet to be remedied.

- Lake Havasu City, AZ, USA

problem #182

Jan 012013

Corolla

  • miles
Roughly two years ago, January 2013 according to the letter, I received a safety recall notice on my car. The letter states that the recall is still in interim status, so there is nothing I am able to do as of yet. Over the past two years I have called my local dealership checking the status of not only this recall, but another I received a year later. There has yet to be a change in the status of either safety recall. I feel that I have been extremely patient in waiting for solutions to the potential equipment malfunctions in my vehicle, however this problem still had yet to be remedied.

- Lake Havasu City, AZ, USA

problem #181

May 042015

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

01/28/13 received notice of takata air bag recall but stated my vehicle not effected. 01/28/15 received 2nd notice stating not only was my vehicle effected but warned against use of passenger seat.. next letter rec'd 03/28/15 informed of upcoming resolution. 5/04/15 took vehicle to bedford Toyota, bedford, oh; only to be told 'part not available'. I am 88 yrs old. I managed to survive wwii, working for the United States postal service, I even recovered from a major stroke. Why am I being placed in a position of anxiety, fear and stress? the defect is described as a matter of 'deterioration' of material over time. That means both the driver and passenger are at risk. I dutifully demand my passenger(s) usually a family member use the rear seat but that provides no assurance to the driver. Buying a new vehicle isn't an answer since takata supplies them as well. Life may not be fair but takata nor Toyota have any right to jeopardize my life. I need someone to take some positive action to resolve my problem. I look forward to hearing from you asap. Thank you.

- Cleveland,, OH, USA

problem #180

Jun 272013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
2003 Toyota Corolla. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle air conditioner and airbag recall repair issues. The consumer stated the air condition worked perfectly well, prior to visiting the dealer. An inspection revealed a relay switch needed to be replaced. Updated 02/02/16

- Colfax, CA, USA

problem #179

Feb 062015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Columbia, MO, USA

problem #178

Apr 202015

Corolla

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags). The vehicle was serviced under an interim repair, but the failure persisted. The recall notice stated that the vehicle was unsafe to operate until repaired; however, the parts to repair the recall were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000.

- Hampton, VA, USA

problem #177

May 272015

Corolla

  • 166,000 miles
The contact owned a 2003 Toyota Corolla. While reversing at 15 mph, another vehicle crashed into the passenger side of the contact's vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy and the seat belt failed to restrain the contact. The contact sustained head injuries and ear loss that required medical attention. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 166,000.

- Hopwood, PA, USA

problem #176

Jun 102014

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V043000 (air bags) and 14V312000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #175

Apr 132015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #174

Aug 152014

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V043000 (air bags) and 14V312000 (air bags); however, the parts were not available for an extended period of time so the contact was not able to schedule the recall repairs within a reasonable timeframe. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Derby, KS, USA

problem #173

Jun 302014

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V312000 (air bag) and 15V043000 (air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Sycamore, IL, USA

problem #172

Mar 052015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the air bag warning lamp remained illuminated for several months. The contact mentioned that the vehicle failed to pass state inspection due to the failure. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V043000 (air bags) and 14V312000 (air bags); however, the part needed was not available to schedule a recall repair within a reasonable timeframe. The dealer did not provide a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The failure mileage was not available.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?