Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.4

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,202 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Toyota Corolla fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments

problem #18

Jan 032014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 88,347 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In January of 2013 and again in December of 2013, my "check engine" light came on. I took the car into the Toyota dealership in san luis obispo and they said that the O2 sensor was malfunctioning, causing the engine to run too lean. The first time this happened (January, 2013) the service writer gave me an estimate to replace the "plenum gasket and O2 sensor" but said there was nothing to worry about if I elected not to have this repair done. When the "check engine" light came on again in December, 2013, I became alarmed and took my 2005 Toyota Corolla to an authorized Toyota repair shop (not the san luis obispo dealership) and was told that there was high probability that the valves would burn out if I did not replace the O2 sensor (bank one, sensor one) and plenum gasket. I felt this was urgent and took it to the san luis obispo Toyota dealer for the repair, costing me over $400. Note that I found a Toyota technical service bulletin ("M.I.L "on" dtc PO171 or P2195", models '05-'06 Corolla and matrix) dated November 16, 2005 (we bought the car in March or April, 2005) which stated "under certain driving conditions, some 2005 and 2006 model year Corolla and matrix vehicles may exhibit a mil "on" condition with at least one of the following dtc's: PO171 (system too lean, bank 1"). further, it stated "the air fuel (A/F) sensor manufacturing process has been improved to correct this condition". note that I never received correspondence or a notice from Toyota about this condition. On 1-2-14 I emailed Toyota (ref: 140102-000196) to ask about this and to ask their consideration to cover some of the cost of the repair, and I received an email back from a "renee T.", Toyota customer experience stating "a tsb (technical service bulletin) is not a recall or a special service campaign" and that Toyota and basically brushed my concern aside.

- San Luis Obispo, CA, USA

problem #17

Dec 012011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
Check engine light came on. Drove for approximately 20 minutes more when engine completely shut off causing car to rapidly decelerate and near-miss rear-ending.

- High Point, NC, USA

problem #16

Nov 282010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 84,654 miles
Traveling South on I-95, speed 71 mph, engine stops. I carefully and promptly pull over to right shoulder, call aaa and have vehicle towed to local Firestone repair facility. After performing diagnostic Firestone informs me the fuel pump has failed and replaces the fuel pump. I request and receive the original fuel pump. Previously I have owned 3 Corollas and have driven each of them over 150,000 miles with no fuel pump failures. I am reporting this incident because I feel that this fuel pump might have been faulty and could be very dangerous under certain circumstances.

- Zephyrhills, FL, USA

problem #15

May 232011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 32,120 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In April,2011 took car with 32120 miles into dealer for Toyota engine computer recall replacement.. shortly after replacement app. 50 miles the check engine light came on. I returned to dealer on 5/23/2011 mileage at this time was now 32599 and was told that it would cost app. $77 to fix the problem which was the gas cap which was leaking fumes. I did not have the work done but I did have the gas cap checked at a certified smog station and cap was found to be ok. I was not satisfied with the answers I was receiving so I called Toyota Corp. Customer service and explained the problem. I was told that they would contact the dealer and have them call me to fix this problem. Later that day the service manager called and requested that I bring the car in that day and he would have it diagnosed for free to see what the problem was. I took the car in and after a period of time the service tech. Said they found the problem my fuel filler neck and gas cap needed to be replaced due to rust and corrosion at a cost of over $400. I asked if this was covered by Toyota because the car only has 33763 miles and was told no, I live in a dry desert area so I don't see why I'm having a rust and corrision problem. I also asked if this was a common problem and again was told no. The tech.told me that I needed to leave the car and he needed to order the part. I left the car and went home and I goggled this problem and found that this problem was common enough that Toyota issued a tsb #02206, I also found many other owners that have had the same problem not only with the Corolla but the Toyota Camry and Tundra. I called back and cancelled the work and picked up the car the next morning. I advised the tech what I found on google but he was not willing to listen. It's not only my feeling but the opinion of the others that this is something Toyota needs to fix as a warranty item recall.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #14

Aug 032011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
Gas cap falls out after turning cap 3 to unlimited clicks. Sends error signal for fuel emission leaks. $29 for new gas cap recalls on 2009 vehicles but not 2005?

- Shenandoah, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #13

Apr 132011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 51,897 miles
My 2005 Toyota Corolla suddenly accelerated as I was pulling into a parking space at a grocery store in Jan. 2011 and again while pulling into my garage on 4/13/11 this time doing a lot of damage in my garage.

- Indpls, IN, USA

problem #12

Aug 162009

Corolla

  • 81,947 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Defective fuel pump problem: I own a 2005 Toyota Corolla. One day in August 2009, I parked my car on the street for a few hours and by the time I got back to my car to start the engine, the car wasn't able to start. I had to call the tow truck company to tow my car to an auto repair shop. According to the diagnose from the auto shop, my car failed to start due to defective fuel pump problem and they have to replace the fuel pump assembly.

- San Leandro, CA, USA

problem #11

Oct 212010

Corolla

  • 39,565 miles
Bought a new Corolla in 2005. Fuel pump failed after only 39000 miles. Caused the car to abruptly stop running. Fortunately my daughter was in a parking lot. This could have been a serious safety problem if it had happened out on the road. After replacing her keys and engine control module to no avail Toyota finally figured out it was the fuel pump charged her $1067 to replace it. There is no way these fuel pumps should be failing this prematurely.

- Issaquah, WA, USA

problem #10

Apr 202010

Corolla

  • 65,000 miles
Have S 2005 Corolla, fuel pump had to be replaced at 65,000 mi. Car shut off suddenly and almost caused an accident!

- St. Clair, PA, USA

problem #9

Nov 302010

Corolla

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. While driving approximately 35 mph up a hill in rainy weather conditions the vehicle began to hesitate before stalling. The vehicle was driven onto the emergency lane and towed to an authorized dealer where he was informed that the fuel pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 55,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #8

Nov 092010

Corolla

  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 11/9/2010 at 5:30 P.M., my 2005 Toyota Corolla ce stalled on I-87 (NY state thruway--major deegan) in the bronx as it was being driven at 55 miles per hour. The car was operating normally when I left work in the bronx 20 min before. All of a sudden the check engine light came on and the car lost all power. The oil and battery lights also came on. I put on my hazards and managed to get from left lane to shoulder. The car stopped completely before I could get it off the highway and the back end of car was slightly on the road. I called aaa and they called the official company who has to tow cars off the thruway. No truck arrived for a long time--two passers by stopped and helped me push car onto shoulder. The car lights dimmed and eventually went out. The car had plenty of fuel when it was being driven. After the car stopped, the car seemed electrically dead and would not turn over at all. There was no sound at all or any cranking or sputtering. It seemed that the car lost all power and I was only able to get it off the road due to its momentum from being in motion. When no truck arrived after 45 minutes, I called 311 for assistance (nyc help line) and they contacted police who came and called another truck and sat with me with their lights on until tow truck arrived around 6:50 pm. It was towed to official towing station in bronx. The repair people told me the next day it might be due to an electrical problem. My car is under recall for the engine control module (ECM). The Toyota dealers in bronx said cars don't stall because of this problem and I would have to pay to have my car towed there to have it checked. I wanted them to look at it to see if ECM was the problem. On 11/11, when I called the official towing station to have car towed out, they said it was fuel pump and wanted 1100-1200$ to fix it. As of today, I am having the car towed to a local repair station where I leave to see if they can diagnose the problem and let me know what caused the stall.

- Sleepy Hollow, NY, USA

problem #7

Oct 082010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 83,400 miles
I was driving my 2005 Toyota Corolla and it stopped running in the middle of rush hour traffic. I was almost rear ended because of this sudden stall of my vehicle. It turns out that the problem was the fuel pump. The fuel pump is being replaced as I write this complaint. The dealer told me that Toyota no longer makes the original pump for the car that cost about $300 because they've been having to service many cars with that particular fuel pump problem. As a result of this problem I have to end up paying about $920 for a new model fuel pump. I can't believe that I the consumer has to pay for Toyota's mistake of not producing a reliable product. What if this would have happened on the freeway while driving 65 mph and the car just stalled on me. I believe that the fuel pump for this vehicle should be recalled because I'm sure this is not the first or last time that this will happen. Toyota should pay the difference for this mistake.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #6

Jul 282010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 145,000 miles
2005 Toyota Corolla le model stalled and would not re-start after driving approximately 10 miles. Fortunately it happened pulling up to the house, and not on the street or freeway. Subsequent investigation by the owner diagnosed the problem as a defective fuel pump. No aftermarket fuel pumps were available, and since Toyota wanted $1039 for a new unit ( ie., the whole in-tank module), an auto dismantler who specialized in late-model Toyota was found and the part was obtained for about $100. After installation, the car has performed flawlessly for a month.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #5

Jul 092010

Corolla

  • 62,646 miles
I have a 2005 Toyota Corolla. I was driving about 60 mph down the freeway when suddenly with no warning, the car stopped accelerating. I had to cruise over to the shoulder out of danger. I eventually was towed to the dealership. They did a diagnostic test ($97) and told me it was the fuel pump. They told me it might be covered under my extended warranty and that's when I asked them if water could have possibly gotten into the fuel system (gasoline). They said they did not do a fuel check, but would do one. They called me back and said it was contaminated gas and that some silvery metallic substance was in the gasoline. It cost me $1,605 to replace the fuel pump, clean the fuel injectors, clean out the gas tank. Next day the "check engine" light came on. Took it back to the dealership and they said the bad gas had killed the catalytic converter and the ratio oxygen sensors. Cost me another $1,980.88. Called the gas company I got the gas from and they denied my claim saying not enough evidence even though the dealership claimed bad gasoline. The gas company told me that when fuel pumps go, they can emit a metallic substance in the gasoline. Now I don't know who to believe after hearing about all these fuel pumps going. Funny thing is that when I was paying for my car the 2nd time around, a woman paying for her repair work said her fuel pump went out too. She had the same car -- 2005 Toyota Corolla !!! she also had to pay $1,500. Something is fishy here.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #4

May 152009

Corolla

  • 45,000 miles
I was driving back to home after work. The car feels like choked and stopped. I managed to stopped on the side. Car can not be started again. Starter is fine, just can not start the engine. Have it towed to shop and the mechanic told me the fuel pump was dead. Since the car was assembled in Japan, the fuel pump is $900 on parts, and labor is extra. I had the car for 4 and half years, less than 50K miles. That is a pump inside the gas tank, which suppose to last at least 10 or 15 years. Lucky there was no car behind me when this happened, otherwise I would be hit from behind.

- Centreville, VA, USA

problem #3

Jun 082009

Corolla

  • 25,000 miles
Toyota Corolla xrs 2005 gas pedal sticking. While driving speed increased. I had to fight with gas pedal and brake pedal to bring vehicle under control. Danger was imminent and I fought with pedals. If I had been on an open road with nothing ahead of me (giving additional time) I would have depressed the clutch. This is a xrs having 6 speed manual and larger engine than standard Corolla. This has happened at least 3 or 4 times in the 5 years I have owned the vehicle. I am not sure what happened wasn't the result of operator error but repetition of similar event indicates other than operator error. The date indicated on form was only used so that I can continue entering data.

- Leominster, MA, USA

problem #2

Oct 172008

Corolla

  • 96,000 miles
I have a 2005 Corolla that stalled out on me while I was driving 65 miles an hour. I have always had trouble starting the car, even the day I drove it off the lot brand new. Toyota stated that they didn't see anything wrong with the vehicle when I brought it in a week after purchasing the car. So after it stalled I had the car towed to a local Toyota dealer ship, where I was told that the fuel pump went bad. I was upset that my 4yr old car needed a new fuel pump. I was told that the cost to replace the pump was $1500. I later found out that Toyota put out a technical service bulletin about the faulty pump, and they had to change the design. So Toyota is aware of this design flaw. I had the car towed to a garage, where they put in a used fuel system from a junked car. The cost was about $500, so I hope that this pump will last a few years.

- Sycamore, IL, USA

problem #1

Jun 072005

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60 miles
: the contact stated while driving 25 mph on normal road conditions the vehicle maintained the same speed without depressing the accelerator pedal. The problem persisted at any speed there after. There were no warning lights illuminated prior the incident. The vehicle was taken to the dealership who observed no abnormalities after a diagnostic checkup and road test. The dealer also stated there was not a mechanism to slow downs the speed as there used to be in older models. The vehicle was taken to a different dealership for a second opinion who determined there was a valve stuck open in the fuel system and repair it. But the problem was persisted. The manufacturer was contacted who referred the contact to a dealership. The contact expressed concern because the only way to reduce the speed was by depressing hard on the brake pedal to prevent a collision. Updated 12/5/2006 -

- Laguna Hills, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?