Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
21 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
20,570 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Toyota Corolla brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #20

Feb 222009

Corolla

  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In early 2009, one winter night, I was returning home after a night out, it has snowing and the temperature was below zero. My driveway is about 50 feet long and covered with snow and may be some ice and therefore become slippery. From the curb, I accelerate slightly to get over onto the driveway, and then I brake immediately once on the driveway. This is when I really suddenly for no reason the car is accelerating quickly and is going to hit my garage. I brake hard and find the car continue accelerating until it hit the back of my stand alone garage and cracked a few 2 by 4 pillars. My car suffer no damage. When I reported this to Toyota online, I got no response from Toyota Canada other than this, I am very happy above my Corolla and I don't have any other brake problem since then.

- Toronto, 00, USA

problem #19

Jan 102010

Corolla

  • 13,300 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. He stated that the electronic steering wheel became difficult to control and resistant when turning the wheel in either direction. He also stated that the vehicle would bear to the left or right often times without driver intent. The dealer was contacted and they test drove the vehicle with the owner at approximately 35 mph and verified that the failure does exist. When depressing the brakes at various speeds, the brakes would feel as if they were not engaging, then they would immediately respond and lunge the vehicle forward. No repairs were made to correct the failures. The failure and current mileages were under 13,300.

- Columbia, MO, USA

problem #18

Jun 012009

Corolla

  • 11,682 miles
This letter was dated and sent june132009 re: Steering, brakes and/or suspension of my 2009 Toyota Corolla le, 4 door sedan. With a mileage of 11,682 to date. Toyota motor sales, U.S.a., Inc., this letter is in regards to the recent road handling of my Toyota Corolla (listed herein). I purchased this vehicle to replace my 1995 Toyota avalon as a vehicle to drive to and from work. I drive quite a distance to work having put on 8000 miles on this car in only 3 months of ownership. Our family car is a 2007 matrix xr. We are obviously fans of Toyota vehicles. This past week the bishop Ford highway, which is part of my route to work in Chicago, was scraped prior to a resurfacing of the road. This left a stretch of road which was very rough and with deep wavy grooves cut into the pavement. When my car crossed into the scraped section of pavement my car lurched about a foot to the right (without the steering wheel moving). This alarmed me as it could have caused an accident but the steering recovered under normal conditions but I realized something was wrong or loose in the front end. My warranty was coming due (12,000 bumper to bumper) and the car does handle well for the most part and I need the car for work so I figured I would wait a few days until the weekend to have it fixed along with the brakes which are starting to feel spongy. New pads are probably needed on the front end. I will have them checked independently this week and pay the out of pocket expense (even though this should have been covered under the warranty, even if the brake pads are close to being in need of replacement at this point). Our service department at Toyota on 30 in merrillville Indiana did not find any problem with the brakes and the road handling could not be duplicated by their mechanics. I am a very experienced driver at age 45 with not even a parking ticket to my name. If there is a serious flaw...

- Hobart, IN, USA

problem #17

Oct 012009

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brakes do not respond on time. After pressing the brake, car did not stop on time and hit a small pole in front of the store and had frontal bumper damage. At first I did not know the reason. Now I know the recall on Toyota due to brake defects.

- Bloomfield, CT, USA

problem #16

Feb 092010

Corolla

  • 24,000 miles
I am extremely upset because my brakes failed for a brief (but scary) time tonight on my way home from work. They also made a very strange noise. I have 24,000 miles on the car, almost all highway. Please call asap.

- St Louis, MO, USA

problem #15

Feb 082010

Corolla

  • 19,800 miles
Just got my recalled Toyota 09 gas pedal fixed ( 02/03/10) and ran through a red light (02/08/10) due to brakes not working and sudden acceleration of vehicle. Luckily there wasn't a car in front of me or anyone going through the intersection. I was not driving very fast and tried to stop at light, I was pushing the brake pedal and it just felt like it wasn't grabbing and I had it pushed to the floor and then my car made an accelerating sound like I revved it up and I went through the intersection.

- Mclouth, KS, USA

problem #14

Sep 152008

Corolla

  • 30 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Repeated phone calls to Toyota customer service and to two dealerships were dismissed as normal...when the 2009 Corolla is stopped and the brake pedal presses the pedal travels approximately two to three inches down towards the floor board. Again two dealerships and Toyota customer service state it is normal

- Brownsville, TX, USA

problem #13

Feb 042010

Corolla

  • 18,240 miles
About 5:30pm on Thursday evening (2/4/10), I was driving home N on silver lake blvd & 36 St. It was lightly snowing, the streets were wet and slippery, and I was driving under 15/mph going downhill. As I pressed the brakes, the car went faster, and did not stop until I badly hit the car in front of me and went over the curb. My car is a 2009 Toyota Corolla. About 2-3 months ago, Toyota sent me a recall notice for the brakes, much before the nationwide Toyota recall hit the media. And now, even after I did recall a few months ago, this is the second time that such a brake-related incident has happened to me ever since the recall. I feel that this accident is related to another brake defect of the newly-replaced/altered brakes, and would kindly ask for it to be further investigated.

- St. Anthony, MN, USA

problem #12

Feb 012010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,700 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. While driving 5 mph with the brake pedal engaged, the vehicle would not stop. The brake pedal began moving back and forth uncontrollably until the contact firmly engaged the brake pedal. The failure has occurred 6 times. The dealer stated that they would repair the accelerator pedal the following day and then diagnose the braking system. The vehicle will be repaired. The failure mileage was 9700 and current mileage was 9740. Updated 03/10/10. Updated 08/18/10

- Henrico, VA, USA

problem #11

Dec 232009

Corolla

  • miles
I am the owner of 2009 Toyota Corolla. I have to press my brake pedal hard and almost all the way down to make my car to stop. I called my dealership about the problem but the dealership want to charge me $89 to look at it. I called Toyota customer service line but got no result. I am also smelling burning odor coming from my vents when I turn the heat on. I called the dealership and all they want is to charge me money to look at my problem.

- Eagan, MN, USA

problem #10

Sep 222009

Corolla

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My vehicle was involved in an accident and I belive that the manufacturer was at fault. I had my vehicle inspected for brake problems numerous times by the dealer and it was always said nothing was wrong. Well on Sep. 22,2009 my mother was driving my car while I was passenger and she says it would not stop. Now that I see others are experiencing the same problems I want the manufacturer to be held responsible because I have been dealing with these problems for two years now and it finally seems like something is going to be done about it. It took my car and who knows how many others. I gave the dealership many opportunities to remedy the situation at my expence.

- Corona, CA, USA

problem #9

Sep 222009

Corolla

  • 40,000 miles
I own a 2009 Toyota Corolla that has been giving me problems since the day one. I have been in the dealership many times for my brake problems and they have been unable to resolve the issue. On Sep. 28, 2009 the vehicle was involved in an accident my mother was driving and she says it would not stop. Now that I am aware that others are experiencing this problem I am stepping forward to let everyone know that their not alone.

- Corona, CA, USA

problem #8

May 202009

Corolla

  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. The contact noticed a grinding noise most of the time when she depressed the brake pedal. She took the vehicle to the dealer who stated that they could not find anything wrong with it. The failure continued to occur and the dealer turned the rotors to remedy the problem; however, she continued hearing the grinding noise. In September 2009, she took the vehicle to the dealer who replaced the brake pads and rotors. She no longer noticed the noise; yet, the brake pedal extended to the floor with a sudden pulling and grabbing motion. The dealer told her that the ABS activated which caused that feeling. She also stated that the vehicle would suddenly accelerate on an intermittent basis. In December 2009, the driver crashed into a brick wall when the vehicle suddenly accelerated. There were no injuries. The dealer took pictures and told her that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. Furthermore, the gear shift broke and the dealer did not repair the vehicle for six months. She called the manufacturer and was unable to speak with a representative. The current mileage was approximately 17,000. The failure mileage was approximately 1,000.

- Morgantown, WV, USA

problem #7

Dec 082009

Corolla

  • 5,000 miles
I purchased a 2009 Toyota Corolla in November 2009. I had issues with the brakes slipping to the floor 2 weeks after purchase. This would happen when I would try to slow the car down or come to a stop. It happened sporadically. I had many near collisions and went off the road into snowbanks several times to avoid hitting other cars. Toyota kept saying nothing is wrong with the car after checking the brakes. In September, I took the car in for the hydraulic service brake recall. This did not fix the problem. On December 8 & 9 the brakes went to the floor twice when I tried to stop at stop signs. I almost got killed avoiding other cars at intersections. Once again, the dealership tried to duplicate the situation and found nothing wrong with the car. I told them I am terrified to drive an unsafe car which will end up crashing at some point from a faulty brake system. They said they can not do anything. I said the recall part is not effective and the consumers need to be aware. All I asked for was a new Corolla and I would continue all my payments. I do not want to drive an unsafe car on the road (nor should other Toyota owners). The dealership is in burlington Vermont.

- Enosburgfalls, VT, USA

problem #6

Nov 072009

Corolla

  • 9,700 miles
As an owner of 2009 Corolla I'm very concerned about recall for brake failure in extremely low temperatures. Toyota has limited its recall and repair of this problem only to certain states. I live in nw Indiana, less than 4 miles from Illinois state line. Illinois owners will have their brakes fixed; Indiana is not on the list. Toyota?S state restriction does not make any sense. Nw Indiana has the same weather as Chicago, il and the same extreme low temperatures. Additionally, I conduct a huge portion of my business and personal matters in the state of Illinois. I will have to drive my car knowing that brakes can fail on me on any given day with the extreme low temperatures (and we have months of such days ahead). How is Toyota allowed to discriminate between states without just cause" we all have a right to drive safe vehicles. What can be done to enforce Toyota to correct this problem"

- Highland, IN, USA

problem #5

Oct 282009

Corolla

  • 4,300 miles
My 2009 Toyota Corolla has had problems since I bought it in Jan. 2009. It was seemed to down shift - they found nothing the horn went out. Fixed two wires that were separated, (they said) after the wires were fixed, it left me in the road, stranded. Would not start, making a terrible noise. Wrecker towed it in. They recalibrated the computer. Then I drove it on a trip for the first time since calibration and when I pressed on brake it would rev and seem to speed for a moment. I took it in and nothing found. Landers in little rock, ar is where I bought it and take it for service. There are recalls on my 2009 Corolla for brake problems, and other model cars of the Corolla have been recalled for the surging problem while braking. I'm in a situation to where I'm making a payment on a car that I'm absolutely afraid to drive. Please help me. I know they haven't driven the car as I have. They only test drive at their dealership. I'm the one at risk. With them knowing that the 2009 Corolla has problems, I feel they are putting me and my family in danger.

- Bryant, AR, USA

problem #4

Sep 012009

Corolla

  • miles
As an owner of a 2009 Toyota Corolla, I am very concerned about a recall for brake failure by Toyota that is limited to certain states based on winter temperatures. Brakes may fail at very low temperatures. I live in Maryland, and Maryland is not one of the states listed in the recall. I do not know how Toyota arrived at which states are cold and which are not. But I have two serious objections to the state restriction. 1. while some winters are mild in Maryland, others are not. For instance, last winter was very cold. I have the heating bills to prove it. 2. but by far, my most serious objection should be obvious to anyone. The whole purpose of a car is to travel. Even if you live in Florida and own one of the recalled vehicles, does this mean you can not drive to Minnesota to spend several weeks to visit family over the holidays" does this mean I can't drive to upstate New York this winter for a vacation as I have planned" a car is not a house. It is very rare that a house moves from state to state while it is very very common that cars do. Looking at the various state tags on the interstate 95 will confirm this. Therefore, I am very concerned about the state limitation on this recall - particularly because it involves something as serious as possible brake failure.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #3

Sep 172009

Corolla

  • miles
Recently I received a recall on my '09 Toyota Corolla stating there was a potential problem with the brake system vacuum port. The recall says if my vehicle is operated in extremely low temperatures, there is a possibility that condensed moisture may freeze causing a potential risk of brake failure leading to an increased risk of a crash. I live in upstate New York where the temperatures drop to freezing and below this time of year. As soon as I received this notice, I called the dealer I purchased my Corolla from to make an appointment to correct this potential problem. After a good 5 minutes of being put on hold, a representative picked up and nicely asked what she could do for me. I described the recall and was put on hold again. Another 4-5 minutes past and then she picked up to tell me that the service department would call me back when they weren't so busy. I am at retirement age and can't risk having an accident. The Toyota dealers name is kent brown Toyota in big flats, New York. I'm not even sure you people are the right people to contact but if you are your help would be appreciated.

- Campbell, NY, USA

problem #2

Aug 242009

Corolla

  • 4,850 miles
Dear sirs, I had a mechanical failure caused vehicle collision where two safety hazards should call public alert. On Aug. 24, 2009 as I traveled on highway 93 South, I saw the vehicle in front of me took a sudden slow-down or stop, about 30 feet in distance, even as I floored the brake pedal, my 2009 Toyota Corolla did not have any brake function at all, even not a resistance force at the pedal. My vehicle reared another vehicle inside the tunnel of 93 South, under normal travel situation: Road surface and lighting. And then before the deployed airbag from the driving column could have blocked my body movement forward, it exploded, the inside of my vehicle filled with smoke and funny smells. Fortunately, nobody got serious injured in the collision. Since my Corolla is a new car under 4900 miles, this was the only time I experience the sudden mechanical failures. My insurance company, metropolitan property, has inspected the vehicle, but did not specify any mechanical failures. Toyota North America also had their personnel inspected the vehicle upon received my report to them, but they may not take any responsibility to pass the information to the public, as there is also liability issue within. So far no repair work has been done to the vehicle, yet. The simultaneous failures of both brakes and airbag could be very serious safety hazards, please take note of this case and make it available to the public. If possible, I would appreciate it if you could, or let some third-party mechanic to, have my vehicle inspected. Thanks.

- Lexington, MA, USA

problem #1

Feb 162009

Corolla

  • 15,205 miles
We bought a 2009 Toyota Corolla in Oct of 2008. Noticed the touchy steering, but was told that was normal by the Toyota dealership. My daughter was driving it on a side street in huntington, wv when she hit a pot hole or a manhole traveling at about 15 to 20 mph. The steering locked up and she hit a parked car. It broke the ABS wiring harness and caused $10,994.79 damage to car. We then found out that the tires were bald at 15,000 miles and the brakes were very thin. Toyota had just service the car at 13,000 miles and did not tell me the tires or the brakes were bad. We do not know exactly what caused the steering to lock up. The repair shop could not tell us either due to the extensive damage.

- Milton, WV, USA

Not what you are looking for?