Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Beware of the NHTSA complaint data for the 2007 Corolla. It is almost certainly misleading.

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2007 Corolla is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models have an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to safercar.gov (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about Toyota unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where now the NHTSA data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention.

CarComplaints.com typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to CarComplaints.com to report your Toyota acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2007 Corolla, our data for the Corolla is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Corolla's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
25,417 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Corolla engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #22

Jul 122010

Corolla

  • 19,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer. The vehicle was repaired by replacing the ECM yet the failure recurred. The contact stated the vehicle began to jerk violently before stalling. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer for further repairs. The VIN was not available. The current and failure mileage was 19,000.

- Collierville , TN, USA

problem #21

Feb 232010

Corolla

  • 30,000 miles
2007 Toyota Corolla sometimes won't start. Turns over fast with starter, but won't start. Then, the next try, it does. May be related to the same problem as stalling. Also the steering feels too stiff, makes it hard to keep in the lane when it is windy.

- Crosby, TX, USA

problem #20

Jul 232010

Corolla

  • 60,521 miles
My 2007 Toyota Corolla had trouble starting, then died twice. On the third attempt, it started and sounded normal. I was on a drive home with my grandsons. I called my dealer and was advised to go to a dealer near my location. They found that there was no communication with the engine computer. They replaced the computer for no charge since it was under warranty. When I further questioned them, they said this is a known defect of 2007 and 2008 Toyota Corollas and they keep the necessary part in stock. When I asked why I wasn't informed about this or why there was no recall, they said not all of these cars had a problem so Toyota determined that a recall would be too expensive. I had a 2 hour delay, far from home, with my grandsons (ages 2 and 6 months) because Toyota saw no need to prevent this from happening.

- Freeport, IL, USA

problem #19

May 272010

Corolla

  • 17,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2007 Corolla stalled at an intersection. I was waiting at a stop light and then all of a sudden the engine stalled and would not start again. I called a friend who helped me push my car to the side of the road. I then called aaa and they came and towed my car to a car service. This happened at 8:30pm today and so the car service was already closed and I will have to wait till Friday morning to understand what caused this. It was a harrowing and terrifying experience and I feared for my safety.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #18

May 112010

Corolla

  • 18,785 miles
My Corolla 2007 stopped on the middle of the road with check engine light suddenly on and battery light is also on without any warning. After two minutes I was able to turn on and drew one block to a mechanic shop and asked them to check battery and other problems. Mechanic said battery is weak, he recommended to change battery, but he said some other problems may exist. I asked him to change battery. He changed and it started ok. No check engine light. After I drew three signals, car stopped on the middle of the road again with check engine light suddenly on without any warning and battery light is also on. I towed the car to dealer. As per invoice they did following work. "P0607- ECM shortened, replaced ECM and re-checked: Operates as designed". my car is under warranty, they did not charge for parts and service. I strongly believe it is a manufacturer defect. If this problem occurred on freeway, that could be dangerous and lead to fatal crash.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #17

May 012010

Corolla

  • 21,932 miles
Car: 2007 Corolla le. Incidents: Check engine light suddenly came on without any warning while I was on a ramp to merge into the high way on May 1 2010. The car wouldn't speed up when I hit the gas pedal. Pulled over to the side of the highway and the engine died. Tried to restart the engine, the car cranked but failed to start. On the following Monday morning (5/3/2010). Tried to get the car to dealership. Was able to start the car. The check engine light was still on. Engine died after driving for 1 mile. Couldn't started it. Had the car towed to Toyota dealer. Bad engine control unit was identified and replaced. This could be a very dangerous situation should the car shut down suddenly at high speed or on a busy street.

- Waltham, MA, USA

problem #16

Apr 242010

Corolla

  • 14,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2007 Toyota Corolla died while pulling out of a parking lot, I restarted it and when I shifted it back into gear it made a hard clunk and would not get over approximately 25 miles per hour. I got the care home and the check engine light was on. After reading the owners manual it explained that it could have been the gas cap possibly. Removed and reinstalled it the car seemed to run fine, then the check engine light came back on. The next day I was driving and the same thing happened, the car have now done this several time. I did read on the internet that I'm not the only person having this problem and some people were told it was because of improper maintenance. I not that not to be true.

- Liberty Lake, WA, USA

problem #15

Sep 032008

Corolla

  • miles
I owned a Toyota Corolla 2007 and the engine stalled once. It happened when I was getting off a highway and the vehicle took a 180 degree turn on the ramp. Thank god that there was no car behind me. I thought it did something wrong to cause the engine to stall. This week I read the news that Toyota admitted that there may be a engine defect. I hope that Toyota is taking step to correct the problem.

- Paterson, NJ, USA

problem #14

Mar 122010

Corolla

  • 44,530 miles
On Friday, March 12, 2010, I was driving my 2007 Toyota Corolla home on my lunch hour and my car stalled twice on a sharp turn. I nearly lost control on the turn because the steering became (quite unexpectedly) very difficult. At first I didn't realize the car had stalled, causing the steering problem. That was the first time the car stalled. I immediately took it to my local Toyota dealership. They said it could be a computer problem, battery, alternator, etc., and they'd run diagnostics on it. After being there over four hours, all they said was that the battery was "marginal" but it took a charge. I asked about putting in a new battery and the service rep said he didn't want to do that. I wasn't charged for the diagnostic or battery charge. I believe, now that I've heard about the stall issue today in the news, that this problem is why I wasn't charged for the diagnostic test; however, I was not informed there have been problems with stalling.

- Sebring, FL, USA

problem #13

Mar 182010

Corolla

  • 42,000 miles
2007 Toyota Corolla le 41K miles bought used a month ago.. I been experiencing very similar behavioral patterns as noted in NHTSA recall campaign number: PE09054. While driving the car normally around 40mph+ and sometimes at highway speeds, very randomly engine stalls or slowly lowers to about 2000 RPM almost immediately the engine light come on.. I tried to give it more gas but engine won't pick up above 2000rpm. I pull over to the side. Shut the engine off. Then restarts the car with no issues, engine light turns off and I continue driving normally again.. this happens at least 2 times in my daily commute (30 minutes one way).. and is getting more and more frequent.

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #12

Feb 172010

Corolla

  • 13,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2-17-10 2007 Toyota Corolla stalled on 4 lane highway. I had to rent a car. Went back to the car and it started and ran fine for a few days. Then started stalling again. Once when on interstate I-26 I was in passing lane doing 65 mph and it stalled and I had to get it off the road. I was almost run over by irate motorist. If that's not a safety problem I don't know what is. Problem became progressively worse and it would stall every 10-15 miles. Took it to mechanic on 3-15-10 and he installed a new oxygen sensor and everything was fine for the next 100 miles. Now the check engine light is back on and the mechanic suspects the ECM is the problem. Now I'm afraid to drive the car. Don't know if used parts are available.

- Asheville, NC, USA

problem #11

Aug 182009

Corolla

  • 11,662 miles
Re my 2007 Corolla ce. Driving with my husband in my 2007 Corolla in 8/09 was making right turn out of residential subdivision onto heavy traffic roads during rush hour. With no warning engine literally stopped dead as I was moving into lane and perhaps 20% of way into lane. Engine had been running fine before that with absolutely no indication of problem. Fortunately--when engine stopped dead--front of car was not fully in lane into which I was turning and oncoming traffic could move around me. Turned off ignition, let set for perhaps 60 seconds; was able to re-start engine; car started and I was able to make it home, driving 1.2 miles. Garaged overnight; car started next morning but died halfway out of garage. After 5-10 minutes started again but died after driving 30 yards. Had towed to dealer; learned there'd been a "dealer's technical service bulletin in 9/08, tsb ego42-07, in re defective part, to quote service mgr "bad batch of ECM's in "some" 2007 Toyota." Dealers were supposed to have informed customers of this defective ECM when they brought Corollas in for service. Please note that I had this Corolla serviced at 2 different Toyota dealerships between 9/08 and 8/09, date of incident, and neither informed me of this tsb. My husband and I could have been killed in this incident and, since I Transport my 4 yr old nephew, he, too, had been at risk. Dealership rep shrugged... could have cared less. This defect should never have been a mere tsb... there should have been a recall and Corolla owners should have been notified. Online research at the time indicated that there had been Corollas which had died at highway speed, so we were probably fortunate. This could have been catastrophic for us.

- Ballwin, MO, USA

problem #10

May 212009

Corolla

  • 37,670 miles
In May 21, 2009, when my husband was driving in a 45 mph road, the car speed suddenly couldn't maintain and started to decrease although the accelerator pedal was depressed. Then found the car engine stalled and couldn't restart. Fortunately, there was no other car hit his car when this happened. But engine suddenly stall while driving, especially in a highway could be life threatening problem, which could be even worse than sudden acceleration. I have read qcsreport00203 report regarding electronic throttle control systems in Toyota consumer complaints to NHTSA. In this report it states: It is frequently possible to determine whether an electronic throttle control system is used in an engine in a specific vehicle once the make, the model, the model year, and the corresponding Toyota engine family are identified. In 2007 Toyota Corolla owners' manual, page107, it clearly states: If engine speed does not increase when the accelerator pedal is depressed, there may be a problem somewhere in the electronic throttle control system. From this statement, it tells that Toyota does aware the engine sudden stall problem and the defectiveness of the electronic throttle control system. Toyota should take responsibility on 2007 Corolla as well.

- Centereach, NY, USA

problem #9

Feb 102008

Corolla

  • miles
I own a 2007 Toyota Corolla I bought new. With 17,000+ miles on it the engine control module failed. This event occurred while driving on a heavily traveled road at 45 mph. The car's speed immediately dropped to 15 mph. I avoided accident and injury, but was horrified at the thought I could have been on the freeway when this happened. The next day I had it towed to the dealer. I found it odd that the service writer didn't even blink about this, and that a new engine control module was readily available. The experience made me think this must be a common occurrence.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #8

Jan 292010

Corolla

  • 22,000 miles
I bought a 2007 Toyota Corolla about 3 years ago. I had a very bad experience on Jan. 29, 2010. (1) firstly, when I got off work, I could not start the engine. I tried 3 times, and engine was finally started and both the battery and engine check lights were on. I was very worried and decided to go to a dealership the next day. (2) the next morning, I drove to a Toyota dealership nearby. When I stopped at a red traffic light on my way to the dealership, my engine was shut off automatically!!! I was so nervous, quickly turned on my emergency light and tried to start the engine again. The engine was started and finally I arrived at Toyota dealership. The dealer checked my car and found the engine control module went bad. They replaced it with a new ECM. The problem went away for now. My car is only about 22,000 miles. I am very concerned about the quality of Toyota's electronics.

- Fremont, CA, USA

problem #7

Sep 122006

Corolla

  • 100 miles
I saw article about 2006 Toyota Corolla stalling problems. We have a 2007 that has experienced a minor version of this problem since new. At low speed <30mph engine RPM will randomly drop for a few seconds then come back up. Does not appear to occur at idle. Problem is worse when cold. Did not think it serious until I saw the article. The only thing we have done is had our mechanic check for engine codes, no codes reported. We also have a 2008 Corolla that does experience this problem.

- Milford, NH, USA

problem #6

Jul 292009

Corolla

  • 15,000 miles
Re: 2007 Toyota Corolla ce, purchased in July 2007, approx. 15,000 miles. On 7/29/09, car stalled to a complete stop while driving. Luckily, I was not driving on the highway (I-95) as I normally do. Stalled on my block after I made turn into street. After a minute, was able to restart with minimal engine power to travel another 100 feet. Had to repeat this until I reached my driveway. Car was towed to dealership. They told me that this was a defect (wire for the computer dislodged or fell off and caused the problem). There was no indication that this was going to happen. No time to pull off to side of the road. Only "check engine" light appeared when trying to restart engine. This is a very dangerous situation and without some indication that this will happen, there could have been a serious accident resulting in injury or worse. Dealer replaced the part that day.

- Hollywood, FL, USA

problem #5

Jul 142009

Corolla

  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. While driving approximately 45 mph, the engine idled highly. Suddenly, the engine began to rev excessively followed by a low power response. There were no warning indicators illuminated on the instrument panel. The driver pulled over into a parking lot and turned off the engine. She restarted the vehicle after ten minutes and it resumed normal operation. The failure occurred on five separate occasions and the vehicle was taken to the dealer four different times. The technician was unable to duplicate the failures. The failure still persists. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 25,000 and current mileage was 27,000.

- Bellmawr, NJ, USA

problem #4

May 142007

Corolla

  • 30,000 miles
I would like to make a formal complaint about my 2007 Toyota Corolla. I purchased my car in January 2007. I'm having problems with my vehicle. The is a vibration I feel coming from the steering wheel. My car stopped on the li expressway due to 2 sensors that no longer worked. There is a shaking in my tires & every time I turn my car on there is a loud noise coming from the engine.

- Westbury, NY, USA

problem #3

Jul 142007

Corolla

  • 4,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the computer in the vehicle failed and had to be replaced. The computer is related to the gears and power windows. Whenever the gears are being shifted, the vehicle would shake severely. The contact had to get new brakes and rotors installed four times since the vehicle was purchased. In addition, the vehicle received numerous alignments because the steering wheel would shake when the brakes were applied. Two sensors also caused the engine to stop running. The vehicle has been taken to the dealer for repair numerous times, but the failures still persist. All of the failures began five months after the vehicle was purchased. The failure mileage was 4,000 and current mileage was 60,000.

- Manchester, CT, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?