Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Beware of the NHTSA complaint data for the 2008 Corolla. It is almost certainly misleading.

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2008 Corolla is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models have an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to safercar.gov (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about Toyota unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where now the NHTSA data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention.

CarComplaints.com typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to CarComplaints.com to report your Toyota acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2008 Corolla, our data for the Corolla is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Corolla's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
23 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
17 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,701 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Toyota Corolla seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 5 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #23

Apr 152016

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Front passenger airbag inflator module. Possibly "takata recall", the letter I received didn't mention that. Today (4/15/2016) I received a letter from Toyota. The letter isn't dated. It mentions that the airbag inflator module needs to be replaced and that passengers in my car have been, potentially, at serious risk. This is the first and, so far, only correspondence that I have received on this. The letter says that "they are currently preparing parts for my location" -- but when I called the dealer they already had the parts in, and have been working on these repairs for some time. But then why the hell am I just hearing about it now"?" I feel like Toyota and the dealer (frontier Toyota in santa clarita, California) hasn't remedied this defect within a reasonable period of time.

- Valencia, CA, USA

problem #22

Feb 092016

Corolla

  • 108,095 miles
The contact owned a 2008 Toyota Corolla. While driving 65 mph, the contact's vehicle crashed into the rear of another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The contact sustained injuries to the back and neck that required medical attention. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V128000 (air bags). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 108,095. The vehicle was destroyed.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #21

Mar 032016

Corolla

  • 120,000 miles
Takata recall, dash board air bag lite is illuminated.

- Rochester, WI, USA

problem #20

Sep 022015

Corolla

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Family involved in a rear-end collision where the the air bag housing came out of the steering column but the bag itself did not deploy. The housing swung around during the wreck and hit the driver's arm resulting in minor injury (bruising). I am a police officer an have worked dozens of wrecks and have never seen this happen. I contacted Toyota about it and they said that this is something that happens all of the time which I am doubtful of. I have pictures to better illustrate the malfunction...updated 09-29-15....updated 10-27-15

- Fort Mill, SC, USA

problem #19

Apr 192015

Corolla

  • 54,000 miles
Corolla slid off road in the rain and tipped into a ditch where it hit several trees. Only the passenger side door frame air bag deployed. None of the others deployed. Car was totaled and driver (sole occupant) suffered a severely separated shoulder (requiring surgery), concussion, tbi, two spinal fractures, facial lacerations, and severe bruising including bruised lungs.

- Manchester, MI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #18

Jun 302012

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
Rear ended another car but airbags did not deploy.

- Porter, IN, USA

problem #17

Apr 122014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 53,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My wife was pulling into a parking spot in front of a bagel shop and the car just lost control accelerating, not stopping until it crashed into a pillar. Causing extreme damage to the car.

- Deer Park, NY, USA

problem #16

Jan 142014

Corolla

  • miles
I was driving on second lane going East @ a speed 40 or 45 and a second driver came from East into my lane no air bag on my company car

- Mission, TX, USA

problem #15

Jul 212013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
2008 Toyota Corolla le, driven by 5'2" female, approximately 125-130 lbs. Vehicle was involved in a driver's side, offset, frontal impact crash while traveling at ~30 mph. Other vehicle made left turn in front of the Corolla. The driver's airbag deployed. The driver's side airbag did not deploy. The driver was wearing her seat belt, which locked on impact. The driver sustained a flexion-distraction fracture of her cervical spine and is now quadriplegic. The vehicle was totaled and not repaired.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #14

Oct 192009

Corolla

  • miles
While driving at approximately 40-45 mph I crashed into a tree. While the vehicle sustained $8000 in damages, the air bags did not deploy.

- El Centro, CA, USA

problem #13

Dec 042013

Corolla

  • 83,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving approximately 10 mph, she crashed into a concrete pole. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained injuries to the head, shoulders and back. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was towed to a dealer for the body repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that a representative would call the contact within twenty four hours. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 83,000.

- Hampton, VA, USA

problem #12

Aug 182013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, a sudden traffic jam caused the contact to crash into another vehicle and a guard rail. The air bags failed to deploy and the vehicle was destroyed. There were no injuries. The contact stated that there was a police report filed but there were no injuries reported. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 12/23/13

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #11

Jun 142013

Corolla

  • 75,000 miles
Head on crash at approx. 25-35 mph totaled the vehicle and the front air bags did not deploy.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #10

Dec 272012

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
I had an accident last December 27, 2012. I was driving 40-45 mph on a two-way street and hit a large sized donkey. There were at least 5 or 6 big donkeys on the road that showed up from nowhere. My airbags did not deploy. My windshield was damage. The front side of the car was damaged and the inside parts too.. the car was a total wreck. The mileage on the car was at least 130, 000 miles. I got bruises and some cuts on my hands. It was very traumatic and scary. Thinking that airbags will protect me during a crash but it failed. I can send a picture of my damaged car if requested.

- Perris, CA, USA

problem #9

May 032013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that she crashed into the rear of another vehicle while driving approximately 40 mph. The air bags did not deploy. The vehicle was towed from the scene. The contact sustained bruising to her chest and stomach. The front passenger was taken to the hospital by ambulance and was treated for a fractured breast bone. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 25,000...updated 07-17-13

- Acworth, GA, USA

problem #8

May 092013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 5,111 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Corolla. The contact was traveling at unknown speeds and crashed into another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained chest injuries. The vehicle was destroyed. The vehicle was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000. Updated 07/09/2013 updated 07/15/2013

- Ocala, FL, USA

problem #7

Jan 082013

Corolla

  • 37,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated while driving 30 mph, she was involved in a head on collision and the air bags failed to deploy. The contact mentioned that the seat belt failed to retract causing her to go slide forward and hit her head on the steering wheel. A police report was filed. The contact sustained minor bruises. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure and deemed the vehicle destroyed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 37,000.

- Madison , MS, USA

problem #6

Jun 272012

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
Airbag light on dashboard came on while sitting in traffic. There was no accident or incident. I took it to my mechanic and was told that oem spiral cable to the SRS bag wasn't operational and wouldn't deploy in an accident and could potentially blow out.

- Pawtucket, RI, USA

problem #5

Dec 092011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 60,090 miles
I was driving 40 mph on state route 315 South. Cars in front of me stopped for a jack-knifed truck. I hit my brakes and slid on black ice. I slid 50 yards into the rear of another vehicle. My front in was smashed in, bending the radiator and frame, causing the hood to crumple and the side panels to jam the front doors shut. My head snapped forward and hit my chest upon impact, and then snapped back against the headrest. My car is totaled from this, and the airbags did not deploy. The collision impacted the entirety of the front of my vehicle.

- Newark, OH, USA

problem #4

Jun 252010

Corolla

  • 75,607 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Corolla. While driving at 50 mph, a preceding vehicle abruptly stopped and the contact crashed into the back of the vehicle. The air bags did not deploy. The contact sustained moderate injuries to her neck and shoulders. The vehicle sustained substantial front end damages. The vehicle was driven to the contact's home and parked. The vehicle had not been repaired or taken to the dealer for a diagnosis of the failure. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure and current mileages were 75,607. Updated 10/27/10.

- City Of Colton, CA, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?