Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
59 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
28 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,576 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Toyota Corolla engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 3 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #120

Oct 172010


  • 28,000 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. While the contact was driving approximately 5 mph and approaching a traffic stop signal, the brake pedal was engaged and the vehicle accelerated unexpectedly. The vehicle would not slow down and traveled over a curb into a utility pole. A police report was filed of the incident. The vehicle was completely destroyed and towed to a storage facility. There was no personal injury. The manufacturer was notified and they informed that an engineer would inspect the vehicle. The failure mileage was 28,000.

- Manfield , MA, USA

problem #119

Jun 022010


  • 5,500 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that when depressing the brakes to a complete stop, the vehicle would abnormally roll forward seconds after stopping. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired for the failure. The failure mileage was 5,500 and the current mileage was 6,500.

- Ponpano Beach, FL, USA

problem #118

Sep 012010


  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla sport. While the contact was driving approximately 70 mph, there was an unintended increase of acceleration. The brakes were engaged and the vehicle continued to travel at an excessively high speed rate. The vehicle traveled uncontrollably off of the road into a cement barrier. The contact sustained whiplash injury. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer. The failure mileage was under 20,000.

- Windsor, CA, USA

problem #117

Jun 092010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 9,000 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla le. While driving at 35 mph, the vehicle abnormally accelerated and drove over a curb. The vehicle proceeded to accelerate yet the contact was able to stop the unintended acceleration. On a separate occasion while reversing, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was unable to get the vehicle into gear until he had someone manually push the vehicle. The vehicle was repaired yet the failure persisted. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 9,000 and the current mileage was 10,000. Updated 10/13/10 updated 10/19/10

- Youngstown, OH, USA

problem #116

Jul 102010


  • 20,000 miles
7-10-10 I was parking my '09 Toyota Corolla behind a Ford on the side of the road. As I pressed the brake to come to a stop the car bucked & the engine made a revving noise. My car accelerated into the back of the Ford damaging my bumper and the Ford's back bumper. 7-12 I called my insurance company & reported the incident. They sent out someone to assess the damages & told me where to take my car to get it fixed. I was told to have a Toyota certified technician check the brakes & inspect what may have caused this. I called my local Toyota dealership & they told me they could not look at the car until the end of July. I decided to take the car to get repaired first & see if they had a Toyota certified technician there. I was told they didn't but while they waited on parts they would take it to the dealership. 7-14 the Toyota dealership told me that they couldn't inspect the brakes & I would have to call the Toyota 800 number & report the incident. 7-15 I called Toyota & relayed the incident. I was asked what I wanted Toyota to do about it. I said I wanted them to find out what the problem was & fix it & as it was a Toyota malfunction to have them take the responsibility of the accident. A few days later someone from Toyota called me & told me that within 10-14 days an inspector would be in contact with me about looking at the car. Over a week I was continually calling my inspector to talk to her about what was going on. Every time I called I got her voicemail & it would take her between 3 hrs to 2 days to call me back, while I continued to leave her messages. After a week of this, I called left 2 messages over 2 days & asked her for a timeline of when this inspection would be done so my Toyota could be fixed & I could get my car back. She told me an inspector would contact me in 5 days & it could take 30 days to look at the car. Toyota refuses to give me a rental & my insurance can only give me one for 3 days. Toyota will not stand behind their product.

- Canonsburg, PA, USA

problem #115

Jan 152010


  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. While driving approximately 15 to 20 mph while making a left turn the vehicle stalled. He was able to coast onto the emergency lane. He restarted the vehicle and it began to function normally. He drove approximately 5 miles and the vehicle stalled again. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated that they could not duplicate the failure. The vehicle was taken to the dealer at least seven times. He called the dealer a couple of weeks ago and they advised him that he would have to pay for a diagnostic test. While driving approximate 65 mph with the cruise control activated the vehicle began to accelerate. He engaged the brake pedal and the vehicle slowed down. He took his vehicle to the dealer for a recall repair and they did not replace the floor mats. The contact was unable to provide a VIN. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000 and the current mileage was 50,000.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #114

Jul 272009


  • 10,000 miles


The contact owns 2009 Toyota Corolla. While driving 15 mph on a dirt road the vehicle suddenly accelerated and the contact crashed into a moving vehicle. The driver side frontal air bag did not deploy and the seat belt failed to restrain the driver. The contact sustained injuries to her chest. The police report was not available. The insurance company destroyed the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified; however, they did not offer any assistance. The current and the failure mileages were 10,000.

- Roswell, NM, USA

problem #113

Jun 222010


  • 7,746 miles
My vehicle, a Toyota Corolla 2009 had worked without problems up until June 22, 2010. Two recall bulletins required work to be performed by Toyota to prevent potential sudden unintended acceleration (sua). The first one was done February 22, 2010 (fp 78112-07050) and the second on June 22, 2010 (fp 87268-12040) at autocentro Toyota in san juan, puerto rico. Immediately after the second repair I proceeded to pick up my two grandchildren. With my grandchildren in the vehicle and only 42 minutes after the second alleged repair the vehicle commenced accelerating on its own. Within the.8 miles the vehicle traveled (confirmed by my older son with his vehicle's odometer) I attempted repeatedly to stop the vehicle to no avail. Stepping on the brakes with all the force I could muster did not stop the vehicle. I drove into a median attempting to stop the vehicle with no results. Finally the vehicle came to a top when I rear ended a vehicle in front of me. That vehicle in turn collided with another vehicle resulting in a five total vehicle collision. The driver of the vehicle I impacted suffered some injuries and was taken to the hospital.

- Hato Rey, PR, USA

problem #112

Jan 172009


  • 11,000 miles
I have experienced great amount of stress due to my 2009 Toyota Corolla. I experience the car shifting from right to left at high speeds (over 65 mph). I took it to Toyota of orange and they tested and legally they can only go 60mph or highway speed-limit. They kept denying any problems with the car, & came back to speak with the Toyota representative. I went in 3 times prior to this to see if they could find a problem, she said there's nothing wrong after special 'tests' were done. After that we took it in again and they performed an alignment which helped a little during regular speeds. But I still have the same problem, I recently took it in for the re-call, glad that was fixed, but at 70-80 mph if I shift into another line that is putting my life in great danger! I drive slower but I live in southern California so sometimes its unsafe to be driving at such speeds. I have also been experiencing paint problems with the vehicle, various scratches I don't know where they appear from, and my car is garaged mostly. There also a couple of chips in the paint, I took it in and they just washed and detailed the vehicle, which did help but there's scratches again, the paint seems to be defective. Another problem I'm experiencing with this vehicle is randomly maybe once or twice a month when started in the morning (parked in the garage which isn't cold at all) the whole car vibrates horrible, coming from the engine, as if its not held together well. It lasts for around a minute. I took it in to the dealership and they said since its not a constant problem they cant detect but if I leave it over night and if it happens they'll see, of-course it didn't happen they claimed they tested everything possible and there was no check engine lights etc. No signs when the steering goes crazy. Obviously this car is a defect the reason why I purchased a Toyota Corolla was because I have no problems with my 2005, and all the other cars I have owned, don't have steering or paint problems.

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #111

Apr 202010


  • 13,000 miles
The contact owned a 2009 Toyota Corolla. The contact was concerned about the safety risk while driving the vehicle since there were so many recalls for her year, make and model vehicle. The vehicle was returned to the dealer. The contact did not experience any failures. The current mileage was approximately 13,000. There are no failures at this time.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #110

Jun 212010


  • 24,800 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for repairs under NHTSA recall campaign id number: 10V023000 (vehicle speed control: Accelerator pedal) in March 2010. On June 21st while driving at 45 mph, the vehicle began to vibrate abnormally and accelerated up to 55 mph. The contact shifted into neutral and applied the emergency brake until the vehicle came to a complete stop. The vehicle continued to excessively vibrate while stopped. The dealer performed a diagnostic and found there was a computer malfunction. The vehicle was left with the dealer where the contact was awaiting further diagnostic testing of the vehicle. The vehicle was not yet repaired. The failure and current mileages were 24,800.

- Salinas , PR, USA

problem #109

May 042010


  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. While the contact was driving approximately between 10-20 mph, a sudden increase in acceleration occurred without warning. When the brakes were engaged the speed rate would not decrease causing the vehicle to crash into another vehicle. The contact and opposing vehicle driver were transported to the hospital. The contact sustained injuries to the ribs, left knee and suffered back pain. The vehicle was completely destroyed and towed to a savage lot. The vehicle was in the process of being investigated by the insurance company. The failure mileage was approximately 17,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- East Northport, NY, USA

problem #108

Jun 102010


  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the vehicle suddenly accelerated after the contact slowed to allow another vehicle to turn and the engine revved at a fast rate. The contact shifted into neutral and turned the vehicle off but the vehicle continued to accelerate. The contact was able to stop the vehicle by slamming into the park position. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership where an investigator was being sent to inspect the vehicle. The dealer advised the contact to drive the vehicle home until the investigator arrived. The contact did not feel safe driving the vehicle. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Yakima , WA, USA

problem #107

Apr 022009


  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. While driving with the cruise control set to 75 mph, the vehicle abnormally accelerated to speeds of 140 mph. The contact was able to stop the vehicle by applying steady, extreme force to the brakes. The dealer performed a test drive and was unable to duplicate the failure. The failure mileage was 1,000 and the current mileage was 70,000.

- Garfield, NJ, USA

problem #106

May 282010


  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving at 5 mph and depressing the accelerator pedal, the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The vehicle had not been inspected at the time of the complaint. The current and failure mileages were approximately 10,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #105

Mar 272009


  • 8,000 miles
This complaint is being filed on by me as a result of the terrible safety problems I have encountered since purchasing my 2009 Toyota Corolla new from performance Toyota dealership in fairfield, Ohio. On 3/27/2009 my Corolla sped up on its own causing me to strike a parked vehicle, and injuring myself. I called the walton, Kentucky plant about this the following day. Their advise to me was to take my vehicle to the dealership where I had bought it for an inspection. On April 1, 2009 I did this very thing and I was told by their mechanics that everything on my car was fine and that it was probably just operator of the vehicles fault. Leaving the dealership worried, and concerned I put my Toyota Corolla in the body shop for repairs. Ten days later after having my vehicle inspected by their mechanics and having my body repairs made the same thing occurred to me again when on 4/11/2009 my Toyota Corolla accelerated upon its own again striking a parked vehicle causing additional injuries to myself as well as this time I was cited by the police, my insurance carrier raised my rates to nearly double the usual amount, and I am paying for a car that I am terrified at this point to be driving. When I requested print outs from the dealership of the mechanical inspection that was made between auto accidents they became very agitated with me, and my son to the point of complete rudeness. On 22/4/2010 they made a correction on my Toyota Corolla to make an attempt to fix the sudden acceleration problem, and told me to remove my drivers side floor mat that I would be receiving a new one for safety reasons. I did this but still as of yet have not received any such floor mat for my car. On 5/19/2010 my son and I took my Corolla in for an oil change and tire rotation when we were told of a brake recall that my car needed which would only take 40 minutes to accomplish. I told them to fix it please. I have complied in every way.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #104

Mar 232010


  • 42,000 miles
After Toyota recalled and worked on my gas pedal, it got stuck once, which literally caused me to bump slightly into a car in front of me) then escalated on its own sporadically. One dealer agent told me would submit paperwork and it would take an hour to check, and the gas pedal would be replaced. When I tried to bring the car to be checked and worked on, he said not come till he called when he was ready. For 1-2 weeks he never called. When I went to ask, they said the car was not to be worked on for a while. I called customer service to change to another dealership. This dealership asked me to wait for 2 weeks, and said would need to keep my car for two weeks to check. I called twice but no one called back. I finally went to a dealership where I happened to be near where I worked one day. They checked to make sure my car was okay at least then. I asked them help me put my carpet in place as after detailing the first dealership did not put them back in order as they were wet. This dealership put hook on my carpet to make sure they were in place as I did not have the hook as they were supposed to be, and advised me to call customer service, not knowing I have already called and they were referring me to dealership that took forever. I was by another dealership where I worked the next day. They checked, and ordered the gas pedal immediately. In just 2-3 days they told me they had the part and had me over and got my car fixed. The carpet in the driver seat is fixed, but not the others yet. The gas pedal of my car was a risk to the safety of me and my car and other people and cars around me. The delay of the first two dealerships and customer service seem to not care for the urgent need for the pedal to be replaced immediately to ensure absolute safety. The latter two dealership were helpful to spot the problem of my carpet and took preventive measure immediately, and then got the gas pedal replaced immediately. Should take care of problem better.

- Lexington , KY, USA

problem #103

Apr 302010


  • miles
Toyota Corolla sport VIN #[xxx]--called germain Toyota in columbus Ohio to schedule my repair after receiving notice and they told me this was not the notice to get car fixed it was simply the notice to remove the mat because they didn't have the parts to fix my accelerator at this time. I told them they were wrong and I had already received the remove your mat notice and this was the recall. The guy was rude and I choose not to argue. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Pickerington, OH, USA

problem #102

Mar 082010


  • 7,337 miles
On March 8, 2010 I was driving my 2009 Toyota Corolla, of which I am the first owner. I was going about 35 mph and I pressed the gas pedal to accelerate to about 45 mph. Then I released the gas and pressed on the brake pedal but the car did not slow down, but kept going 45. After a few seconds of pressing hard on the brakes, I pulled the handbrake and shifted the car into park. The car slowed down and eventually stopped. I then called a towing company and had the car towed to a dealership. They inspected the car and found nothing wrong. This problem has not occurred since.

- Glenview, IL, USA

problem #101

Apr 212010


  • 6,747 miles
On April 21, 2010, while I was parking my Toyota Corolla 2009 at work, the gas pedal stayed stuck, accelerated, and I hit a car that was next to the parking space where I was trying to park and it damaged a fence. The car was damaged in the front bumper, the bonnet, the passengers side in the back and damages underneath the car is possible. On April 19, 2010, the Toyota dealer had the car because of the recall. The accident was 2 days after. I had to go to the hospital because I was and am in pain. I have a cervical support because of the accident. The Toyota dealer has my car as of today, April 24, 2010. I reported the accident to the police of mayagÜez, puerto rico. Please investigate.

- MayagÜEz, PR, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?