Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Beware of the NHTSA complaint data for the 2007 Corolla. It is almost certainly misleading.

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2007 Corolla is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models have an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about Toyota unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where now the NHTSA data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention. typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to to report your Toyota acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2007 Corolla, our data for the Corolla is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Corolla's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
24,876 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Corolla brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

Nov 012014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles


Letter from senator isakson on behalf of constituent re 2007 Toyota Corolla. The consumer experienced a severe and sudden lock up of the brakes. The consumer stated just a small touch of the brake pedal caused the brakes to lock up. The consumer noticed when he touched the brake pedal with the engine running and the vehicle not moving, there was a loud hissing sound coming from the behind the brake pedal. It was not noticeable when the vehicle was moving. The consumer continued to experience problems with the brakes after taking it to the dealer. The pedal would go down to the floor and he would have to pump the brake, to get it back up, while driving on the expressway, it felt as though the vehicle was trying to brake. The dealer believed a rod in the brake system was not adjusted correctly from a previous brake job. Also, the rotors were replaced.

- Lithonia, GA, USA

problem #23

Feb 212012

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 77,907 miles
Brakes failed, pedal goes to floor, attempt to press brake pedal again still results in pedal moving to floor with no braking. Hit car in front. 2nd occurrence. First occurrence in June 2011. Dealer said they could find nothing wrong. Same problem occurred on 2/21/2012. Brakes then work after incident. Failure seems intermittent. Dealer service manager says he thinks the problem could be a master cylinder. Toyota investigating. So far had investigator inspect car but have not yet authorized dealer to do any repairs.

- Romeoville, IL, USA

problem #22

Sep 142009


  • 34,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact was driving 60 mph when the contact applied the brakes and the brake pedal went completely to the floorboard. The contact lost control of the vehicle and crashed into the rear of another vehicle. The manufacturer and dealer were notified of the failure but denied any assistance with repairs to the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 34,000.

- Tamarac, FL, USA

problem #21

Mar 312009

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 1,080 miles


Ever since my vehicle was purchased, I would hear a squeaking/grinding noise coming from the front of the vehicle when I hit the brake pedal. The sound only existed when I put the vehicle to reverse. However, near the 20,000 miles point, the sound has become louder and exist even when driving forward and braking. I have reported this problem to three different Toyota dealerships and they are unable to repair it. The problem occurs when I need to stop the vehicle and push on the brake pedal. There would be a loud grinding noise and sometimes the brake pedal would also vibrate. The Toyota dealerships have changed my brake pads and performed several inspections. However, it did not solve the problem. Now they are refusing to do anything and claims that the problem is normal (at nearly 60,000 miles). I feel that there is something really wrong and unsafe about the situation. What if the brakes fail at any moment" what steps should I take" even Toyota customer experience service is telling me that the dealer diagnostic says it is a normal condition.

- Mountain House, CA, USA

problem #20

Jun 202011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
Safety issue: I have 2007 ( new from the dealer) Corolla has only 46K miles, I replaced the brakes at 31K. At the end of 2009 when the dealer confirmed that the brake pads needed to be replaced I was surprised to hear that for a two year old car with only 31K. I did replace the brake pads to protect the car. Yesterday, the car had a grinding noise, so I took the car to the dealer and he told me that the left pad was completely gone, I was surprised, because it is only has 15K since the last time he replaced the brake pads, he told me that the caliper was stuck and caused this problem because moisture entered the brake disc and froze the disk and froze the calipers and caused this. The car has only 46K and to change the brakes twice there is some design and safety issue with moisture getting into the caliper. It is Toyota's design and all Corolla 's in the usa need to be fixed, to keep moisture from getting into the caliper and causing it to stick. It is public safety. I did not fix the car with the dealer because he was so ignorant and I am concerned about the Toyota service at this dealer and I will elevate that to a higher level with a district attorney because it is public safety concern for me and my family and the public. Updated IVOQ 08/30/11

- Vernon Hills, IL, USA

problem #19

Oct 132008


  • 50,000 miles
Driving on 2 lane blacktop road, dog in my path of travel, firmly applied the brakes, car was pulled to the right, went off the road and continued to travel parallel until I struck a gravel entry driveway to a field with the front of my vehicle and then flipped end over end 3 times according to witness finally resting on its top. Upon looking at the scene, there was one (1)black skid mark. The highway was dry, there was a very slight incline in the road and it was a straight stretch. The weather was overcast. The insurance company would not investigate my complaint and insisted that I swerved. I called Toyota and they "checked the brakes" on the totalled car and the headlight operation. I had called them to figure out what had gone wrong. In their report they said there was nothing wrong with the brakes or headlights. I had reported that prior to this incident that the headlights would go on for no apparent reason at the same location (an area where my cell phone coverage would go out). The accident occurred near an airport which was another area where my cell phone coverage would go out. Since I had fractured my sternum and had the discolored imprint of the turn signal on my chest, I thought that the air bag should have deployed on first impact. I questioned the brakes and electronic/electrical system. Their report is dated 11/11/2008 and does not indicate a file or complaint number.

- Peosta, IA, USA

problem #18

Dec 192010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,500 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contacts daughter was driving 60 mph in rainy weather. When she attempted to apply the brakes, they did not respond, and consequently she crashed into another vehicle. The air bags did not deploy and the seat belts failed to restrain her. The contact sustained several lacerations to the head as well as several bruises and body swelling. A police report was available. The dealer was not informed of the failure however, the manufacturer was contacted and the contact was awaiting a response. The current and failure mileage was approximately 29,500. Updated 02/23/11 updated 10/14/11 updated 12/05/2011

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #17

May 082010


  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. While driving approximately 20 mph approaching the intersection, the contact attempted to slow down and the brakes failed to respond. The vehicle continued moving into the intersection causing a vehicle to crash into the contact's driver side door. The air bags did not deploy. The contact received injuries to the neck. The insurance company investigated the failure and confirmed that the brakes were working properly. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer stated that the vehicle was not moving fast and the crash was not severe enough for the air bag to deploy, but they also stated that the air bag was not connected to the driver's seat. The mount vernon police department report 10-24232 was filed. The failure and the current mileage were 33,000.

- Mount Vernon , NY, USA

problem #16

Jan 132008


  • 13,699 miles
Stop the car while driving. Big crash noise just like conflicting metals. 1/14/08 dealer changed the ECM at 13,699 miles. After then when stopped and idling in drive with brakes on the rpms drop and there is tapping noise from the passenger front side of car. But the service always told me your car is fine. I had to do maintenance service for transmission oil change and 30,000 miles service at 26,68miles.

- Bellevue, WA, USA

problem #15

Nov 162009

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
Consumer would like to be compensated for the loss of 2007 Toyota Corolla that was involved in an accident. Vehicle was under recall. The consumer stated she was unable to stop at a red light due to the gas pedal sticking. The consumer hit a vehicle in front of her. The consumer did not receive a recall notice until after the accident. The vehicle was totaled. Updated 08/26/13

- Lynbrook, NY, USA

problem #14

Mar 262010


  • 16 miles


Daugther who is seventeen stated that Toyota Corolla 2007 in which she was driving was turning a corner on highway 218 in and around polkton, nc was unable to steer vehicle and wheel became very loose and unable to turn and steer and when attempted to stop car brakes would not work and daughter eventually went over opposite oncoming lane and off road into a ditch thank god no oncoming car was coming could have been a lethal if car was coming daugter hurt her back in the accident please help us there is a problem with powersteering in these Toyota Corolla and it is a sign from god almighty and needs looking in to this matter I dreamed weeks before this happened that my daughter had died andwhen we took the car to Toyota they said they did not have a recall on this car but you have complaints and it must be looked into before something dangerously happens please dont ignore this plea

- Morven, NC, USA

problem #13

Mar 022010


  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that when he stepped on the brakes the vehicle rolled forward. The vehicle began to function normally after he removed his foot off of the brake pedal. The dealer nor the manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 30,000. Updated 03/26/10.

- Leesburg, FL, USA

problem #12

Mar 012010


  • 17,730 miles
Unexpected, sudden, full acceleration while at a complete stop [with the transaxle in "drive"].

- Beverly, MA, USA

problem #11

Feb 262010


  • 17,730 miles
Unexpected, sudden, full acceleration while braking/slowing and little or no response from brakes. Occurs while braking, both slowing as well as while stopped. *smch

- Beverly, MA, USA

problem #10

Dec 012007


  • miles
Steering issue - occurs frequently - feeling of less control in turns and at highway speeds. Brakes - occasional - sudden increase in brake power when braking lightly at highway speeds. Does not continue after releasing brake pedal but is very noticeable. Have had the brakes (drums, pads) repaired / replaced twice (once at a Toyota dealership) using Toyota parts and the issue persists.

- Santa Monica, CA, USA

problem #9

Nov 192009


  • 55,000 miles
On this date (Nov. 19, 2009) my mother and I were on the way to work on interstate 45, it was a clear day no weather issues at all. After about 20 min into our commute we came up on an accident in the road, where a car up ahead had spent out of control, as I applied my foot to the brake the car continued to accelerate and instead of the car coming to a stop we collided with the car in front of me. Now when I say the car kept going it did instead of hitting the SUV once we hit him twice as if my foot wasn't to the floorboard. The entire front of my car was destroyed, the SUV in front had a small dent, but thanks to the lord no one was hurt except for a large bruise on my mother and lots of hurt feelings for me. The police were called to the scene and it was when they showed up I realized that the impact was so bad that it jarred our doors shut. After the officers investigation my mother and I were let go without a ticket being that the wreck was caused by another persons fault (the spinning car up ahead). What was the most difficult for me to understand was the fact that we hit the SUV in front of me twice. It wasn't like my car wasn't in good shape, a 2007 Corolla with 55,000 miles, that had just got 2 new front tires and new brake pads all the way around. Now I am dealing with a $8000 repair bill that I haven't been able to pay yet.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #8

Jun 252009


  • 6,014 miles
The first time I experienced problems with my brakes occurred on April 28th, 2007. I was exiting a parking lot that had a downward slope and as I merged onto the main road, I stepped on my brakes but my car would not stop. I was forced to use the emergency brakes, but even then, the vehicle did not come to a complete stop for another 10 yards. On May 2nd, 2007, I took the vehicle to be checked at hollywood Toyota in los angeles, ca. The invoice notes state that the causes for the brake problems on this particular occasion were that the ¿brake pedal was spongy¿ and the ¿brakes were out of adjustment¿. for the vehicle being brand new and me being the first owner, I find it rather disturbing that these brake problems had already become an issue after only one month of ownership. On March 24th, 2009, another significant braking incident happened. As I entered the driveway of my home, I stepped on the accelerator to go up the driveway's incline and then tapped on my brakes. When I tapped on the brakes the vehicle would not stop. I pulled on the emergency brakes but it still did not stop. I was forced to steer my vehicle in the direction of my house in order for the vehicle to hopefully stop with the impact. The front driver's side of the vehicle broke through a wooden fence surrounding my front garden before the vehicle hit the corner of my house and finally came to a halt. The most serious braking failure incident occurred on June 25th, 2009 in the kaiser sunset parking structure. I put the car in reverse to pull out of my parking spot. I then shifted to drive while applying my brakes. Since the structure was at an incline the vehicle gained velocity as I drove down to the lower levels to exit. I pressed on my brakes but it did not work. I then pulled on the emergency brakes but the vehicle still would not stop. I was forced to hit the exit cross bar so that the impact would stop my vehicle from moving.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #7

Feb 142010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla which was purchased brand new. The vehicle has Goodyear integrity tires, 195/65/R15, which were the original tires. She stated that whenever she would travel on wet road conditions the vehicle would slide and the brakes would not respond. On one occasion, while exiting a highway ramp at speeds of less than 15 mph during inclement weather, the vehicle began to slide around the exit ramp. She attempted to control the vehicle, to no avail. She then proceeded to do a complete 360 degree turn and crashed into a concrete wall. There were no injuries. There was moderate damage on the front-end of the vehicle and she was able to drive the vehicle from the scene to the dealer. She was awaiting a damage estimate from the dealer. No repairs were made to date. The failure and current mileages were under 23,000. Updated 4/7/2010 updated 06/01/10

- St. Louis , MO, USA

problem #6

Dec 192008

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 24,972 miles
We have a 2007 Toyota Corolla ce whose brakes wore down too fast. We purchased brand new in 2007 with 58 miles on the car. At around 20,000 miles, when we pressed the brakes, there was play in the pedal and there was a pull to the right slightly. Toyota, repaired the brakes since our car was under warranty. Now our brakes are wearing down again and pulling to the side again. The consumer also stated the dealer recommended having the timing cover re-sealed, to stop a fluid leak. On May 8, 2015, the valve cover gasket was replaced. However, the dealer did not address the timing cover leak although they recommended re-sealing it. Updated 09/02/15.

- Port Saint Lucie, FL, USA

problem #5

Jan 082010


  • 55,367 miles
I have a 2007 Toyota Corolla with 55K miles that one of the rear wheels locked up an would not rotate. The car could not be moved as the passenger rear wheel became locked. After towing to the dealership, they removed the rear brake drums and cleaned dust and rust from inside the drums. Luckily the rear brakes did not become "stuck" on a roadway where there was traffic.

- Kingsport, TN, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?