Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
38 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
16 / 0
Average Mileage:
48,882 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Corolla engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #28

Aug 242008

Corolla

  • 14,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My mother was driving a 2006 Toyota Corolla and was pulling into her parking place at her apartment (estimated moving only several mph). When she took her foot off of the accelerator to brake, the car suddenly lurched forward accelerating very fast, jumped the curb, and crashed through the building wall and into a neighbor's apartment. The car struck the tenant inside, causing extensive injuries. The police surmised her foot hit the accelerator, but she kept repeating ┐the car suddenly jumped forward on its own┐. lacking evidence to the contrary, we had no way to question the police's report; however, in my mother's recounting the experience, it didn't seem to make any sense. Then, as we have seen others recently recounting similar experiences and watching videos acceleration problems with Toyota vehicles, we realized that this seemed to be exactly what our mother experienced. Furthermore, both my sister and my niece both recently drove my mother's car on the expressway and both experienced sudden rapid acceleration while driving with the cruise control engaged. The problem they experienced was so unsettling, that they warned my mother to keep the cruise control turned off. These experiences combined with reports that problems with earlier models of Toyota vehicles than the 2009-2010 recalled models led us to believe that our mother's accident was caused by this sudden acceleration problem that has been uncovered with Toyota vehicles.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #27

Jan 102010

Corolla

  • miles
March 4, 2010 2006 Toyota Corolla le. Over the last few months, I am noticing sudden acceleration of my vehicle even when I am braking the vehicle and trying to stop it. Before all these recall issues started, I thought it was just me or the road may have some downgrades. But now after seeing that thousands of other drivers are having this issue, I now feel my observation with my vehicle speeding suddenly is not an illusion. Toyota has not included 2006 Toyota Corollas in their recall list. But I strongly feel that they should also be in the list as there may be several thousands of drivers like me, feeling this sudden acceleration and not reporting it because of the prolonged process. Please have Toyota take a look at 2006 Corollas as well in their recall list.

- Macedonia, OH, USA

problem #26

Sep 252009

Corolla

  • 24,000 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) on the morning of 09/25/2009, I was getting ready to depress the brake pad in an attempt to park in the parking lot when my 2006 Toyota Corolla suddenly and unintended accelerated into a concrete pillar infront of the parking lot of the walgreens store at the intersection of wright and warwick streets in alma, Michigan. Alma police department report number: [xxx]

- Mount Pleasant, MI, USA

problem #25

Mar 032010

Corolla

  • 47,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car: 2006 Toyota Corolla S. problem: Unexpected reduced braking power. Occurrence: 1 to 2 times every 6 months. Description: Brakes only apply about 50 to 70 % normal stopping power. Low braking power until brake pedal has been depressed several times. Near rear-end collision occurred about 3 miles from home at about 7:10 am on 3/3/10.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #24

Feb 072009

Corolla

  • 37,500 miles
I stepped on gas pedal and car stopped. This happened three times in a couple of minutes. The car was towed to Toyota. They fixed it immediately and stated in was a computerfailure. I was lucky to be in a parking lot. If on a highway I would be dead as the car died each time I restarted it and stepped on the gas. Toyota dealer stated it was a computer failure. My friend has the same car and same year. Same thing happened to her. Diagnosis again computer failure.

- Millis, MA, USA

problem #23

Oct 082005

Corolla

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated while driving 60 mph the steering swerved to the right. The failure occurred intermittently and became uncontrollable when it stayed in the center lane. Whenever he engaged the accelerator pedal, the vehicle would not move. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they could not duplicate the failure. The failure has occurred on several occasions and each time the dealer was unable to diagnose of duplicate the failure. The failure mileage was 20,000.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #22

Feb 222010

Corolla

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns 2006 Toyota Corolla. The contact was driving at 65 mph and the accelerator pedal stopped working. When he put the car in park the RPM 's starting moving frantically. The contact turned the vehicle off and then back on and the vehicle started. The vehicle stalled when the contact attempted to restart it later that day. The contact did take the vehicle to the authorized dealer. The dealer stated that his electronic marginal was not reading the accelerator pedal. The contact then called the manufacturer and they informed him that his VIN was not related to the recall and that his vehicle was no longer under warranty. The contact informed his insurance company and they stated that there was nothing that could be done. The vehicle has not been repaired; however, it is at an authorized dealer. The failure and current mileage were 90,000.

- Grandview, MO, USA

problem #21

Mar 162007

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
He contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. He stated that while driving 40 mph and applying the brakes, the vehicle accelerated on its own and crashed into another vehicle. There were minor injuries and there were also front end damages. A police report is available and the vehicle was repaired. The dealer was contacted and they stated that they had to get in contact with the corporate office. The failure mileage was 8000 and the current mileage was 10400. Updated 04/16/10. Updated 08/24/10

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #20

Feb 222010

Corolla

  • 58,000 miles
Driving in town between stop lights when car accelerated on its own. Steered right hitting bank building to avoid hitting car and going into intersection.

- Ireland, WV, USA

problem #19

Nov 252009

Corolla

  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated whenever he is driving and approaching a stop sign and he depresses the brake the vehicle accelerate forward. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and was tested twice and they cannot duplicate the failure. The contact was told to continue driving the vehicle because there was no failure with the vehicle. The Toyota manufacturer was called and they told the contact if the dealer cannot find the failure with the vehicle the vehicle had no problem. The failure mileage was 44,000.

- Pasadena , CA, USA

problem #18

Feb 092010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 44,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My wife had a major accident last week in seaville, NJ. She was driving a 2006 Toyota Corolla S. the weather was cold outside but it was not snowing. She had ample of distance and time to stop the vehicle at the traffic light. She hit on the brakes when the light turned yellow. The car still kept on going and did not slow down. She slammed the brakes real hard and the car still kept on going. Finally the car stopped when it hit 2 trucks on cross traffic. The driver side air bag deployed. My wife was rushed to the er directly from the accident scene. Police was on site. She was hurt pretty bad in her neck, lower back, shoulder foot etc. I would never buy a Toyota again. Both her and my confidence is lost in Toyota. Government should be stricter with examining cars. Her car was not identified as part of recall. I would ask the government to inform other 2006 Toyota owners to be very careful. Updated 03/08/10

- Egg Harbor Township, NJ, USA

problem #17

Aug 032009

Corolla

  • 16,364 miles
On 3, August 2009, I dropped off my Toyota Corolla, year 2006, to power Toyota, irvine, ca due to the vehicle abruptly lunges forward when accelerator pedal is barely touched. When I picked up the car, the vehicle still lunges forward when barely touching gas pedal. Thus, immediately brought the car back to service, asked to have the issue lunging forward looked at again. Power Toyota service team assigned a mechanic to ride along with me for a test drive. During the test drive, the mechanic agreed the lunging forward from a dead stop is not normal and we drove back to power Toyota facility. Once arrived at Toyota, the mechanic went to talk to his supervisor and a different mechanic came out and looked at the car. The second mechanic stated ┐this is normal for Toyota┐, dismissing the first mechanics observations. I asked for the first mechanic, the second mechanic stated ┐the mechanic (first) is not available. If I wish, I could have the electronic accelerator parts replaced, but I will need to pay for the repair/service and the expense will not be covered by Toyota. Recently I contacted power Toyota to make an appointment to have my vehicle's accelerator system inspected, power Toyota said 'since the vehicle is not included in the recall, I will need to contact Toyota's consumer department, power Toyota cannot do anything┐. thus, contacted Toyota consumer department and verbally made a complaint on said issue. ┐vehicle abruptly lunges forward when the accelerator petal is barely touched. With recent information released by Toyota on Corolla accelerator systems (other Toyota models are include) and recalls. I am formally asking Toyota motor sales service department to critically inspect my vehicle's accelerator's electronic and mechanical system and replace all parts in question, to ensure occupants safety. How and where can I have my vehicle's accelerator system inspected, at this time, Toyota has not contact me on this issue.

- Torrance, CA, USA

problem #16

Feb 032010

Corolla

  • 130,000 miles
My Toyota Corolla has accelerated unexpectedly several times, generally when the temperature is around 32 degrees Fahrenheit. The first time I noticed it, I rear-ended a pickup truck after a red light had turned green. The second time, I was backing out of a parking space and the car shot backwards 30' into a post (denting my bumper and breaking the rear drivers' side lights). The third time, nothing was broken - I was the only person on the road - but it scared the bejesus out of me. I called Toyota to complain and they said that there is no recall on my car. My belief is that there are accelerator / electronics problems with the Toyota Corolla that they are not admitting.

- Granger, IN, USA

problem #15

Jan 212009

Corolla

  • 40 miles
Could not control gas acceleration on 2006 Toyota Corolla.

- Bud, WV, USA

problem #14

Sep 162009

Corolla

  • miles
The 2006 Toyota Corolla crashed into the back of our garage as my husband was attempting to park it. He stepped on the brake and the car accelerated.

- Radnor, PA, USA

problem #13

Feb 022010

Corolla

  • 9,664 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the vehicle accelerated without the accelerator pedal being applied while driving at lower speeds. On four occasions when the vehicle accelerated a crash occurred each time. There were no injuries. The contact has taken the vehicle to the dealer twice who stated that the brakes caused the failure since they were unaware of the floor mat or the sticky pedal recall. The contact stated that the failure could potentially cause serious injuries to occur. The failure mileage was 9,664.

- Andover, MA, USA

problem #12

Feb 022010

Corolla

  • 53,010 miles
This is the second incident I've experience with an engine surge and unintended acceleration. I was driving approx. 25mph towards an intersection. The light ahead was red, so I took my foot entirely off of the accelerator and let the car coast. It gradually slowed down as it always does, nothing unusual. As I came up on the red light I applied the brakes and rolled to a soft stop. I waited at a red light with my foot resting entirely on the brake pedal. All of a sudden--the first thing I noticed was the sound--the engine roared and the car tried to race forward despite my foot on the brake. I pressed harder on the brake to no avail. The car was fighting against me wanting to race forward. There was a stopped car ahead of me and I was trying not to crash into it. In desperation I stood up on the brakes as hard as I could and the car skid. I had to steer into oncoming traffic to avoid rear ending the car in front of me. I pulled the emergency brake and the car came to a stop diagonal across two lanes of traffic. I brought the car into Toyota for a second time. Dealer ran extensive tests on electronic and engine systems and said there was nothing wrong. They stated that the computer "history" showed no record of the incident. They offered no explanation nor any remedy. I am frustrated beyond belief that Toyota is hiding behind "we can't find anything wrong" and is not trying harder to find the cause. There are no floor mats in my car, and there are no problems with the gas pedal. I would like to make very clear that my foot was entirely off of the gas pedal for at least 15 seconds prior to the failure. I am convinced that this incident was caused by a computer mis-fire or electronic malfunction that caused the engine to open full-throttle while the car was stopped and brakes engaged. Toyota does not know what is wrong, and they don't know how to fix it --this is a huge problem! peoples lives are at stake!

- Sausalito, CA, USA

problem #11

Jan 212010

Corolla

  • 114,000 miles
I was traveling westbound on I-80 at approximately 55-60 miles per hour during light rain. I took my foot off the gas pedal but the car continued to accelerate. I pushed the brake pedal a few times, but the braking system was non-responsive. I realized I would soon be approaching the car ahead of me, so I looked in my mirrors and over both shoulders to determine the locations of other vehicles. I wanted to change lanes so that I had more time to attempt other corrective actions. When I began the lane change and while my vehicle was continuing to accelerate, the vehicle spun out and I hit the center divide head-on. The accident stalled the motor. A highway patrol officer arrived on scene, but after arriving had to leave to go to a major-injury crash.

- Davis, CA, USA

problem #10

Jan 272009

Corolla

  • 52,765 miles
2006 Toyota Corolla "S" / 52760 miles I was driving on a city street and approaching a red stop light, I applied the brakes and was nearly at a complete stop (could not have been going more than 2-3mph). All of a sudden without warning, the engine surged and the car lurched forward--despite the fact that I the brakes were being pressed. I immediately pressed harder on the brakes and got no reaction, so I jammed both feet on the brake pedal as hard as I could, the wheels locked and I skid approximately 10 feet! I had to steer out of the way of rear-ending the stopped car ahead of me. All of this happened in about a three second time frame. It was literally a miracle that I did not Ram into the car ahead of me. Once the car came to a stop, everything seemed normal again, and the car drove fine as if nothing ever happened. I am the original owner and sole driver of this car and have never experienced anything like this. It was as if some outside force had control over the car and I could not stop it. This could have caused seriously injury or death. I immediately called my Toyota service dept. And the technician I spoke to told me he "never heard of such a thing" or that "maybe perhaps the floor mat was involved". I currently have no floor mats in this vehicle so that was not the cause. I am bringing the car into Toyota. However in researching this incident online, I am not the only person who has experienced this sudden lurching and loss of control. Toyota needs to address this now!

- Sausalito, CA, USA

problem #9

Oct 182009

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
I own a 2006 Toyota Corolla ce. I have had the same type of sudden acceleration problems that led to the two recalls you have issued on other Toyota models and years. Please institute a recall for my model and year Toyota. Updated IVOQ 10/20/10

- Albany, ND, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?