10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
33 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
32 / 0
Average Mileage:
20,638 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Toyota Corolla seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 17 of 20)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #66

Nov 282014

Corolla

  • 99,861 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Recalled front passenger air bag inflator module was disconnected by Toyota of denton, 4100 South I-35 East, denton, tx on November 28, 2014. It has now been 3 1/2 months since air bag was disconnected and at this time the dealer nor Toyota motor sales, U.S.a., torrance, ca know when the replacement parts will be available. More than a reasonable time has passed and we still don't know when the fix will be done.

- Aubrey, TX, USA

problem #65

Jun 152006

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. While driving at 15 mph, the brake pedal was depressed but the vehicle accelerated independently. As a result, the contact crashed into a building and the air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained head, leg, knee, teeth and chest injuries that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was taken to an auto body repair center and repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V350000 (air bags). The failure mileage was unknown.

- Carolina, PR, USA

problem #64

Sep 292014

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V350000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bo.Coquy Aguirre, PR, USA

problem #63

Nov 282014

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V350000 (air bags). The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician disconnected the front passenger's side air bag as a temporary remedy due to the part not being available to repair the vehicle. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA

problem #62

Mar 042015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. While driving 35 mph, the contact crashed the vehicle into the preceding vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained injuries to the upper back, chest, and the left knee that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000...updated 06/09/15 updated 06/16/15

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #61

Oct 202014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V655000 (air bags) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had the air bag disconnected by the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 04/06/15 updated 04/07/15

- Zephyrhills, FL, USA

problem #60

Nov 102014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V350000 (air bags). The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician deactivated the air bag as a temporary remedy due to the part not being available to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 3/24/15 updated 6/22/2015

- Deerfield Beach, FL, USA

problem #59

Feb 232015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V350000 (air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Newburg, MD, USA

problem #58

Feb 142012

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V655000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available. Updated 4/20/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. Updated 04/24/15

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #57

Aug 012014

Corolla

  • 124,000 miles
The airbag light comes on out of nowhere and for no reason. Stayed on ever since. I did nothing and no accident what so ever. Took the vehicle to Toyota grapevine Texas and they told me that the spiral cable went wrong. Had it tested by another mechanic and found it no problem at all. Toyota has recalled Corolla for every model between 2000 to 2008 but 2005 Corolla on the airbag issue. And based on my experience and what I have researched online, I think a recall for the airbag issue of 2005 Corolla is due.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #56

Dec 062014

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V350000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Olympia, WA, USA

problem #55

Nov 122014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 72,746 miles
I was sent a letter from Toyota notifying me that my 2005 Toyota Corolla S is part of the tekata air bag inflator module recall I was instructed to take my car in to the local dealer to get this issue fixed. The Toyota fix which was not a fix at all was to disable my front passenger air bag and hang a warning sign not to have anyone ride in the front passenger seat. It has been nearly three months that I have not been able to use my front passenger seat. I feel three months is more than long enough to have this issue resolved. I only own one car and need the front passenger seat to provide transportation for my family. I have called both Toyota corporate and the local dealer and not getting any resolution.

- Venice, FL, USA

problem #54

Jan 052015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
I received a safety recall from Toyota on my car. The safety recall was for the front passenger air bag inflator assembly. The notice I received indicated to take the vehicle into the dealer & they would replace the inflator assembly. My daughter has the car at college & took it into the dealer for the safety recall. The Toyota dealer did not replace the inflator assembly but instead turned off the air bag & put a sticker on the dashboard that no one could ride in the front seat. While this takes care of Toyota's liability it does not solve the problem with my car. The dealer mentioned that Toyota was not going to replace the part at all. I spoke to Toyota & they said that they would eventually replace the part but did not know when.

- Fort Myers, FL, USA

problem #53

Apr 292013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 79,000 miles
Driver airbag did not deploy in a head on collision.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #52

Jan 272015

Corolla

  • 251,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving at 30 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V655000 (air bags). The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 251,000.

- Van Nuys, CA, USA

problem #51

Dec 292014

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V350000 (air bags). The vehicle was taken to a dealer to have the repairs performed under the recall. The technician disabled the air bag and installed a glove box reminder hang tag as a temporary remedy. The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #50

Nov 042014

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V350000 (air bag) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lares, PR, USA

problem #49

Jan 182015

Corolla

  • 126,322 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, the air bag light illuminated on the instrumental panel. The dealer was contacted and informed the contact of NHTSA campaign number: 14V655000 (air bags). The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 126,322.

- Chula Vista , CA, USA

problem #48

Jan 202015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V350000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Aguada, PR, USA

problem #47

Dec 102014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
My light airbag just come on I don't know why.... I never have an accident on my car.... is this is normal?

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?