Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Beware of the NHTSA complaint data for the 2007 Corolla. It is almost certainly misleading.

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2007 Corolla is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models have an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about Toyota unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where now the NHTSA data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention. typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to to report your Toyota acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2007 Corolla, our data for the Corolla is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Corolla's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
13 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
30,908 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Corolla steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #41

Aug 122016


  • 75,000 miles


Car pulled suddenly in opposite direction on 4 separate occasions when making turns at reasonable speeds. On another occasion, car pulled forcefully to the right when breaking. Accidents were avoided in all instances, even though the car spun out of control momentarily. Brought the car into the dealer three times and they could not diagnose problem. As the problem was intermittent and unpredictable, they were unable to pick it up on test drives. Replaced front tires, had brakes checked, but happened again. Just had the rear tires replaced and alignment done, but really feel that the problem is in the steering. How can I be sure the car is safe?

- Venice, FL, USA

problem #40

Jan 012007


  • 50 miles
1-takata recall: NHTSA recall number: 15V285, manufacturer recall number: Dsf. Toyota dealerships have not fixed the problem, though I called them long time ago about it. 2-steering wheel vibrates too much causing hand numbness. 3-brakes are not ABS. Even in iran, 2007 manufactured cars are required to have ABS brake system.

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #39

May 012016


  • 120,000 miles
1-takata recall: Toyota dealerships have not provided the recall service yet. 2-the steering wheel vibrates too much that causes hand numbness.

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #38

Jun 202014


  • 62,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving approximately 57 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated and the power steering malfunctioned causing the driver to lose control of the vehicle and crash into a hill. There were no injuries. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the defect. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 62,000.

- Tustin, CA, USA

problem #37

Mar 072012


  • 49,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, there was a loud knocking sound whenever the steering was turn. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who diagnose that the intermediate steering column was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was no longer under warranty. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 49,000 and the current mileage was 49,500.

- Jamaica , NY, USA

problem #36

May 042012


  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, the vehicle and steering wheel started to jerk violently. As result, the contact lost control and the vehicle rolled over. A police report was filed and the driver sustained bruising and a contusion. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who advised that they would contact him at a later date. The vehicle was destroyed. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was 65,000.

- Princeton, NJ, USA

problem #35

Jul 032011


  • 76,000 miles


The contact owned a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving 45 mph, the steering wheel suddenly turned left and the vehicle crashed into a retaining wall. The vehicle was destroyed because the frame was bent. The air bags did not deploy, but no one was injured. The vehicle was towed away by the insurance company. The police were notified and a report was available. The manufacturer was also notified and sent a representative to inspect the vehicle, but they were unable to locate the failure. The failure mileage was 76,000.

- Greenbrook, NJ, USA

problem #34

Jul 142011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 99,115 miles
Tuesday evening I was in a near, iss car accident whereas a car ran the stop sign, I hit on my brakes and lost all control of my steering, but luckily car stopped before hitting other car, but I couldn't steer away from the vehicle, today 07/14/11 Thursday my husband was in a car accident where a truck pulled out in front of him, he hit his brakes and again same thing no steering so he and they truck collided. 2 separate incidents same thing happened, now I have a 2007 Toyota Corolla S that is equipped with anti-lock brakes which is suppose to prevent wheels from locking up so I don't lose control of steering and both times it failed.

- Hollywood, FL, USA

problem #33

Nov 142010


  • 52,617 miles
Check engine light came on 11/14/10 and car started slam shifting, and died on freeway. The car started again, and I took it to xx in moreno valley next day. Dealer said faulty ECU (dtc P2716) and the part must be ordered. I asked if they could provide a loaner car because I don't feel safe driving the car with a faulty ECM. I was told part will most likely be in Tuesday or Wednesday. The dealer said a loaner car would not be provided unless the car totally stop operating. I live in san bernardino and work in moreno valley, approx 26 miles one way. I have aaa towing basic for 6 miles. I would usually purchase aaa southern ca automobile club towing for up to 100 miles, but because I bought a new reliable Toyota, I just got the basic towing in case the battery died. I don't have towing to get the car to moreno valley in case it completely stops running. I'm worried about safety and logistics! I don't trust this Toyota Corolla. Dealer will not keep the car and give me a loaner until the part arrives. Will Toyota be responsible if this car stalls again in traffic and causes an accident" will Toyota be responsible if this car needs to be towed to the dealer? will Toyota be responsible if the transmission becomes damaged from the hard shifting? will Toyota be responsible if the car catches fire from faulty electrical wiring" this Corolla has had brake and steering problems. Brake fluid always low, although brakes verified as repaired and okay by technician. The wheel bearing on the front driver's side wheel is going bad and the tire will not hold air. The tire has been examined and is good. I smell electrical burning once in awhile. The belt tensioner pulley bearing bad. Occasionally, smell antifreeze, which indicates a leaking head gasket. Wind noise, windows creak when moved up/down. The locks squeak. The interior rattles. The paint job is runny, weld points are sloppy. Car stalling, slam shifting, then cutting off. The car has a little over 50,000 miles.

- San Bernardino, CA, USA

problem #32

Aug 132010


  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact was traveling 65 mph when the vehicle and the steering wheel began to shake abnormally. The failure caused the contact to crash into a truck. The contact was unable to maintain control and the vehicle crashed into a road sign and then into the shoulder of the road. The contact continuously depressed the brakes with no response and was able to stop the vehicle by applying the emergency brakes. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to a salvage lot. A police report was available. The contact sustained unknown injuries as a result of the crash. The vehicle was being inspected by the contact's insurance company however, the cause of the failure was not determined. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was 32,000.

- Saratoga, CA, USA

problem #31

Feb 232010


  • 30,000 miles


2007 Toyota Corolla sometimes won't start. Turns over fast with starter, but won't start. Then, the next try, it does. May be related to the same problem as stalling. Also the steering feels too stiff, makes it hard to keep in the lane when it is windy.

- Crosby, TX, USA

problem #30

Jul 142010


  • 60,000 miles
My steering wheel has been locking up in my 2007 Toyota Corolla le. It will lock and not allow me to turn the key in the ignition, and I have to lift the steering wheel, and hope it will then allow me to turn the key. Thus far, it has not locked while driving, but I am afraid it could. It sometimes happens once a week, or as often as five times a day! this began July 14, 2010 and continues today August 24, 2010. The Toyota dealership will be replacing the locking cylinder as soon as the ordered parts come in because they believe that is the problem.

- Mankato, MN, USA

problem #29

Jun 122010


  • miles
I own a 2007 Toyota Corolla. If it is windy on the freeway when I drive, I get blown all over the road. I have literally been blown of onto the shoulder of the road or into the other lane. Passing semi-trucks is also extremely dangerous in windy conditions. I look for similar movement in other small cars while I am driving and I do not see them being blown all over the road so I think that this must be a problem special to the Corolla. I is extremely scary when I'm traveling the posted speed limit on the highway and my car gets completely blown off of the road. The steering is so loose that I feel like I have very little control when being blown around by wind, and in reality, I probably do have very little control. Please look into this. I would be willing to place a bet that there have been fatal crashes involving Corollas under windy conditions.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #28

May 262010


  • 37,000 miles
2007 Toyota Corolla steering problem - on May 26, 2010 while driving on the freeway at approx. 50mph my Corolla began to veer to the left, my daughter was unable to straighten the wheel and it felt "locked" in place. The veering resulted in the car spinning out on the freeway and crashing into another car. Two witnesses reported that for no apparent reason the car started to spin out of control on the dry freeway. The car was towed to a Toyota dealer for inspection. The dealer was unable to find anything wrong with the car.

- Reynoldsburg, OH, USA

problem #27

Mar 262010


  • 16 miles
Daugther who is seventeen stated that Toyota Corolla 2007 in which she was driving was turning a corner on highway 218 in and around polkton, nc was unable to steer vehicle and wheel became very loose and unable to turn and steer and when attempted to stop car brakes would not work and daughter eventually went over opposite oncoming lane and off road into a ditch thank god no oncoming car was coming could have been a lethal if car was coming daugter hurt her back in the accident please help us there is a problem with powersteering in these Toyota Corolla and it is a sign from god almighty and needs looking in to this matter I dreamed weeks before this happened that my daughter had died andwhen we took the car to Toyota they said they did not have a recall on this car but you have complaints and it must be looked into before something dangerously happens please dont ignore this plea

- Morven, NC, USA

problem #26

Feb 232007


  • 62 miles
I currently lease a 2007 Toyota Corolla which commenced on February 23, 2007. I have experienced an issue with the steering since day one. It is as follows: Depending on the level of road unevenness, the car drifts left or right and requires nearly constant correction and then, over-correction just to maintain a straightforward course. The car does not weave erratically all over the road, but it is just simply a chore to drive, especially in windy conditions or in the draft of a passing Transport truck. I was very concerned with the steering performance as being a safety issue at the outset. I approached my Toyota dealer, and then Toyota Canada with my problem but it was quite simply shrugged off. I have since "learned" how to drive this car in the past three years because I have been unable to rid myself of the lease. I have suffered no accidents or injuries because of this car. My purpose in reporting this complaint at this time is to inform you that the Toyota Corolla steering issues date back at least as early as the 2007 model year. Indeed, at the time in 2007, after doing some research on the internet, I found I was only one of many who experienced this same problem. My hope is that my experience may be of some use to you.

- Port Colborne , 00, USA

problem #25

Feb 182010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
Consumer has stated that his 2007 Toyota Corolla pulls to the right while driving.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #24

Mar 042010

(reported on)

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Toyota Corolla poor steering issue the consumer stated the vehicle swerved back and forth at interstate speeds. They dealer told the consumer the vehicle needed a rear end alignment. The second time the consumer went back to the dealer, he complained of wobbly steering, so the dealer balanced the tires. The third time, was the same as the second time with the steering. The fifth time, the consumer went to the dealer he stated the problem was worse and seemed to get more worse after an interstate trip of 50 mph or when the tires heated up. The consumer also stated when driving the vehicle at lows speed, it seemed to wobble. When the consumer went back to the dealer three of the four tires were out of balance. The dealer also stated the rims could be the cause of the poor steering. The dealer agreed to replace one of the tires, however the problem was still not resolved. The consumer went to get a second opinion and they agreed there was a steering issue. The consumer went back to the original dealer and they agreed to remove the tires and rims from the vehicle. The new tires and rims helped, but the vehicle still swayed, but not as bad as before. The consumer stated he read a newspaper article where a person who worked in a California plant that made Toyota Corolla's was in trouble for making accusations about others passing off faulty front ends. The consumer no longer owns the vehicle. Updated 04/14/10.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #23

Oct 052009


  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that she noticed power steering failure on October 4, 2009. While driving approximately 50 mph with passengers in the vehicle, the steering wheel started to vibrate. Although, it was raining when the failure occurred, the weather conditions were not a factor. The contact took the vehicle to a Toyota dealer on October 5, 2009. The dealer stated that he could find nothing wrong and that he could rotate, and balance the tires. The contact refused to have the tires rotated but accepted having them balanced. The failure mileage was approximately 35,000. The current mileage was approximately 40,000.

- Centerville, IA, USA

problem #22

Dec 012007


  • miles
Steering issue - occurs frequently - feeling of less control in turns and at highway speeds. Brakes - occasional - sudden increase in brake power when braking lightly at highway speeds. Does not continue after releasing brake pedal but is very noticeable. Have had the brakes (drums, pads) repaired / replaced twice (once at a Toyota dealership) using Toyota parts and the issue persists.

- Santa Monica, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?