Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
8,902 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Corolla brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #50

Feb 082010


  • 500 miles


I have felt that there is a problem with the brakes of my 2010 Toyota Corolla since shortly after I bought it. The brakes vibrate or pulsate without warning. It seems that the ABS is activated for no reason. I am not stopping short and the road has not been slippery. I brought the car to the dealer and they claimed that there is nothing wrong with the brakes. Another problem I have noticed with the brakes is that they seem to grind when I am braking over bumpy surfaces. It happens with out warning, I never know when it will occur. I called the dealer and the mechanic said it is just the ABS, nothing to worry about. The problem seem similar to the prius brake complaints. Finally, I notice that sometimes as I am stopping that the brakes seem to slip a little but then take hold.

- Melrose, MA, USA

problem #49

Jan 012010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 6,300 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla le. While sitting idle in the parking position, the vehicle momentarily lunged forward. While traveling at various speeds as low as 50 mph, the vehicle would veer to the right. Also, the keyless remote, which also acts as a vehicle locator, would only operate intermittently. Often, the vehicle locator alarm would go off on without driver input. The dealer advised changing the batteries in the keyless remote. That did not correct the failure. The dealer then attempted to reprogram the keyless alarm sensor and advised the locator could only be used for short-range locating. No further repairs were performed on the vehicle. The failure and current mileages were approximately 6,300. The consumer stated the brakes did not perform as designed. Updated 07/19/10

- Ben Salem, PA, USA

problem #48

Jul 282009


  • miles
The braking on my 2010 Toyota Corolla le seems to be defective. When approaching any type of change in the road surface that requires me to put my foot lightly on the brake a vibration and weird feeling in the brake pedal take place. It's startling when it happens. My wife has experienced it from the passenger side and is afraid to drive it. I've expressed my concern to the dealership. They say it's normal. Very concerned about the safety of this car. I bought a Toyota for it's safety and reliability so far I'm very disappointed.

- Fitchburg, MA, USA

problem #47

Feb 202010


  • 10,000 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. While stopped at a stop sign the vehicle rmp went up to 3,000 she had to park the vehicle for a while for it to slow down. She had experienced these failure several times. The contact stated that a few weeks after she purchased the vehicle she noticed the brakes were slow to respond when she drove 35 mph over speed bumps or any holes. She took the vehicle to the dealer twice. The dealer stated the vehicle had been test driven and they could not duplicate the failures. The failure mileage was 10,000 and the current mileage was 12,000.

- Newark , NJ, USA

problem #46

Mar 062010


  • 2,382 miles
In my 2010 Toyota Corolla xle with 2382 miles on it, I experienced brake failure and difficulty steering while descending down a slight grade. There was no braking action when I pushed the brake pedal as far as it could go. Simultaneously heard a loud scraping sound and detected an odor. Reported incident to the dealer immediately.

- Bethel Park, PA, USA

problem #45

Jan 282010


  • 468 miles
I have been taking my Corolla to the dealership almost every week since 01/28/2010 and every week I complained about how the car was drifting side to side and how on low windy days I have to fight the steering wheel to keep it in its lane at speeds above 65mph. And every time I take it over there they say "well the car is working to factory standards" and they will send me on my way. I have had my brakes bled and my car alignment done twice and the car only has 2000+ miles on it. So I took the car back to the dealership from where I bought it and they gave me this cust states vehicle is all over the road at highway speeds like the computer is driving the car on its own ~|~performed health check on all systems. No trouble codes stored. Test drove vehicle on 10 mile trip and ~|~vehicle performed as designed at this time. Please direct customer to Toyota at 1-800-331-4331 if they have any other questions. So I took the car back and called the # to them and they said since the tech could not find the problem then there is no problem. Bull. So on 03/01/2010 I took my car back in to the dealership to have someone go on a drive with me and I made sure it was a windy day so they can see how hard it is to keep the car centered in its lane. The mechanic that went with me said oh I see what you are talking about he even had a hard time keeping the car from wondering off. So he said well it could be the tires are not to the right pounds. I said nope I had the air done to factory standards of 35psi all around. So he said he will need the car for over a day and scheduled appt for me to come in I took it back on 03/03/2010 and haven't had my car back since then. They still have my car in the shop as I type. So there is definitely a problem with the car. I feel like I can hurt or even kill someone in the car because of it. I have had more problems with this car and its not even 60 days old yet. Plus I already had the recall done on it too.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #44

Nov 042009


  • 4,000 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated his vehicle is having steering problems. He was driving 60mph when the vehicle became very hard to keep the vehicle on the road. The contact stated he took the vehicle to the dealer and they told him it was something with his steering. They adjusted his tire pressure and told him it should have been fine. The contact stated he is still having this issue. He also had a problem with the brakes, the contact stated that the vehicle is hard to stop at times. He is unsure if this is an acceleration problem, he feels as if it is his brakes. The failure mileage was 4,000 and the current mileage was 6,000.

- Portcraine, NY, USA

problem #43

Dec 272009


  • 13,000 miles
I have a 2010 Toyota Corolla. Dec.24 2009 was a report of the first failure. I was driving out of a residential parking lot and applied my brakes before I approached the street and my car ended up accelerating hitting the passenger door of another vehicle. Moreover if I drive over a bumpy surface or pot hole my pedals start to kick back or vibrate. Don't know what to call it. Also I have 2 recalls for my vehicle according to Toyota service center. After fixing my recall I now have a new problem with my car. It makes squeak sounds and squeals as I apply my foot on the accelerator. I took it back to the Toyota service center on Mar.2 and they told me after waiting 2 hours that nothing was wrong with my car and put on my service receipt as "normal noise". also regarding the accident a Toyota inspector from corporate inspected my car before my recall was fixed and despite the two recalls said that my vehicle has no problems and the accident had nothing to do with it. I now drive a 2010 Toyota Corolla that squeals and squeaks every day and my insurance company is fighting property damage and bodily injury claims from the driver I struck on the passenger side and everything appears to be my fault and not Toyota. Im in such distress with Toyota I don't know what more to do. I gave them chance after chance to help me but its just getting worse. This is my first new car and also my first accident I ever had. Im scared that I have to pay 20,000 for the next five years for a defected car. Please help!

- Newark, NJ, USA

problem #42

Jan 152010


  • 500 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that when she depressed the brake pedal, there was a slight hesitation before the brake pedal was applied and slowed the vehicle down. She stated that the problem occurred most of the time when she asserted the brake. Furthermore, she stated that the rear seat belts did not work; the buckle wouldn't lock in place. She had not taken the vehicle in to the dealership for inspection and had not called the manufacturer to-date. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The current mileage was approximately 785. The failure mileage was approximately 500.

- Kenmore, NY, USA

problem #41

Feb 152010


  • 300 miles
While traveling at about 50 mph the gauges went instantly from 50 to 0. at the same time multiple warning lights came on the dash. The car still had power when stepping on the gas, lights and radio were still on. When attempting to turn to get off the road, then steering wheel clicked and locked. There was no steering. My brakes did work. It was as if the car had shut itself off and then back on, but didn't unlock the steering. The car was new with less than 300 miles on it. This was the first incident of this kind, I had no other problems with the car until then. The car was towed to the local dealership. It was tested the next day & I was told it was a speed sensor, but the sensor was not replaced. They connected it to the computer and reprogrammed it and said it was good to go. I refused to accept it until they could tell me why it happened and what they had replaced to guarantee it would not happen again. They were unable to do so and ended up replacing my car with a new one.

- Astoria, OR, USA

problem #40

Aug 102009


  • 2,000 miles


I want to share my experience with Toyota Corolla that I bought from germain Toyota in sarasota in July of 2009. While driving on I-275, I applied brakes. For a moment the brakes did not work, and car kept racing. I sent car back to dealer, the dealer inspected the car and found nothing wrong with the brakes please note, I raised the issue with dealer in Aug 2009, much before the official recall was ordered. The dealer was concerned and did tow the car to dealership and had the brake assembly inspected. I have dealer report, and this incident is recorded with the dealer.

- Palmetto, FL, USA

problem #39

Mar 032010


  • 1,400 miles
I drive Toyota Corolla ls 2010. I was driving to work today approximately with 45M/H. I was getting ready to take an exit from the highway, I saw couple cars were stopped in the middle of the exit approximately meter away from me. I decided to reduce the speed and getback to the highway(to get around them so I can take my exit. I hit my brake slightly to slow down my car did not even change speed, I tried couple times nothing happened. Then I decided to step on the brake all the way my car did not change the speed at all it was going at the same speed. My car was traveling straight road for 7-8 seconds, then I had to make a quick decision so I will not hit the cars that was onfront of me(they were stopped in the middle of the road for some reason) because I was getting too close. I decided to get back to highway so I willnot hit anyone. But after I tried to get back to the highway I totally lost my control of the car. The car moved with no control for several seconds then I and up in the middle of the highway. I was lucky everyone was behind me and they stayed away from my car. I just took my car to be fixed from the sticking acceleration problem. I believe my breaks did not worked at that point and my car was moving with the same speed. Afterward I was able to move my car and my brakes were working. I am worried to drive that car. I do not feel safe. I could of hurt the lady and her kids that were behind me.

- High Point, NC, USA

problem #38

Feb 092010


  • 50 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact was driving approximately 50 mph. The brake pedal was engaged twice before the vehicle came to a complete stop. The failure occurred whenever the vehicle was in operation. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for inspection. The technician stated the brake system was functioning properly. The identical failure occurred on a separate occasion. The vehicle is in the process of being taken back to the authorized dealer. The manufacturer has not been notified at this time. The current mileage was 1,493. The failure mileage was approximately 50.

- Oakdale, CA, USA

problem #37

Feb 262010


  • 2,780 miles
Driving 2010 Toyota le on highway, turned off highway, turned to off ramp as power steering allowed car to veer to the left side of the highway. As the car approached the stop sign, the foot brake was applied, and felt spongy and the car suddenly veered to the left side of the road and came to a stop facing oncoming traffic which could have caused an accident. Contacted the dealership that told me to bring the car in for inspection. An appointment was made for today.

- Galt Ca., CA, USA

problem #36

Jan 142010


  • 60 miles
I leased a 2010 Corolla in Dec,2010. When you apply the brakes the pedal goes all the way to the floor. Took back to dealer and he said he drove another Corolla and the brake operated the same way, he said nothing was wrong since the vehicle stopped O.K. if you pump the pedal once the brakes engage the way they should...I thing there is a problem with this vehicle.

- Bedford, KY, USA

problem #35

Feb 212010


  • 3,105 miles
I am filing this report to have documentation for my records. It is on my 2010 Corolla now having complete brake failure issues. It started on Feb. 21,2010. The brakes started to go completely to the floor. On February 24, the brakes went completely to the floor at a 5 way intersection, and I went through a stop light. I could not stop the car. That same day I went through a stop sign and had to jam on my emergency brake, so I didn't go onto a major traveled route in Vermont. This is the same problem I reported to the NHTSA on 12/12/09. The ODI number is 10295431. I would like to know what was done with that complaint" did it ever get forwarded to Mr. Toyodo himself, congress (for the hearings"). I had complete brake failure issues for over 14 months with my 2009 Corolla. What did you do with that information" the only recall I saw was for the prius" what a joke! now my 2010 Corolla has complete brake failure. Again Toyota gets away with covering up their mistakes, and your Agency does nothing. The same as covering up the new pedal recall not correcting the issue of acceleration (my ODI number for this is 10314851). I have all my records and am showing them to the media (national & local). I am stating below the incident date for my current car brake failure issues is February 21st. I am however stating injuries and reported to the police. I had an acceleration incident on January 18, 2010 with my 2009 Corolla. During the incident I had complete brake failure and was injured. I did report it to the police.

- Enosburg Falls, VT, USA

problem #34

Feb 242010


  • 3,500 miles
My 2010 Toyota Corolla often makes a loud noise coming from under the engine compartment along with friction onto the brake pedal, sometimes it occurs when driving over rough or bumpy roads or when braking in emergency (hard braking). Dealer says they have checked the car and have been unable to recreate the problem the two (2) times I have had it checked.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #33

Dec 202009


  • 300 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. He stated that when driving 25 mph and making a turn the steering wheel stayed in that same position and never returned to the straight position. He also stated that when driving and trying to engage the brake pedal he had to apply a lot pressure on the pedal so that it could decrease the speed. The failure was duplicated and the contact advised that the vehicle was functioning normally. No repairs were made to the vehicle. The failure mileage was 300 and the current mileage was 888.

- North Hollywood, CA, USA

problem #32

Feb 092010


  • 1,000 miles
I purchased a new Toyota Corolla in Jan 2010. I took it to the dealer for gas pedal recall in the first week of Feb. After that I started facing brake issues. One day my car moved few inches back on uphill in spite of me applying the brakes. I called the dealer right away. They refused to take a look the same day as they did not have time. Next morning the brakes failed again when I was driving downhill resulting in me hitting the car infront. I again took my car to the dealer. After test driving they tell me that they can not repro the problem. The issue with the brake is an intermittent one. It does not always happen, but when it does it is very dangerous.

- Sammamish, WA, USA

problem #31

Feb 102010


  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. While the contact was driving 60 mph using the cruise control the vehicle suddenly accelerated from 60 mph to 70 mph without warning, in order to stop the acceleration the contact had to deactivate the cruise control. The contact also noticed that whenever she applied the brakes they hesitate to engage increasing the stopping distance. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealership and there were no prior warnings, the current and failure mileages were 2000. Updated 4/5/10

- Mesa, AZ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?