Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
52,745 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Corolla engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #65

Dec 032013


  • 54,500 miles


Check engine light came on randomly 5 times over the past 2 months. Filed complaint with Toyota. ECM seems to be acting up, they think it's an issue with a manifold gasket. Taking vehicle to dealer this week to have them diagnose the issue.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #64

Sep 102013


  • 124,000 miles
Toyota has issued a technical service bulletin indicating that the A/C condenser is not properly protected, causing premature failure of the condenser unit. The number for this report is AC002-06. My A/C condenser has failed due to the faults in this condenser unit. I spoke with Toyota at 1-800-331-4331, and they acknowledge that the part is faulty, but refuse to cover the replacement of this faulty unit as part of a recall. I'm concerned that, if Toyota acknowledges that this part is faulty, they refuse to reall and replace this part.

- Bloomington, IN, USA

problem #63

May 192013


  • miles
On May 19, 2013 my husband and children were at a rest stop...our 2006 Toyota Corolla was parked engine on with the air condition on as well when they heard a loud explosion from the back of the car the rear windshield had shattered into a million pieces. It is still being held up by the tint. We took the car in to atkins kroll Toyota dealership and they just kept telling us there was nothing they could do because it wasn't a recall. This is a huge safety issue... my children could have had shards of glass all over their faces if it wasn't for the tint or had they been driving on the road could have caused an accident. There should definitely be a recall on this. While still at the dealership we were referred to the body shop to get it investigate it and the body man said it could have been caused by the metal clippings that hold the windshield together but still to no avail.

- Hagatna, GU, USA

problem #62

Dec 182011


  • 71,000 miles


Ac condenser stated leaking on 12/18/2011. Steam was coming out of front of the car as it was parked at a store. I noticed this when I was exiting the store. Two garages confirmed that it was the condenser. I went to do research on the condenser online and the complaints about defective condensers on the 2005 and 2006 Corolla appeared on the web. Problem was corrected on the 2007 and after Corolla. Condenser has to protection. Could have the condenser replaced today and because of no protection, the problem could happen again the next day. Very poor design...this leaves the owners of 2005 and 2006 Corollas out in the cold! why no recall"?" one of the garages that I went to way a Toyota dealership...they want $735 (estimate) to correct the problem. It was poor design! I should not have to pay for heir mistake!

- Waltham, MA, USA

problem #61

Feb 092009


  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. While driving approximately 40 mph, the contact crashed into another vehicle head on. The contact's head struck the steering wheel and he sustained injuries. The air bags did not deploy. The vehicle was able to be driven from the scene. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was repaired. The contact also experienced a failure while driving approximately 60 mph. The vehicle began to decelerate and suddenly stalled. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnostic testing where the technician advised that the engine control module would have to be replaced. The failure persisted after the repair. The engine control module was replaced three times before the failure was corrected. The approximate failure mileage was 58,000.

- Tustin, CA, USA

problem #60

Oct 012011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
Letter from senator hagan on behalf of constituent, re defective engine control module in his 2006 Toyota Corolla the consumer stated the defective engine control module caused the vehicle to not stop or just completely stall while driving. The consumer stated he did not receive a recall notice, until a week after paying for the repairs. He is seeking reimbursement.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #59

Jul 202011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles


2006 Toyota Corolla. Consumer states ECM failure the consumer stated on July 20, 2011, his vehicle suddenly stopped and almost caused an accident. The vehicle was towed to a private shop where it was determined the ECM failed. The vehicle was then towed to the dealer to have the ECM replaced. The consumer received a recall letter on August 1, 2011 regarding the exact failure. The consumer is seeking reimbursement for towing expenses, the mechanics time and cab fare. Updated 09/14/11.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #58

Jun 282011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
The A/C blows cool air not cold for about 20 minutes and stops blowing cool. You can turn the A/C off for a few minutes and then turn it back on and the air blows cool again for a few minutes then goes back to warm. I've noticed a slight smell (not bad) coming thru the vents sometimes and when I have the ac on, it seems to fluctuate between cool (never cold) and lukewarm. I also feel like I have to have it on the 2nd setting to feel air moving.

- Okc, OK, USA

problem #57

Apr 252011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
I have Toyota Corolla 2006 le in which A/C stop working as of 4/25/10. It was working last week.

- Union, NJ, USA

problem #56

Apr 242011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 74,782 miles
I have Toyota Corolla 2006 le in which A/C stop working as of 4/25/10. It was working last week.

- Union, NJ, USA

problem #55

Feb 242011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles


2006 Toyota Corolla. Consumer states failure of the central computer and brake failure caused a crash the consumer stated when her daughter applied the brake to reduce her speed to steer around another vehicle, the brakes locked up and steering the vehicle became difficult. Ultimately, her daughter collided with another vehicle. When she attempted to move the vehicle, the vehicle had stalled. Also, the air bags failed to deploy and she strongly impacted the seat belt causing injury to her shoulder. The consumer stated ECU was replaced last April at a cost of $700. A reading of the ECU the following day, showed there was no accident. The consumer believed the ECU may have caused the ABS to lock up. The vehicle was declared a loss by the insurance company.

- Earlton, NY, USA

problem #54

Feb 242011


  • 51,076 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while attempting a right turn, the vehicle stalled without warning. He was able to restart the vehicle but after a few minutes the failure recurred without warning. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer for inspection nor was it repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure and current mileage was 51,076.

- Clackamas, OR, USA

problem #53

Dec 282010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,988 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. The contact received a recall notice for recall 10V384000 (engine and engine cooling) and took the vehicle to the dealer for repairs. Approximately one month later, the contact experienced the same problem related to the recall. The vehicle was taken dealer for a second time where the intake manifold system was replaced. The manufacturer been notified who informed the contact that his vehicle was no longer under a full warranty and that he was responsible for additional charges. The current mileage was 45,173 and the failure mileage was 43,988. Updated 3/21/11 the dealer replaced the gasket. Updated 06/20/11

- Hollywood, FL, USA

problem #52

Jan 112011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 90,222 miles
While driving the car on Monday January 11, 2011 it began to violently shake and a loud noise was coming from under the hood. Drove the car to a auto repair shop who stated the engine had sludge and there was no oil in the engine. This auto repair shop performed a oil change in Sept 2010 and noted some sludge in the engine. The repair shop recommended replacing the engine as it was not repairable. I spent $5397 to have a jasper remanufactored engine installed in the Toyota. I decided to perform an internet search to see if there were other complaints regarding the Toyota engine in light of the recent Toyota recalls. I discovered an article that referenced ODI's investigation of similar problems with the 2006 Toyota Corolla engine 1zz-fe. The auto repair shop stated that oil changes should be done every 2,000 miles and not the 5,000 miles indicated in the Toyota manual. This is not the first problem I've had with the Toyota Corolla. In 2009 the car's dashboard wire shorted out behind the wheel causing the fuses to blow. I took it to the Toyota dealer who repaired the problem. I've always purchased Honda in the past and have a 2006 Honda Accord. I will never purchase a Toyota ever again.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #51

Mar 152007


  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla le. The vehicle began to stall intermittently after it was started. The contact stated that the failure occurred four times. When the failure occurred he stated that there were no prior warnings. The failure was not diagnosed by the dealer. While driving approximately 55 mph with the cruise control engaged, the vehicle shifted gears "like a rocket". he noticed that the check engine light was on and the vehicle began to shifted with extreme resistance. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for the failure. The dealer performed a diagnostic test and replaced the ECM on September 17, 2009. He referenced recall 10V384000, engine and engine cooling and was advised by the manufacturer and the dealer that his vehicle was not part of the recall. The failure mileage was 15,000 and the current mileage was 64,002.

- Merrill, WI, USA

problem #50

Jan 042011


  • 47,601 miles
Taking action of Toyota regarding safety recall is conducted very slowly. I had got the recall notice from Toyota around September 2010 in this letter notified that Toyota will send the second recall notice when the replacement part is ready. Toyota will begin mailing the second owner letter in late November 2010. I had called and stopped by at Toyota (central Florida Toyota) so many times for asking about this problem and when can I get the vehicle fixed. All the service advisors at this Toyota dealer said the same answers, "you have to wait for the second letter from Toyota and you can drive the car regularly if you don't have any problem as described". I have to wait approximately 4 months for the second letter from Toyota. On the 4th of January 2011, my car had got a problem. At the meantime, my wife drove the car and my daughter, 9 years old was on broad. The engine was stopped while the car was being driven. Fortunately, there were no cars follow us and we were not on the freeway. My car was towed to central Florida Toyota dealer for getting fixed and the engine control module (ECM) was replaced. We are not sure whether this problem will be occurred again. It is very dangerous, therefore, the safety recall remedy conducted by Toyota should be implemented more efficiently and faster than they do right now.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #49

Sep 302010


  • 69,000 miles
This is to report an accident I was involved in on Thursday September 30, 2010 in the morning around 4:30am, in baltimore, Maryland, on interstate I-95 northbound, close to exit 80, with my 2006 Toyota Corolla. My car was recalled back in late August 2010 and I took it to the dealer as soon as I received the notification. After inspecting the engine, the dealer confirmed that a computer in the engine was defective. However, they could not replace the missing part at the time but indicated that I will receive notice in the mail for when I could bring the car back. That Thursday morning it was raining and I was driving around 50 miles/hour when I noticed that the speed needle went completely to the end of the speedometer and came back. It did this twice before suddenly accelerating and sending the car off the road. My car hit a tree from the back passenger side before stopping. The airbag deployed and I incurred several bodily injuries around the neck, chest, right shoulder, right hip and back. I was taken to the er right after the accident and back again yesterday Monday October 4, 2010 because I could not move. My car is still in a towing lot but my insurance will move it to a collision center in the coming days. I believe it might be important to investigate this crash but I am not sure who to connect with directly and hope you can advise. My direct line is 410-774-5301. Thank you in advance for your assistance. Sophia

- Columbia, MD, USA

problem #48

Jan 172010


  • 50,496 miles
Prior to January 1, 2010 started hearing squealing noise coming from engine. At regular maintenance intervals brought to the attention of service departments and was told this was not unusual due to moisture build up on belts. Accepted explanation at Toyota dealerships. Noise continued to get worse so took in again on January 17, 2010 - mileage @ 50,496. Tensioner assy. Was replaced (not under warranty) @ a cost of $368.18. A couple of days later the same noise returned. Continued to bring to the attention of service department at regular maintenance interval 3/27/10-mileage @53,192 and they could not duplicate the noise I was hearing. Noise continued and got worse - took back to dealership on 8/16/10-mileage @58,411, again they could not duplicate the noise" noise continued every day - all the time. Took back to dealership on 11/26/10 - mileage @61,521. They replaced tensioner assembly @ no cost and was told my timing chain tensioner was leaking oil and the belt tensioner was leaking too? what the [xxx]" service manager suggested I call 1-800-331-4331 to file a complain, I did so on 11/29. Case #[xxx]. I was told the tensioner assembly (3 year/36,000miles) was not under warranty at the initial repair and the timing chain repair is not under warranty either (5 year/60,000 mile) which will cost me $173. My point here is that taking into consideration all the recalls for Toyota vehicles -- Toyota can't possibly hold the consumer to the warranties they have in place. It is apparent to me that the parts are defective and I don't feel I should have to pay anything for these repairs. As of today, I am still hearing the same noise when I crank my car from the tensioner assembly just replaced on 11/26. Toyota should reimburse me for all the defective parts/labor/and my personal time/mileage to get this repair done and the repair to the timing chain should be at no cost to me. There should be a recall on this too. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Eureka, NC, USA

problem #47

Mar 132008


  • 9,890 miles
In August 2010, I learned about Corolla recall. Therefore I called elk grove Toyota(916-405-8000) to make an appointment but was informed to wait until I receive a notice from Toyota motors usa. Because I did not receive a letter from Toyota, I have emailed them on October 19, 2010 requesting the recall letter. Toyota motors replied stating my Corolla engine control module was replaced on March 13, 2008. I do remember towing my car to elk grove Toyota on March 13, 2008 because the engine will not start. I was told the engine needed new parts and because of warranty there will be no cost to me. My concern is: 1. according to the recall announcement made by the media stated that this defect could have been a serious matter because the vehicle could stop while driving. I was lucky because I was in a parking lot. 2. why did Toyota take so long to announce this engine problem."if my engine problem was similar to this recall, why did they take 2 years and 5 months to announce the recall" I know Toyota has been penalized for their slow decision to recall the acceleration problem. But it seems that they continue to have problem making recall decision to ensure public safety. Toyota has become too big too fast as stated in the media. I hope they will seriously consider consumer safety rather than their profit by becoming the largest auto manufacture in the world.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #46

Sep 282010


  • 51,000 miles
2006 Toyota Corolla air conditioner stopped blowing at 51,000 miles. After reviewing several posts on auto repair sites it appears as though the air conditioner stops working on 2006 models between 48,000 and 55,000 miles some issues have been condenser and others are the blower and/or relay.

- Tampa, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?