Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
36 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
24 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,826 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Toyota Corolla engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #44

Oct 012010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. On two separate occasions, while driving, when the contact applied the brakes, they failed to catch and the vehicle continued to roll. The contact was finally able to get the vehicle to stop. Later on, when the contact backed into her driveway, the vehicle suddenly accelerated in reverse to an estimated 25 mph. The vehicle crashed through the garage door and the wall adjoining garage to the house. The contact applied the brakes, but the vehicle did not stop. There were no injuries. The vehicle was towed to an auto body shop for diagnostic testing. However, they were unable to find any problems. Updated 3/25/11 the consumer stated there were three other incidents where the brakes failed to catch. Updated 10/12/11

- Middlesex , NJ, USA

problem #43

Sep 282008

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
2005 Toyota Corolla. Consumer states unintended acceleration caused an accident. The consumer stated when she put her foot on the brake and put the gear in reverse, the vehicle suddenly accelerated as it lunged backwards and her head and passengers head jerked backwards. Consequently, the vehicle crashed into an auto stopper. The consumer then put the gear in drive and the vehicle accelerated again lunging forward and then crashed into a lawn tree. The passenger suffered a concussion and seat belt burns across her chest and the consumer suffered from seat belt burns as well across her chest.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #42

Sep 262008

Corolla

  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact shifted into reverse and the vehicle abnormally accelerated. The contact was unable to stop the unintended acceleration and proceeded to crash into a nearby pole. The contact then shifted into drive and the vehicle then rapidly accelerated a second time. The vehicle then crashed into a tree. The contact and the passenger sustained minor injuries as a result. A police report was available. The vehicle was not diagnosed and there were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages were 56,000.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #41

Jul 162010

Corolla

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. While driving 3 mph the contact noticed that the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The contact applied the brakes and they would not engage causing the contact to crash into the back of his garage. No one was injured during the incident. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the contact wa informed that the failure could not be reproduced. There were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages were 40000.

- Providencetown, MA, USA

problem #40

Apr 152010

Corolla

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. While driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle surged forward resulting in a crash with another vehicle. One passenger in the other vehicle was injured and a police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealership where the contact was informed that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. The current and failure mileages were approximately 45,000. Updated 11/03/10.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #39

Mar 202010

Corolla

  • 76,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated while depressing the brakes from 5 mph, there was an unusual increase in engine rpms. The vehicle began to abnormally accelerate until the contact placed the vehicle into neutral and shut off the engine. The vehicle was taken to a local independent mechanic who advised there could be a linkage defect in the accelerator pedal. The contact removed the driver's side floor mat and has not had any further unintended acceleration issues. The failure mileage was 76,000 and the current mileage was 78,000. Updated 11/03/10.

- Cleveland, TN, USA

problem #38

Apr 252010

Corolla

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Complaint on 2005 Toyota Corolla: "ECU" engine control unit. Our 2005 Corolla's ECU failed once at approx 40K miles (4K over warranty). The unit failed completely causing the car to lose power while driving. The car also shifted gears randomly when restarted, including shifting itself into reverse while in drive! we had to pay for a new unit as it was out of warranty. It was replaced with newer ECU (I think from an 06 Corolla). However, now at 80K it just failed again (that's 40K on the ECU again). It failed while it was in drive, again causing a lose of power. Once again we will have to pay to replace it. I've never filed a report before. But apparently this is a common problem. I was instructed by this website to file a report. www.toyotanation.com/forum/showthread.php?T=201631&page=4.

- Springfield, VT, USA

problem #37

Apr 102010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. While driving at speeds of 5 mph, the vehicle abnormally accelerated. The contact attempted to apply the brakes but there was no response. The vehicle proceeded to crash into another vehicle. The police arrived to the scene and a report was filed accordingly. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the contact was awaiting repairs. The failure and current mileages were not available. Updated 7/16/10 updated 07/22/10

- Clinton Township, MI, USA

problem #36

Apr 142009

Corolla

  • 47,000 miles
I got a Toyota Corolla '95. Everytime I release the gas pedal, it will make a jerk motion. The maintenance indicator light is on. I went to meineke this afternoon and paid 80 for the diagnostic check. Luckily, the service tech is honest and told me about the engine control module. I will call the rodland Toyota here in everett wa where I also bought the car in 2005.

- Everett , WA, USA

problem #35

Apr 022010

Corolla

  • 4,500 miles
Pulling into a assigned parking place. Car started to race, jumped over cement barrier, onto road, then onto a grassy area, able to steer away from public bench, tree, under carriage caught bottom of light pole, tire went flat, car slowed down and I was able to drive back to parking area. Approx $1800. Damages to bumper, right front fender, tire replaced. Toyota has not seen car yet.

- Tamarac, FL, USA

problem #34

Apr 062010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact was driving approximately 4 mph in reverse into a driveway when sudden acceleration occurred without warning. The brake pedal was depressed; yet, the vehicle continued to accelerate and crashed into a utility pole. There were no injuries. A police report was filed for the incident. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where the insurance company would investigate to determine the cause of failure. The contact stated thirty days prior to the failure, routine maintenance was performed on the vehicle. The failure mileage was 42,000. Updated 6/21/10 updated 06/24/10.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #33

Dec 192009

Corolla

  • 61,161 miles
My car was not accelerating correctly. The car wouldn't accelerate smoothly, it took time to accelerate and then it would buck forward. The check engine light came on several days later. I check to make sure the fuel cap was on correctly and could find no other reason the engine light was on. I contacted the dealership I purchased the car from and they told me it was not a safety issue, but there was a technical service bulletin for my car's engine computer and it was replaced free of charge. Every once in awhile I feel like the tires stick like the car is having trouble accelerating, but so far the engine light has gone back on. I will contact the dealership should the problem get worse.

- Horsehads, NY, USA

problem #32

Sep 042005

Corolla

  • 33,000 miles
2005 Toyota corrolla S, bought on 08/28/2005. Refusal of carmax report, why previous owner returned car. Had to bring car back after a week having hard start up. Dealership stated needed new "update" for computer. A month later brought car back same problem, another "update" needed they said. Three months later car accelerated on interstate 4, brougt car back and told me nothing was wrong with it. Then in 2007 parking car at 2 miles per hr car suddenly accelerated uphill, no brakes, swerved car to avoid glass doors to a tennants apt. Landed on top of bush, tried to reverse and bumper was pulled off. After car was repaired, car then accelerated while reversing and hit another vehicle, no damage to other vehicle, my rear bumper has dent in right corner. In 2009, exiting off of route 9 us highway, car accelerated went up embankment, reversed off of embankment and came down hard off of curb damaged left tire rod axel, brakes locked, car is suppose to have anti-lock brakes.

- Elizabeth, NJ, USA

problem #31

Apr 172009

Corolla

  • 0 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. While driving at speeds of 5 mph and attempting to pull into a parking space, the vehicle abnormally accelerated without warning. The driver was unable to stop the unintended acceleration and proceeded to crash into a building. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where unknown repairs were made to the vehicle. The dealer did not provide a reason as to why the failure occurred. After the vehicle was repaired, it continued to exhibit an unusual increase in engine rpms and the vehicle would intermittently lunge forward without warning. The dealer was contacted a second time and advised the contact that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 65,531.

- Detriot, MI, USA

problem #30

Jun 302009

Corolla

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla le. The contact was driving approximately 45 mph when the vehicle decelerated to 5 mph without warning. There accelerator pedal was applied continuously. The contact pulled into the right lane and continued to travel. Additionally, the check engine warning indicator remained illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated the throttle body control assembly required replacement. The vehicle was repaired for the malfunction. The failure mileage was 40,000. The current mileage was 42,000.

- Hallandale, FL, USA

problem #29

Dec 242009

Corolla

  • 73,996 miles
On December 24, 2009. My 2005 Toyota Corolla accelerated full throttle on its own. I quickly put the vehicle in neutral and turned the ignition off. I called the Toyota dealer where the vehicle was purchased and they told me to remove the floor mat. I told them the gas pedal was about 3-4 inches away from the floormat. Next I called aaa and had the Corolla towed to the dealer. I received a call from the dealer and they confirmed the vehicle was accelerating on its own. They called me Saturday December 26, 2009 and told me the engine control module failed and was replaced. The vehicle seems to be running ok now.

- Chino, CA, USA

problem #28

Feb 142010

Corolla

  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. While traveling at a speed of 5 mph and attempting to park the vehicle, suddenly it accelerated without warning. The brakes were applied but would not engage causing the contact to crash into a light pole. The passenger suffered injuries to her back. A police report was filed for the incident. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to be repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure and the current mileages were 47,000.

- Woodland, WA, USA

problem #27

Mar 172010

(reported on)

Corolla

  • miles
S10 appropriate handling re sudden unattended acceleration fm owner of a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The consumer stated a friend of the family was driving the vehicle, when it suddenly accelerated out of control and rolled into a ditch, where it finally came to a stop. The second incident was in Dec 2009, when the consumer was unable to stop the vehicle she had to use the emergency brake to stop. The dealer was unable to duplicate the problem. The vehicle would suddenly accelerate when the speed was above 50 mph or in overdrive.

- Big Bear City, CA, USA

problem #26

Mar 052010

Corolla

  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. While driving at 10mph the vehicle suddenly accelerated hitting a telephone pole tearing down two fences and a garage. The vehicle was totalled but there were no injuries. A police report was filed and is available if needed. The vehicle was towed by the insurance company. The Toyota manufacturer was called and a claim was filed. The contact was advised that a representative would come out to inspect the vehicle. The failure mileage was 5,000.

- Huntington, WV, USA

problem #25

Apr 011973

Corolla

  • miles
The car suddenly sped up to 30 miles an hour without applying the gas.

- City, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?