Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
45 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
32 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,567 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Corolla engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 4 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #91

May 292010

Corolla

  • 22,350 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact rented a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that when she accelerated, she heard a loud noise in the engine area. The rpms increased suddenly and the vehicle accelerated. The contact applied the brakes but the vehicle did not stop until it crashed into a wall. The driver and passenger side air bags deployed but to the left side instead of forward. The driver and passenger sustained injuries result of the crash. A police report was filed. The contact called the manufacturer who stated that an investigation of the black box did not indicate any vehicle malfunction. The current and failure mileages were 22,350.

- Upland , CA, USA

problem #90

Nov 032009

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that when trying to decelerate, the vehicle continued accelerating. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired. 01/25/11 the consumer also stated the vehicle was difficult to steer.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #89

Nov 102010

Corolla

  • 19,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving 5 mph the contact was rear ended while trying to make a turn. Upon impact the contact tried to pump her brakes and the vehicle continued to surge forward. The contact tried to put the vehicle in park and it continued to surge forward into oncoming traffic. She received minor abrasions and was seen went by her personal doctor the following day. A police was filed. The VIN was not available. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 19,000.

- Quitman, MS, USA

problem #88

Sep 142010

Corolla

  • 3,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. While driving into parking space at 3 mph and depressing the brake pedal there was a sudden acceleration of the vehicle, and it crashed into the side of the building which caused major damages. No one was injured and the police were not called. The vehicle was towed by the dealer who repaired the damages for $5,000. The manufacturer sent a representative to inspect the failure. After inspecting the vehicle they found no failure with the accelerator pedal. The failure mileage was 3,400 and the current mileage was 4,400.

- Taunton, MA, USA

problem #87

Sep 042010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
2010 Toyota Corolla. Consumer writes to express concern regarding the engine surge problem the consumer stated as she was approaching a stop sign, all of a sudden the engine began racing. Her foot was already on the brake, but she had to increase brake pressure and placed the gear in neutral, then turned off the engine. The consumer took the vehicle to the dealer, but they were unable to find any problems.

- Ballwin, MO, USA

problem #86

Feb 042010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
2010 Toyota Corolla. Consumer states unintended sudden acceleration the consumer stated she crashed into a wall at a very low speed. The consumer stated Toyota refused to share the drivability report which was performed on the vehicle. Toyota wrote the consumer a letter stating there were no defects. Updated 10/20/11.

- Maywood, NJ, USA

problem #85

Oct 032010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,380 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact was attempting to revere with the brakes depressed when the vehicle abnormally accelerated. The contact crashed into a parked vehicle as a result of the failure. A police report was available. The vehicle was neither repaired nor diagnosed for the failure. The failure and current mileage was 3,380. Updated 1/25/11 updated 02/07/11

- West Bloomfield , MI, USA

problem #84

Oct 082010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
2010 Toyota Corolla. Consumer writes regarding problems with cruise control the consumer stated during the first few months when the cruise control was activated and set at 60 and 70 mph, the vehicle would surge. She immediately shut off the cruise control to stop the acceleration. The unexplained acceleration not only happened when gong up small hills, but it also happened once on a level highway. The consumer stated the speedometer rose above the cruise control speed setting.

- Fair Lawn, NJ, USA

problem #83

Sep 042010

Corolla

  • 13,000 miles
Toyota 2010 Corolla. Sudden accelerator problem: After having the recall update to our Corolla, a few months later, we experienced a sudden acceleration problem with our car. From a parked position next to the curb, we put our foot on the brake and then put the car in reverse to back away from the car in front of us, and the car suddenly accelerated and proceeded to jump over a curb and hit a tree next to us on the side walk. Again, this was when the car was in reverse, so the acceleration was going backwards, with our foot on the brake. After taking our car to the Toyota dealership for consultation on Sept 7th, they indicate that they could not find anything wrong with the car and we would need to contact Toyota directly on this problem. It is now nearly a month later, and we still have not been "visited" by the Toyota engineering team. We were assigned a case number by Toyota and told to wait to hear from them. We are still without our car and waiting some kind of formal inspection from the Toyota corporate team. The local Toyota dealer is trying to help as well and is also contacting Toyota corporate for assistance. This is not fair to be without our car and some reassurance from Toyota that this won┐T happened again to our car. As of this date October 1, 2010, no inspection has taken place on our car. We're still waiting.

- Lake Balboa, CA, USA

problem #82

Sep 262010

Corolla

  • 8,300 miles
While merging into the left lane on the meadowbrook pkwy., my 2010 Toyota Corolla with (8,300 miles at the time), accelerator stuck. This was the first time this happened. I panicked, looked down, and saw the pedal stuck all the way down. After a few seconds I jammed on the brakes, & the pedal released. I do not believe this was due to the floor mat. My mat was not on the accelerator. This car from the beginning had "poor pick-up". by that, I mean it was very slow while trying to merge onto pkwy's to the point that I always had to floor it. I also from time to time heard a very slight click while stepping on the acc. Pedal. But for the first time, it actually stuck on me. I owned a 2005 Corolla before this car, & it was noting like this current car. I also owned a 1999 Camry, & a 2003 4-runner. Until now, I never had a problem.

- North Bellmore, NY, USA

problem #81

Jul 222010

Corolla

  • 1,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated. When she depressed the brake pedal, the brakes did not respond and the pedal extended to the floorboard. She shifted into neutral and turned off the ignition. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership where it was located at the time of the complaint. The contact no longer felt safe driving the vehicle. The contact called the manufacturer who offered no assistance. The vehicle had not been repaired. The current and failure mileages were approximately 1,200.

- Springfield, MN, USA

problem #80

Aug 272010

Corolla

  • 1,600 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact was driving with the cruise control set when the vehicle accelerated independently. The contact stated the failure had occurred twice prior to the most recent failure. The dealer advised that the ECM was defective and would need replacing. The vehicle was left with the dealer where the contact was awaiting repairs. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was approximately 1,600.

- Newbury , VT, USA

problem #79

Mar 182009

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that when he depressed the brake pedal, the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The failure was intermittent. To stop the vehicle, he would shift into neutral and turn off the engine. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership about eight times but the failure could not be duplicated. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The contact called the manufacturer and filed a complaint but was told that there were no recalls. The current mileage was approximately 17,000. The failure mileage was approximately 8,000....updated 02/11/15 updated 6/11/2015

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #78

Aug 042010

Corolla

  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for routine maintenance when she was advised there was an open recall on the vehicle (NHTSA campaign id number: 10V017000-accelerator pedal). The dealer advised that they would modify the accelerator pedal as per the instructions of the recall. When the contact received the vehicle back, the accelerator pedal was not modified and the driver floor mat was attached to the floorboard by velcro. The manufacturer advised that the recall was specifically for the floor mats, which the contact disputed. In addition, the contact stated that when activating the air conditioning unit, the vehicle would shake violently. The vehicle was not repaired. The current and failure mileage was 5,000.

- Bedford , MA, USA

problem #77

Jun 282010

Corolla

  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact was driving 50 mph when the vehicle independently accelerated. The contact attempted to stop the unintended acceleration by applying the brakes but to no avail. The vehicle continued to increase in speed and the contact crashed into another vehicle. The air bags deployed upon impact. The contact and another passenger were injured. The contact sustained injuries to the neck and arms. He was transported to the hospital via ambulance. The vehicle was destroyed. A police report was available. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure and current mileage was 12,000. Updated 11/16/10.

- Hinch, WV, USA

problem #76

Aug 042010

Corolla

  • 9,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while turning into a parking lot with his foot on the brake all of a sudden the vehicle accelerated on it's own while his foot was on the brake pedal. The vehicle barely missed striking a pedestrian and then crashed into a convenience store wall. The crash was recorded on the store video camera. Toyota was contacted and filed case # 1008061785. This is the third occurrence and happened two times before the recall remedy for NHTSA campaign id number: 10V023000, vehicle speed control accelerator pedal and the third failure occurred after the recall remedy was issued. The vehicle was at the contacts residence and will not be driven. The VIN was not available. The current and failure mileages were approximately 9,000. Updated 11/05/10.

- Taunton , MA, USA

problem #75

Aug 022010

Corolla

  • 12,000 miles
Driving 2010 Toyota Corolla manual trans on interstate on 8/2/10 at 2:30 P.M. had cruise control on going 70 mph. Engaged clutch, shifted to neutral and braked in preparation to stop for traffic jam ahead. Brake did not engage and vehicle continued at 70 mph without touching accelerator. Continued attempts to brake, downshift, turn off cruise control with no decrease in speed. Initially unable to downshift but then did get into lower gear but with no resulting decrease in speed, nor did the engine make any noise indicating that I had downshifted. I was able to get onto shoulder where I continued to go 70 mph.I then got off at an exit that had an incline. Part way up the hill felt something disengage and the car slowed- not just due to the incline I think. I was then able to put on emergency brake and the car stopped. After several minutes I tried the brakes again and they worked. I did not reengage the cruise control after this. Please note that this occurred after I had taken the car in for both Toyota recommended recalls regarding the floor mats and putting a modification in the gas pedal. When I went in for recalls I asked about placement of a computer brake override system and was first told that fix was not yet available, then told it was not relevant to my car, and, after the above event told again that Toyota did not yet have the technology available to do this fix on Corollas. The dealership have thus far been unpleasant and suggesting that I might not be telling the truth.

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #74

Jul 222010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while traveling at 30 mph, the vehicle abnormally accelerated. The contact attempted to slow the vehicle, but the brakes would not respond. The contact had to turn off the engine and put the vehicle in neutral before the vehicle would stop. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated the vehicle had not been driven since taking it to the dealer. The failure and current mileage was 1,000. Updated 10/13/10 updated 10/19/10

- Springfield , MN, USA

problem #73

Jul 162010

Corolla

  • 10,000 miles
I was driving my 2010 Toyota Corolla down the road. When I began to approach a red light at intersection, I applied brakes to slow vehicle down. Instead of slowing down, however, the car began to rapidly accelerate. This required me to pass two vehicles waiting at red light in order to avoid collision. Remembering what Toyota co said to do when their vehicles are speeding out of control, I put car in neutral and continued to apply brakes, which had no effect whatsoever. I continued to speed down double-lined road, passing vehicles in my lane. Then when other vehicles were coming in other lane in my direction, I was forced to slam full speed into vehicle in front of me in my lane. This caused my vehicle and that vehicle to roll over. When my family and I had first heard of the recalls with Toyota in February of 2010, we immediately took car to Toyota dealer in fl where we vacationed for the winter. We were assured that since our VIN# indicated it was Japanese-made, we were not part of the sticking accelerator recall. They told us to remove driver-side floormat anyway, which we immediately did. As you can see, we took every precaution possible, and as my car was careening out of control, I did everything I was supposed to do and it did not matter. And please do not insult victims of these tragedies by indicating that it is possibly driver error. Clearly there is something major wrong here and these vehicles need to be taken off the road.

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #72

Jul 182010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. She was driving 3 mph when the vehicle suddenly accelerated and crashed into a fence. The contact sustained minor injuries. The police were notified and a report was filed. The entire front end and underneath the vehicle was damaged. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the insurance company inspected the damages. The Toyota manufacturer will also have a representative inspect the vehicle to determine the cause of failure. The failure and current mileages were 5,000. Updated 10/05/10 updated 10/07/10

- Lynwood, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?