Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Beware of the NHTSA complaint data for the 2008 Corolla. It is almost certainly misleading.

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2008 Corolla is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models have an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to safercar.gov (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about Toyota unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where now the NHTSA data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention.

CarComplaints.com typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to CarComplaints.com to report your Toyota acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2008 Corolla, our data for the Corolla is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Corolla's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
23 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
17 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,701 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Toyota Corolla seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 3 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #63

May 252015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V127000 (air bags) and 15V285000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the recall repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 10/28/16 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired on August 30, 2016. Updated 11/03/16.

- Millersville, MD, USA

problem #62

Jul 012016

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
2008 Toyota Corolla. Consumer writes in regards to replacement parts not in stock to repair front passenger airbag inflator module recall notice.

- Newburgh, IN, USA

problem #61

Mar 212016

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Corolla. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 16V128000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The VIN was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Craigsville, VA, USA

problem #60

May 102016

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Inflator recall. I took my car into a Toyota dealership in early may and was told the part would be in by the end of May. On July 2nd they have yet to get the part or contact me about any information. The recall info I received in the mail said if they have not done it in a reasonable amount of time to file a complaint. I believe that almost 2 months is plenty of time.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #59

Apr 272016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V128000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Kahului, HI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #58

Aug 272015

Corolla

  • 45,000 miles
Takata recall. The contact owned a 2008 Toyota Corolla. While driving approximately 35 mph, the driver crashed into the rear of another vehicle. The air bags deployed and the front passenger side air bag deployed violently. The driver sustained bruising to the face and the front passenger sustained a severe contusion from the lower abdominal area to the breast, a fractured sternum, and a bruised face. The passenger required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed and towed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V127000 (air bags). The failure mileage was approximately 45,000. Updated 09/23/16

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #57

Jun 282016

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V127000 (air bags); however, the parts were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Steubenville, OH, USA

problem #56

Mar 022016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V127000 (air bags). The part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Montpelier, VA, USA

problem #55

Jun 272016

Corolla

  • miles
I received the re-call notice and I have been calling or passing by and the toyata dealer located at nw 12 street around 97th avenue in miami, fl keep telling me to wait 3 month. What is the purpose of this notice if toyta is doing nothing to fix it ?.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #54

Jun 012016

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V128000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer informed the contact that they would not be able to obtain sufficient parts for more than six months. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 08/02/16

- Longview, TX, USA

problem #53

Jun 242016

Corolla

  • 164,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall I received a "remedy notice" from Toyota regarding this recall and made an appointment with my Toyota dealer. After dropping my car off at the dealership to have this resolved, I received a phone call notifying me that they could not "fix" the issue related to this recall. I was informed that as Toyota has limited the number of "remedy kits" to 6 per dealership, per week, I would have to wait approximately 3 months (or more) before parts would be available to "fix" my vehicle. (never mind the fact that the dealership should have told me they did not have the parts when the appointment was made and wasted my time, but that's another issue). The original recall announcement I received from Toyota stated "until the remedy becomes available in your location, we recommend that you do not operate the vehicle with an occupant in the front passenger seat". so, I am to be deprived of using the front passenger seat of my vehicle for an additional 3 months, or more (after having receiving the remedy notice), because Toyota chooses to limit the number of parts available to local dealers to remedy this issue. That is ridiculous. Since Toyota sent me a "remedy notice" for this recall, I believe it is their responsibility to ensure my vehicle is fixed in a timely matter. A delay of 3 months because Toyota is not supplying dealers with enough parts is just inexcusable.

- Farmington, NY, USA

problem #52

Mar 252016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V127000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Steubenville, OH, USA

problem #51

Apr 162016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V128000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #50

Apr 162016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V127000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Bellmawr, NJ, USA

problem #49

Mar 022016

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Corolla. The contact received a recall notification for the air bags; however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The NHTSA campaign number was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/06/16 updated 09/28/16.

- Woodbury, NY, USA

problem #48

Feb 102016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V127000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #47

Mar 092015

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. The VIN was unavailable.

- Jaffrey, NH, USA

problem #46

Apr 192016

Corolla

  • miles
"takate recall". months ago I checked and my car wasn't recalled. A few months ago I received a letter that it was. Told in letter to wait and I would be notified when part available. I waited and waited. Finally called 5/24/16 dealer and they asked, "did you call us and order part"" are you kidding me" the letter said to wait and I would be informed. No I didn't order part!! called Toyota customer center on 5/24/16 and they said within 48 hrs I would hear from someone (I assumed there). Just a couple of hours later the dealer called me!! are you kidding? I talked to them already. He said I may have in 8 weeks. Patiently waiting and now I'll try this. I am a senior and drive my grandchildren around and have been since 2011 when I bought this vehicle used with deadly airbags!!!! they are out for summer and I need to be able to take them places. This car is small. I need the part now, please.

- Sharon, PA, USA

problem #45

Jun 132016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V127000 (air bags); however, the part was unavailable to perform the repair. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Apple Valley, CA, USA

problem #44

Apr 142016

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Corolla. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V127000 (air bags); however, the parts for the recall repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Queens, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?