Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
45 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
32 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,567 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Corolla engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 2 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #131

Apr 132014

Corolla

  • 56,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving on route 30 East in pa, I experienced a scenario where I was on cruise control and pressed the brake. The car continued to accelerate at its speed and subsequent pressings of the brakes did not slow the car. I shifted the car into neutral and the brakes still were not slowing the car enough. I had to drive into the left shoulder and grass beyond that in order to slow the car down enough to let other cars pass so I could go into the right lane. The next business I took my car to the dealer and after driving 7 miles and looking for error codes, reported that they "could not reproduce the issue". my car already had all the fixes for the unintended acceleration issue that Toyota had a number of recalls for done in December 2013. This issue needs to be further investigated by Toyota because if the reported fixes do not work, then there could be a significant number of accidents/fatalities yet to come. I never had experienced this issue before.

- Quakertown, PA, USA

problem #130

Feb 152010

Corolla

  • 432 miles
All I remember is feeling scared..and began to pray...as the vehicle accelerated to uncontrollable speeds, and not being able to stop..

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #129

Apr 072014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated while driving 5 mph, the vehicle accelerator pedal became stuck which made her lose control and crash into another vehicle. A police report was filed and no injuries were reported. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure and current mileage was unknown. Updated 6/10/14

- Otis Orchards, WA, USA

problem #128

Apr 092014

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Gas pores out of the tank when filled. Gas pedal sticks.

- Carrollton, TX, USA

problem #127

Feb 172014

Corolla

  • 26,700 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while attempting to park, the engine rpms increased excessively as the vehicle accelerated without warning. The failure was recurring. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 26,700.

- Framingham, MA, USA

problem #126

Jan 122014

Corolla

  • 80,500 miles
I was driving my 2010 Toyota Corolla uphill and it felt as if I slid/slipped a little on the road, which was not slippery. The vsc off light and check engine light both started flashing on and off...and it seemed as if I lost power. Finally regained power to a normal speed but lights still flashing and power lost again. This happened for the first time on Sunday night. Then didnt occur again until Wednesday afternoon. Same thing driving along normally and it felt as if my vehicle was going to shutdown please help.

- Flemingsburg , KY, USA

problem #125

Oct 282013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 36,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I [xxx] the owner of Toyota Corolla 2010 (license plate: [xxx], licensed with the state of Maryland VIN no: [xxx]), residing at [xxx], while trying to park in my residential apartments at the above mentioned address (at a speed of 3-5 mph), applied the brakes and all of a sudden it caused an unintended acceleration and I hit the huge metallic trash bins in front of me at a very high speed on October 28th, 2013. The airbags did not deploy, but the front of my car got damaged heavily. It has been towed away by my insurance company geico to one of their body shops. My left ear and neck are in great pain since then and my wife tejaswi peri who was the passenger along with me suffered left knee sprain. We have been in a state of utter shock and dismay since this incident as this was completely unexpected. I have been a safe driver since the past 7 years and have never had any accidents, violations etc. Also I never mistook the gas pedal for the brake during my whole driving career and I use only one leg for this purpose. My vehicle when I purchased in 2010 was inspected 2-3 times for this and other issues by the dealer/Toyota. The initial estimates as per my insurance agent are several grand (dollars) and the damage to the car is extensive. The insurance company's body shop is working on it. Please see the attachments that show the car was taken to the Toyota dealer within a few months of purchasing it for acceleration problems and also the edr reports, service statement showing that this model is a part of a open recall service by Toyota. I opened a case with Toyota usa headquarters about the unintended acceleration that caused the accident yesterday. The case# is [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).... updated 03/19/15

- Greenbelt, MD, USA

problem #124

Nov 042013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
2010 Toyota Corolla. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle sudden acceleration problems.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #123

Oct 102013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
My Toyota Corolla 2010 car has manual transmission. When I drove at about 35mph on city street and hit brake pedal, engine suddenly roared to 8000rpm. I depressed the clutch fully, turned off engine, hit hard the brake pedal, turned left to median; the car hit hard the median curb and stopped partly in left lane. After several attempts on pedals and turned on engine, it still roared in the first several tries. The car eventually worked normally after 10 minutes and no injury happened. I never let the engine run over 5000rpm even when I tested the car and engine; my maximal running RPM is about 3000. This 8000rpm should not be from my operation. I was not convinced on 'stick pedal" or "floor mat" cause for this case. The sequence "turned off engine, braked" might be good to "braked to stop and turned off engine" because it is too hard to brake with engine off. But, when you hear the scary 8000rpm roaring engine, the first reaction is turn it off. I have scheduled an appointment with dealer.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #122

Jun 032013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 21,913 miles
I was on the highway going about 70mph. My exit was coming up on the right side so I put my foot on the brake to slow down. However the brake stuck and the vehicle wouldn't slow down, it kept going. I had the cruise control on, and usually if I brake without first turning it off it slows down, but that didn't happen. So I turned the cruise control off but nothing happened. My car kept going. I pushed down on the brake, but that made the car accelerate even more. I checked to make sure the pedal wasn't stuck, it wasn't, but I knew that wasn't the problem because my car was accelerating when I was hitting the brake. Luckily there was no one in front of me because I was going over 110mph. I sped at this speed for quite a ways maybe 3/4 of a mile. I thought I was going to die and had my phone in my had to call 911. I kept pushing on the brake since I didn't know what else to do (this of course made me go faster and faster). The brake wouldn't go down though. I didn't understand what was happening. It was like stuck? finally I heard my accelerate pop. And the car started to decelerate.

- Cedar Rapids, IA, USA

problem #121

Jul 292013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 23,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On Monday July 29,2013 while I was set on 70 mph cruise control, my Toyota Corolla suddenly surged forward. I have no idea how fast it made the car go, but I have never been in anything going that fast. I had to take the car into the grass median to avoid hitting another car when the brakes would not stop my car. We still flew down the grass median like a speed boat hitting waves, we were bouncing, the car was bouncing, I had severe cramps and stabbing across my lower kidney area when we finally came to a stop. I had to hold the brake pedal to the floor for what seemed like eternity. Before it finally stopped. I reported the incident in great detail to Toyota corporate and my case was #1307291802.(this case # is no longer valid) I was told at that time if I felt safe, I could take it to my dealer in D.M.,Iowa where I leased the car in 2010, or if I felt unsafe, I could take it to adams Toyota in lee's summit, Missouri. Then, my daughter-in-law called adams on my behalf and they gave her an entirely new case number because the first rep who took the report did not understand there was damage.my new case # is 1308011967. I felt I never want to be in that Corolla again, so I did take it to adams and they provided me with a Scion rental to get back to home and work in Iowa. Toyota has inspected the car and has up to 30 days to give me their report. I am to receive a copy of the data imaging extracted from the black box also.

- Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #120

Sep 042011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 11,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while stopped with the brake pedal depressed, the vehicle accelerated independently and crashed into a tree. The driver of the vehicle was transported to the hospital via ambulance for treatment of injuries to the jaw. The vehicle was destroyed. A police report was not filed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 11,000....... updated 03/19/15 updated 6/19/15

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #119

Jun 262013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
2010 Toyota Corolla. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle sudden acceleration. The consumer stated the vehicle became uncontrollable as he was parking in a parking lot. The consumer stated no matter how hard he tried, the vehicle accelerated and would not stop. As a result, he struck some shopping carts, that damaged another vehicle. The consumer received a recall notice on October 28, 2010. He took the vehicle took the dealer, where they replaced the actuator. Updated 08/15/13

- Amherst, NY, USA

problem #118

May 122013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while sitting idle, the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The contact was unable to stop the vehicle until it crashed into a ditch. The contact stated that the engine was still running, the rpms were high and the tires were spinning after the incident. There were no injuries. The vehicle was previously serviced under NHTSA campaign id number: 10V017000 (vehicle speed control) where the dealer installed a re-enforcement bar to prevent possible acceleration. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileages were 15,000.

- Gaithersburg , MD, USA

problem #117

Jul 062013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 44,095 miles
The gas pedal suck to the floor when accelerating with the cruise control on. I pulled off road, put car in neutral and shut motor off. Gas pedal was still stuck to floor. Tried pulling pedal up to no avail. Turned ignition to the on position and pedal still stuck. After stomping it several times gas pedal unstuck. You could here something underneath the hood release it. Definitely not a floor mat problem!!

- Rosman, NC, USA

problem #116

Mar 172013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the brakes were applied as she approached a traffic stop. However, the vehicle accelerated independently with a substantial increase in engine rpms. The vehicle failed to decelerate and the contact crashed into another vehicle. The front passenger sustained minor injuries to the chest and the contact sustained a bruise to the left arm as the front air bag deployed. A police report was filed of the incident. The vehicle was towed to a collision center. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 10V023000 (vehicle speed control) however, the VIN was not included in the recall. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 33,000. Updated 05/08/13

- Ashland, KY, USA

problem #115

Feb 202013

Corolla

  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving at low speeds and parking the vehicle, the vehicle accelerated to higher speeds without warning. As a result, the contact crashed into a building and sustained injuries to the nose and right breast from the impact of the air bag and seat belt. The police were contacted and a report was filed. The vehicle was later towed to an independent mechanic, where it was pending an investigation. The manufacturer was contacted the contact was awaiting a response. The failure and current mileages were approximately 64,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Phoenix City, AL, USA

problem #114

Nov 202012

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 565,000 miles
First, the trunk stopped opening from the inside. Also, the vsc off light, check engine light, and traction light all came on at the same time while I was driving and I have no idea why. The gas cap was on tightly, the fuel levels were right, there was no need for an oil change, and the car is only 2 1/2 years old in which I did not do any wreckless driving.

- Jonesboro, GA, USA

problem #113

Oct 182010

Corolla

  • 24,102 miles
I am driving my car going approx. 45 - 55miles a hour when suddenly the check engine light comes on. When this occurs the car gradually begins to slow down and will not allow me to accelerate. I can press the pedal down but the car does not read that I am pressing the pedal. Stability control light begins to blink and car gradually comes to a full stop. When I pull over the rpms are revving above 1 RPM but I am not pressing the gas. This has been going on and the dealer simply told one time I needed a new battery. I bought it from them. They said your alternator is bad and I replaced it and check engine and stability light come on again. I shouldn't have so many problem with a car that was bought brand new and is not even 2yrs old.

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #112

Oct 202012

Corolla

  • 16,426 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while traveling 45 mph, the vehicle erroneously accelerated. The contact shifted into neutral where he was able to slow down and pull into a nearby parking lot. The vehicle was restarted and the accelerator pedal returned to normal position. The vehicle was driven to the dealer where the failure could not be replicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the issue. The failure mileage was 16,426 and the current mileage was unavailable.

- Union Pier, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?