Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.0

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,660 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Toyota Corolla wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments

problem #7

Aug 082015

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving on the interstate, my back tire's sidewall blew out and I was forced to the side of the road. The tire was in good condition with plenty of tread depth left. Vehicle is parked on pavement and not grass to promote moisture/dry rot. After reading on line, Michelin has recalled 100,000 tires last month. A coworker stated the same thing happened to their Michelin tire last week. Please investigate smaller Michelin tires. This is clearly a defective tire and seems to be very common. Luckily it was a back tire and I remained in control of the vehicle.

- Hampstead, MD, USA

problem #6

Nov 302014

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla equipped with Goodyear assurance fuel max tires, size P195/65R15. While driving 60 mph, the contact felt a vibration in the front passenger side tire. As a result, the tire blew out. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where the tire was not diagnosed. The tire was not replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle failure mileage was 77,000. The approximate tire failure mileage was 100.

- Renton, WA, USA

problem #5

May 292012

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 44,117 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla equipped with yokohama avid-ascend tires. The contact stated that while the husband was driving 65 mph, the steering wheel started to vibrate. The failure only occurred while driving at high speeds. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed no failure. The failure continued. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for the second time and the dealer diagnosed that the failure was associated with the tires. The tires were replaced, but the failure continued. The tire manufacturer was notified and agreed to replace the tires. The failure continued to occur at high speeds...updated 08/21/2012 updated 08/23/12

- Hazleton, PA, USA

problem #4

Nov 082010

Corolla

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have purchased a set of 4 hankook optima 727 all season tires on 12/08/09. These are rated for 100,000 miles and I have done about 15,000 miles. Until recently I considered them excellent but in November and most recently I have found them skidding on wet surfaces at relatively low speeds 25-35 mph. On a patch of ice there was skidding at around 10 mph. I did hit the curb. The road grip seems worse than other all season tires I have used. The tires have been inspected and the pressure tested. There has been no blowout, puncture or shredding, but your site allows no "other" category.

- Beachwood, OH, USA

problem #3

Jul 252009

Corolla

  • 110,500 miles
I have a 2005 Toyota Corolla and it has toyo brand tires on it. The tires have 7/32" tread depth which is 70% of the new 10/32" tire tread depth. While driving from South austin to san antonio (70 miles) the tread and belts separated from the carcass of the tire with bare metal wires showing where there once was tread. The tire still had air in it but the tread was peeled off and the tread pieces began to strike against the undercarriage of the fender destroying the inner fender liner, damaging the vehicle fender, breaking out the headlamp and fog light from behind and ripping out the hood release cable. The vehicle was traveling at the speed limit and the tires where properly inflated at the time of the defect. I called the manufacturer and they offered to take 25% off of a new set of tires. I took it to the tire dealer that they recommended and the man said the tires were 4 years old and should be replaced, these are the same age as the car and the car doesn't need to be replaced. I have photos and estimates for the repairs.

- Driftwood, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #2

Apr 102009

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns dill valve stems. While examining the vehicle, she heard air coming out of the valve stem on her tires. The tire was taken to a tire shop where the contact was informed that the valve stem was cracked and needed to be replaced. The current and failure mileages were 28000. Updated 10/29/09. The consumer purchased the tires on Oct 30, 2007. While the vehicle was sitting in the car port, she noticed the right rear tire was leaking air. The consumer took the vehicle to sear and they replaced two stems. On May 0, 2009 while driving, the vehicle began to vibrate. The consumer got out of the vehicle and discovered the left rear tire was going flat. Updated 10/29/09.

- Boron, CA, USA

problem #1

Aug 242008

Corolla

  • 59,000 miles
Tire valves on all 4 tires failed within a 2 month period. Tires were yokohama avid T4 and were fitted by prestige Toyota on December 9, 2006. Tire 1 failed on June 24th 2008 on garden state parkway, NJ. Tire was not recoverable due to us having to drive almost 1 mile on the tire to get to a safe area to pull over. It was replaced that day mavis discount tires in nanuet NY. Tire 2 failed on July 10 on the george Washington bridge in NJ. As we had to drive over the bridge to safely pull over the tire was not recoverable. It was replaced next day by mavis discount tires in nanuet NY. Technician said tire failed due to broken valve. Tire 3 failed on August 24 in ridgewood NJ after driving from philadelphia to nyc. Tire was recoverable and examined by technician at fort lee tire center on August 25th. Technician observed broken valve. Valve was replaced and tire reinflated. Technician also inspected tire 4 (the last remaining good tire). By slightly pressing on the valve it came apart and the tire deflated. Technician replaced valve immediately.

- Fort Lee, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?