Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Beware of the NHTSA complaint data for the 2008 Corolla. It is almost certainly misleading.

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2008 Corolla is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models have an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about Toyota unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where now the NHTSA data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention. typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to to report your Toyota acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2008 Corolla, our data for the Corolla is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Corolla's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,749 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Toyota Corolla engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments

problem #16

Dec 312015


  • 37,000 miles


Stalls while driving, faulty ECM. Heavy traffic, had to push car out of traffic.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #15

Sep 012015


  • 86,000 miles
Failure of the electronic control module

- Carbon Hill, AL, USA

problem #14

Oct 052014


  • 133,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 60 mph, the engine warning light illuminated continuously. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission was overheating. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 133,000.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #13

May 262012


  • 39,645 miles


I had to replace the serpentine belt, because it was squeaking (dry and cracked); I complained to Toyota about having to replace it after such a short time but was told basically that they didn't care, since the car was out of warranty. I have had ongoing - and I thought unrelated - issues with the gears slipping but couldn't identify a cause. In January 2015, I had an accident because the gears slipped. On July 17, 2015, I had the serpentine belt replaced for a second time, because it was starting to squeak again. Much to my surprise, the new belt, not made by Toyota, solved the other problems I've had with shifting (my car is a manual transmission). The mechanic said that he had heard complaints from other Toyota owners about having to replace the serpentine belt, a part that should last approx. 100,000 miles/10 years, after only 3 years. It was his opinion that the belt was defective. The difference a new, non-Toyota belt has made to my car - unexpectedly resolving the other issues I was having - has convinced me that Toyota is making a defective and dangerous product, one that they fail to acknowledge.

- Santa Monica, CA, USA

problem #12

May 182015


  • 64,100 miles
The engine light went on and black smoke was coming out and I went from 70 miles down to 40 miles an hour. Then it would not start had to be towed home. Was told the engine was gone. Had the engine replaced. 5-18-2015

- Mesquite, NV, USA

problem #11

Feb 072015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
I bought a car second hand from a dealer 4 months ago and was not aware of the recall on the vehicle. When we looked up the VIN number, it was on the list. We called Toyota world of newton, New Jersey and brought the vehicle in. They tested it and told us everything was okay instead of replacing the part. Totally disgusted with the businesses in this county. They are looking to make money off of us at another time. If any accident occurs or breakdown as a result of this recall, we will seek legal action against Toyota, the dealer we bought the vehicle from and call the news media with the story.

- Newton, NJ, USA

problem #10

Jan 102015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 56,600 miles


While stopping at a red light on a highway, the car engine stalled and shut off.

- Bridgewater, NJ, USA

problem #9

Mar 032014

Corolla 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
During driving in freeway, the engine light came up and then shut down the engine. During trips to Toyota dealership they were unable to discover the problem or duplicate it in first occasion. However after returning of the car and insisting of the problem, with repetition of the problem, Toyota replaced the electronic control module. This should have been resolved through previous recall but it may have not been fully addressed. The issue was potentially ECM internal fuse was shutting down the electronic control module causing the car to stop. I do not know if this affects the braking due to stopping the car. At all the occasion this happened to me the car shut down and came to stop. After the restart of the car, the problem stays hidden for a while but comes back again. The issue is discovery of the problem is almost impossible unless detailed work and evaluation has been done. Toyota agreed with the defect and replaced ECM without any charges for may car.

- Playa Del Rey, CA, USA

problem #8

Apr 122014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
My wife was pulling into a parking spot in front of a bagel shop and the car just lost control accelerating, not stopping until it crashed into a pillar. Causing extreme damage to the car.

- Deer Park, NY, USA

problem #7

Mar 122014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
Accelerator stuck "on" after car started and would not disengage. Owner/driver could not avoid striking other vehicles. Owner/driver is assisted by [xxx]attorney at law [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).... updated 03/19/15

- Athens, GA, USA

problem #6

Mar 042013


  • 70,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was included and repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 10V384000 (engine and engine cooling). After the repair, the contact was driving approximately 10 mph when the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure recurred three times. The contact stated that she was able to restart the vehicle after waiting approximately ten minutes. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000.

- Hewbert, NC, USA

problem #5

Apr 022013


  • 78,200 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that after starting the vehicle, the rpms increased to 1500 and the vehicle stalled. The contact was later driving 65 mph when the vehicle stalled and engaged into limp mode. The check engine warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who replaced the electronic control module and cleaned the throttle body however, the failure recurred. The charcoal canister was then replaced and the failure was corrected. The failure was not reported to the manufacturer. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 78,200. The current mileage was 78,500.

- Amherst , NY, USA

problem #4

Apr 022013


  • 78,200 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that he started the engine and the rpms increased excessively high. The contact also stated that he was driving the vehicle 50 mph and the vehicle engaged into limp mode. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where they stated that the electronic control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 78,200.

- Amherst, NY, USA

problem #3

Oct 292010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 90,540 miles
In 2010, engine light started to come on and off, I went to Toyota, was told the light had to be on at the time for proper diagnosis at a fee. I have also gone to other service locations for a second opinion and was told, after a complimentary diagnosis, that it was caused by the throttle. Recently, I received a notice of a civil lawsuit from other Toyota owners with my VIN number ( last 4 digits) due to a defective throttle that has caused car crashes due involuntary acceleration. I have called a local Toyota dealer in hollywood, fl on taft street and 441, spoke with an employee who confirmed there was a recall for the defective throttle and scheduled an appointment to bring the car in for adjustment at no cost. I took the car in on Saturday, April 5, spoke with another employee who advised there was no recall for my car, will have it checked anyway. After 2 hours of waiting, he reiterated there was no recall for my car, advised there is a problem with ECM at a fee of $180 plus $3 - $4K for transmission and an extended list of other problems to repair. I have just checked site and see engine recall reflected for Toyota Corollas year 2003-2008, and am reaching out to you for your assistance. This is a fairly new car and should not have this problem that Toyota is not owning up to. Thank you for your attention and assistance.

- Hollywood, FL, USA

problem #2

Nov 142012

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, the vehicle began to decelerate independently. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired one year prior to the failure under NHTSA campaign id number: 10V384000 (engine and engine cooling) however, it was determined that the electronic control module did not need to be replaced at that time. One year later as the vehicle exhibited the same failure mentioned in the recall, the manufacturer would not assist the contact in the repair. The VIN was unavailable. The failure and current mileage was 120,000. Updated 01/02/2013 updated 01/7/2013

- Pleasanton, CA, USA

problem #1

Aug 212012

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 57,704 miles
I had my Toyota Corolla 08 serviced on 4/5/11 due to a recall for the engine control module. After the Toyota dealer looked at they determined it did not need to be replaced according to "lot #7238" and on 8-21-2012 my wife was driving on the highway going 55 mph when all of the sudden the vehicle's electrical system just cut off. Luckily there were no cars in front of her at a distance and it started to slow down until she was able to control it and manage to park at the median. She said that the breaks did not work and the power steering did not work. She was terrified at that moment and feared for her life. The next day I took the car to the dealer and explained what had happened. They just told me that there was a recall and it should be fixed immediately. I asked the representative why this recall was not taken care of the first time I went to the dealer. He had told me that at that time it was not necessary to change the part which affected the electrical system. Well they should not have wasted my time, but looking back they were negligent on their part. I could have lost my loved one or one of my beloved children which could have devastating for me.

- San Juan, PR, USA

Not what you are looking for?