Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
42 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
26 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,395 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Toyota Corolla steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 6 of 18)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #259

Apr 262010


  • 10 miles


The steering on my 2009 Toyota Corolla xle has been an issue since the day I purchased it. There is a complete lack of steering 'feel' which results in oversteer and drifting into another lane or off the road. Numerous times cars in other lanes have had to make corrections to avoid a collision due to the drifting of my Corolla. Keeping the Corolla in your lane requires complete concentration which results in driver fatigue. Often I find myself 'twitching' the steering wheel back and forth to stay in my lane or on the pavement. I have taken my Corolla into the dealer and the dealer claims there is nothing wrong with the suspension. The dealer suggested there might have been a problem with the tires. I had the tires replaced with the highest quality Michelin tires available for my Corolla, had an alignment accomplished, and had the tires filled with nitrogen. These actions did not help the steering issues at all. There is a dangerous defect with the 2009 Toyota Corolla steering that needs to be addressed. At some point, loss of life is inevitable due to this problem and probably has already occurred. NHTSA, the owners of 2009 Corollas and all those that share the roadways with us desperately need for you to intervene to compel Toyota to address this problem. This is a major problem that has been well documented by various entities that test drive and write reviews on automobiles. Additionally, many individual owners have posted similar steering complaints in numerous forums on the web. Help!

- Lexington, NC, USA

problem #258

Apr 202010


  • 15,000 miles
My 2009 Toyota Corolla continues to have steering issues...oversteering, not staying centered in its lane. I have been to the dealership probably 12 or more times with this vehicle. I have had repeated problems with issues that I reported starting in late 2008. These issues are now under recall. I am still deeply concerned about the steering of my Corolla. I drive it as little as I can trying to stay off of the turnpike. I am concerned that this problem is actually unrepairable. I have contacted Toyota corporate more times than I can remember. Additionally, I have contacted both of my senators and also my congresswoman. I need this issue very carefully investigated. My son drove a Corolla for many years and never had this problem. I need your help and my guess is that others do as well.

- Wells, ME, USA

problem #257

Apr 052010


  • 6,000 miles
I had very scary experience with Toyota Corolla 2009 on highway drive. I am not able to control steering over 60mph. At higher than 60 mph the car is either shifting towards right or left. It was strange to see other vehicles are passing my car with no problems. I was holding my steering with both the hands but still its not in control.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #256

Dec 042009


  • 5 miles


Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) I own a 2009 Toyota Corolla 4dr. Sedan. [xxx]. this vehicle is not out of balance or alignment. You can not hold the car straight. It is going to go left or right within 3 to 5 seconds and in less than 10 seconds it would be in the right ditch or left. Extremely dangerous and nerve wracking. This vehicle should not be on the road.---when applying brakes, the RPM's go up about 200.

- Westhoff, TX, USA

problem #255

Feb 102009


  • 0 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that at high speeds, the front of the vehicle lifted because the steering was too powerful. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership but had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was 0. the current mileage was appproximately 35,000.

- San Leandro , CA, USA

problem #254

Dec 292009


  • 3,000 miles
My 2009 Toyota Corolla has a steering problem. The steering is too sensitive. If I look down for just a second or two, the car drifts off the road or it drifts into other lanes quickly. It is especially bad when the wind blows. It happens all of the time especially during medium to high speeds. It contributed to two separated accidents where the car drifted into the guardrail causing thousands of dollars in damage.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #253

Apr 082010


  • 9,500 miles


Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) 2009 Toyota Corolla with 9500 miles, has steering issue at speeds over 60 mph. Steering goes soft and feels like driving a shopping cart with loss of stability, wandering in lane, and feeling of wind gusts around car when it is not a windy day. Experienced in prior months beginning November 2009, bought car new in July 2009, mostly city driving, though. Drove from va beach to DC on April 7, 2010, returned April 8, 2010. Routes driven were 64 and 95. Most of stability loss occurred on southbound 95 in heavy traffic. I am an experienced driver with no accidents of any kind in over 30 years. I have driven toots primarily. I am filing this to report the unsafe condition, but there was no accident. Since originally feeling the stability loss in November, 2009, I have tried to catalog the times the car's steering is amiss. Overwhelmingly, it occurs at speeds of 65-70 mph, and in order to control the wandering, I grip the wheel tightly, like I am driving a snowmobile down a bumpy hill. It is exhausting, and very, very distracting. Only in the heavy traffic on 95 recently, I felt very unsure of my ability to control the car. I plan to discuss all of this with the local Toyota dealer. [xxx]

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #252

Apr 052010


  • 8,020 miles
I am having a problem with Toyota steering. I tried calling 3-4 times at Toyota santa monica, California tried doing online request on recalled car's appointment but everytime they said me that they will call me back but nobody called. I begin experiencing the steering issue again and when I went to the office here in santa monica they asked me to come back.they said office is open until 7pm but I went at 5pm and they did not assisted me. Anyways, I don't know what to do, my car has 3-4 recalls but none of them are addressed until now.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #251

Apr 022010


  • 6,000 miles
Since purchased, I have noticed at speeds over 40-50 mph the car is very difficult to keep moving in your lane. It feels as if a gust of wind blows the car either left or right out of its lane, yet it happens when there is no wind whatsoever. It requires two hands to be firmly placed on the wheel in order to keep control of your car and not pass into another lane. Took it to dealer, the found no problem and was unable to replicate the situation.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #250

Mar 302010


  • 16,000 miles
The car's power steering turns by itself when hitting bumps or rough patches on the road at higher speeds. It takes awareness and effort at times to keep the car straight. Although probably not an immediate safety threat, I imagine if not remedied, it will be a problem that gets worse and not better over time. This is an issue that occurs daily.

- Torrance, CA, USA

problem #249

Mar 282010


  • 16,500 miles


Lose some control over 2009 Corolla when driving at highway speeds. Car acts like it is being hit by a gust of wind from the side. Usually ends up pushing the car a number of feet to the right but I am able to get it under control before any accident occurs (so far). This is a recurring problem and always happens at highway speeds, ever since I purchase the car.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #248

Mar 102010


  • 4,800 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 25 mph in rainy conditions, the vehicle started steering to the right although she was driving in a straight direction. She had noticed that the steering felt loose prior to the failure. The contact was not sure if the vehicle also accelerated and steered to the right or if the only problem was the steering as the failure occurred so quickly. The VIN was unavailable.the failure mileage was approximately 4,800. The current mileage was 5,000.

- Derby, KS, USA

problem #247

Mar 272009


  • 10 miles
I purchased a Toyota Corolla 2009 new the steering is dangerous. If you happen to look away from the road in front of you for a moment, you may find yourself heading out of your lane when you look back. A friend of mine drove a Toyota Corolla from the state of Georgia to New York and didn't notice any problem with the steering. I ask him to test drive my car he noted it was difficult to stay in the lane the one he drove up from Georgia tracked straight and true. I took my Corolla back to the dealership they said every thing was in speck. I did some searching on the web and found there have been some accidents involving this car and the NHTSA has received over 820 complaints at this time. Please add mine to your growing list. Ps with the growing number of young kids using cell phones and texting these days they do not stand a chance in @#$% driving a car like this.

- Kirkville, NY, USA

problem #246

Mar 202010


  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the contact was driving at approximately 65 mph, when the vehicle suddenly began steering to the left. The contact stated that the power steering failed and the vehicle crashed into the side of a building. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for a diagnostics test and the dealer stated that he/she would call the contacts insurance company and the manufacturer. The current and failure mileages were approximately 28,000. Updated 05/11/10.

- Lancaster, PA, USA

problem #245

Nov 102008


  • 200 miles
Trying to make a U turn out of a parking lot, car straghtened itself out and sped up brakes did not work and we went over a curb and down an embankment and hit a tree. This only occured once. We had over $4000 in damageson a car with less than 200 miles on the speedometer.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #244

Feb 202010


  • 10 miles
My car(Corolla 2009) does not hold the road. Very hard to steer strait, makes me very nervous on freeways. I have had it in the shop for aligment 3 or 4 times. Wind and rain makes it worse. They know something was wrong from day, just like I did. I thought it was the tires after so many trips to service dept. I have been dealing with it. Until I read the news release on steering trouble.

- Jacksonville, IL, USA

problem #243

Aug 302009


  • 100 miles
Bought a new 2009 Corolla S in late August, 2009. The car has had a problem with steering since new. At highway speeds, the car is constantly "floating" from lane to lane because the new drive by wire electric motor tells the car to be in a constant "correction" mode, there is no "center" driving position. It's always either "correct left, or correct right". this makes the driver have to constantly "re-correct', and results in a constant "zig-zag" pattern at 65mph! that's driving like a drunk drives. The car drives like it's in a wind storm, even though there is no wind, and you can't predict when the next "gust" will drift you into the next lane. Greatly disappointed that Toyota would continue to allow these cars on the road without a fix. Was told by the Toyota service manager that my car "drives as designed". I know that, it's a bad design. Saw where there are many complaints about this on this site, we're not complaining just for the fun of it, we're honestly concerned for our safety. I also own three other older Toyota's, a Camry, a cressida, and a tercel with close to 300K miles. All of them drive better than this new Corolla. Shame on Toyota for allowing this to remain a problem. Was planning on giving this car to my daughter at college graduation. Now I don't want her to drive it unless it's fixed. I also know of two other buyers of 2009 Toyota Corollas, both S models, that have the same steering issues. Complaints unanswered by Toyota. My Corolla only has 5200 miles since last August, it mostly sat for the first few months, as I hated to have to drive it. Sad to have a new car and have to just "endure" driving it. Toyota needs to expedite a fix, before someone "drifts" into the path of a big rig. Help!! it could still be a good car, just fix the steering!!

- Mill Spring, NC, USA

problem #242

Mar 212010


  • 31,000 miles
I have a 2009 Toyota Corolla. The steering is not feels as though I am in gusty wind when driving at highway speeds, it also shifts to the right and left. I don't feel safe driving this car

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #241

Sep 012009


  • miles
I purchased a 2009 Toyota Corolla in June of 2008. Up until approximately the fall of 2009, it appeared to be driving satisfactorily. However, after that time, at highway speeds, the car "drifts" almost each and everytime this happens, I open my window to see if it is windy, because it feels like the car is being blown by the wind. My son sometimes drives my car and I asked him if he experienced this, and he said "yes", and it always attributes it to the wind, however, it is not always windy. It feels like there is a slight lack of control. Needless to say, it is very unnerving. I would say that in the past 3 months I notice this problem 3 times a week. When googling about the current Toyota problems, I came across a write up regarding "Toyota steering problems". then, I knew I wasn't just imagining what I had experienced. Therefore, I am hereby voicing my complaint.

- Wappingers Falls, NY, USA

problem #240

Mar 142010


  • 0 miles
2009 Toyota Corolla; same steering issues (at highway speed) noted by other drivers. Steering feels unstable, at times car feels as though it might veer into another lane. Happens regularly.

- Shaker Heights, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?