Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
32 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
31 / 0
Average Mileage:
19,294 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Toyota Corolla seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 7 of 20)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #263

Oct 152015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the parts for the recall was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced the failure. Parts distribution disconnected. Updated 02/26/16 updated 02/29/16.

- Oxford, OH, USA

problem #262

May 182015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall, called dealership 6 months ago been on a waiting list ever since. Yet, the recall ask you not to drive your car but you have to drive it to get to work. I know the letter is to protect Toyota but what about their customers that purchased the car in good faith. When will they have enough air bags for me to get off the waiting list 6 months is way too long to be waiting.

- Rosston, AR, USA

problem #261

Jun 162015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall: I received a notification 6 months ago that no passengers could safely sit in my front passenger seat as a result of the takata recall. Since then, my passengers have been on several uncomfortable long, 5+ hour frequent trips, or I have been unable to use my car for those trips. After 6 months, I still have not received notification that the parts can be fixed. Since I live in a busy city and would typically ride with passengers, my car has become unsafe and useless for anything other than occasional lone trips. I am shocked that no other remedy has been offered to help those impacted by the takata recall.

- Henrico, VA, USA

problem #260

Aug 082015

Corolla

  • 56,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. It has been almost 6 months since we received the interim recall notice from Toyota. We have heard nothing since. Toyota is acting in an unethical and dangerous manner by taking so long to remedy this potentially fatal defect. As a couple that almost always travels together in the Corolla, we have been denied the use of our vehicle by Toyota. This is a loss and we are being held hostage by Toyota. Because, we might as well not have the vehicle, but can't in good conscience unload it on someone else. The interim recall notice from Toyota calls it an 'inconvenience' and warns us not to operate the vehicle with a passenger. We have been patient, but our patience is at an end. Now, we are angry and it is only reasonable that if our Toyota is not repaired in the next 60 days, we will avail ourselves of every legal and ethical means to be compensated for our loss and the untenable and dangerous situation Toyota has put (and kept) us in.

- Cottonwood, AZ, USA

problem #259

Dec 282015

Corolla

  • 68,000 miles
Takata recall Toyota safety recall notice received August 13, 2015 stating "we are currently preparing parts for your location; we will send you another notification once sufficient parts have been produced and remedy can be performed. Until then, recommended no occupant in front passenger seat." As of today 12/28/2015 (almost 5 months after receiving recall notice) Toyota has not notified me the remedy can be performed. Therefore, I am filing this complaint bec Toyota has failed or is unable to remedy this dangerous defect within a reasonable time, knowingly jeopardizing safety.

- Manchester, NH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #258

Aug 142015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #257

Jun 162015

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Santa Clara, CA, USA

problem #256

Jul 072015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 04/04/16 the consumer stated the air bag issue, was finally resolved.

- Leominster, MA, USA

problem #255

Jun 162015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Cedar Grove, NJ, USA

problem #254

Oct 012015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Sunnyvale, CA, USA

problem #253

Dec 142015

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Roseville, CA, USA

problem #252

Jun 122015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 04/06/16

- Dumont, NJ, USA

problem #251

Jun 162015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags), however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Southworth, WA, USA

problem #250

Jun 162015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #249

May 042015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Harrisburg, PA, USA

problem #248

Jun 162015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Chesterfield, VA, USA

problem #247

Dec 072015

Corolla

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. While driving approximately 40 mph, the contact crashed into another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained a sprained back, neck, wrist, and head injury that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 120,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Vernon, NJ, USA

problem #246

Sep 082015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Telford, PA, USA

problem #245

Aug 032015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Springfield, MA, USA

problem #244

Jun 122015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Mamaroneck, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?