Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
32 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
31 / 0
Average Mileage:
19,294 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Toyota Corolla seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 5 of 20)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #303

Sep 292015

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Campspring, MD, USA

problem #302

Mar 222016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall - Toyota letter received (bloomington Indiana) stating they completed parts prep for my geographical region and to contact a dealer for replacement. I called dealer and was told Toyota had placed a 3 per week limit and that the dealer would need to order and expect delivery in two weeks. That to me is not acceptable. The legal nonsense of not having a front seat passenger is annoying since this has been dragging out for a very long time. Surely there are other manufacturers that could make replacement. Seems to me no one is taking this with any sense of urgency.

- Bloomington, IN, USA

problem #301

Jan 012016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the parts for the recall repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Colton, CA, USA

problem #300

Mar 012016

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Toyota Corolla. Consumer writes in regards to airbag recall issues.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #299

Sep 222015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #298

Jun 082015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #297

Jun 212015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 04/29/16 updated 05/05/16.

- Arabi, LA, USA

problem #296

Aug 152015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #295

Jul 202015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags). The part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Lunenburg, MA, USA

problem #294

Jun 102015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags). The part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair for an extended period of time. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Lakewood, CA, USA

problem #293

Jun 152015

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall: I received my only notification from Toyota the safety recall notice in late June early July 2015 regarding the inflator problem with my vehicle. From my understanding, the issue is caused by intrusion of moisture into the inflator system of the passenger airbag that causes the inflator to explode if the airbag is deployed. This explosion has been linked to many cases of serious injury and/or death. The notice informed me I would receive another notification when parts were available in my area to have the replacement conducted. It is now February 20, 2016 and in 8 months I have not received any more information regarding this serious life threatening issue. From the information I have found online, the parts should have started to be available in Oregon in September 2015, that was 5 months ago and I have yet to hear any information on when I can expect this issue to be resolved. In the notice it asked to not have anyone sit in the passenger seat of the vehicle until repairs can be made. I understand this is a safety precaution, however, after 8 months and counting it has become quite an inconvenience. Furthermore, I live in portland, or and it is very humid/moist in this region of the country. This causes even more concern to me that this issue is not being resolved in a time sensitive manner. My complaint is that I have not received timely notice or information regarding when parts would be available in my region of the country and after 8 months, I am requesting someone contact me with more information that can help me resolve this serious problem with my vehicle in the very near future. Thank you for your attention to this matter.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #292

Nov 102015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Martinsville, VA, USA

problem #291

Oct 062015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Burbank, CA, USA

problem #290

Sep 162015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags); however, the parts needed were not available. The dealer was unable to provide a time frame for the parts to become available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #289

Feb 012016

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
2005 Toyota Corolla. Consumer writes in regards to replacement parts not available to complete air bag recall notice.

- Rockville, MD, USA

problem #288

Feb 052016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall I'm just concerned at how long this recall is taking. For such a serious safety hazard, it's been over 6 months since I received my initial recall notice and I have not heard anything else about it since. I'm expecting a child in a few months and I can't be driving around in a vehicle that has such a glaring safety problem. The recalls need to be fixed faster and more efficiently.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #287

Aug 172015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- El Dorado Springs, MO, USA

problem #286

Sep 012015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Salem, NH, USA

problem #285

Jul 192015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata inflators. Received a recall notice at least 6 months ago. When is Toyota going to fix the problem? haven't heard anything at all.

- Vanleer, TN, USA

problem #284

Sep 122015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Chicago Ridge, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?