Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
22 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
18 / 0
Average Mileage:
26,178 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Toyota Corolla seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 4 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #128

Jan 272015

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V285000 (air bags) and 15V043000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Beaverton, OR, USA

problem #127

Jan 282015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V043000 (air bags) and 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/21/15 updated 03/09/16.

- Oak Creek, WI, USA

problem #126

Mar 262015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Iron Mountain, MI, USA

problem #125

Apr 172013

Corolla

  • 160,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Corolla. While driving approximately 40 mph, the contact crashed head on into the rear of another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy and the vehicle sustained extensive front end damage. A police report was filed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but the failure was not diagnosed. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V043000 (air bags) and 15V285000 (air bags). The approximate failure mileage was 160,000.

- Orange, CA, USA

problem #124

Jul 012015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
Letter from senator nelson on behalf of constituent re 2004 Toyota Corolla airbags. The consumer stated neither the dealer or Toyota customer service were willing to pay to have an inspection performed on the air bags. MA 09/25

- Astoria , NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #123

May 142015

Corolla

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owned a 2004 Toyota Corolla. While driving approximately 45 mph, the contact crashed into another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. There were no injuries and a police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags) after the crash. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Peoria Heights, IL, USA

problem #122

Oct 152014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V285000 (air bags) and 15V043000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/18/15

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #121

Jul 092014

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V043000 (air bags) and 15V285000 (air bags); however the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #120

Mar 272015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Corolla. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Kenner, LA, USA

problem #119

Jul 092015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V043000 (air bags) and 15V285000 (air bags); however, the parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #118

Jul 032015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 83,250 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated for the rear seat. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that a spiral cable needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V043000 (air bags) and 13V029000 (air bags) for the front seat. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 83,250. Updated 09/01/2015 updated 12/7/2015

- Hackensack, NJ, USA

problem #117

Mar 182015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/11/15

- Vashon, WA, USA

problem #116

Jun 102014

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Corolla. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- La Grange , IL, USA

problem #115

Jan 302013

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 13V029000 (air bags), 15V043000 (air bags) and 15V285000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Taunton, MA, USA

problem #114

Mar 112015

Corolla

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Corolla. While driving at 20 mph and making a left turn, the contact's vehicle crashed into another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained unknown injuries that required medical attention. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V285000 (air bags) and 15V043000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #113

Nov 242014

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Corolla. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #112

Jan 272015

Corolla

  • 135,141 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact was made aware that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags); however, the manufacturer did not have a remedy for the failure. The vehicle was unable to be repaired. The failure mileage was 135,141.

- Burlingame, CA, USA

problem #111

Jun 042015

Corolla

  • 94,000 miles
My vehicle has been recalled due to the passenger front air bag since June 10, 2014, and a remedy is still not available. I have spoken with Toyota twice over the past 3 weeks and they are unable to give me any timeline on when a remedy may be available. This is unacceptable to leave a customer without a safety remedy for nearly one year. It is even more egregious that they are unable to provide a timeline of any sort on when a remedy will be available.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #110

Jun 042015

Corolla

  • miles
I have not yet had an incident. Based on Toyota recommendation, I do not allow anyone (including dogs, or heavy objects) to ride in the passenger front seat (or the back seat). My vehicle is still potentially dangerous for me, the driver. I would apply for an on/off switch for the airbags, but, it is not available for my car. I want that airbag de-activated. I need to get to work, and, I can not afford to replace this unsafe vehicle. I have already been waiting almost 1 year for a fix to the exploding airbag. I am also waiting for the fix to the bad electronic unit that could fire the airbag. How do I get your permission to make my car safe for me to drive by de-activating the passenger side airbag? I am already considering removing the passenger front seat, mounting it on the roof, and parking it in front of the local dealership with deathtrap painted all over it.

- Washoe Valley, NV, USA

problem #109

Jun 102014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V043000 (air bags) and 14V312000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/16/15

- Louisville, KY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?