Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
34 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
36 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,294 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Toyota Corolla seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 9 of 14)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #111

Sep 202013

Corolla

  • 32,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the air bag warning lamp flashed indicating a malfunction. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V312000 (air bags). The authorized dealer was contacted several times and indicated that the part needed was not available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and was not able to provide a reasonable timeframe to schedule the recall repairs. The approximate failure mileage was 32,000. Updated 5/19/15

- Rocky River, OH, USA

problem #110

Oct 112014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification for NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V043000 (air bags) and 14V655000 (air bags). The contact was unable to have the vehicle repaired under the recalls because the parts were unavailable. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 03/30/15 the consumer stated only the passenger airbag was repaired on 2/26/2015. Updated 06/23/2015

- Richboro, PA, USA

problem #109

Feb 182015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
I was in a collision in my 2003 Toyota Corolla, where I'd hit someone in the back. Upon the time of the hit, I also hit my head on the steering wheel. My car was totaled and the airbags never deployed.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #108

Nov 032014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car was parked and being hit & crashed from the driver side by another car the front passenger airbag deployed by itself even the car which was hit from a driver side.

- Centreville, VA, USA

problem #107

Feb 042015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 260,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. While driving 35 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the spiral cord needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V312000 (air bags); however, the part to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 260,000. Updated 3/31/15

- Graham, NC, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #106

Feb 172015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 139,400 miles
After I got out of the parking lot at a supermarket the air bag sensor came on. This vehicle was under warranty because of a faulty air bag sensor and a wire harness was added.

- Brighton, MA, USA

problem #105

Jan 012015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 4/21/15

- Matawan, NJ, USA

problem #104

Jul 292014

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received NHTSA campaign number: 14V312000 (air bags). The contact received the initial recall notice in July of 2014; however, the recall part was not available. The dealer was contacted on numerous occasions but the part availability date was not determined. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Visalia, CA, USA

problem #103

Feb 052015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V312000 (air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 03/30/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was sold due to the lack of safety and repair. Updated 6/23/2015

- Monrovia, CA, USA

problem #102

Feb 052015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V312000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 3/31/15

- Cranston, RI, USA

problem #101

Feb 052014

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V312000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact was concerned about the timeframe for the repair. The contact wanted to know why the recall repair was taking so long. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cumberland, OH, USA

problem #100

Feb 032015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 13V029000 (air bags) and 14V312000 (air bags); however, the parts needed to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #99

Oct 062014

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bag). However, the part needed was unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Delray Beach, FL, USA

problem #98

Feb 022015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V312000 (air bags) and 13V029000 (air bags); however, the parts were unavailable to perform the repairs. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Fort Collins, AZ, USA

problem #97

Feb 022015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V312000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Amadera, CA, USA

problem #96

Feb 032014

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V312000 (air bags) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #95

Jan 302015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V312000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Gloucester, VA, USA

problem #94

Jan 062014

Corolla

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V312000 (air bags) however, the part was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 5/5/15

- North Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #93

Jan 292015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
The airbag recall on my 2003 Toyota Corolla is pending since June of 2014 and I have still not received an exact date on when this issue will be remediated and resolved by the manufacturer.

- Glendale Heights, IL, USA

problem #92

Dec 172014

Corolla

  • 187,000 miles
I have received a recall for airbags, and I took the car to be checked on 12/14/14 to reinhardt motors, Inc. 720 East blvd, montgomery al 36117, and they told me my VIN number was not affected. I received another letter, and called them to report it, and they told me it is not an actual recall unless Toyota sends me a letter saying it definitely involves my car. They want to charge me $776 to replace the sensor. If the sensor is bad, then it should be on the recall list. The airbag light came on in my car about 5 months ago. What should I do now? thank you [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Deatsville, AL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?