Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
59 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
28 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,576 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Toyota Corolla engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 2 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #140

Oct 212013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 67,235 miles


On 10/21/2013 at about 12 am I was dropping off my wife and daughter in front of our apartment complex. I was driving a Toyota 2009 Corolla (VIN-[xxx]). the vehicle had a sudden, abrupt and unintended acceleration I pressed the brake pedal it did not stop. It went over a curb in the parking lot and collided with another vehicle standing on the opposite side. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)....updated 11/03/14 updated 8/5/2015

- West Springfield, MA, USA

problem #139

Nov 012013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 93,189 miles
My daughter was driving West bound on I20 between exit 189 and 190 on 11/1 when the car accelerated and hydroplane. My daughter was given permission to use my car on this date, the condition was rainy and low visibility. She took feet off gas and proceeded to brake when the car accelerated. As she put her feet on brakes she lost control and crash in guard rail. In the meantime I have checked the data base and there are two recalls on this vehicle. One involved acceleration. The dealer should have had these recalls done before the car was sold which could have helped to prevent the acceleration. Someone should be held liable other than the consumer for this mishap. I need to know what is the next step as a consumer. Also the air bag did not disengaged. I called the dealership and spoke with [xxx] on 11/6 who confirmed that there are still two recalls on this car and she asked when did I want to bring the vehicle in. Why was this not done before purchase. I also spent $2800 on an extended powertrain warranty through the dealership. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Lithonia, GA, USA

problem #138

Sep 252013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
2009 Toyota Corolla. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle sudden acceleration. The consumer stated as she was trying to park on a curve, she backed up and went forward twice, when she felt the right rear tire go over the water grate in the parking lot. The vehicle made a shifting sound and started to loudly race forward out of control. Fortunately, she was going slowly. When the motor started forcefully racing, the speed of the engine increased rapidly, as if someone was pushing on the accelerator pedal. The consumer had both feet on the brake and pressed as hard as she could in an effort to control the increasing speed. She was able to shift the gear to neutral, and then shut the off the motor. The consumer stated it was the third time, the incident occurred. The dealer installed a new computer, but they could not guarantee, it would prevent the sudden acceleration. Updated 11/25/13 updated 12/23/13

- Southbury, CT, USA

problem #137

Jun 072013


  • 42,000 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving 20 mph, the vehicle decelerated without manual force. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnosis but they were unable to duplicate the problem. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 42,000.

- Marshall, TX, USA

problem #136

Jun 102013


  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated while driving approximately 3 mph, the vehicle increased acceleration independently and traveled over two separate curb sides. The brake pedal was applied with force in order to stop the vehicle. After the failure occurred, the vehicle was driven with caution to the contact's residence. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the contact was awaiting diagnosis of the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 22,000....updated 07-24-13

- Tuscon, AZ, USA

problem #135

Jan 132013


  • 74,118 miles
Driving on a straight interstate. Speed limit was 70 mph. Road surface was wet. Drove over water, engine abruptly surged, similar to pushing accelerator to floor. Front end veered abruptly left. I applied brakes. Car spun backwards. Rear right wheel made contact with the metal cable-type barrier on left side of highway.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #134

Dec 242012

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles


The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving approximately 25 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated, causing the contact to crash into a pole, and then a parked vehicle. The contact was not injured. The vehicle was towed to a private mechanic where the failure could not be duplicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was not available. The consumer stated her vehicle was recalled, the first time she took the vehicle to the dealer for a floor mat problem, and the second time was for an acceleration problem. Updated 01/14/13

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #133

Nov 252011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. The contact was traveling 5 mph when the vehicle suddenly surged forward without warning, causing the contact to crash into the rear of a preceding vehicle. The contact suffered injuries. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The current mileage was 28,000 and the failure mileage was 25,000. Updated 03/22/12 the consumer also stated the air bag failed to deploy. Updated 05/11/12 updated 5/12/2012

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #132

Feb 102012

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
I have had this Corolla for about 3 years, average about 700 miles per week - drive it daily. I have had no significant issues with it until the past month or so in which I have experienced two "sudden acceleration" events. In both cases I was traveling at a very low speed, about 10 mph or so in parking lots. While coasting / braking with my foot on the brake pedal, suddenly it was as if the brake pedal turned into an accelerator pedal! I felt all of the back-pressure the brake pedal normally has leave and it went almost completely down to the floor. At the very same instant the engine revved and began to accelerate and the car "leaped" forward. In both cases this lasted only a few seconds then things went back to normal. There were no indicator lights on the panel warning of anything wrong. In both cases my foot was clearly on the brake pedal and nowhere near the accelerator pedal. I visually inspected the floor mat and there was absolutely no interference between it and the accelerator pedal. This car has already had all of Toyota's "recall" remedies applied to it and could be easily ascertained by examining the maintenance records at butler Toyota of macon, Georgia. I would like it if someone could examine the car's computer (not the Toyota people for obvious reasons)to see if these events were recorded or not. Until now I have liked this car very much in every way. However, considering all of the recent reports and now my personal experiences twice I am very much concerned about the car's safety.

- Fort Valley, GA, USA

problem #131

Dec 052011


  • 124,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. The contact was driving 55 mph when the brakes were applied but the brakes did not respond and the vehicle abnormally accelerated. The front tires released smoked and the vehicle was turned around several times before coming to a stop in a dirt area. The front tires, rotors and cables were damaged. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who performed a diagnostic and located the failure at the accelerator pedal. The vehicle was repaired. The dealer modified the accelerator, replaced the rotors and the cables. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and the current mileage was 124,000.

- Newark , DE, USA

problem #130

Apr 192011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 33,500 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. While attempting to park with the accelerator depressed, the contact noticed that the accelerator pedal remained stuck to the floor, causing the contact to crash into a tree. The contact was uninjured. The dealer advised the contact to notify the manufacturer of the failure. The manufacturer was sending an investigator to inspect the vehicle for the cause of the failure. The approximate failure was 33,500. Updated 05/20/11 the consumer stated she was in the process of removing her foot from the accelerator, to brake when the vehicle accelerated out of control. Updated evoq 06/28/11. Updated 2/8/12

- Palo Alto, CA, USA

problem #129

Mar 092011


  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. While driving in reverse with the brake depressed the vehicle suddenly accelerated with great force, and crashed into the rear end of a parked vehicle rear pushing the vehicle out of the parking space. The failure mileage was 36,000 and the current mileage was 39,000.

- Bairoa Park Cajuas, PR, USA

problem #128

Mar 182011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 6,700 miles
As I was braking for a red light and just before I came to a complete stop, my 2009 Corolla (driven only 6,700 miles) suddenly accelerated. I had to push down on the brake with all my force to keep the car from surging into the car ahead of us, with the motor racing as fast as I have ever heard it. I put the car into neutral and turned it off. When I started up again, the motor ran properly. If my foot had not already been on the brake when the car surged, however, I never would have been able to stop it from crashing. The car was towed to the dealership, and two days later a Toyota engineer said there was nothing wrong with it. I am now afraid to drive the car. And there most definitely was something wrong with it when it surged. How can I be sure it will not happen again?

- Laguna Beach, CA, USA

problem #127

Oct 152010


  • 55,000 miles
Car accelerates unexpectedly while in cruise control. While driving at 70 mph car engine RPM's suddenly jumps to over 4000 RPM's, car speeds up 5-10 mph. If cruise is turned off, acceleration stops and the vehicle drives as normal.

- Mentor, OH, USA

problem #126

Feb 012011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. While driving 35 mph merging into oncoming traffic, she depressed the accelerator pedal, it went to the floor and became stuck. After the accelerator released itself she drove to the side of the road and contacted the dealer. She took the vehicle to the dealer who offered no assistance and informed her to contact the manufacturer since there were no recalls that included her VIN. The manufacturer informed her that a representative would contact her within a couple of hours. She was informed that there were no recalls or related warranties on her vehicle. She receives a call back from the manufacturer who informed her to take the vehicle back to the dealer for inspection.. the failure mileage was 57,000. Updated 3/21/11 the consumer has since traded the vehicle. Updated 05/09/11

- Limestone, TN, USA

problem #125

Oct 152009


  • 16,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. While driving 5 mph, the brakes were applied but the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The contact applied the brakes with more force but the vehicle crashed into a fence. There were no injuries. A police report was filed. The contact stated that prior to the crash, she had problems stopping the vehicle and expressed them with the dealer who stated that she just needed to become familiar with the brakes. The contact called the manufacturer and filed a complaint. The failure mileage was 16,000 and the current mileage was 26,000.

- Brighton, MA, USA

problem #124

Jan 232011


  • 8,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. While driving 3 mph, the contact experienced sudden accelerated. The vehicle did not move but the rpms increased. The contact depressed the brake pedal continuously but the engine would not stop revving. The contact was awaiting a return call from the dealer. The manufacturer had not been notified. The failure mileage was 8,000.

- Bethlehem, PA, USA

problem #123

Dec 242010


  • 57,855 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. The contact was driving 50 mph in rainy weather when the vehicle abnormally accelerated. The contact attempted to apply the brakes but to no avail. The accelerator pedal remained in a depressed position and the contact was able to lodge his foot under the pedal and shift into neutral. The contact removed the floor mat thinking it was the cause of the failure yet the failure recurred within two hours. The contact inquired with the dealer in regards to NHTSA campaign id number: 10V017000 (vehicle speed control: Accelerator pedal) but was advised by the dealer that no such recall existed. The manufacturer advised that the recall was a voluntary recall and it would be left up to the dealer to repair the vehicle. The contact believed that the vehicle was very unsafe and would need to be repaired by the manufacturer before someone was injured. The failure mileage was 57,855.

- Palm Desert, CA, USA

problem #122

Oct 092010


  • 15,600 miles
I was driving on the highway using the cruise control, when the car suddenly accelerated to 80 mph. The cruise control was set for 62 mph. The same sudden acceleration occurred a second time, but I stopped using the cruise control. Both times, the car slowed down when I touched the brake and the cruise control disengaged as expected. Updated 01/20/11

- Narberth, PA, USA

problem #121

Nov 042010


  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. While driving approximately 65 mph, the accelerator pedal became stuck in the depressed position for approximately three seconds. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired. The current and failure mileages were approximately 64,000.

- Guthrie, OK, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?