Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
51,611 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Toyota Corolla brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments

problem #15

Mar 302016


  • 128,650 miles


My 2009 Corolla experienced issues identical to a prior recall circa 2010 for '05-'08 Corolla & matrix models regarding engine control modules (ECM) that may have been improperly manufactured. On 3/30/16, the check engine light turned on and my vehicle experienced harsh shifting and struggled for gas. Vehicle was in motion with over a 1/4 tank of gas on a residential street at the time. On 3/31/16, I had the vehicle towed to my local Toyota dealership. Diagnostics were run and ECM fault codes were identified. Service associates working on my Corolla addressed their concerns and were repeatedly denied requests for a replacement ECM. At one point, I was advised by Toyota dealership staff to personally order an ECM unit through the parts dept., insisting that the request coming directly from a customer would not be denied. I attempted to place an order with parts, and that request later was denied. After several re-tests and denied requests for a replacement ECM, my vehicle received a replacement tail light bulb (what I refer to as a "band-aid" fix) and was released back to me on 4/5/16. The very next morning (4/6/16), check engine light came back on and vehicle was brought in. Once again, codes tied to the ECM were identified. After another week of tests, denied ECM fix requests, and another band-aid repair, the vehicle was released back to me on 4/14/16. During this two-week ordeal, I incurred over $540 in rental car expenses and $186 in "band-aid" repairs, despite the fact that ECM issues were identified from the beginning. I have opened 2 cases with Toyota customer experience center to address this ECM issue with my 2009 Corolla, the prior 2010 recall, and have requested that my VIN be incorporated into the recall. So far, Toyota has denied any responsibility, insisting that their ecms don't fail, offering no assistance for issues they deem off-warranty/off-recall.

- Mission Viejo, CA, USA

problem #14

Jan 062016


  • 120,000 miles
I had spoken to mike from carson Toyota regarding this recall more than 6 months ago. I found out about this recall from my coworker who has the same model and year car as mine. Mike had told me that only a few Toyota were on recall and the last time I had gotten my oil changed there, he told me that my model was not in that recall.. but I did get a letter in the mail. I told him that my coworker told me about the electrical window on the right side. Mike had told me that it wouldn't be covered. I would have to pay about $400 plus for that window that got stuck. Mike did tell me that my VIN model was not counted for. I am real upset. This past December, I drove to san francisco when it is raining and windy, this is a real big hazard for a branch to have come inside my car without my daughter being able to close to the window and had poked her arm some how.

- Gardena, CA, USA

problem #13

Sep 012015


  • 127,000 miles
My ECM constantly have issues with stabilizing the vehicle on a daily occurrence. When it works as it should the car feels stable like it has added weight and the steering is responsive. The ECM in the late 2000S all have ECM problems which is a safety concern since braking, transmission and steering are all affected in some adverse way. The vehicle had a O2 sensor replaced and it still has the same issues, alternator also replaced. I believe Toyota knew about this issue with its Toyota and decided not to issue a recall in order to save money. Ive been dealing with this issue since a month after I got my car 4 or 5 months after I got my car. The code P0607 along with the P0138 are constantly going off in my vehicle. Sometimes the P0138 will go away but the symptoms of a bad ECM still remain. The car shakes, doesn't stall yet, feels sluggish and hard to keep straight at almost any speed.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #12

Sep 012014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 148,000 miles


The vsc light, check engine light, traction control light all are on. Cannot get to turn off.

- Florence , KY, USA

problem #11

Jun 232010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
My 2009 Toyota Corolla is extremely hard to handle on the road ie, staying in my own lane, maintaining speed, when there is any type of crosswind or high wind.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #10

Jun 302014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 58,950 miles
While I was driving the car started stalling really bad and losing power, the engine light came up and I couldn't speed more than twenty five miles, because the car started trying to shut off on me in the middle of the street again. I took the car to get checked out and the troubleshooting codes came out as being the ignition coils due to the engine harness being bad, (difficult to believe I said ), cables don't go bad like that in Florida.

- Pompano Beach, FL, USA

problem #9

Jul 142014


  • 48,000 miles


1. while driving at approx. 25 mph, the car suddenly lost power; I was able to drive about 2 mph into a nearby gas station. The battery light was not on, but the orange engine light came on. After 5 minutes, the employee was able to start the car and I drove one mile to my home. My repair mechanic did a computer scan indicating possible problems with a switch and suggested that I drive around for about a week before returning. 2. a similar incident occurred 10 days later. I glided into a parking lot, waited 10 min., and the car resumed at regular speed. 3. on 8/7/14, I drove 2 mi. Back to the repair shop at a regular speed. A second scan could not be completed because the car suddenly stopped responding to the repair shop's computer. At this point the car is completely inoperable and must be towed to a Toyota dealer. I was advised that I may need a new computer. My 2009 Toyota Corolla has about 48,000 miles on it. I do not believe that a computer failure is normal within the age and mileage range of this car. Thank you for looking into this issue..

- Pikesville, MD, USA

problem #8

Jun 062011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 38,760 miles
On June 6th 2011 I brought my 2009 Corolla to the Toyota dealer, I lost complete power of the electronic power steering, ac and power windows, after inspection they suggest I replace the alternator at $965 charge, I declined the repair, I bought a new battery and drove the car home I still have not fixed it, I replace the alternator and that did not fixed the problem either, the Toyota dealer also suggested to change the water pump they say they change it but I still see the old some what dirty old water pump.

- San Jose Ca, CA, USA

problem #7

May 222011


  • miles
I was currently on 1 and 9 North of jersey city NJ. I was on a stop light and when it turned green, the car did not accelerate as much as it was suppose to when you press on gas pedal. It was literally moving 5 miles per hour. I was pressing the gas pedal for the car to go but it was still not even moving up. I turned on the hazards and pulled over. Then the check engine light came on. I turned off the car first. I checked the gas tank and the engine but I couldn't find anything wrong with it. The check engine light was lit until the next day. I brought it to the car dealership and they said they are not 100% sure what is wrong with it but they disconnected the alarm wire to see if that was the problem. The second problem of this car is when you press on the brake, it still moves a little bit. When you start going and pressing on the gas pedal, you have to press on it harder for it to go but it gases up than it normally does. I have recently saw the previous owners receipts for its car service and he had the same problem. He always had to fix the accelerator but until now, it is still the same and still needs to be fixed. I don't know what to do and where to go to fix this problem.

- Jersey City, NJ, USA

problem #6

Dec 172010


  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. While driving approximately 40 mph under rainy weather conditions the vehicle began to hydroplane and was involved in a crash. The contact thought that the electronic stability control should have prevented the crash. A police report was not filed but the driver was injured. The vehicle was towed to a local facility and was not examined for the cause of failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 40,000.

- Fullerton, CA, USA

problem #5

Feb 012009


  • 6,000 miles


I have two related concerns about the 2009 Corolla S with traction and stability control. It is my belief that there is an unresolved software issue with the ABS / stability system. I noticed the first issue at only 6000 miles, right after my second service at the Toyota dealer. They performed the brake manifold recall related to NHTSA campaign id number: 09V338000 during that service. The front brakes began to shake violently during braking from 65 mph. It felt like the rotors were severely warped when this occurred. This does not occur every time. The Toyota dealer examined the vehicle and they stated they could not find any issues and would not test the vehicle above 55 mph. Each time I took the vehicle in for a scheduled service, the problem would suddenly get worse again. They like to tighten the rear brakes each time. I asked them to leave the rear brakes alone and did not see the normal aggravation of the front disk pulsation issue. I do still see severe vibration periodically. This symptom appears to occur most when the ambient external temperature is lower than 2 degrees below freezing and all the lights are fully lit. Due to the sporadic nature of the vibration, my concern is that the ABS system is unable to keep up or there is a voltage fluctuation with all the lights on that triggers the system to pulse the brakes intentionally. I have found others are seeing the same type of issue and noticed that you have a similar request ODI id number: 10359202 from someone that has the same year and model with many identical VIN number digits. I currently have the original parts on the vehicle, if you need to inspect them. My secondary concern occurred when I tested the emergency (hand) brake on a long straight road. The stability control system threw the vehicle from side to side violently which could easily cause complete loss of control. This appears to be a software issue due to an żunforeseenż but plausible condition.

- Towson, MD, USA

problem #4

Jan 172009


  • 11,000 miles
I have experienced great amount of stress due to my 2009 Toyota Corolla. I experience the car shifting from right to left at high speeds (over 65 mph). I took it to Toyota of orange and they tested and legally they can only go 60mph or highway speed-limit. They kept denying any problems with the car, & came back to speak with the Toyota representative. I went in 3 times prior to this to see if they could find a problem, she said there's nothing wrong after special 'tests' were done. After that we took it in again and they performed an alignment which helped a little during regular speeds. But I still have the same problem, I recently took it in for the re-call, glad that was fixed, but at 70-80 mph if I shift into another line that is putting my life in great danger! I drive slower but I live in southern California so sometimes its unsafe to be driving at such speeds. I have also been experiencing paint problems with the vehicle, various scratches I don't know where they appear from, and my car is garaged mostly. There also a couple of chips in the paint, I took it in and they just washed and detailed the vehicle, which did help but there's scratches again, the paint seems to be defective. Another problem I'm experiencing with this vehicle is randomly maybe once or twice a month when started in the morning (parked in the garage which isn't cold at all) the whole car vibrates horrible, coming from the engine, as if its not held together well. It lasts for around a minute. I took it in to the dealership and they said since its not a constant problem they cant detect but if I leave it over night and if it happens they'll see, of-course it didn't happen they claimed they tested everything possible and there was no check engine lights etc. No signs when the steering goes crazy. Obviously this car is a defect the reason why I purchased a Toyota Corolla was because I have no problems with my 2005, and all the other cars I have owned, don't have steering or paint problems.

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #3

Jun 152010


  • 26,000 miles
Vehicle 2009 Toyota Corolla twitching and grinding in the electric steering have had vehicle back to dealers several times they say they cannot find anything to fix don't I feel very unsafe in it only 26000 klix help' would you please forward this info. To highway safety traffic administration.

- Margaretsville Canada, 00, USA

problem #2

Dec 172008


  • 1,600 miles
We have a 2009 Corolla. The vehicle has been jumping right from the time of purchase when we mention to dealership they have told us there is nothing wrong with the vehicle several times. They don't even document it unless we are demanding it. We have not had an accident as of yet but the spring has been put under the pedal and it still wants to take off at times. It is not consistent but frequent enough to be concerned. Towne Toyota refuses to own up to this problem, the date is the first date we experienced it.

- Hackettstown , NJ, USA

problem #1

Feb 012010


  • 200 miles
Driving on a highway or roads the is above 50 mph, my car steering wheel started to make a unusual movements, it feels like don't have any control over the vehicle I recently had a incident, it was a Monday morning went I was driving on a parkway about 55 mph went my vehicle star to pull to my right them left and was very hard to stay in a straight line so I stop and call my dealer and have them check it out but nothing have been done to my car.since I buy my car I felt this problem and I took my car back to the dealer three times all ready and they say is a engineer problem and because is a sport car, so after I read about this issue over the internet I'm very sure I wasn't the only one with this problem. Please I willing to provide my car for a deep inspection because I don't feel secure with this car.

- Laurel, MD, USA

Not what you are looking for?