Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Beware of the NHTSA complaint data for the 2007 Corolla. It is almost certainly misleading.

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2007 Corolla is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models have an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to safercar.gov (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about Toyota unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where now the NHTSA data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention.

CarComplaints.com typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to CarComplaints.com to report your Toyota acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2007 Corolla, our data for the Corolla is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Corolla's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
31 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
27 / 1
Average Mileage:
16,313 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Corolla seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 18 of 19)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #37

Jul 202015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a notification from Toyota yesterday regarding the recall for passenger side airbags. The recall letter says that the inflator can rupture "striking the vehicle occupants potentially resulting in serious injury or death." It says the repairs should be performed immediately and that the front passenger seat should not be occupied. After contacting my Toyota dealership, I learned that I cannot be seen for almost 3 months to get the necessary repairs completed. I contacted the customer experience center to file a complaint and they suggested I contact the local dealership for a rental. The dealership reports they are not giving rentals (even on an as needed basis) due to the sheer numbers of recalls they are handling...I am severly concerned that such a strongly worded recall went out reporting that the "occupants" (not one) could be injured related to this defect and yet there is a 3 month delay in repairing my vehicle. It appears that this issue is related to humidity and I live on the gulf coast where it is always humid and moist. It is distressing to me that I am now expected make arrangements with other people or another vehicle if I need to Transport five people in my (as I did this weekend with my nieces and nephews). It is annoying that any other passenger would be expected to ride in the back and hope that they are not one of the occupants affected by metal fragments that could pass through the airbag.....while I am certain this is very difficult for toyotal to manage, it is disappointing to me that it is acceptable for me to be allowed to drive this car for an additional 3 months knowing the risk. I am hoping that someone can look into how Toyota is handling the recall and if they are seriously taking into consideration the safety of those who were unlucky enough to choose Toyota years ago (a mistake I will not make in the future)....updated 10/20/15 updated 2/24/2016

- Pace, FL, USA

problem #36

May 132015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Graniteville , NC, USA

problem #35

Jul 212015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #34

May 132015

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Conroe, TX, USA

problem #33

Dec 192013

Corolla

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owned a 2007 Toyota Corolla. While driving 40 mph, another vehicle rear ended the contact's vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained knee and back injuries that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 58,000. The VIN was not available.

- Fort Myers , FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #32

Jun 012015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Toyota Corolla. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle airbags issues. The consumer was informed his vehicle was not included in the air bag recall.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #31

Jun 022015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,379 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a brand new 2007 Toyota Corolla le in June 2007. On June 2, 2015, airbag malfunction light came on on display. Following "owner's manual" that came with vehicle, I contacted a local Toyota dealer, who scheduled me for a June 11, 2015 appointment. Upon taking my car to Toyota dealer for investigation on what could be wrong, Toyota dealer found left front SRS sensor to have failed and center SRS sensor is poor/intermittent signal. I asked Toyota dealer what caused these sensors to be defective, Toyota dealer said they did not know. I then asked implication(s) of defective sensors, Toyota dealer said in the event of impact airbags will not deploy. I contacted Toyota using online form (www.Toyota.com/support/#!/app/ask) on June 14, 2015. Toyota called me on June 15, 2015 but did not offer an explanation that sounded reasonable. I was told by Toyota representative (rep) that it could be from wear. I asked Toyota how sensors can get damaged if nothing has ever been in area of sensors location to cause any wear or damage. I then told her I have only had routine maintenance done such as oil change, air filter change, tire replacement etc done and that I have never been in a crash for as long as I have owned the vehicle. I then asked her how long sensors can be expected to last without damage and/or wear and she did not know. She said manager of Toyota dealer who diagnosed the problem will contact me on June 17, 2015. Something tells me Toyota is not going to accept this is Toyota's fault hence I am filing this complaint. Thank you....updated 07/30/15 updated 11/9/2015

- Liverpool, NY, USA

problem #30

Feb 252015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated continuously. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact was made aware of NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags); however, the VIN was not included. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 130,000. Updated 09/10/15 updated 09/15/15

- Chino Valley, AZ, USA

problem #29

Sep 162014

Corolla

  • 109,684 miles
I had my car scanned to find out why my air bag light was and the fault code was B1811 open for driver squidb circuit. They checked and found that my clock spring was bad. The part number was1 84306-02110 cable sub. This is a dealer item from Toyota. I got the part from kings Toyota in cinnainnti Ohio. I work for another dealer and had them put in on for me, . I did receive a discount on both the labor and the part. I have called Toyota to see if my car was on the recall list and it is not. This was my air bag and I got told by our service tech that my air bag would not go off if I had a front end was in a wreck. This is a safety issue. I don't see how my car is not on the recall list when I did have air bags issues. I do have a copy of the service work order.

- Hamilton, OH, USA

problem #28

Jul 092014

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V655000 (air bags); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Baldwin, NY, USA

problem #27

Jan 132015

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V655000 (air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was not provided. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Roseville, CA, USA

problem #26

Apr 162015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 114,000 miles
The contact owned a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving at 5 mph and approaching a traffic light, another vehicle crashed into the contact's vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The vehicle was destroyed and towed. The contact sustained cuts and bruises on the arm, chest, and face which required medical attention. A police report was filed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 114,000...updated 05/07/15 updated 5/19/15 updated 7/1/2015

- Irvine, CA, USA

problem #25

Aug 212014

Corolla

  • 61,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated continuously. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the air bag sensors needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 61,000.

- Romana, CA, USA

problem #24

Oct 212014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
I purchased this vehicle, on September 22, 2014. On October 21, the vehicle airbag light came on, I let the finance company diamond finance know that this light was on, I believe the recall should be extended to all Corollas because they really are not safe and I cant even let my young children sit in the front of this car because I have no idea when this airbag will inflate. The car is also making a horrible loud noise, and the re is something definitely wrong with the coolant system on this car.

- Stonemountain, GA, USA

problem #23

Sep 092014

Corolla

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving 40-50 mph, the vehicle became involved in a crash with multiple vehicles and a guard rail. The contact stated that the air bags failed to deploy. The contact was unsure if there were any injuries. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The vehicle was towed to a repair shop. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Buies Creek, NC, USA

problem #22

Jul 082014

Corolla

  • miles
Experiencing air bag light on. Was told at dealer I needed the air bag spiral cable replaced inside steering column. There is currently a recall the the spiral cable on certain Toyota models. I question if the 2007 Toyota Corolla should be included in the recall as well.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #21

Jun 282014

Corolla

  • 254,000 miles
The contact owned a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle was involved in a collision and the air bags failed to deploy. The vehicle was destroyed. A police report was filed and an injury was reported. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 254,000.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #20

Nov 262013

Corolla

  • 91,000 miles
On November 26, 2013 at about 5 pm I drove out of a parking lot in the left lane taking a left turn and continued driving with the flow of traffic in the left lane, which was about 30 miles per hour; it was dark and starting to drizzle;I was wearing my seatbelt;I was suddenly hit from behind by a car and we crashed into the car in front of me;immediately upon rear impact I was thrown into the steering wheel at an angle hitting my sternum on the right side of the steering wheel;my injuries were a severely bruised sternum, and continuing neck and back injuries; my car was totaled;I contacted Toyota on November 30, 2013 to complain as my air bag did not deploy and my seatbelt did not lock;on January 16, 2014 I received a letter from Toyota stating that they inspected the car on December 23, 2013; I was told that I would receive a copy of the inspection, which I did not;the response from Toyota was that for the non-deployment of the air bag it was determined that the rear of the other vehicle overrode the front bumper of my vehicle;for the seatbelt failing to lock it was determined that there were no abnormalities observed with the seatbelt and latched;I am requesting an investigation of my complaint;although Toyota is stating that the seatbelt latched and released as designed my concern is not that the seatbelt latched and released but that the seatbelt failed to lock and I know that the seatbelt did not lock because if it had worked properly I would not have slammed into the steering wheel and the air bag did not deploy;Toyota stated that the inspection determined that the incident was not a result of a manufacturing or design defect;my complaint is not that the incident was caused by a defect with the car as that was caused by the other driver but that if the air bag and seatbelt functioned as expected, my injuries may have been avoided or not as severe.

- Bristol, CT, USA

problem #19

Jan 312014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Air bag warning light came on and stays on. Unsure of exact date.

- Joshua, TX, USA

problem #18

Feb 182014

Corolla

  • 136,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving an unknown speed, he crashed into another vehicle had-on. The air bags failed to deploy and the vehicle was towed to the contact's insurance company for further inspection. The contact was not injured and a police report was not filed. The failure and current mileage was 136,000. Updated 03/18/14

- Glade Spring , VA, USA

Read the next 17 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?