Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
8,902 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Corolla brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #30

Jan 072010

Corolla

  • 1,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought my Toyota Corolla S on December 30, 2009. Within a week of purchasing the car, I noticed that the brake pedal began to feel spongy and non-responsive. I contacted the dealer and was initially told that this model had a longer brake travel than previous model years. I persisted in getting the dealer to adjust the rear linings and bleed the brakes and this seemed to help somewhat. But as the brakes wear, I can feel the problem occurring again. The brake pedal is difficult to modulate, has a spongy, non-linear feel that increases braking distances and makes the car more difficult to drive. I feel that there is a design flaw in these cars that should be rectified immediately by Toyota.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #29

Feb 222010

Corolla

  • 2,650 miles
Since purchasing this car, the brakes have "locked up" occasionally. We took the car to Toyota to have this checked last week; they performed two recalls and stated that the car was driving properly. Since then, the brakes have locked up twice. I liken it to how your car feels when there is low traction - but the low traction light does not come on and I am not driving on ice, gravel, etc. I am always on clear asphalt. The car makes a "metallic humming" sound and the brakes lock up for approximately 4-5 seconds, during which time I cannot stop. Luckily, 90% of the time when this happens, there is no one in front of me; however, last week I was driving in downtown pittsburgh and I slid into the intersection.

- Mckees Rocks, PA, USA

problem #28

Feb 102010

Corolla

  • 4,000 miles
I am having a major problem with my brakes in my Toyota Corolla 2010 vehicle it has less then 5,000 miles and yet the brakes have to be practically pushed to the floor to work, they seem to be not working properly, especially on ice cold days. I almost had an accident and let me tell you I am a very cautious driver and am scared that eventually my brakes will not stop and I will be killed or worse yet kill another person by hitting them with my car. I noticed a recall back in August about the same issue but not for cars sold in pa. It gets very cold here too. They should have recalled all of these vehicles before their are lots of deaths.

- Beach Lake, PA, USA

problem #27

Nov 022009

Corolla

  • 269 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When I took my vehicle to the dealer for it's 3 month checkup, I informed them that I was having issues with the brakes and the steering. I told them that the car feels like it is out of alignment because when driving over 45mph the car pulls to one side and it is difficult to keep in a single lane on the highway. When I described the braking issues with the car, they told me that "the brakes are different than what I have been used to with other vehicles. The brakes don't seem to engage until the pedal is at the floor board. When they were ready to turn the car back over to me they told me that they did an alignment on the car and that they adjusted the rear brakes and bled the lines. I noticed that when they "test drove" the car they only went 3 miles. That distance, in the part of town where the dealer is located doesn't even get the car up to 40 mph. The original complaint of the car drifting is still there. Now the brakes hop and chatter when you press on the brake pedal at speeds of appx 45 mph, and when at a complete stop the car tends to creep forward even though the brakes are fully engaged. I bought this vehicle solely on the Toyota reputation, and now I am sorry that I did. I bought this vehicle on November 2,2009 and am still waiting to hear anything from Toyota regarding the accelerator pedal recall/repair. I should have gone with my first instinct and bought the Dodge instead of the Toyota.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #26

Nov 152009

Corolla

  • 6,000 miles
Problems with our Toyota Corolla steering does not feel right brakes are not right accerator pedal recall I have called Toyota and I get no reseults from my problems. My wife does'nt feel safe driving this car. I want Toyota to take this car back.they have told us no way.car has only 6,000miles on it.

- Wilder, VT, USA

problem #25

Feb 192010

Corolla

  • 2,500 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. Whenever the contact applied the brakes, she noticed that the brake pedal had to be pushed to the floor in order to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealership where the contact was informed that the vehicle was working properly. The current and failure mileages were 2500.

- Enosburg Falls, VT, USA

problem #24

Aug 162009

Corolla

  • 100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the brakes seemed to release when she drove approximately 5 mph over a bumpy surface. The vehicle also occurred while driving over icy road surfaces or rocks. The failure mileage was 100. The current mileage was 2,452.

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #23

Jan 232010

Corolla

  • 9,032 miles
I purchased a brand new 2010 Corolla at Toyota city, mamaroneck, NY on 8/31/09. I felt vibration in the steering mechanism, a strange feeling in the brakes, heard a noise in steering wheel, and a strange feeling in the way the car rode immediately when turning and brought the car back to the dealership on 10/5/09. I did not bring it back right away due to time constraints, and I felt maybe I needed to get used to the car. I had a 2003 Corolla before, and this car felt completely different in its ride. Not as tight a ride. On 10/5/09 the car was in the shop all day and they found it had warped rotors and needed new brakes. They told me the car's brakes maybe had gotten wet sitting in the rain, which caused the problem. I felt that was very odd on a brand new car, and with its predelivery inspecting this was missed. They covered the repair. I drove the car again and brought it back on 10/19/09. There was still the same problem, with a vibration in the steering wheel. This time they balanced the tires. Again, not clear why they did not do this before. I still heard a noise in the steering wheel and felt the car did not have a tight driving feel. They told me to live with the steering wheel problem. It was how the power assist system worked in the steering wheel. The steering feels completely different from my 2003 Toyota Corolla. I have felt the brakes do not respond well, and pulsate on engagement, and I feel the car still moves forward, when trying to stop. On 1/23/10 I hit a deer. I live in an area where there a lot of deer and for 18 years have been able to stop and never hit one. Not sure what went wrong here. On 2/5/10, green tree Toyota in danbury, ct test drove my car for the brakes. Said they were fine. I feel I do not have control of this vehicle like I did with other Toyota and feel there is something very wrong with the brakes and steering.

- Pawling, NY, USA

problem #22

Jan 152010

Corolla

  • 2,543 miles
Tengo un Corolla Y tngo problemas con la dieccion de mi auto una ves estaba en el freeway como a 60 millas Y trate de frenar porq otro auto SE me atraveso sin poner su direccional Y a alta velocidad Y no lo podia controlar el bolante SE hacia de un lado a otro eto me preocupa Y E llamado a mi vendedor para consular Y no me contestan nunca cualquier pregunta llamarme.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #21

Dec 022009

Corolla

  • 2 miles
For car braking system: As you press the brake pedal, you have to press it really hard for it to start to stop the car, if you stop the car, and release the break pedal the car goes so fast that it seems like you are pressing the gas pedal ( but nobody is pressing no pedal at all). The braking on a shallow road makes the car shake especially the braking pedals and it makes noise, and at the same time it is needed to put some extra force and push the brakes really hard for it to work, the road does not need to be that bad for it to happen, at times it happens on a very small depression.

- Sunnyside, NY, USA

problem #20

Feb 152010

Corolla

  • 2,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Multiple incidents... the three most recent occurred on 2/8, 2/10, and 2/15 of 2010. This problem has been happening since we purchased the car, I figured it was just because it was a new vehicle and needed driven (broken in) so the brakes would find their best working levels. The problem occurs when driving, at any speed, and in all road conditions. The incident on 2/8 my wife was driving and only going about 5-8 mph. As she made a turn the car proceeded to shutter and the low traction light again came on, no braking was available during this incident, but luckily she was able to come to a stop before hitting another vehicle. On 2/10 I was going to take this car to finally have them fix the problem and in (very safe) good driving conditions I experienced what my wife had explained that the car has been doing for the better of 6 months. As you proceed to come to a stop the car accelerates upon depressing the brake pedal. When this happens (I have tested this) if you keep the pedal at the same point the car will continue to speed up slowly, but if you take your foot off the brake the car seems to maintain the speed. Now this is where my wife will not drive the car any longer, when you press the brake further down to stop it locks the tires for about a second before the ABS even kicks in. Being that this is a cold area and we likely have snow during the winter months I am amazed that if any other Corolla are having this problem they all have not slid off the road. When I experienced this problem on 2/10 I was going to take it to Toyota for service. Never made it, did not trust the vehicle to safely get me to my destination without injury to myself, others, or property. The last incident on 2/15 was the same problem, and at this point my wife will no longer drive the car. This is the vehicle we purchased to keep our newborn safe... looks to have been a poor choice. I finally risked my life and took it to Toyota tonight, we will see what comes of this. Thanks

- Mckees Rocks, PA, USA

problem #19

Jan 222010

Corolla

  • 2,000 miles
On November 27, 2009, I bought a 2010 Toyota Corolla from lake city, fl Toyota. While stopped at a red traffic light, I noticed that the brake pedal moved down more light air was in the brakes. This has happened twice. I also have heard a rubbing sound when I turn my steering wheel. That has happened twice also. My first payment is next month and I am very upset about this. I am taking my car into the Toyota dealership in lake city, fl in the morning.

- Lake City, FL, USA

problem #18

Nov 102009

Corolla

  • miles
I purchased a 2010 Toyota Corolla toward the end of 2009. I will advise that something is not right with the braking system. The brake pedal is "soft", and at times when pressed and the car comes to a full stop, it feels like the pedal keeps sinking. The brake pedal response does not feel consistent, and occasionally I "pump" it in order to get a more firm feedback (the pedal seems to firm up at second press ). luckily no accidents to report, the car keeps stopping, and a " no problem" message received from the dealer when I took the car in for a check soon after purchase. I thought it was just me, but now I have to wonder!

- Mission Viejo, CA, USA

problem #17

Jan 052010

Corolla

  • 600 miles
The brake of Toyota Corolla 2010 does not respond effectively. It is hard to make a complete stop even it is completely pressed down to the floor, which is really scary. I am in el paso, and it is a hot area. So the brake recall on some of the cold states does not make sense. It should recall all of the Corolla 2010 for brake fix.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #16

Feb 072010

Corolla

  • 1,690 miles
When I quickly braked, the brakes shuddered and made a loud scraping noise. I noticed a slower response after pressing on the brake pedal. It has happened a few times before this incident. Even driving on the highway, there is a noticeable amount of vibration coming from the brake pedal.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #15

Feb 022010

Corolla

  • 4,000 miles
Brakes unresponsive, requires depression of pedal to the floorboard before brakes begin engaging. Occurs at all speeds. Dealer adjusted brakes and bled lines and this issue continues. I was told that the braking system is different than what I am used to and I have to get used to it.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #14

Jan 262010

Corolla

  • 1,250 miles
2010 Toyota Corolla, experience loud noises when braking while going over rough road, speed bumps or grates in the road at low speeds.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #13

Feb 082010

Corolla

  • 3,900 miles
2010 Toyota Corolla brake failure which was reported to dealership caused an accident with my parents. Dealership claimed the reviewed brakes and there was no issue. My father reported to officer that brakes did not work.

- Freehold, NJ, USA

problem #12

Jan 072010

Corolla

  • 3,400 miles
2010 Corolla S. when hitting pothole, uneven surfaces, or when vehicle weight shifts such as going over the top of a hill the vehicles ABS comes on and vehicle delays in stopping. The brake pedal vibrates but the car is not in a skid happens at low speeds 25 miles per hour or less.

- Payson, AZ, USA

problem #11

Feb 092010

Corolla

  • 1,100 miles
I was driving slowly cause of snowy conditions, I applied the brakes gently starting almost 20 -30 ft before reaching the vehicle in front of me, to make a stop but there was no response and the car just rolled on to hit a Ford SUV. With the brake fully depressed I was almost 10 feet away from the vehicle in front. No one was injured. The car did not swing or skid, it went straight. My car front bumper and hood was damaged. This is my first accident in my driving career. I took my car to the dealer, and lodged a complaint with Toyota.

- Downers Grove, IL, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?