Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
37 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
29 / 0
Average Mileage:
15,346 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Corolla seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 17 of 20)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #68

Aug 192015

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part needed to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Simpsonville, SC, USA

problem #67

May 192015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. MA 09/25

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #66

Aug 152015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact was advised to not have anyone seated in the front passenger seat. The manufacturer stated that it would take many, many months or longer for the parts to become available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to provide the part needed to do the repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. MA 10/1

- Needham, MA, USA

problem #65

Feb 052015

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was not available. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available and stated that it may be longer than 6 to 8 months. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to provide the recall repairs. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. MA 10/16/15

- Murray, KY, USA

problem #64

Jul 282015

Corolla

  • miles
I received a safety recall notice in regards to my 2006 Toyota Corolla front passenger air bag inflator module. In response to the notice, I called the recommended Toyota dealer for St petersburg fl at 8501 us hwy 19 N, pinellas park fl 33781 on July 28, and was told that it would take two weeks to have the part in and that I would receive a call from them to schedule a repair. More than two weeks has passed and I have yet to receive a call from them. Today, August 14, I called to follow-up and they told me it will take another two weeks, a month, or maybe longer. The first time I called they did not collect my VIN number, and this time they asked for the VIN and said that they can only take action with a VIN, leading me to believe that my first call was not even captured. I do not feel safe driving my car and would like to see some action taken to have the part available and my vehicle repaired.

- St Petersburg, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #63

May 152015

Corolla

  • 66,196 miles
I took my car on May 15, 2015 to correct the air bags recall. The Toyota dealer was not able to repair the recall because the parts in the airbag lack bar code (inflator module openned techline case). After 3 months (today 8/14/2015), they have not corrected my airbag because that part is backorder. The Toyota dealer does not know when they will receive the part. Then, it is unknown when my car can be safe.

- Mcallen, TX, USA

problem #62

Jul 272015

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags) was received in July of 2015. After notifying the dealer, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Titusville, FL, USA

problem #61

Jul 202015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags); however, the part needed was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

problem #60

Jun 152015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags) however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- San Pablo, CA, USA

problem #59

Jul 312015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags) however, the part needed was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced the failure.

- Burleson, TX, USA

problem #58

Aug 062015

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags) however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Edmonds , WA, USA

problem #57

May 132015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #56

Jun 152015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that neither the dealer nor the manufacturer was able to provide an estimated date and time for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #55

Jul 202015

Corolla

  • miles
I contacted headquarters Toyota in miami lakes, Florida, approximately 3 weeks ago, regarding the front passenger airbag inflator module. I was informed that the item had to be ordered, and could take 6-8 weeks, or longer, before the part is available. Personally, I feel that, the time period given is somewhat unreasonable. Consequently, this is my formal complaint.

- Hialeah, FL, USA

problem #54

Aug 032015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
2006 Toyota Corolla. Consumer writes in regards to defective airbag replacement recall notice. The dealer informed the consumer, the part was not available.

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #53

Jul 222015

Corolla

  • 35,500 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. While attempting to park, the vehicle accelerated independently and crashed into a beam on the sidewalk. The windshield cracked, but there were no injuries. A police report was not filed. The air bags did not deploy. The vehicle was towed, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 35,500. MA 10/15/2015

- Berkeley, CA, USA

problem #52

May 132015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount for time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/25/15

- Rome , NY, USA

problem #51

Jul 292015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
I received a recall notice and attempted to seek the suggested remedy. However, I live in a bethel, Alaska, which is off the road system. Vehicles are shipped via airplane or barge. Additionally, there is no Toyota dealer where I live. The nearest one is in anchorage, Alaska. As a result, I cannot take advantage of Toyota's offer to replace the air bag free of charge. I called Toyota and was told it was my responsibility to get the vehicle to a dealership in order to replace its airbag. However, shipping my vehicle to the nearest dealership would cost in excess of $6000 (I owe approximately $6000 on the vehicle). I asked if they could ship me the part so someone could install it here in bethel. They said no. I asked whether I could disconnect the air bag and they said no. I'm not sure what my options are; however, I would like to use my vehicle. Can you offer any assistance? updated 10/9/15

- Bethel, AK, USA

problem #50

May 132015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated continuously. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Deltona, FL, USA

problem #49

Jul 202015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The contact reached out to seven different dealers in the area. They all informed him the part needed was on back order and could not produce and estimated time frame when the part would be expected to become available. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Flowery Branch , GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?