Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,335 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Corolla engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #30

Mar 212011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Received a safety recall from Toyota for my 2006 Toyota Corolla S for engine control module (ECM). I scheduled an appointment to have the part replaced. I took off work and dropped my car off at the dealer, sloan Toyota in devon, pa. I received a call shortly after saying the part was not there and would be ordered, then they tried told me about a belt they could repair for me in the amount of $150. I declined that service and picked my car up. I received an email a week later saying my car was scheduled for service during the time I would be at work. I called and was told an automated email goes out a week after service has not been completed and they were still waiting on the part to come in for this safety recall. They said I would receive a call and here it is 4 months later and have not heard if the part ever came in or not. My understanding from reading the safety recall was that the part was at the dealer. I received an urgent safety recall follow up letter today, July 23, 2011 saying my car has not been taken in for service as of this time and needs to. I am not taking another day off from work just to take my car and then told the part is still not in. If Toyota issues a safety recall then the parts should already be at the dealer's before people call in to schedule service, or at least tell the people they have to order the part and they will call when it has arrived.

- King Of Prussia, PA, USA

problem #29

Jan 122011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
I filed a complaint, ODI number 10313597 to bring attention to a potentially hazardous condition with my 2006 Toyota Corolla. As stated in the original complaint, my vehicles ECU (engine computer) failed while in traffic 2 times on this vehicle. I was pleased to find out that a recall for this issue was initiated for my model year Corolla. Called Toyota for more information about the recall and they said that my VIN number vehicle was not affected by the recall. I tried to explain to the operator that my vehicle's ECU had failed twice and had been replaced by a dealership. She could not give me a reason why my vehicle was not part of the recall. Called dealer to find out if the last ECU was an updated one that would not fail and the parts guy thought it was.I am filing this complaint to see if the recall can be expanded to include my vehicle so if the current computer does fail, that I can get it replaced under the recall. When these computers fail the vehicle's engine dies and is hard to restart. This can happen at anytime, driving in traffic, pulling out into traffic and this can been very dangerous.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #28

Mar 252010

Corolla

  • 21,000 miles
2006 Toyota le - a few months back we had a stall out that we took in to Toyota dealer tricounty Toyota, limerick, pa and they said it was caused by computer module. Now we have a check engine lite on that we have to take in. With the acceleration problems asked for the brake override system which they would not put in as it was not a problem they said is this car on the recall list for the fuel pump and brake problems? I do not see it listed anywhere, and emailed to Toyota about this tonite.

- Royersford, PA, USA

problem #27

Jul 152006

Corolla

  • 53,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. While driving 70 mph, the vehicle stalled with no lights illuminating on the instrument panel. The contact was able to coast the vehicle to side of the road. The vehicle was turned back on and taken to the dealer where it stalled four times. The dealer diagnosed the vehicle and stated that the ECM needed to be replaced which was replaced under warranty. The vehicle once again stalled and the dealer could not duplicate the problem. There have been no additional repairs. The failure mileage was 53000 and the current mileage was 72000.

- Laplace, LA, USA

problem #26

Jun 112010

Corolla

  • 13,410 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. While driving out of the driveway at approximately 5 mph the vehicle completely shut off. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where they replaced the main control module and they calibrated it per the warranty. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for routine maintenance a couple weeks prior to the failure. The manufacturer was contacted and a claim was filed. The failure mileage was 13,410.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #25

Aug 112010

Corolla

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. While traveling 65 mph, the check engine warning light illuminated and the vehicle stalled within seconds. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the ECM was replaced. The VIN was not available. The current and failure mileage was 70,000.

- Flower Mound, TX, USA

problem #24

Aug 182010

Corolla

  • 52,384 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We bought a 2006 certified Corolla le on June 19, 2010 from a dealership in northern Virginia. On August 18, 2010 my daughter was driving the car and while at stop light earlier that day her car hesitated and didn't want to move. That evening around 8:30 pm as she was driving her car, the road curved slightly to the right but she was not able to turn the wheel or depress the brakes. She crossed the on coming lane and the car was totaled. She was able to walk away from this with only hundreds of small cuts from glass. The initial thought was that she had hydroplaned but after further talking to my daughter she said that she tried to turn the steering wheel to follow the road but she couldn't because it was too hard and the brakes would not depress either. I had my mechanic go to the yard where the car was stored and read the computer and this is what he found: Check engine light find P0430 evap system pressure sensor high input and in the history he found 2 codes: The same P0430 and B2799 engine immobilizer system fault. So as it seems now the car did shut off and she was not able to control the steering or brakes due to not having power. I have read that this is not the first report of this happening. Something should be done before someone gets hurt really bad or there is a fatal accident. I would like to know if being a certified car, should this have been detected before the car was sold" also, is the computer read before the car is sold to see if there has been or is a problem" if it is not read, then maybe it should be a new policy for the dealerships.

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #23

Jun 302010

(reported on)

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
2006 Toyota Corolla. Consumer states failed engine control module at 86,000 the transmission stopped shifting properly. When going uphill on a steep incline, the transmission would downshift as usual to climb the hill. However, after reaching the crest and starting downhill, the transmission would not shift again to the proper gear. The engine would race and finally a proper shift would occur. Then at 86,870 miles, the transmission would not shift from 1st to 2nd gear and it would suddenly shift with a strong jerk. The warning light illuminated on the dash which stated to seek service. The technician ran a diagnostic test and found that the engine control module was defective and needed to be replaced. Toyota informed the consumer they would not reimburse him because, the repair was not performed at a Toyota dealership.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #22

May 202010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. While driving at 40 mph, the engine stalled and turned off completely. After sitting in the idle position for 40 minutes, the vehicle finally restarted. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership but the failure could not be duplicated. The current and failure mileages were approximately 26,000. Updated 11/03/10. Updated 11/19/10. The dealer stated the cause of the engine failure was due to a bad battery. Updated 11/24/10

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #21

Apr 262010

Corolla

  • 88,045 miles
Unintended acceleration. Slowed to a near stop at a red arrow. The car started to creep into the intersection, pushed harder on the brakes and it did not stop the car. The engine rpms increased. Shifted into N, went to R for a second then back to N. rpms decreased and then the car appeared ok. Look at the floor mat and it did not appear to be out of place. First time was today. No repairs yet.

- Marlborough, MA, USA

problem #20

Feb 222010

Corolla

  • 59,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. When the contact was at a stop light, the vehicle suddenly shut off and after two attempts she was able to restart it. When she drove the vehicle to the mechanic, it shut off four times and the check engine light would appear on the instrument panel. The dealer replaced the ECM and mass air filter censor at the owners expense. The failure mileage was 59900 and the current mileage was 60000.

- Owings, MD, USA

problem #19

Mar 032010

Corolla

  • 75,000 miles
My 2006 Toyota Corolla began stalling on the highway last night and ultimately left me stranded on the side of the road. After sitting for several minutes and trying to restart, the temperature gauge would sometimes respond and other times would not move when the key was turned to start the engine. When the gauge doesn't move the car will not start. When the gauge does move the car sometimes starts but will only go a few feet before stalling again. The check engine light is on permanently. There is no sign of over heating or of an oil level problem. The car is currently at a garage awaiting analysis.

- Newtown, CT, USA

problem #18

Feb 202010

Corolla

  • 23,725 miles
I own a 2006 Toyota Corolla le. Earlier this month, I lost all but an extremely minimal amount of power while driving. I nursed the car to my home and contacted my local Toyota dealership by telephone and described the problem. Over the phone, the service person with whom I spoke said that he believed the problem was with one of the car's computers. He indicated that the problem I described was not unique, but that I should bring it in for formal diagnostic tests. When I had the car towed into the dealership, the service personnel verified that one of the car's computers had to be replaced. I spoke with two of the service personnel at the time and both gave me the impression that the problem was not unusual for that year's Corolla le. I bring this to your attention because of the current questions regarding Toyota's problems and the possibility that some of the major problems could have an electronic origin.

- Kansas City, KS, USA

problem #17

Feb 072009

Corolla

  • 37,500 miles
I stepped on gas pedal and car stopped. This happened three times in a couple of minutes. The car was towed to Toyota. They fixed it immediately and stated in was a computerfailure. I was lucky to be in a parking lot. If on a highway I would be dead as the car died each time I restarted it and stepped on the gas. Toyota dealer stated it was a computer failure. My friend has the same car and same year. Same thing happened to her. Diagnosis again computer failure.

- Millis, MA, USA

problem #16

Dec 282009

Corolla

  • 48,874 miles
Driving home when check engine light came on and engine shut off while in a busy curve of a local street. Lost power steering assist. Created a safety hazard being that I was causing a traffic hazard in a curve. Only able to start engine by holding gas to the floor, engine sounded like a lawn mower and ran barely over idle. Made it home at about 10 mph. Next day engine started but check engine light was still lit. Drove to dealer, engine was surging and car shifted very hard. Dealer found that the ECU or computer had failed and replaced it under the emissions warranty. This is the second time that this computer has failed on my vehicle. First time was at 25,939 miles on 08/15/07 and they replaced the same engine computer this time my wife was driving the car in traffic and it did the same thing. Current incident happened on 12/28/09 with 48,874 miles on vehicle. I can see that this could have been a more serious safety issue if we had been pulling out into traffic when the computer failed.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #15

Aug 012006

Corolla

  • 1 miles
Car wants to stall from idle at random times, example... you could be at a light turning left and when its clear to turn, you press on the gas to go and it wants to stall only for a small moment then engages and it's fine. I'm afraid one of these times it will completely stall and cause an accident. This car has done this from the beginning, I am the only owner as we bought the car brand new. I listed the car incident date at Aug 1,2006 as an estimate when I bought the car but has happened multiple times on and off. I waited for a recall for this and it has never happened but is very much needed.

- Canton, GA, USA

problem #14

Aug 222009

Corolla

  • 91,358 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that her check engine light came on. A diagnostic test was performed by the dealer which listed code#P2716 pressure control D malfunction, internal failure inside the ECU. The manufacturer informed the contact that he would be responsible for paying $2,100 for the repairs. There were no related recalls or warranties. The failure mileage was 91,358.

- Wareham, MA, USA

problem #13

Oct 152009

Corolla

  • 26,000 miles
After starting a 2006 Toyota Corolla with approximately 26,000 mileage and leaving parking garage, car lost power without warning. After turning key off, was able to restart on third try. With the restart, the check engine light came on. Drove home without incident and made appointment with Toyota dealer. Was able to restart car to take to dealer and in trying to complete the 10 miles or so on low speed roads, the car repeatedly lost power until the 8th or 9th time when it would not restart. Car was towed the last 2-3 miles. Dealer said a newer firmware version was required. Print-out said the ECM was replaced. This was done without charge and dealer was cooperative. The situation was dangerous and it was fortunate that the power loss was not on a high speed road.

- Towson, MD, USA

problem #12

Jan 232010

Corolla

  • 26,000 miles
Car: 2006 Toyota Corolla le when driving the car around a turn, accelerator pedal lost power, the car stalled and the engine died. This happened within a few seconds. On trying to restart, the car sputtered for a few seconds and then died again. And, after that the car engine would not start at all. There was no power in the accelerator pedal at all. Maintenance is up to date on the car and its at the car shop right now. This was a scary moment, because if I had been on the freeway, it would have definitely led to a crash. Please take appropriate steps to investigate this.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #11

Dec 172009

Corolla

  • 55,575 miles
Car stalling & rough engine idling caused by faulty engine intake manifold gasket.

- Perrysburg, OH, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?