Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
45 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
32 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,567 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Corolla engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 3 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #111

Oct 072012

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while parking the vehicle, it suddenly accelerated crashing into the back of a house. The contact mentioned that the failure occurred after the vehicle had been repaired under NHTSA recall campaign id number: 10V023000 (vehicle speed control: Accelerator pedal). The vehicle was destroyed. No injuries were reported. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not inspected. The failure and current mileage was 25,000. Updated 11/29/12 updated 12/03/12

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #110

Mar 012012

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
This vehicle uses a drive by wire (dwb) accelerator. When you press on the gas the car lurches forward. This happened on a rental car in 2010 and still is a problem on the used Toyota I purchased. When I contacted Toyota they stated there was no recall information. They asked me to have the vehicle diagonized at my expense, which I refused to do. This is a problem and based on information on the net others are having the same problem. I have owned many cars and not one has had such a touchy pedal.

- Tualatin, OR, USA

problem #109

Aug 072012

Corolla

  • 37,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the vehicle accelerated suddenly. The failure recurred whenever the contact was driving 20-25 mph and removing pressure from the accelerator pedal. The contact stated that the vehicle had to be shifted into neutral with the brakes applied for ten to fifteen seconds in order for the engine to idle. The vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA recall campaign id number: 10V023000 (vehicle speed control: Accelerator pedal) in December 2010. The contact took the vehicle back to the dealer and was told that since the failure did not occur when they had the vehicle in their possession, they were unable to assist. The failure mileage was 37,000.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #108

Feb 272012

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 9,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle stability control light flashing, engine light is on, vehicle is revving too fast, accelerator has no response. Toyota dealer informed me about the throttle is defected & they have no fix for it. They may have to contact Toyota corporate for fix. I have done previous recall on it also. I think the vehicle is defected "lemon". Toyota should replace the vehicle or reimburse me the whole amount.

- Dublin, CA, USA

problem #107

Jan 192012

Corolla

  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact was driving 60 mph when the vehicle begin to accelerate abnormally to 80 mph. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer for a diagnostic test where the dealer advised the contact that the diagnostic did not generate any failure codes for the vehicle. The contact did not call the manufacturer and the vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 32,000.

- Richmond, ME, USA

problem #106

Dec 292011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 9,020 miles
When I was driving my Toyota Corolla 2010 on 12/29/2011 at around $10.30 pm, suddenly I felt that the steering was so rigid to turn and noticed in the car dashboard warning indicator lights for ABS, engine malfunction/check engine indicator, brake, vsc off, were illuminating. And the vehicle was totally stopped in the middle of the road. I was totally shocked!!!!!!!!!!! I tried again to start the vehicle but it failed.I towed the car to Toyota dealer and they ran vehicle test and told me that throttle body assembly has to be replaced. When this incident happened the mileage of the vehicle was approximately 9020. I called and wrote to Toyota usa regarding this issue but didn't get any reply even after 6 days!!!!!!!!!

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #105

Oct 162011

Corolla

  • 31,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that upon shifting into drive, from neutral gear, the vehicle surged forward until it crashed into another vehicle. The air bags did not deploy. The contact was taken to the hospital to treat minor injuries. The vehicle was towed to a tow yard. The failure was not diagnosed and the vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileages were 31,300.

- Visalia, CA, USA

problem #104

Nov 162010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 0 miles
I am writing on behalf of my mother who was injured in an automobile accident on November 16, 2010. My mother was driving a loaner car provided by a Toyota dealership located in suffolk county, New York. When my mother was driving the vehicle off the car lot, the vehicle accelerated and she hit an oncoming vehicle. My mother surffered a fractured sternum and was hospitalized for 4 days. On February 8, 2011, the vehicle was inspected for defects by Toyota motor sales, usa. The conclusion was that the vehicle was operating properly and, there was no malfunctions noted. Prior to the inspection by Toyota, my nephew located this same vehicle on line, using the VIN#, it was noted that the vehicle had previously been involved in an accident, and the accident was caused by acceleration problems. I am asking that your Agency investigate this matter. It appears that there is some discrepancy between the current inspection and the previous facts/accident associated with this vehicle. I originally sent this letter to you Agency on April 13, 2011. Your Agency responded on August 31, 2011 with the following notation, nvs-216 mec, ref. No. 10397716.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #103

Jul 042011

Corolla

  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. While driving approximately 50 mph, an unexpected acceleration occurred and the vehicle speed rapidly increased to 85 mph and above. The vehicle failed to slow down. The contact applied the brake pedal repeatedly and shifted the gear into neutral until the speed rate reduced to 30 mph. The vehicle was moved off the roadway. The parking brake was engaged and the gear was shifted from neutral into park as the vehicle came to a complete stop. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer for diagnosis. The contact was waiting upon a response from the dealer to the cause of failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 1,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Mercerville, NJ, USA

problem #102

Jun 042011

Corolla

  • miles
2010 rapid acceleration when pushing down the brake pedal. The drivers floor mat was loose & when I pushed on the brake my heels pushed the mat into the accelerator pedal. 3 Toyota dealers say no recalls grossinger - oak brook / westmont & libertyville...

- Westmont , IL, USA

problem #101

Jan 272011

Corolla

  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In January 2011, my 2010 Toyota Corolla le experienced what has been termed 'sudden acceleration'- while I was braking, the accelerator engaged by itself, going all the way to the floor. My Toyota Corolla is the newer design I believe, it has nailed down floor mats, and the brake pedal was already worked on by Toyota I believe in October 2010. I took my car to Toyota, they simply issued an inspection result indicating that the car 'checked out to factory specifications.' Toyota is lying about the cause of sudden acceleration, and continues to do so. The company would rather see people injured or killed than deal with the real problem(s).

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #100

Nov 162010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
2010 Toyota Corolla loaner vehicle. Consumer states unintended acceleration the consumer stated when his mother drove the vehicle off the lot, the vehicle suddenly accelerated and she hit an oncoming vehicle. Updated 12/15/14.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #99

Feb 172011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 16,700 miles
I was at a complete stop behind a GMC Yukon as we waited for traffic to move, I lightly tapped the gas petal as our vehicles began to move & my 2010 Toyota Corolla le lunged forward as if I pressed full force (which I did not) slamming into the Yukon. The air bags did not deploy either.

- San Pedro, CA, USA

problem #98

Jan 152010

Corolla

  • miles
I was driving a rental 2010 Toyota Corolla in siesta key, fl. I came to a stop on a busy downtown street on a Friday night. As I sat at a complete stop with my foot on the brake as pedestrians were crossing, the car unexpectedly accelerated forward. I did not have my foot on the gas pedal & as this happened, I held my foot firmly on the brake to avoid hitting the pedestrians. Luckily, I was able to hold the car back until the acceleration ended. This happened before the problem with Toyota acceleration was made public. I reported this problem to the enterprise car rental Agency in port charlotte fl, where I rented it, but they did not seem concerned. It wasn't until a week later that this story was in the news. I called the nhtsb to file a complaint, I'm filing this complaint again after hearing the gov't response to the study of this problem. From personal experience, I know for a fact this is not correct. This car I drove did not have the pedal stick or floor mat problem. It definitely accelerated completely on it's own without the pedal being depressed. If needed, I may be able to locate the VIN from my rental receipt.

- Summit Hill, PA, USA

problem #97

Nov 092010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 21,000 miles
My 2010 Toyota Corolla continues to have acceleration issues. Now it accelerates with the cruise control on to speeds over 100/110 mph. I had to drive my car from Vermont to California, and used my cruise control for the first time. The speed limit was 75 to 80 mph in areas and I set the cruise control to 72. The next thing I new, the car suddenly lurched forward on its own & went completely out of control. It went to speeds of 100- 120 mph within 1-2 minutes and I could hardly control the car. I have been in 3-4 acceleration incidents with this vehicle already and been injured (the reports I have already filed with your Agency this past year). This vehicle is going to kill someone. There is an electrical or engine problem with these Toyota, no matter what the NHTSA, the feds, or Toyota states. It is not the way americans are driving ! don't insult our intelligence. How many more innocent victims have to get hurt. All we are asking is for Toyota to take these cars back and replace them with a safe car!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! that is what is fair to the consumer. That is what the lemon law is for. Yet why does no one listen!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

- Simi Valley, CA, USA

problem #96

Feb 022011

Corolla

  • 627 miles
I was parking my car Wednesday evening. As I was about to finish parking my car, the engine out of nowhere made a loud vroom and accelerated on it's own as I was pressing the brake. The car hit a snow bank which stopped the car. Fortunately no one was injured.

- Mineola, NY, USA

problem #95

Feb 032011

Corolla

  • 3,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. While the contact had her foot on the brake pedal the rpms began to increase and the contact needed to apply extreme pressure to the brake pedal in order to control the vehicle; however, she turned the vehicle off when the rpms continued to increase. The police assisted with moving the vehicle to the side of the road. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer where they were in the process of diagnosing the failure. The failure and current mileages were 3,000.

- Greendale, WI, USA

problem #94

Jan 212010

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The brakes and the accelerator pedals were located so close to one another that the contacts foot would get stuck between the accelerator and brake pedals when slowing down. The vehicle was not taken to have the failure diagnosed. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 12,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- West Carollton, OH, USA

problem #93

Dec 162010

Corolla

  • 500 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact was driving 20 mph when the engine exhibited an unusual increase in rpms. The contact stated that when depressing the brakes the rpms would either decrease or increase rapidly. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the contact was informed that the rpms were operating normally and there were no repairs for the failure. The manufacturer was contacted who stated that he should contact another dealer for a second opinion on the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 500 and the current mileage was 2,000.

- Burke, VA, USA

problem #92

Jan 112011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,979 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The vehicle lunged forward as she took her foot off of the brake pedal and shifted out of park. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer to be inspected. The manufacturer was contacted and a claim was filed. She was informed that a representative would return her call within one business day. The failure mileage was 12,979. Updated 02/23/11 updated 07/01/11

- Accokeek, MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?