Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Beware of the NHTSA complaint data for the 2007 Corolla. It is almost certainly misleading.

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2007 Corolla is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models have an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to safercar.gov (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about Toyota unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where now the NHTSA data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention.

CarComplaints.com typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to CarComplaints.com to report your Toyota acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2007 Corolla, our data for the Corolla is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Corolla's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
31 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
27 / 1
Average Mileage:
16,313 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Corolla seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 6 of 19)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #277

Sep 222015

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Mill Hall, PA, USA

problem #276

Aug 032015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the recall repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Annapolis, MD, USA

problem #275

Feb 172014

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #274

Feb 162016

Corolla

  • 131,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall: I received the safety recall notice (interim notice) re the front passenger airbag inflator module from Toyota months ago, though I noticed that there is no date on it. It states: "... we will send you another notification once sufficient parts have been produced and the remedy can be performed." I've heard nothing since. News of another automobile manufacturer's recall prompted me to wonder why I haven't heard from Toyota again after all this time. I called a local Toyota dealership and they advised that they have the parts needed and scheduled a service appointment for tomorrow, for which I am grateful. My complaint is the fact that I have heard nothing from Toyota after the interim notice even though those "sufficient parts have been produced and the remedy can be performed." I wonder how many other Toyota owners are still out there waiting for "another notification, " which may or may not be sent to them. I hope Toyota is being held accountable regarding getting the notifications to Toyota owners in a timely manner. I don't think the company did that in my case.

- Federal Way, WA, USA

problem #273

Oct 012014

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall this recall has been in effect since October 2014 and my car has still not been fixed. I received a letter about mid way through last year notifying me of the recall. I have yet to receive any further notification about my car and how it is going to be fixed. I just spoke with a representative with the Toyota customer experience center and apparently my state has had the parts for a while and has failed to notify me. Not only is this endangering my life and others, I am also currently pregnant and so it is effecting my unborn child. For something that is this dangerous, things should be going a lot quicker especially if it is recommended that you do not drive your car. There is no way for me not to be able to drive my car since October 2014! this is absolutely ridiculous!

- Greenwood, IN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #272

Jun 162015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags). However, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- New Hyde Park, NY, USA

problem #271

Feb 022015

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part for the recall repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Whitehall, PA, USA

problem #270

Aug 102015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 04/13/16 updated 04/28/16.

- Everett, WA, USA

problem #269

Aug 102015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags), however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Vienna, VA, USA

problem #268

Jun 012015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata airbag recall letter received last year. Called Toyota over the past months, dealership which sold us the car (caldwell Toyota no longer a Toyota dealership and couldn't help us) and a recommended dealership nearby. No one could give us answers or help. We were told we could get a loaner. Dealership wanted us to go with them to rent a car and someone would reimburse us (paul miller). I cannot efficiently carpool with teen daughter's teammates and friends. Toyota assured me last year that parts were going to southern "warm" states first and then would get to northeast. Keep calling service center or wait for letter announcing parts are in. In Sept. I was told more cars were involved than originally thought. Remedy could take longer. They told me to keep calling Toyota as well for updates. In October I was assured that the driver's side was not impacted. If the "airbag" light is consistently on I can bring car to have airbag deactivated. Apparently no airbag is safer than a faulty one that can impale my with shrapnel children!!!"?? shame on all involved in this. I am a mother of a teen who soon will be learning to drive - is it safe to have the adult driver in the backseat with the restricted driver in the front alone" my mother is 92 and my mother-in-law is 87 I am their main source of transporatation. I drive disabled and elderly parishioners from my church to church events, shopping and errands. I bought a car with 2 front seats and three in the back because I need them all! this recall has been frustrating and an energy drainer, this recall affects my life every day. Being an optimist and my "things could be worse" attitude have probably not been helpful in getting answers and solutions...I am losing my patience. Any help you can give would be much appreciated. Elizabeth petroccia

- Maplewood, NJ, USA

problem #267

May 012015

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There is a safety recall on the front passenger air bag inflators. The recall was back in May 2015. I still to this day January 31 St 2016 have not had this taken care of. Called the dealer back in 2015 about this matter, and was told when they have the part they will contact me. This has not been done.

- Shippensburg, PA, USA

problem #266

Aug 082015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacture exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacture was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #265

Aug 032015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part for the recall was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Hardinsburg, KY, USA

problem #264

Aug 172015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Gresham, OR, USA

problem #263

Jun 162015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 0 miles
Takata recall - I received a interim notice recall notice in October 2015, the recall origination date is June 16,2015 - it is now January 26, 2016 and I still have not received another letter to get this car in for the air bag issue. I find this totally unacceptable and to ask me not to allow passengers in my car is absurd! please help speed this up immediately. Thank you

- Florissant, MO, USA

problem #262

Jan 252016

Corolla

  • 24,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 24,000.

- Washington, PA, USA

problem #261

Sep 152015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Lowell, MA, USA

problem #260

Jan 102016

Corolla

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owned a 2007 Toyota Corolla. While driving approximately 40 mph, the contact's vehicle crashed into another vehicle. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed. The driver received chest injuries, but did not require medical attention. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to an independent mechanic. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000.

- Morrisville, NC, USA

problem #259

Jun 162015

Corolla

  • miles
NHTSA recall # 15V285 the dealership I bought my car from tells me they have no time or parts to fix this recall on my car. The dealership I bought the car from is ira Toyota of danvers, 99B andover street, danvers, MA 01923 can you please help

- Beverly, MA, USA

problem #258

Sep 152015

Corolla

  • 80,000 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the air bag light remained illuminated. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags). The part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Guayama, PR, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?