Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
38 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
16 / 0
Average Mileage:
48,882 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Corolla engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #48

Oct 142012

Corolla

  • 49,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while stopped at a traffic light with the brakes applied, the vehicle abnormally accelerated and crashed into another vehicle. The passenger of the second vehicle sustained neck injuries as a result. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for inspection of the acceleration failure. The contact did not call the manufacturer to report the failure. The failure mileage was 49,600...updated 02-10-15

- Valley Villeage , CA, USA

problem #47

Jun 022012

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 81,680 miles
I was pulling into a parking lot, applied the brakes, and it suddenly accelerated. I hit the brakes hard and it stopped. Later, I put it in reverse, and it accelerated forward. I hit the brakes hard and it stopped. I was driving around steep hills, which I don't do a lot. I wonder if that had anything to do with it?

- Berkeley, CA, USA

problem #46

Jan 152011

Corolla

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the vehicle abnormally accelerated while sitting idle in a parking space. The contact was able to stop the acceleration when applying the brakes. The failure was experienced twice. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing but the technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000.

- North Easton, MA, USA

problem #45

Jul 152011

Corolla

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the vehicle was stopped with the brakes engaged when it surged forward until the parking brake was engaged and the ignition was shut off. The vehicle was not taken to have the failure diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileages were 70,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #44

Jun 032008

Corolla

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that a vehicle crashed into the rear of his vehicle at 50 mph while he was stopped at a traffic stop. The force from the crash caused the contact to crash into a preceding vehicle. The contact stated that the force caused the headrests to be thrown backward but the air bags did not deploy. The contact was able to drive the vehicle away from the scene. There were no injuries and no police report filed. The vehicle was repaired. In addition, the contact stated that the cruise control would not activate when needed and when he was bale to utilize the cruise control, the component would deactivate independently. The failure recurred sporadically. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the cruise control was replaced yet the failure persisted after repairs. The vehicle was not further repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 35,000. Updated 08/31/11 updated 2/9/12

- New Haven, IN, USA

problem #43

May 012009

Corolla

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving 20 to 30 mph he approached the stop sign and the vehicle suddenly accelerated. He was able to bring the vehicle to a stop by applying the emergency brake. The failure was experienced twice. The manufacturer filed report 1103170949. The vehicle will be taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 68,000 and the current mileage was 106,000.

- Oak Park , CA, USA

problem #42

Jun 062010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving our 2006 Toyota Corolla, with aprox. 70,000 miles on it.in a parking lot searching for a parking space, with foot on brake, driver turned to pull into a perpendicular to drive lane parking slot. With foot still on brake, engine suddenly went to full throttle five feet from curb, even with both feet on brake peddle, car would not stop. Engine overpowered brakes, car came to a stop after hitting concrete/brick two foot square pole. Air bags deployed, hood hit windshield along with air bags breaking windshield into many shards of glass. Engine continued to race and front wheels continued to spin until ignition was turned off. There were no personal injuries however the car was a total loss. Police were summoned, personal information was taken, no charges were issued.

- Franklinton, NC, USA

problem #41

Feb 192006

Corolla

  • 200 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the vehicle abnormally accelerated causing the contact to be involved in a crash. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where repairs were made to the body damage however, the dealer was unable to diagnose the cause of the failure. The contact experienced the failure two more times and contacted the manufacturer who advised that the throttle body would need replacing. In addition, the contact stated that the tires exhibited premature wear and the body paint began to peel prematurely. The tires were replaced and a complaint was filed with the manufacturer. The contact stated that the brakes were also defective. Later, the vehicle was inspected by the manufacturer's engineers and was advised that there were no failures found within the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 200 and the current mileage was approximately 35,000.

- Baltimore , MD, USA

problem #40

Aug 202010

Corolla

  • 79,481 miles
While pulling into parking space, experienced sudden acceleration, while foot on brake. Unable to stop car, it jumped the curb and hit a tree. The tree stopped the car, however the wheels must have kept going, as there was dirt torn up and spewed behind the tires. Air bag did not deploy. Toyota notified. Car towed to dealer. Toyota investigation pending, which according to Toyota may take up to 2 months. Toyota said this 2006 Corolla was not on 'recall' list. They also said they will investigate but do not expect to find it to be their fault, as they said they have never found themselves to be 'at fault' when the car was not on the 'recall list'.

- White Hall, MD, USA

problem #39

Feb 032006

Corolla

  • 200 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla equipped with Goodyear all season tires. The contact stated while sitting idle with the brakes depressed, the vehicle abnormally accelerated resulting in a crash. There were no injuries. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer but was not examined for the cause of failure. Repairs were made to the body damage only. The failure continued to recur intermittently and the vehicle was taken back to the dealer approximately three times where an unknown service was performed on the throttle. The failure did not recur since the throttle repair. In addition, the contact stated that the tires were wearing prematurely. The dealer confirmed that the tires exhibited premature wear. The tires were replaced and the failure did not recur. The contact also stated there was an unusual increase in braking distance and in order to stop the vehicle, he would have to apply steady, repeated pressure on the brakes before they would engage. The failure mileage was 200 and the current mileage was 34,000.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #38

Jun 172010

Corolla

  • 84,485 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving my 2006 Toyota Corolla S (sport) at around 60 mph, the engine lost power without warning and began rapidly decreasing traveling speed to 10-15 miles mph. Then, the check engine light came on. I attempted to apply gas to correct the problem, but the car continued declining in speed. After pulling over to the side of the road, I turned the car off, and then restarted the vehicle. The car started and began operation as if nothing had occurred. I had the car checked at an auto parts store, and was instructed to take it to the nearest dealership. I researched the issue online and found a preponderance of complaints with the exact experience to mine from owners of (2005-2007). Outraged owners expressed that it was common knowledge among dealers that there was engine computer issue, and a subsequent technical service bulletin was issued without notifying owners of this matter. I relayed this information to the Toyota of easley dealership. The service manager gave me a lot of pushback on the matter, said I was 4,000 miles over their free replacement period (8 yrs/80,000 miles). I responded that the mileage wasn't the cause it is commonly known to be defective. Finally, after speaking my call to the Toyota helpline and his district manager, the parts manager agreed to cut the fee 50% from $724 to $352. At this point, they charged me $85 just to look at the car so I had no other recourse but to pay to have them fix this since the car was beginning to lose engine power in this manner every 10 to 15 miles. Upon leaving Toyota of easley and returning to my apartment, I called a few other dealerships that I had patronized previously. The response that I received from another dealership was bring the car in immediately. This is a common problem with the 2006 Corollas, and even if we can't do this for you for free, Toyota should be able to refund you for this matter because its so commonplace.

- Seneca, SC, USA

problem #37

Feb 032006

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 200 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. The contact applied the brakes, the vehicle abnormally accelerated and crashed into a vehicle in front of him. The front drivers side of the vehicle was moderately damaged. The other vehicle involved in the crash was not damaged. There were no injuries. A police report was not filed. The dealer was unable to identify any failures. The vehicle was taken to the dealer four times where the contact was informed that the throttle body caused the failure to occur and needed to be repaired. The failure mileage was 200 and the current mileage is 36,000. Updated 10/21/10

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #36

May 152010

Corolla

  • 87,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. While moving in reverse, the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The contact was able to stop the vehicle and shift into park. When the contact put the vehicle back into the drive position, the vehicle accelerated again. The contact spoke with the dealer who stated that the computer malfunctioned. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The current and failure mileages were approximately 87,000.

- East Sandwich, MA, USA

problem #35

Apr 262010

Corolla

  • 88,045 miles
Unintended acceleration. Slowed to a near stop at a red arrow. The car started to creep into the intersection, pushed harder on the brakes and it did not stop the car. The engine rpms increased. Shifted into N, went to R for a second then back to N. rpms decreased and then the car appeared ok. Look at the floor mat and it did not appear to be out of place. First time was today. No repairs yet.

- Marlborough, MA, USA

problem #34

Mar 302010

Corolla

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while braking to turn into a parking lot, both the accelerator and brake pedal was depressed simultaneously. The failure would occur because of his foot, a size ten, was fairly large. When the failure occurred, there was an unusual increase in engine rpms and once the vehicle would accelerate, the brakes were unable to stop the vehicle. The contact was concerned that there was not enough space between the accelerator and brake pedals. The failure and current mileages were 40,000. Updated 05/13/10.

- Fort Atkinson, WI, USA

problem #33

Feb 252008

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 14,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla le. The contact was driving approximately 10 mph in a parking lot. Unexpectedly, the vehicle accelerated and crashed into five parked vehicles. There were no personal injuries. A police report was filed for the incident. The vehicle was towed to an auto body shop and sustained severe damages. The air bags deployed at the time of the impact. The failure mileage was 14,000. *correction: Air bags deployed but did not inflate. Driver told police that his shoe was stuck in the accelerator* smch...updated 02/11/15 updated 10/2/2015

- Maineville, OH, USA

problem #32

Jul 142006

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
2006 Toyota Corolla. The consumer stated the vehicle suddenly accelerated 50 yards through the intersection, over a curb, over a wooden planter and finally plowing into a concrete pillar.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #31

Mar 042010

Corolla

  • 80,640 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. The contact attempted to yield for a vehicle ahead of him while depressing the brake pedal from speeds of 10 mph. The vehicle abnormally accelerated and crashed into the preceding vehicle. The vehicle did this repeatedly until coming to a stop without driver interference. The manufacturer was contacted and stated that they would send an investigator to further evaluate the failure. The insurance company refused any repairs to the vehicle until they were contacted by the manufacturer with a determination of the cause of failure. The failure and current mileages were 80,640.

- Kingston , MA, USA

problem #30

Aug 012007

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 8,250 miles
Ltr fm (va) re sudden unintended acceleration fm owner of a 2006 Toyota Corolla. The consumer stated as she was waiting for traffic to clear with her foot on the brake, the engine surged severely. The consumer pressed hard on the brake and was able to place the gear into neutral and brought the vehicle under control. The consumer took the vehicle to the dealer, but they were unable to duplicate the problem. The consumer stated she has experienced two minor surge issues since the first incident. Updated 02/15/11

- Mechanicsville, VA, USA

problem #29

Jan 152010

Corolla

  • 50,000 miles
My 2006 Toyota Corolla has had several episodes of unintended acceleration while going down steep mountains such as the grapevine pass near la and highway 101 between la and santa barbara. While going downhill, my 21 year old daughter tried to step on the brakes to slow down the car, but it suddenly accelerated to 90 miles an hour and she had some very very scary moments... we have taken the car to 2 different Toyota dealerships on several occasions and called Toyota's customer service number and service supervisors but our complaints were ignored on grounds that the 2006 Corolla was"not on the recall list" or that they could not "replicate the problem". since the problem only happens on steep, downhill roads when my daughter steps on the brakes to slow down the car, it naturally cannot be replicated on the flat surfaces of sacramento or Ontario, ca. After giving Toyota such specific information, one would hope that they would try to explore it, fix it or replace the car given the high degree of danger and the high incidence of deadly crashes in recent years. We are very frustrated with their failure to fix the problem or refund us the blue book value so that we could purchase a safer car for our child. The problem reoccur every time my daughter drives this rout to come home from college on vacations. She has adapted by driving only 55 miles per hour on the grapevine pass on the slowest lane. However, now that we are cognizant of the problem and hear about so many other people with similar complaints, we are simply terrified and want to buy her a new and a safer car. We feel totally frustrated by Toyota's failure to address the problem and by their tendency to brush it off despite the many fatalities. Please continue to put governmental pressures on Toyota and insist that they fix the problem rather than hide from it and abdicate their responsibility to their clients and other innocent drivers. Please help us and please call or email us.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?