Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
28 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
13 / 3
Average Mileage:
44,295 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Toyota Corolla engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #37

Jun 122010

Corolla

  • 61,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2004 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving on wet pavement at approximately 25mph, the vehicle accelerated without driver intent. The contact's vehicle was struck by two other vehicles traveling approximately 55mph to 60mph. The air bags never deployed. The Illinois state police and ambulance responded. The contact was taken to the hospital with multiple fractures on the left side of his body and severe bruising. The contact was in the hospital for two days. A police report was filed and the contact had a copy of it. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was contacted and a case was filed. The manufacturer sent an investigator to inspect the vehicle on June 29, 2010. The results of the investigation would not be known for four to six weeks. The failure mileage was approximately 61,000.

- Downers Grove , IL, USA

problem #36

Jun 122010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Corolla. While driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning. The contact was unable to maintain control of the vehicle and proceeded into heavy traffic. The contact was struck by two other vehicles and his vehicle came to a stop. The contact suffered injuries to his ribs. A police report was available. The vehicle was towed by the contact's insurance company where he was awaiting further investigation into the cause of the failure. The failure and current mileages were 61,000. Updated 8/2/10 the consumer also stated the air bags did not deploy. Updated 08/09/10

- Downers Grove, IL, USA

problem #35

May 082010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Corolla. While driving at 55 mph, the engine began to make a loud noise and stalled. The contact pulled to the side of the road and took the vehicle to the dealership. The dealer ran a diagnostic test and stated that the throttle body assembly needed to be replaced. The contact called the manufacturer and filed a complaint; the manufacturer referred him back to the dealership for repairs. The current and failure mileages were approximately 22,000. Updated 07/19/10.

- Plantation, FL, USA

problem #34

Mar 012010

Corolla

  • 43,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rear end collision involving 2004 Toyota Corolla and Nissan xterra. Upon collision the car's engine was revving and the ignition had to be turned off to get the car to stop moving. The entire front end of the Corolla was damaged and the air bags did not deploy. Not sure if the accelerator stuck. Definitely think the air bags should have deployed. The Corolla was totaled.

- Lavaca, AR, USA

problem #33

Jul 132009

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
My daughter had a head-on collision with a motorcycle, while driving her 2004 Toyota Corolla. The motorcycle rider was killed. The airbag in the Corolla deployed and saved my daughter's life. Unfortunately, she still has little, or no memory of the accident. We don't know what happened, or why" the police believe she lost control of her vehicle, crossed the lane into oncoming traffic and struck the motorcycle. A witness stated her car was going fairly fast. Why was it going so fast in a residential area" a traffic light was right in front her (about 100 feet ahead). At that light, she would have taken a square right hand turn, enroute to her home. I don't understand why she was going so fast. And I don't understand why she lost control of her car. She was 90% of the way home. It was about 6:15 in the afternoon in the middle of summer. A sunny day, no clouds or precip. The car is being held by the West springfield, MA police department. Can you inspect the vehicle? she had complained to me about the vehicle previous to this. She once asked me add power steering fluid. When I checked, the reservoir was already up to the full mark. Being a dad, my only job was to maintain the car (change oil, etc). I very, very rarely drove the car. And when I did drive, it was fine. This Corolla was registered in my name. I bought it in 2007 for my daughter (her first car). I bought Corolla's for both of my children. I gave my son a 2001 Corolla years ago. I'm a big believer in Toyota quality. I own a Tacoma myself. But, something isn't right about this accident. I think the steering and acceleration should be checked, as a minimum. Updated 05/19/10 updated 10/04/10 updated 9/27/11

- West Springfield, MA, USA

problem #32

Feb 152005

Corolla

  • 1,000 miles
When I stop the car when I'm driving e.g. at a traffic light, the car pulls forward when I brake. This occurs like 70% of the time. I tried to get in touch with Toyota and they tell me that the recall does not apply for my vehicle. Since I bought the car brand new, I thought it was my imagination but I came to a realization that it is my car.

- Upland, CA, USA

problem #31

Jan 212005

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

TL- while driving a rented 2004 Pontiac Montana West bound on bridge at approximately 65mph a Toyota Corolla driving East bound came over the medium into his lane and collided head into his vehicle. There was two fatalities the driver in the Toyota Corolla, and his front seat passenger, he and the other two passengers were also injured. He stated this complaint is on the Toyota Corolla. He believed the driver in the 2004 Toyota Corolla attempted to stop the vehicle, but was not able because of a defective\\ gas pedal and brakes, or electronic control. Florida highway patrol 70564001, Florida highway patrols investigator report F050ff004415, Florida crash report 70987110. The mileage information for the 2004 Toyota Corolla was not available. Li updated 05/10/10 updated 08/23/10 updated 9/28/11

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #30

Mar 022010

Corolla

  • 19,000 miles
While in reverse and backing my 2004 Toyota Corolla into my garage the car suddenly accelerated and I hit the rear of the garage. I am positive I did not have my foot on the gas pedal. The engine was still racing when I put it in drive and drove out of the garage. I had to run into a snowpile on the front lawn to stop the vehicle. After the engine was turned off I looked at the floor mat and saw nothing wrong with it. This same problem while reversing into the garage happened in Sept 2005. At the time I just thought the mistake was mine, now after the second incident I am convinced there is a mechanical problem with the car.

- Morton, PA, USA

problem #29

Aug 032007

Corolla

  • 36,000 miles
Accelerator pedal stuck, hit handicapped stanchion at bj`S warehouse in farmingdale, NY. Had to turn off ignition. It happened once. Had the damage repaired at farmingdale auto collision costing $587 nothing done to correct this pedal, did not know what the cause was.

- Farmingdale, NY, USA

problem #28

Feb 052010

Corolla

  • 121,000 miles
I was driving my 2004 Toyota Corolla the other day on a side road. I was approaching a corner in the road and took my foot off my gas pedal. The car continued to accelerate. I pushed on the break which slowed the car slightly, but wouldn't stop it. I put the car into neutral and pulled off to the side of the road. The engine was revving very loudly so I turned off the car. I proceeded to turn the car back on and it was still revving. I pulled on the gas pedal and check my floor mat, as I knew of all the current recalls in effect. The floor mat was not in the way and the pedal appeared fine. Nothing changed. I called a tow truck and in about 2 hrs later when the tow truck guy started my car, it appeared fine. It was brought to a Toyota dealership, whom played if off as if my floor mat was the cause and sent me on my way. I then brought it to my father who used to be a mechanic and he checked all the mechanics of the car. He lubed up some parts and cleaned the accelerator plate, however he stated everything looked good to him. As of today this has not happen again.

- Plymouth, MA, USA

problem #27

Feb 282010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 25,050 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Corolla. The contact was driving 5 mph into a parking lot when the vehicle accelerated while the contact was depressing the brake pedal. The vehicle continued to idle and crashed into a building pillar although extreme pressure was applied to the brake pedal. The air bags did not deploy. The contact sustained minor injuries. The vehicle started to smoke after the crash. The contact was able to drive the vehicle to the dealer after it cooled down. The dealer stated that he could not repair the vehicle until they spoke with the manufacturer. The manufacturer was contacted and they stated that they would send the complaint to a claim adjuster which could take up to 10 days for a response. The vehicle was still at the authorized dealer when the complaint was filed. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 25,050 and the current mileage was 25,100. Updated 06/29/10 updated 07/23/10

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #26

Mar 012010

Corolla

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Corolla. While the contact was driving 30 mph the vehicle suddenly accelerated up to 60 mph. In order to stop the vehicle from accelerating, the contact had pressed the accelerator and brake pedal simultaneously. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealer and there were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages were 40000.

- Lake City, FL, USA

problem #25

Jun 152005

Corolla

  • miles
My 2004 Toyota Corolla surges for 1-2 seconds while at stop or red light. It feels like it is going to take off by itself. This happens more often in warm weather than cold weather. I brought my car to the dear and complained about this problem. They told me it is normal. This can be over all serious safety problem.

- Lovettsville, VA, USA

problem #24

Jul 012005

Corolla

  • 25,000 miles
My 2004 Corolla le is the first vehicle I have owned that has cruise control. When I am driving at highway speeds and engage the cruise control, it holds a steady speed. When the vehicle encounters an incline, such as a bridge or a hill, it will downshift and continue to accelerate well beyond the speed set. Every instance that this has happened I have been able to simply disengage the cruise control within 5 to 10 mph above the set speed, but it seems as though the vehicle would continue to accelerate as long as it was on the incline. Thinking this is how cruise control worked, not having used it before, I never took it to a dealer and simply turn it off when encountering an incline.. in light of the recent Toyota acceleration issues, I thought this information would be useful to NHTSA.

- Portland, ME, USA

problem #23

Dec 202009

Corolla

  • 25,000 miles
I was on my way to work. I came to a traffic light which was red. There were two cars stopped at the light. When I hit the brake to stop, the accelerator started roaring and the brake would not grab. I pushed it as hard as I could and finally it grabbed just before I would have hit the car in front of me. When I got to work, I was backing into a parking place and the same thing happened. It has not happened since. I was wearing large boots at the time and just assumed my foot hit both the accelerator and the brake at the same time but now that the recall has happened, I wonder if it wasn't my over sized boots.

- Battle Creek, MI, USA

problem #22

Aug 172009

Corolla

  • 14,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated as she was turning on to a side street at about 5mph the vehicle accelerated for three blocks and ran into a house. The vehicle revved up and would not stop as contact was depressing on the brakes because the accelerator pedal was stuck. The contact was injured and had to be taken to the hospital. She may not walk again. There is a police report available if needed. The vehicle was totalled and also the house that was hit had to be demolished because it was so badly damaged. The Toyota manufacturer was not notified about this incident. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for routine maintenance prior to the failure. The VIN number was unknown. The failure mileage was 14,000.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #21

Feb 122007

Corolla

  • 75,000 miles
2004 Toyota Corolla--driving on right most lane at speed about 25 miles because snowing had started. Date 02-12-2008 on I 96 East near inkster, exit. Suddenly car turned into left lane and accelerated to very high speed. Crossed 3 left lanes and crashed on to concrete barrier between East and West lanes. Due to start of snowing, all traffic was moving very slow. So all cars in other lanes stopped. My Corolla did not hit any other vehicle. Police gave ticket for speeding. (-police dept-livonia, mi-police. Car was total wreck with front damage and chasis bending outward on right side. Car was taken to troy collision, troy, mi. Citizen insurance declared " total ". though I was not injured, it is close to worst crash and I had to buy new car spending $10,000 extra. I had no answer for sudden acceleration and vehicle turning and crashing. Now I know this was exactly what is reported now-sudden acceleration and car going out of control -a defect in the car.

- Troy, MI, USA

problem #20

Jul 012008

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated the vehicle accelerated three times while driving various speeds. The vehicle accelerated as she drove into the driveway and nearly crashed into the garage until she applied extreme pressure to the brake pedal. The vehicle has not been taken to the dealer since she was advised that the diagnostic fee was $90. The failure mileage was 40,000. Updated 3/24/10 updated 05/17/10.

- Granada Hills, CA, USA

problem #19

Mar 132009

Corolla

  • miles
I was driving my 2004 Toyota Corolla last March 13, 2009 at noon in a crowded parking lot in mason, Ohio, a suburb of cincinnati. I was stopping at a stop sign and after that, I pushed on my gas pedal when the car took off, going from a dead stop to 60 mph, crossing the lot so fast that I was lucky I did not kill anyone that day. I could not control the car at all. It was as if I was on a dragstrip trying to race! I was surrounded by minivans and there was a burger king restaurant on the one side of me with a busy kohl's next to my car. I was terrified because I could not stop the car! the brakes did not work for me, at all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I had to stop the car as I had only a few minutes to stop or I would have jumped over a 4 foot grassy partition before I went into a 4 lane intersection full of traffic!!!!!!!!!!!!! I would have caused a nice accident and killed someone or many!!!!!!!!!!! I threw the car into "park and turned off the ignition right then" the car did a 180 degree turn landing near the grassy partition!!!!!!!!! I was fine but so scared!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!I had no idea what to do to stop but it worked. I went to king's Toyota after that which was across the street. They checked the car and said it was a buildup of gases in the car!!!!!!! such a lie!!!!!!! why did they not know what was it was"? they have had complaints since 1999?????????? my question is why is my car not part of the recall since I have had a sudden acceleration problem?" king's will look at my car next week but they will make me pay for repairs when it's their fault and it's not on the list. Please have them expand the recall so that people like me can trust their cars again.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #18

Jan 272010

Corolla

  • 123,318 miles
While waiting at a stop light the 2004 Toyota Corolla would surge forward. This has happened several times, roughly 4-5 a year, and if the brake was not firmly applied cars in front of me would have been hit. No attempt was made to fix this as it was inconsequential at the time. I am concerned that one of these times it may not be.

- Trabuco Canyon, CA, USA

Read the next 17 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?