Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
42 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
26 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,594 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Toyota Corolla steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 3 of 18)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #320

Jan 132013

Corolla

  • 74,118 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving on a straight interstate. Speed limit was 70 mph. Road surface was wet. Drove over water, engine abruptly surged, similar to pushing accelerator to floor. Front end veered abruptly left. I applied brakes. Car spun backwards. Rear right wheel made contact with the metal cable-type barrier on left side of highway.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #319

Sep 052012

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
A week ago after picking my son, I noticed that when I turned the steering wheel of my 2009 Toyota Corolla to a certain point, my whole steering wheel was moving and making a grinding noise. I brought it to copeland Toyota the dealership where I purchased my new car back in 2008. Mon. 9/10 I called to obtain the status of my vehicle. I was told a bolt came out of the steering column and they were "trying" to get the bolt back in. Normal wear and tear would say a bolt falls out a new bolt goes in, not "trying" to get back in. I was also told that the worst that would happen is that they would need to replace the steering column. I filed a claim with Toyota as I am no longer under warranty ( 1 yr and 4,000 ml over). Later Monday, Toyota stated that the bracket of the steering column is the issue and the whole unit would need to be replaced. When I asked the service dept, I was dealing with; if this fell under "normal wear and tear" he told me it did not. Tuesday 9/11, I heard back the Toyota corporate office that they would not be paying for this and that I would be responsible for the bill, that is just over $2000. I spoke with [xxx] at the dealership who is the service manager & he himself mentioned that this is a "unique case." Regardless if it covered under warranty or not, this is a safety issue, one that is not from normal wear and tear and I certainly did not create. I was told that I haven't had my car serviced there for a year, everyone knows that dealerships costs for preventive maintenance is extremely pricey and I didn't go there for oil changes and tire rotations, I did bring it in for this specific issue. When have you ever heard of any car company dropping your steering column to check bolts during a routine maintenance check? information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Abington, MA, USA

problem #318

Jun 122012

Corolla

  • 55,000 miles
Very strong vibration has been present in my steering column. I took it to the dealer which told me it was the rear struts. Replaced them $600. The mechanic noted in his notes that vibration was still bad upon releasing the car to me. I was told I needed new tires and balancing. I took it elsewhere and had new tires and balancing done. The problem still present today. I took it in again today and was told it was now my roters. New pads, roters and another alignment with rear brakes cleaned and re balance another $450. This whole time I have been feeling that the problem is in the steering column. Now I learn there was an investigation reguarding my make and model for that year. I am to get my car back this afternoon and will want something investigated if the problem is still there.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #317

May 102012

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 29,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2009 Toyota Corolla( pre owned). Since day one I noticed that the steering felt loose. It feels like the wind is blowing the car around and it is difficult to keep it going straight. I need to constantly keep both hands on the wheel. This car has all 4 brand new tires and dealership balanced the tires as well. When searched on Toyota site there is no recall information. Pls help.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #316

May 282012

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 66,500 miles
Steering lost response to wheels, after correction, steering will not come back to center' car wanders from side to side you must keep both hands on the steering wheel at all times, problem has happened before.. we had tires rotated, wheel alignment, alignment shop says the problem is with electronic computer which controls steering.

- Carriere, MS, USA

problem #315

May 192010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
Unstable steering, when you are driving over 60 miles an hour it has a tendancy to wander over the whole road. If there is a cross wind it really is bad. The wife will not drive it. I have talked to other customers they have a similar complaint. Seems to get worse with age of car. When I take the car in to get it serviced I mention the steering and they say there is no problem. They do not write it down on the service request either. I guess they do not want a record. This is the second time to day the other time it quit in the middle. I am reentering.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #314

Apr 162012

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I just recently purchased a certified used 2009 Toyota Corolla with only 25,000 miles on it. I've noticed that steering this vehicle, especially at highway speeds, can be a challenge. The car seems to have a mind of its own sometimes because out of nowhere the car will abruptly veer to the left or right. I've already taken this vehicle back to the dealer and they checked the wheel alignment, rotated the tires, and adjusted the tire air pressure. They notified me that everything was up to specification. On April 16, 2012 a box blew out of the back of a truck on a highway and when I swerved to avoid it I almost lost control of the vehicle. When I got home I got online and found a ton of people complaining about the same issue with their 2009-2010 Corolla. Apparently it has to do with the new electronic power steering they initiated in 2009. Perhaps they should go back to the old hydraulic power steering system. Please help!!

- Tavares, FL, USA

problem #313

Nov 052008

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving 60 mph, the vehicle would pull to the right and the left abnormally. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to diagnose the failure but advised the contact that the failure was not caused by an alignment problem. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 80 and the current mileage was 20,000. Updated 5/7/12 the consumer stated the vehicle would wander. Updated 05/14/12

- Beach Lake , PA, USA

problem #312

Mar 112012

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
While making a left turn yesterday, my steering wheel started shifting so hard that made me lose control of the car, causing me to spin and hit another car also turning left.I was driving with caution, especially because it had been previously raining, but the worst part is that it's not the first time this has happened to me.I reported another accident in 2010 caused by the same failed component.I was driving on a straight lane while raining and all of the sudden my steering wheel lost control and my car span 2 times, making me end on a ditch. Thanks god the road was clear, so my car didn't hit any other car;however, this has been the most terrifying experience of my life!; it left me with a trauma that was with me for over a year. It made me terrified of driving this car, especially under raining conditions. After that I bought new tires, then took it to Toyota to get checked.they said the steering was in fact shifting, and that the computer that controls it wasn't working correctly, so they replaced it.I felt more secure afterwards, so I drove my car normally, still feeling the shift under windy conditions, blaming it on the wind for not feeling terrified anymore..until yesterday!this time causing me to crash onto another car!now I'm scared to death to drive my car, and have to lose time, stress and aggravation on something that should've been a recall years ago! it is ridiculous that after having the power to force any company who's not following security regulations, the NHTSA is still not censuring Toyota who claims so strongly "security first".how many wrecks, injuries and deaths need to occur for NHTSA to realize this as a major safety issue because it affects the driver in such an abrupt manner! something needs to be done now! god forbids, this happens again and I'll make sure all organizations/corporations involved get sued for not taking drastic measures.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #311

Feb 262012

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 40,500 miles
When car is driven at highway speeds, 70-75 mph, steering pulls left and right rapidly, causing car to become very unstable in handling. Seems to drift in its lane. When driving it is very unpredictable. I just purchased this vehicle used and became aware of it. No accident issues only 40,000 miles contacted Toyota dealer in green bay, and they said they never heard of any complaints regarding the 2009 Corolla electric assisted power steering. Further stated I should 'try and find something on the internet' to show if there are any issues.. complete stonewalling..

- Sturgeon Bay, WI, USA

problem #310

Nov 172010

Corolla 4-cyl Diesel

  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Every since buying this car something has felt wrong with the steering. It has gotten worse over time. It feels like you are skating on ice as you drive down the highway even on dry pavement with no wind. The steering wanders constantly causing me to have to correct it. You can't drive it with one hand at all. I've had 3 sets of tires and two alignments to try and correct the problem. The mechanics say they can find nothing wrong.

- Seymour, IL, USA

problem #309

Feb 072012

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated while the oil was being changed by an authorized dealer, he was informed that the power steering rack needed to be replaced. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who stated the front passenger side wheel was shaking and the steering rack needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 44,000. Updated 03/21/2012

- Ridgefield, NJ, USA

problem #308

Oct 052009

Corolla

  • 8,584 miles
At around 50 miles on up the car starts to wander all over the road. It does not matter if you have 1 or 2 hands on the wheel. The car just drifts from side to side. I am an ase certified mechanic and I cant understand why there is no saftey recall involving such a serious condition. Toyota is asking for a lot of trouble if they cant find a fix for this issue.

- Plains, PA, USA

problem #307

Jul 012011

Corolla

  • 60 miles
The steering is terrible. Every time I get onto the highway, I have to hold on to the steering wheel very hard with both hands to feel safe. I am always worried about hitting the car next to. The car swerves constantly, and is very hard to control. I can not believe that a relatively new car such as this can not stay straight on the road. It feels as if it were extremely windy outside making the car shake left and right. I have always trusted Toyota and thought that they sold nothing but the best. I have lost the joy and excitement in driving. Please correct this dangerous issue. Blind spots are also a major safety issue I have found. Also, there is an extremely annoying rattle inside the car. It sounds like it is coming from the ceiling, and from the rear windshield. It is noticeable at all speeds.

- Keller, TX, USA

problem #306

Jun 012011

Corolla

  • 24,000 miles
I own a 2009 Corolla which I bought in September of 2008. Around June 1st I began having trouble with my steering wheel. While making a sharp turn I heard a loud pop. After that my steering wheel did not feel right the rest of the way home. When I parked in my driveway with my wheels straight I noticed my steering wheel was upside down. The next morning it was fine. 2 weeks later the same thing happened again. I took it to the dealership and was told the computer did not show anything wrong and if the steering wheel had turned upside down there would have been an error message on the computer. I had shown them pictures proving that it happened. They told me they had no idea what the problem was so there was nothing they could do. I am afraid to drive my car on interstates now because I am afraid the steering will go out completely and cause me to wreck. I know Toyota has had several complaints about steering problems in the 2009 Corolla. I just want to know that my car is safe to drive and apparently no one can tell me that.

- Anderson, SC, USA

problem #305

Jun 092011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,902 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the steering wheel cover panel detached and left the air bag exposed. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and was told that a bolt was loose and caused the panel to detach. The vehicle was repaired. The contact was concerned that the air bag would unexpectedly deploy without being involved in a crash. The failure mileage was 35,902 and the current mileage was 36,233. Updated 07/25/11 the consumer also stated water was getting inside of the head lights causing them to become discolored. Updated 12/19/11

- Pasadena , TX, USA

problem #304

Apr 252011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
This morning while driving at 55 mph on the highway our 2009 Corolla seemed to jerk itself out of the middle of 5 lanes of traffic, started spinning, hit the guard rail with the right rear tail section. The car essentially bounced off the rail, continued to spin across the lanes of traffic and back, coming to a rest back on the same side I hit the guard rail. I was extremely lucky that no other cars managed to be involved in this accident. From the minute the car first jerked out of control until it came to a rest I could not gain any control over the steering or movement of the car. The car has done this to a lesser degree on a few occasions over the past few months (car was purchased used, from a dealer, 3/13/2010) which we thought might be due to hydroplaning (we're in seattle where the roads are often wet but we've driven here for 35 years with nothing like this feeling in any other car) or a need for new tires but this was clearly not the only issue. On those occasions it also felt like the car was suddenly floating and the steering jerked it to the left (but I was not going through a deep puddle/hydroplaning). It was momentary but enough to scare me and make me wonder what had just happened. It was raining this morning at the time of the accident but something else caused the car to jerk itself out of the lane and lose control of the steering. It is currently in the body shop awaiting an estimate for repair. The Toyota dealer didn't want to look at it despite my description. I'm left traumatized, with likely whiplash and a wrecked car. This car is not safe! we are afraid to drive this car anywhere! I will also be contacting Toyota Corp. Regarding the apparent problem, the accident and the dealership's dismissal.

- Auburn, WA, USA

problem #303

Mar 282011

Corolla 4-cyl Diesel

  • 25,000 miles
Electric power steering over corrects. Dangerous while driving at high speeds. First time I had to report a life threatening incident. My 2009 Toyota caused me to pull over twice to check the steering. It felt as if was hit with by heavy winds. While driving at above 60mph I was fighting to control the steering, the car would cross over lanes was about to loose total control, on several long turns in the hwy. At times it was safer to drive with no hands.!!! there was no mechanical noise while driving, but I'm now afraid of the car, my daily commute is 80 miles. I purchased this card second hand from a dealer. Today I registered the car with Toyota.com after my terrifying experience; to my surprise the previous owner had reported a long list of issues from faulty sensors to steering problems. Hate to assume that this was the reason to trade-in the car. But ill be looking to do the same. I hope this helps NHTSA investigate this issues.

- Morristown, NJ, USA

problem #302

Mar 222011

Corolla 8-cyl

  • 39,600 miles
My 2009 Toyota Corolla purchased in December of 2010 has "wandered" slightly while driving at highway speed since I purchased it. This has been an intermittent occurrence that often left me questioning alignment or road condition until today when while driving to work the problem again occurred and unlike the previous occurrences where the car would drift slightly much like what might occur while driving in high wind, the car began to swerve in and out of the lane requiring me to come to nearly a complete stop in the middle of a freeway. This is my 3rd Toyota and 2nd Corolla (2003) traded in for this vehicle. I have been driving since 1977 and am a safe driver that understands that different models and equipment changes may create subtle differences from vehicle to vehicle. This condition is not however, something one can contribute to anything logically related as it starts without warning, usually at speeds over 50 to 55 mile per hour and in varying severity. This was a nuisance until today and now is something that leaves me fearful to drive as had there been a vehicle next to me, a collision most likely would have been unavoidable. The road surface was clear, the weather was clear and the wind was low, so weather did not play as a factor.

- Ferndale, MI, USA

problem #301

Feb 232011

Corolla

  • miles
This is my first complaint I've ever filed with the NHTSA, and it is because I believe now that our car is incredibly dangerous to drive unless substantial changes are made to the electric power steering. We recently purchased our 2009 Toyota Corolla, and at highway speeds (60-75 mph) the car is pushed around by wind constantly. Even if it isn't windy though, the car still will not track straight, and feels as though wind is pushing it from side to side. A few days ago, on a fairly windy day, I had to hold the steering wheel to the right to keep going straight and prevent the car from being pushed into the left lane on the highway. As soon as a short break in the wind happened though the car would then shoot over the line to the right (where the steering wheel was pointed to counteract the force of the wind pushing the vehicle to the left). Although on calm days it is sometimes only an annoyance, on windy days (even in light winds) it can become extremely dangerous at 70mph. I have owned many different vehicles over my years, and this is by far the worst handling car on a highway that I have ever driven.

- Columbia, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?