Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
34 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
36 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,294 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Toyota Corolla seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 7 of 14)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #151

Jan 142015

Corolla

  • 170,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 30 mph, the air bags light remained illuminated. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 170,000.

- Atwater, CA, USA

problem #150

Apr 062015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V312000 (air bags) and 15V043000 (air bags). The contact stated that the part was not available for months. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contacts vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #149

Apr 202015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
I have received a recall notice for my vehicle, but my local dealership claims there are no parts to repair it. I am now receiving letters from Toyota saying I'm not taking care of the problem! how do I resolve this? the dealership is in elk grove, California.

- Galt, CA, USA

problem #148

Apr 202015

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V043000 and 14V312000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repairs was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #147

Mar 302015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.... updated 06-02-15 updated 9/18/15

- Carolina, PR, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #146

Jan 012015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V043000 (air bags) and 14V312000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure...updated 05/20/15.. updated 11/19/15

- Whiting, NJ, USA

problem #145

Nov 012014

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V043000 (air bags) and 14V312000 (air bags); however, the parts needed to do the recall repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Eureka, CA, USA

problem #144

Feb 052015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
2003 Toyota Corolla. Consumer writes in regards to front passenger airbag inflator module recall problems. The consumer stated the dealer wanted to charge $300 for an air bag cable.

- Morovis, PR, USA

problem #143

Apr 062015

Corolla

  • 85,000 miles
I received 2 safety recalls within a couple of days of each other having to do with airbags deploying without warning and pieces exploding with deployment. I checked the recall dates and one was dated June of 2014, the other January of 2015. Both suggest it is not safe to have people sitting in the seat and both have suggested that a remedy is not available for my car at this time. The Toyota dealers have no idea when there will be a remedy available for my car. What exactly does Toyota expect me to do - buy a new car and let this one sit? Toyota is using the language in the recall to try to cover their behind if someone gets hurt. I'm sorry, but that is bs. I will never buy another Toyota product again and I will make sure everyone I know hears what I have to say about it. Let me know when the class action lawsuit gets started. I'll sign up immediately.

- Buffalo, MN, USA

problem #142

Apr 072015

Corolla

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. While driving approximately 55 mph, a loud booming noise suddenly emitted from the front driver's seat area. After stopping and inspecting the vehicle, the contact discovered that the front driver and passenger side seat belts retracted and could not be used. The plastic buckle covers for the seat belts came apart. In addition, the air bag and seat belt sensors were flashing. The cause of the failure was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was not notified. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #141

Apr 012015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2003 Toyota Corolla. Consumer writes in regards to airbag recall.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #140

Aug 012014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
Toyota airbags were identified as a safety hazard when bags deploy they could release metal shrapnel. The problem identified in 2014 and Toyota cannot get parts to fix the problem. They recommend no one travel in the front passenger seat of the car until the fix can be made. Not using the front seat ( 25% of the capacity of the vehicle ) for over a year ( and no known date for a fix so this could go for several years ) is not acceptable. I also suggested the disconnect the airbag so I could use the seat with the seat belt and the dealer would not do. ( mark motors, stevens point, wi ). this is an unacceptable response as I may as well park the car if 25% of seating capacity cannot be used due to Toyota's negligence. They should have to pay owners if they cannot fix their problem within a reasonable period ( I would suggest 1 month at most ).

- Hewitt , WI, USA

problem #139

Apr 022015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V312000 (air bags) and 15V043000 (air bags); however, the parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Rowland, NC, USA

problem #138

Dec 312014

Corolla

  • 200,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. While driving at various speeds, the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the air bag module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 200,000.

- North , NJ, USA

problem #137

Apr 012015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V043000 (air bags) and 14V312000 (air bags); however, the parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cumberland, RI, USA

problem #136

Apr 012015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V312000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Wallace, SC, USA

problem #135

Apr 012015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V312000 (air bags) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Hartwell, GA, USA

problem #134

Mar 312015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V655000 (air bags) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Glendale, CA, USA

problem #133

Jun 102014

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V312000 (air bags); however, the part needed to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- White Bear Lake, MN, USA

problem #132

Jan 052015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V312000 (air bags); however, the parts needed were not available for months. The dealer did not provide a specific date for when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure...updated 05/20/15 the consumer refrained from using the front seat. Updated 11/19/15

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?